Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Streamer Stripper

A must-have sink-tip fly line for fast water, pond fishing with nymphs and streamers, and saltwater flats and shallows. The best-casting sink tip you'll ever use. Short, very heavy Class V sink tip gets your fly down immediately with a high-floating body. Yellow line with grey tip. With 4-foot mini sink tip - sink rate range 51/2" to 61/2"/sec. 90'. USA.Sink-tip line in weights: 3-10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Streamer Stripper
Review 1 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nymph fishing,
September 20, 2012
By: ironmike04005
from biddeford, me.
"i am going to use this 3w flyline onanew rod anreel"
Review 2 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent line,
August 20, 2012
By: NORFOLKBROADSMAN
from Norfolk UK
"I use this line for much of my surface pike flyfishing sessions and find it casts like a dream and presents my flies at just the depth I require without "waking" on the surface or snagging bottom!"
Review 3 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Line,
May 11, 2012
By: CaptGary
from Virginia
"I installed my new Streamer Stripper line on my 9 wt. Loomis Cross Current as soon as it arrived.
Fished it the next day with some big, wind-resistant bass bugs and deer hair top water baits. This line would cast with ease and roll those big bugs out perfectly. Tied on some big stripped bass streamers and they handled great. Can't wait to fish it for stripers on the Chesapeake Bay this season."
Review 4 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emerger Lake line,
May 11, 2012
By: BoobbyC
from Port Townsend WA
"I selected the stream stripper with heavy SHORT head for lakes. I tried it casting to the fish feeding on emergers namely the rings and had 4 fish in the first hour . IThe 3weight casts well on a 4 wt due to heavy head and the floating portion does sinks only slightly near the heavy head. It's a great line."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Line,
May 8, 2012
By: FourStringAxe
from White River VT
"Great Line! Caught fish my first time out with this line!!!"
Review 6 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Buy,
May 1, 2012
By: NVflyflicker
from Elko, NV
"Tried this line lake fishing in my pontoon. Casts well and delivered my streamers right into the feeding zone. Can't beat the price."
Review 7 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Maybe it's just me, but...,
April 25, 2012
By: Z06Michigan
"I bought a 6wt Streamer Stripper fly line for use on a 6wt fiberglass rod instead of using split shot to get my streamer down in faster moving water. I never got that far. When I went out to lawn cast it, it just wouldn't cast well for me.
I tried different fly rods from slow to fast, and, 5wt, 6wt, 7wt. Same basic result.
I have a lot of Orvis gear, all well versed in their intended use, just not this line. Maybe it's just me...
"
Review 8 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streamer fly line,
April 25, 2012
By: albear
from Pensacola, Fl
"Excellent price at $29.00
Casts fine - pickup and re-casting is a lot easier than other sinking lines
good action for streamers
"
Review 9 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent short sink tip line,
April 24, 2012
By: Viennafisherman
from Vienna, VA
"Easy to cast and easy to mend line with a short, fast sinking tip. Works very well to fish streamers and nymphs up to the depth allowed by the tip. I purchased it to fish in an area 3-6' deep and with current, where it performed very well. One detail prevented the 5 stars: the front loop made with nail knots could have been made with better alignment between the two pieces of line and smoother. I plan to serve it with wrapping thread and coat it."
Review 10 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
April 19, 2012
By: sierrafishin
from Eastern Sierras, CA
"I just fished this line last week, on a sierra river. The wind was howling, but I was able to make great casts with this 5wt line using my new 8'-6" Clearwater II rod. Even in these "normal" sierra conditions the line was perfect. It got my flies down into the feeding zone and I hooked up on some nice hard belly bows and browns.
This line even casts nice with my cane rod, so I ordered a second one. I fish mostly wet flies and streamers, so I think I just found my new favorite line!
Have a GUD season."
Review 11 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it says on the box,
April 3, 2012
By: SalmotruttaFario
from Wellesley MA
"Casts very nicely and the tip sinks well. Ideal for pulling woolly buggers through the shallow pond I fish. I have tried the added sink tips onto floating lines but this is much easier to cast and doesn't overwhelm my 5wt. Possibly some surface imperfections on the line but these might be a result of me standing on it! Quality act!"
Review 12 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Do it all Line,
March 27, 2012
By: WoodyNC
"The streamer stripper line is a must have for any angler. The line is extremely slick and durable and versatile enough to be used for nymphing deep pools and casting streamers to a variety of fish species.
There have been a number of days on the water when I was struggling to land fish on floating line and then switched over to the sinking tip and successfully began landing numerous fish. Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 13 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Stripers,
March 3, 2012
By: KingsSilversReds
from Lynn, MA
"Got this line in 10wt for stripe bass fishing last summer. Handled very well and kept my streamer at the perfect depth ove rthe rocks. I liked it so much that I bought the 8wt for an upcoming trip to Alaska for salmon and trout. Can't wait to see how it handles in the river."
Review 14 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly line,
February 28, 2012
By: cvhdvm
from SE MI
"I purchased this line in a 4 wt to throw streamers like mini Zoo Cougars on my local trout stream. Water levels during the late summer and early fall are low, so I wanted a fast sinking line to get the flies down quickly. The line turns over easily without having to have a lot of line out, and gets down fast - which is perfect for the small streams I'll be fishing. Big fly = big fish, but Orvis = great quality."
Review 15 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Increase your hook ups,
February 10, 2012
By: Swingingflies
from Lake Ontario Tributaries
"A great addition to your arsonel. It really helps get your fly in the strike zone for more hook ups & not any harder to cast. I highly recommend this especially with fluorocarbon leader"
Review 16 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Fly Line,
February 6, 2012
By: johnpm3
from West Bethel, ME
"The Generation 3 Streamer Stripper Fly Line is the perfect line for the purpose it was made for. It casts wonderfully even in winter conditions. Gets the fly down quickly to where the trout are. Highly recommended."
Review 17 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this line,
January 24, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"I had this same line for my 8wt but i bought one for my 5wt too. The line throws so nice and smooth and sinks great. I fly line each fisherman should have."
Review 18 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Slick Line,
January 13, 2012
By: Evilgeologist
from Richmond, VA
"A great slick easy casting line that helps me get Clousers and Cougars down to the Smallies."
Review 19 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Thumbs down,
December 30, 2011
By: GBfly
"I own many Orvis lines and all have been great except for this one. The sink tip portion on the line will not hold a loop and will collapse during casting every time. Be ready for wind knots and other problems. two thumbs down on the streamer stripper!!!!"
Review 20 for Streamer Stripper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Line!,
November 18, 2011
By: Brucezorro
from South Africa
"Ever since I learned to fly fish, I have wanted an Orvis fly line. I was not dissapointed with my first purchase. This line is very supple with a nice taper that suites my casting style. I had been looking for a sink tip for my 3 weight for a while and was happy to find Orvis made one! This line was loaded onto my Battenkill LA I reel at the factory for me. Overall they loaded the line well, my only gripe is the way the loop was done in the flyline. It seems to have been done in a real rush as there is glue messed on the loop and furthur down the line. I think I will replace the loop in time."