Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line

Now with the world's slickest fly line coating, Wonderline Generation 3. The best slickness in a fly line that shoots through the fly rods guides with less friction and better accuracy. These lines sink tip-first, maintaining a straight profile between you and the fly. Your fly reaches the productive depth quicker and stays there longer. You get more hits, feel more strikes, and hook more fis. 90'. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
33 of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Review 1 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great products,
October 28, 2012
By: formarkeuk
from UK Derby
"Bought this in the sale as i was after a sinking line. Initially it was a bit "curly" but a few fish soon stretched that out of the line. Casts superbly and is far better at picking up soft takes than my intermediate line ( another brand) at sale price an excellent buy"
Review 2 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Line,
August 13, 2012
By: Muskyman
from Minneapolis, MN
"Love the new full sinking 12 wgt line I just purchased. Casts like a dream and it really shoots through the guides. I gained 10' throwing the monster streamers that I like to use for muskies."
Review 3 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful line!!!,
May 25, 2012
By: scarletlady
"This is a wonderfully smooth line for trolling from my kayak. I let almost the whole line out and it has caught more trout!!! unbelieveable!!!"
Review 4 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sinking line,
March 12, 2012
By: Merk55
"Having tried other lines over the past couple years I have been somewhat disapointed. But I gave yours a try for a trip to Canada for Northern Pike. The line felt really slick, and seemed to fly through the guides. I really can't give the line all the credit, but the flies seemed less wind resistand, and the wind a little calmer. This was my most successful trip to date, and I wanted to share it with my friends at Orvisl."
Review 5 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not 105 feet long,
March 11, 2012
By: mbowers
from Jupiter, FL
"The Orvis Tech Report on Wonderlines Gen 3 clearly states that lines of 8 wt and above are 105 feet long. This line is only 90 feet long.
http://www.orvis.com/intro.aspx?subject=2133"
Review 6 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value!,
March 10, 2012
By: PDawg
from Missoula, MT
"This line casts like a dream and sinks in the stream. Get ready to catch some HOGS 'cause this is the real deal!"
Review 7 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all-around line,
March 5, 2012
By: hmsvictory
from chesapeake bay
"This is a great all-around saltwater line for striped bass, shad, cobia, etc. The perfect amount of sink and very reliable. Super easy to cast."
Review 8 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice slick line,
March 1, 2012
By: coldandclearwaters
from San Jose, CA
"I've got this in 3-weight, and it casts very nicely. With a bit of hauling, it'll perform adequately in wind."
Review 9 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line,
February 21, 2012
By: obsessiveflyguy
from Cary, NC
"Tried the new line over the weekend on my new Clearwater rod and reel. The line has very low memory, sinks according to specs, and casts like a dream. Best sinking line I have ever used (and that's saying something, for I have used many in my 59 yrs.). Caught a couple snoozing largemouth bass with it fishing in my kayak, too. I'm impressed."
Review 10 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to set up.,
February 21, 2012
By: Paleale
"A little early as most of the activity is ice fishing right now. Getting excited to try in a month or so."
Review 11 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works like a charm,
February 20, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"Works great but I have only used it once so time will tell but so far, very good!!"
Review 12 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line Hatr To See It Go,
February 18, 2012
By: TroutGuy1
"Love the wonder line it cast so well and is friction free practically. I hate to see it discontinued.
Thanks Orvis for a great product!"
Review 13 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderline Gen.3 Sinking Fly Line,
February 17, 2012
By: LarryinColorado
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I have been looking for a good sinking line for use on lakes and bigger rivers. Orvis Wonderline Gen 3 is just the ticket. It has a fast and uniform sinking rate that gets the fly right down where the fish are. The color is perfect for fishing a sunken fly near the bottom and in off-colored water during spring runoff or after a heavy rain. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a superior sinking line."
Review 14 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value!,
February 17, 2012
By: fishmerf
from Ohio
"As always, I am absolutely thrilled with the quality of an Orvis product at a price that even the most frugal fly fisher can afford."
Review 15 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for bass.,
February 14, 2012
By: Dancam
from Miami
"Switched from a 7 weight floating line to this one to get down deeper where I got more strikes for large mouth and peacock bass. Easy to punch out 50 plus feet to reach far side of the canals here in South Florida."
Review 16 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No loop.,
February 7, 2012
By: Neds
from Fruita, Colorado.
"I am disappointied that there was no loop. I use the "No Knot" system. I knew there was no loop on it before I bought it, but the price was good so I bought it anyways.
You did not give me a chance to talk about your website so I will do it here. It was a terrible experience! It took me over an hour to try to get both items on the same order on line. I never could figure it out so just go out and p;laced the order by phone.."
Review 17 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4WF Sinking line,
February 5, 2012
By: ndfly
from Washington, DC burbs
"My first time buying / using line. managed to test it last week during our warm spell this January.
Casts well, and was easy to get used to. Did not catch any trout but had a great day anyway.
"
Review 18 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steady performer,
February 4, 2012
By: Gresley
from Maine
"I have been using Wonderline sinking line for quite some time. It picks up well and handles easily. True to scale and depth. This is my go-to spring line."
Review 19 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will make a great full sink,
February 4, 2012
By: indicatoR6
from Spokane, WA
"This can be used when a RIO deep 7 is a bit too much."
Review 20 for Generation 3 Density Compensated Sinking Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line,
February 3, 2012
By: Rowland
from Washington State
"I have used this line many times in stillwaters when you gotta get deep. It has performed beautifully."