Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline

30' fast-sinking head with 70' small-diameter intermediate running line. Transition taper from head to running line is a smooth, gradual, knotless taper to eliminate hinging. Shooting head is dark brown; running line is amber. 100'. See chart for sink rates. Made in USA.Specify weight: 700 grains.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Review 1 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handles Great,
March 13, 2012
By: KingsSilversReds
from Lynn, MA
"Just tried this line and found it to handle great. Quick sinking allowed me to get to the depth needed. Easy casting long distances."
Review 2 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line for getting down deep.,
March 5, 2012
By: hmsvictory
from chesapeake bay
"This is the one if you need to get down as far as possible or if you are fishing in fast moving water around bridges or structure."
Review 3 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good stuff,
March 1, 2012
By: aland
from Maine
"This is my favorite shooting head - have used many and this is is the overall best performing that I have used."
Review 4 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fast sinking line,
February 27, 2012
By: tomhardman
from Arlington, VA
"This is a great quick sinking line that really allows me to get the fly down."
Review 5 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent line for the price,
February 22, 2012
By: coldandclearwaters
from San Jose, CA
"I picked this line up on sale, and for the price it's a nice line. My only gripe is the poorly trimmed nail knotted mono tag with the memory of an elephant that caught my guides going in and out. Problem solved by removing that and creating a whipped loop. Slick coating give far casts, and the dense head takes the fly down quick."
Review 6 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lives up to expectations,
December 29, 2011
By: tk4510
"The Orvis Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline is the only sinking line I use to get my fly down deep . It preforms as advertised"
Review 7 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Generation 3 Depth Charge Line,
December 20, 2011
By: BobTrout
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought the DC400 10/11 weight, which sinks about 6 inches per second, for a trip to the Smith River, CA last week. It was my first time fly fishing for king salmon, and this line, teamed up with my Helios 11 wt., did the trick.
The slick coating makes it cast like a dream, and it has little memory, which minimizes tangles. I used my Orvis stripping basket, casting from an anchored drift boat, to kings holding in about 15 to 20 feet of water. The sink rate allowed me to get down quickly to the fish, then maximized the time my fly was in the strike zone as I stripped it back in.
In 3 1/2 days of fishing I hooked 6 big kings: 3 shook off the fly, 2 broke me off, and I landed and released my first king on the fly- a beautiful 45 pound male, after an epic 40 minute battle.
This line made it happen!"
Review 8 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good distance casting line,
August 4, 2011
By: LIFlyrodder
"I've used this Orvis Depth Charge line for 7 years on my 9wt in saltwater. It's great for making long casts. Just get the cast under control and let it go. Just caught a lot of big stripers and blues off Cape Cod using this line."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best lake line,
August 4, 2011
By: JoeSt
"I use this line mostly for stripping woolly buggers and similar flies in lakes. If in the shallows I strip faster. Occasionally when using nymph type flies I fish faster than most people. I do not "hand twist" retrieve.
What I like most is the effortless cast. Bring the fly in, roll cast forward, back cast and shoot it forward.
I find that on my rods its best to go one line weight higher than the rod specifies."
Review 10 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Deep Water Line,
November 16, 2010
By: Chopper
"I bought it for still water fishing in deep western water reservoirs. First time out with it, using a leach pattern, I had the best day all season. Catching fish that's what it is good for!"
Review 11 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This line has made me a convert.,
October 3, 2010
By: ZipCode
from ReNo, Nv
"I've been fly fishing for years now and have always been a Rio man, not any more. I was amazed at how easy this line cast's and how it did not curl up like most new lines do when they hit the water, this line fished like your favorite broke in line on the first cast. Thank you Orvis for another fine product."
Review 12 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Depth Charge for Stipers,
December 18, 2009
By: TheKingfish
from Atlanta, GA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I mainly fly fish for landlocked “fresh water” striped bass on Lake Lanier. A sinking line is a necessity 95% of the time.
After using “full sink” lines with reasonable - but limited - success, I moved on to “shooting heads” with a running line, which I didn’t enjoy casting. Then I discovered integrated sink-tip lines and tried lines from several other manufacturers before trying Orvis’ Depth Charge.
Regardless of brand, I always stretch my lines before use to eliminate or reduce coiling, tangling and “rats nests”. My Depth Charge lines always shoot better, tangle less and “unfold” straighter than any of the other brands I’ve used.
I currently use 200 grain and 250 grain line on 6 & 7 wt. rods, and 350 grain line on 8 wt. rods.
The 250 grain line sinks about 5” per second; the 350 grain line sinks about 6” per second. So, when you “mark” fish on your fishfinder at 20’ deep: cast your fly, count down 35-40 seconds (16’ – 20’) and begin stripping. These lines also work well for “blind casting” over deep water or casting to the banks.
You can even use these lines with great success when stripers (or other fish) are surface feeding. Just begin stripping as soon as your fly hits the water.
Tight Lines & Fish Tales"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
black salmon (kelt) in Miramichi River,
April 22, 2009
By: fishtracker
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Casts good
sinks fast for swift dirty water
awesome for edge of bank fishing
"
Review 14 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line,
October 12, 2007
By: Fuzzy
from Montana
"I have had great luck with this line. It casts heavy streamers in the wind on the Missouri river with ease, and I love how quickly it gets down to those big brown trout. I would definitely recommend this line to any serious trout fisherman, for going after big fish with big flies."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Generation 3 Depth Charge Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Choice,
October 7, 2007
By: SPR8
from Massachusetts
"I am exclusively a salt water fisherman targeting mainly striped bass and bluefish in the Massachusetts/Rhode Island area. The line casts well, even in the windy conditions that we often experience in the Northeast. The line does a really good job of keeping the fly presentation intact, while getting it down into the strike zone. The only knock that I have so far, is that the intermediate running line tends to twist up on itself and form frustrating tangles. It has gotten much better with treatments, stretching and use; but it was still unexpected out of the box. Overall, a good all purpose sinking line from Orvis that I would recommend to others."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.