Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline

The best line made for fishing nymphs, wets, streamers, and steelhead flies in fast or deep water. Cast farther, get to the fish faster. Weight-forward taper is combined with an Orvis-exclusive 15' super-high-density front taper. Light fluorescent yellow floating portion, dark brown sink tip. 90'. Made in USA.(5½" to 6½"/second).Specify line weights 11, 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Review 1 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Streamers,
January 31, 2014
By: Jeff17
"This line works wonderfully for throwing big streamers and getting them into the zone quickly. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to go for big game fish."
Review 2 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muskie-taming Sink Tips,
December 24, 2013
By: Scotch1
from Midwest
"I'm a dry fly fisherman for most species, but I enjoy going after muskies with a fly rod, too. And when I do, it takes a big streamer and a sink tip line to get it down in a hurry. Both of these Generation 3 lines, the Clear Sink Tip for clear visibility water and the Class V Extra Sink Tip in murkier water, paired with bite guarded leaders, do the job for me -- in fact, when I go for muskies with my fly rod, there's nothing else in my tackle bag but these muskie-taming Orvis sink tip lines."
Review 3 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Cast Sink Tip,
October 17, 2013
By: BronxFlyAngler
from Bronx, NY
"The sink tip is integrated with the floating line for easy casting. It is especially effective from a boat and gets the fly down to the feeding zone quickly under birds or blitzing fish."
Review 4 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent Line,
November 13, 2012
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
"I have had one of these since new and grabbed this as they are disconitnued. One of the best light salmon lines going and my original still going strong."
Review 5 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good depth control,
March 13, 2012
By: KingsSilversReds
from Lynn, MA
"Used this line for early season trout and found it to handle great. It allowed me to get to the depth needed in the river I fished. Easy casting and mending."
Review 6 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casting,
March 6, 2012
By: Onetahoe
from Jacksonville, FL
"Put this line on 6wt bamboo rod for inshore fishing. The line cast great and the sink tip is just what you need for N. Florida fishing"
Review 7 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good,
February 27, 2012
By: aguy
from Orange County, CA.
"Overall this is a great line for both fresh and saltwater"
Review 8 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Sink-tip that works,
February 7, 2012
By: AKfisherman
from Eagle Rive,r AK
"I just replaced an old Orvis sink tip that has lasted me many years of performance. As soon as I completed my first cast with the Generation 3 Class V sink tip replacement line, it was obvious that a lot of new improvements such as the flow of the line through the guides, and the high riding of the floating section making control of the sink tip so much easier. Great job ORVIS"
Review 9 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class V Extra Sink Tip,
May 27, 2010
By: Gregger
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I fish for Atlantic Salmon on the Miramichi River, New Brunswick Canada, and during the spring flow the river is very high and fast. Weighted flies are not allowed so I'm throwing 3/0 streamers and need to get them down quickly. Class V Extra Sink tip is the only line that meets my expectations! It casts and shoots beautifully and stays supple in the freezing water. I've tried other brands but for my money your product is the best - period."
Review 10 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sink Tip for Smallies...& Reds,
June 17, 2008
By: RiverOtter
from Blue Ridge Mountains
"Arguably, the best sink tip I have ever used. For smallies holding deep to subsurface reds, this sink tip gets the fly down fast, loads the rod well and allows pin-point accurate casting. Perfect for swinging nymphs and streamers and ripping baitfish patterns into schooling salties. Ever wonder where the fish are? This is a must have for getting in front of them."
Review 11 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sinks fast,
October 24, 2007
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Fishing the Nipigon is challenging, not just for the fisherman, but for the fly line. The water is very fast, very deep and it drops off quickly from shore; like 30 feet in just 2 feet. The Speckled Trout are stacked up against the edge, and they're not going to move an inch if they don't have to. It requires long upstream casts, a lot of mending while the line sinks and then waiting for the swing. You have GOT to get your line down. Of course the power of a Zero-Gravity or TLS rod helps; still, this line sinks extra fast and yet is easy to mend."
Video Review:
Nipigon River below Cameron Falls dam
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome contol on Sinking Tip!,
October 5, 2007
By: Chaaaz
from Boston, MA
"Tried this sinking tip line, and it is a *very* consistent line in terms of ease of casting, sink rate, feel, and durability!
This is the best line I have tried using for nymphs, and soon for Fall Salmon. It casts very smoothly, maintains a great feel in the water, and strips back just as smoothly!
Another gem from Orvis!
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Generation 3 Class V Extra Sink Tip Wonderline
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2