Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Generation 3 Clear Intermediate

Intermediate sinking fly line with solid mono core is the line of choice for cooler waters. Exclusive weight forward taper and slick coating. Sink rate: 1" to 11/2"/second. Sizes 2-6, ideal for stillwater situations. In clear. Sinking fly line in weights: 2-12; 2-7 wt. 90', 8-12 wt. 105'.
Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
18 of 26(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Review 1 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great price,
December 17, 2013
By: lpennington
from Silt,co
"Great casting line with superior strength.i would highly recommend this line to anyone.i had no problem getting my fly to the fish....."
Review 2 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
for cold climates,
December 4, 2013
By: arpemo
"With high temperatures is very soft and it make difficult the casting. Good for skittish fish of cold water."
Review 3 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Deal,
August 6, 2013
By: Unoangler
from Pocono Lake , Pa
"Fantastic Line at an even more fantastic price ! As always Orvis is where I get my fly stuff!"
Review 4 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Casting Line,
March 5, 2013
By: FPDP
from Puerto Rico
"I overweight my 9-wt Helios rod with this line and find that it casts very well. I use it mainly for baby tarpon in Puerto Rico. The value/cost relationship of this line is excellent."
Review 5 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice!,
January 30, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Saginaw, MI
"Received the line quickly! As always, this is a product that measures up to the high quality we expect of Orvis products!"
Review 6 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Questionnable purchase,
January 23, 2013
By: ctx97132
from Newberg, OR
"This flyline is so "kinky" I have had to secure it in four points. I do not know if casting will straighten it our or not."
Review 7 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Line, for a deal,
January 20, 2013
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"I purchased this at a steep discount in the 'Tent Sale' area (75% off), and for the price I paid, I'm happy with it. The line doesn't have welded loops like the new lines do, but instead has three nails knots, tied in series to create the loop. I haven't fished the line yet, but did put it in some water - it appears the line is of neutral buoyancy, but maybe that is a good thing, sink you can vary the sink rate by adding or removing some sink putty. I also like that it is clear."
Review 8 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Value,
January 18, 2013
By: OUTRAGEOUS
from Southern New Jersey
"For the sale price of less than $20.00 per line I'll use it to tie up tomato plants if it doesn't fish well. Overall rating at 3 starrs due to not being able to use the product in the field to date."
Review 9 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line for lake fishing.,
December 28, 2012
By: Fenworth
from Northern California.
"I use this line on my Echo Carbon 2 weight rod. The rod loads well but I don't think you are going to impress anyone with distance. However, I often use this line, as I cast from shore at my local lake, using small streamers, to induce vicious strikes from cruising trout. I caught 11 trout on my last outing so I have a hard time not liking this line."
Review 10 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line - I hope,
December 11, 2012
By: RMab
from Glendora, CA
"Now, if I can find a spare spool for my Orvis Battenkill Large Arbor II reel,
I will put it on and use it!
Making a reel and not supplying spare spools is a SHAME....."
Review 11 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Warning will robinson,
November 5, 2012
By: Zeddediah
from Dallas, tX
"I was sorely disappointed in this line and in myself for not reading the reviews. My experience was exactly as the consensus states. The line was fine in a standing position without any water movement, and in fact I caught a nice stripper on it. However, I fish from a kayak the vast majority of the time. The memory was so poor, and the coil-knots so bad i spent half my time de-knotting the line. Most frustrating day of fly fishing since I picked up a rod. Fish where surfacing all around me, and here I was fiddling around with knots. The line ruined the trip. Orvis sells lotsa lines that don't do this while still being good on the stillwater, so I can't recommend this line (9 wt intermediate gen 3). Orvis shoulda done their homework on this one."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceNovember 8, 2012
We thank you for your feedback regarding this product. The reason clear intermediate lines typically have more memory is that they are constructed using solid monofilament cores instead of the braided Dacron or braided monofilament cores used in other lines. Solid monofilament is used to make the line appear clear, though as a natural consequence, the line will have more memory. Prior to each use of these lines, we suggest stretching the line across your chest and holding for a three count. This should rectify any problems with memory. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Review 12 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beware of Sales items,
October 29, 2012
By: HampshireFly
from Hampshire, UK
"As an Orvis enthusiast it grieves me to say that I found this line to be very disappointing as; (1) the coiling memory was severe and the line would not straighten making it virtually impossible to use and (2) the line coating started to strip off the front end of the line. I purchased it as a sale item and maybe it was very old stock, but it’s not the product quality I have come to expect from Orvis. However, Orvis acknowledged the problem and made a full refund with sincere apologies from the shop staff."
Review 13 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good price flyline,
October 27, 2012
By: Nayfly
"Purchased 4wt, casts great, doesn't coil much but it does sink slowly in calm water."
Review 14 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
soon to be tested,
October 23, 2012
By: troutslayer42
from Orland Park, Illinois
"An outstanding value. Being new to an intermediate line,the attributes of the line sold me. It will be tested in the spring at Lake Tannycomo."
Review 15 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gen 3 line,
July 31, 2012
By: Brookieman
from Upper Michigan
"I usually go steelie fishing 4-5 times a year but when i do i like to use streamers with an intermediate sinking line on a local deep river. This is an easy caster. I love the clarity of the line. An Orvis bargain!"
Review 16 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My #1 fly line,
May 21, 2012
By: Gwyatt
from Tulsa, Ok
"I have used this product for years. I will not buy any other intermediate line for my fly rod. It performs wonderfuly."
Review 17 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best lake line,
May 10, 2012
By: dn4b
from OR
"With a flashabou bugger on point, and a callibaetis trailing I guarantee fish on this line.."
Review 18 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not good enough to carry the Orvis Name,
April 17, 2012
By: tombo55
from Dedham Ma
"I purchased the 10 wt clear last year and have not been pleased since I bought it. I have tried to use it in all seasons and it performs very poorly in the spring, fall, and winter months.
It has much to memory and tangles up in the stripping basket. I have always used Orvis lines and been pleased but this one is a dog. I would return it if I could.
"
Review 19 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine line,
January 12, 2012
By: beefstoo
from High Peak Derbyshire
"I have only used the line once and it performed very well indeed. If I had one criticism it would be that it did not come of the packing easily and took a while to unravel and get on to my reel."
Review 20 for Generation 3 Clear Intermediate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 15, 2011
By: Rowland
from Washington State
"I have fished this line numerous times in stillwater situations. The line has performed incredibly well for me. I will be looking to add other line wts to my collection."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.