Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications

A weight-forward intermediate sinking fly line for tropical saltwater applications. Braided mono core is ideal for hot tropical fishing conditions. In clear. Sink rate: 1½" per second. Clear. Made in USA.Line weights: 6, 11. 105'.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Review 1 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Line,
April 4, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Chattanooga, TN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Wonderline family of fly lines has been consistently superior. Super slick and easy to handle."
Review 2 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too much memory,
January 28, 2013
By: kokee
from HI
"Too much memory, tangles easy, feel like seconds(blemish)."
Review 3 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just what I was looking for,
June 15, 2012
By: Bick
from Fl.
"great line for Florida's hot weather for either salt or fresh water"
Review 4 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
clear intermediate fly line,
March 14, 2012
By: JDiB
"I bought this on sale so it was a good value. The 10 weight line is not clear. It took a bit for it to relax but once it did, it worked well. It's a bit stiffer than other lines I've used."
Review 5 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Intermediate Line for Saltwater Use,
June 29, 2011
By: FishinDave221
"Orvis' Wonderlines are quickly becoming my favorite fly lines to use and the Intermediate Tropical is no exception. This line shoots through the guides smoothly and loads quickly, making me a better caster. I can continuously blast 50 feet of line without much effort, and since I use the line for Mahis and Blackfins close to the boat, I have no real need to make superhuman casts of over 70 feet. This line is not a naturally clear color, but once you start casting and get the line down in the water it becomes a lot harder to see, and if I cannot see the line neither can the fish. The line also does not drop like a rock; it sinks very slowly so the presentation gets a natural fall in the strike range of the big bull dorados and tuna. I cannot recommend this line enough!"
Review 6 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pictured and described incorrectly,
June 3, 2011
By: ClayBreaker
from TN
"This line is a transluceny light to medimum green color. The web picture and the discription state it is clear. The Orvis sinking tip salterwater line has a totally clear (stealthy) sinking tip section as stated on the Orvis web site. If you are looking for a line that is completely clear like the tip section of the Orvis saltwater sinking tip line there are other lines available. This line is not clear. I returned the line, however, it would be helpful if Orvis would accurately describe and picture their products to avoid customer expense and time in returning something when it is not correctly posted on the web site."
Review 7 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line,
January 1, 2011
By: brooksie
from ft. lauderdale
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This line is perfect for snook fishing on the beach. It keeps the fly low but not on the bottom"
Review 8 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
May 17, 2010
By: Bertie
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I totally recommend the Wonderline, Clear Intermediate Tropical, Generation 3 to any fly fishing angler. I have been using this line for several years in South America on peacock bass and find it to be a great purchase.
The lines I recently used do have one draw back that is of some concern. Both fly lines have revealed cracks and breaks in the outer coating that protects the core. Both lines have been used extensively for two months out of a year and both lines revealed cracks and cuts as if the line itself had been cut to the core. There were no other abrasions present that I could distinguish otherwise this fly line is truly great."
Review 9 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Peacocks,
March 20, 2010
By: OUDoc
from Dallas, TX
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Switched to clear intermediate fly line after the first day and doubled the number of strikes fishing for Peacock Bass in Brazil. Easy to cast and shoot and strong enough to pull mean fish out of the sticks."
Review 10 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 2, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"Caught my biggest Tarpon using this line casting over 90' with ease! Wouldnt go abroad without it."
Review 11 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best saltwater line going!,
October 31, 2007
By: Robert
from Boynton Beach, Florida
"I used to use floating line 80% of the time when fishing the flats, or on the beaches here in south Florida. Since discovering this Clear Intermediate line it is the line of choice for saltwater. With it's slow sink rate it is both a floating line and a sinking line. When your casting clousers or Puglisi Perfect Minnows in three feet of water or less, this line will let you strip your flies in and they stay just below the water and above the bottom all the way, ans it is such a stealthy line that fishing never get spooked as they tend to do with a line that will cast more of a shadow. This line comes off the water on your back cast so easily too. On the flats a fish can approach you at any moment and you need to reload and cast as quietly and quickly as possible and this line does all that and more. This Jack was caught on the beach with 9 wfi on my Power Matix 909-2 and new Battenkill Large Arbor V reel, It has become yet ANOTHER of my favorite outfits to fish with."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate Fly Line For Warm Water, Tropical Applications
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1