Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line

The sinking line of choice for cooler waters. Sink rate: 1" to 1½"/second. Braided nylon core. An excellent line for salmon or saltwater fishing. In amber. 3-7 wt. lines 90', 8-13 wt. lines 105'. Made in USA.Line weights: 3-13
Average Customer Rating:
3.353 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
12 of 17(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Review 1 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
decent line,
March 17, 2014
By: robflyguy
from Cherry Hill, NJ
"I bought this line on clearance. I got the 11wt for my 10wt fast action rod. I am able to cast 80-90' on every cast and have reached 105' from time to time.
The head is (I believe) around 40' which is good.
I have read that this line does not sink- not true- on Stillwater it sinks just fine. My only gripe is there is slight above average line coil memory. But for the price I paid for it- I am very happy.
"
Review 2 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect sink rate,
March 7, 2014
By: FPDP
from Puerto Rico
"This is a great line with a perfect sink rate for snook fishing I do in Puerto Rico. What I like is that the sink rate is ideal for comfortably recasting. With a moderate strip rate, I can recast with one or two false casts."
Review 3 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alternate pike line,
February 3, 2014
By: pikeflyguy
"I bought this 12 wt. Intermeniate line for my 10 wt. pike rod, which I like to overload, but none of the line mfers. make a bass/bike line heavier tha 10 wt. I use it for pike, when the are holding in deeper cabbage beds. For pike, you must bring the fly right to the boat, so the heavier line makes getting off the next cast easier. It's a really slick line, which also helps,"
Review 4 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 14, 2013
By: JackLN
from on line
"Fly line can be complicated, but this line helps to reduce the confusion. If I'm fishing dries, I use a floating line, but anything else I need to do with a fly rod can be accomplished with the help of this line. It doesn't sink deep, but if I need depth I use shot or a weighted fly. I've used this line before, it casts well and just feels good in the hand when I'm stripping line or playing a fish.
Also, I know that if it doesn't perform as expected, Orvis will make it right.
"
Review 5 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Addicted,
August 28, 2013
By: OUTRAGEOUS
from Southern New Jersey
"I'm addicted to the Orvis Tent Sale, my family is threatening an "intervention". Seriously, I have purchased this type line in a 4 weight which has worked quite well panfishing on a small lake in Southern New Jersey. I'm looking to use the 10 weight surf fishing this Fall in cooler waters on the Jersey Shore. All Orvis Fly Lines have worked well for me."
Review 6 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tent Sale Wins Again,
January 18, 2013
By: OUTRAGEOUS
from Southern New Jersey
"Tent Sale price plus an extra 20% off made the purchase of this line a "no-brainer". Gave it 3 stars due to having not field tested it to date."
Review 7 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
February 27, 2012
By: fdmgofish
from Knoxville, TN
"Purchased this line last year for a 7wt Orvis Hydros Rod and Orvis Mirage Reel streamer outfit to fish from a drift boat. I have fished with it 10 to 15 times. The line loads and cast well, but it just does not sink to any degree. The line just lays in the surface forever and then barely sinks to a 12 inch depth after minute or so. The performance is not what I expected from an intermediate sinking line."
Review 8 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great casting line,
January 7, 2012
By: Letsgofishing
from Connecticut shore
"I bought this line in 10-wt. for my Orvis 10-wt. TL midflex striper rod, and it's a great match. With the right line, you don't always need a fast action rod to get line out, and this line gets the job done, especially in wind (which is always there, right?)"
Review 9 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good line - but no support for older reel spools,
October 25, 2011
By: RMab
from Glendora, CA
"The new line worked great, caught lots of fish in late season.
But, I had to put it on another brand of reel as I cannot get new Battenkill III spools."
Review 10 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line,
September 11, 2011
By: vafishinpa
"For three years, I have been using this line for on my 10wt for Stripers (beach and boat) and it has been great. The line casts and shoots well. When compared to other intermediates I have used, it does sink a little slower but it does sink.
Slick coating, long head, slow sinking, and low memory. Best intermediate that I have used thus far.
"
Review 11 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Secret for Stillwater,
November 24, 2010
By: VinnyV
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This line has been a Big Boon for me and is the main reason for doubling my catch in stillwaters. With this line, you can keep a fly at a desired level and fish it slow. To get down deep, you just need to use a count down system and/or a Beadhead fly."
Review 12 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
intermediate floaters ?,
May 24, 2010
By: criticast
from Netherlands
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought a #5 and a #8 intermdediate line. Casting was ok and the lines both strecht out very well.
I was waiting for the lines to sink. But ...
The points floated nice like a floater should do and slowly the thick parts of the lines bellied down.
Both lines acted similar and I was quite disappointed to find that even after a couple of hours trying it stayed the same.
I will contact the dealer for a refund.
"
Review 13 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
does not sink,
March 29, 2010
By: royalcoachman123
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"cast like a dream,but as an intermediate sinking line,complete failure in a 5 wght.. Customer service person I spoke with before returning was aware of this problem. Dont see why it is still offered as a sinking line."
Review 14 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casts well, doesn't sink,
January 26, 2010
By: TMIB
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I understand that intermediate line sinks slowly... but it should eventually sink. That wasn't the case with this line. It casts well, but it was acting like floating line.
After a few hours of messing around with this while fishing in my canoe (on a very still lake), I decided to do a test. I stripped out a good distance of line and dropped it in the water. It floated on the surface. I wadded it up and it still floated. I dunked it below the surface, and it just kept neutural buoyancy, it didn't sink at all.
Fortunately my local Orvis store was quite helpful and willing to swap this for the clear version, hoping it would work better.
I've not yet tried the clear version on stillwater. I haven't been real enthusiastic about the clear line on the rivers (it's flaking of some kind of powder, despite numerous cleanings). I'll post a review of the clear line once I have had the opportunity to test it on stillwater."
Review 15 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
descent intermediate line,
June 20, 2009
By: Matu
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Ok line, casts very easily but does not sink as fast as i would like."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the line did not sink as quickly as expected. As it is an intermediate line, this line is designed to sink at 1"-1 1/2" per second. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our products. We forwarded these comments on to the product developer for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 16 for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing 4 Wt. Line,
April 25, 2009
By: Watermaster
from Northern Maine
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased the Generation 3 Intermediate Sinking Line in December to replace a 4 weight sink tip line. I wanted a line that would sink at an even rate and not put a belly in the line. The ice is finaly off the beaver ponds and I went out ot try my luck using this line and a soft hackle hare's ear. This line will not sink.....at all. It acts just like my floating line. Very disappointed. I finally got the tip to sink by tying on a tungsten beadhead fly. Even then only the tip would sink the same as my floating lines. Surprising ,as I am normally pleased with all my Orvis purchases. Needless to say I will be going back to my sink tip line.
I am reviewing only the 4 weight line. Perhaps the larger lines will sink better."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 15, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the poor performance of this line. Orvis has passed these comments on to the product developer for review. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Generation 3 Intermediate Fly Line
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1