Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3

33% longer belly makes fly line mending easier for longer dry-fly drifts, especially when casting to trout from great distances. Easy Mend Wonderline enhances fly line control when nymphing. Braided nylon core. Front welded loop for easy, fast leader attachment. In yellow. 3-7 wt. 90', 8 wt. lines 105'. USA.Trout fly line in weights: 3-8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Review 1 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lovely line, poor welded loops,
August 13, 2012
By: TroutHound
"A really nice line in a 4wt to go with the Helios 9'6" 4wt mid-flex rod but...the welded loops on two lines have unpeeled within a few months and a few cracks have appeared in the line. Shame because it casts well and feels good on the strike and play."
Review 2 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Even at a high discount, would not recommend,
June 17, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"Was disappointed with this line right off. I purchased it because it was regularly on discount on the website. Now I understand why. After the third return of the same line, I was done with the Wonderline. The customer service rep even admitted they had bad welded loops on this line, probably why they are on sale until they are no longer in stock. I realize loops fail eventually, but three Wonderlines with loop failures that happened within the first 4 outtings is pretty bad. I was not hucking huge streamers, or big tandem stones either. 14-16 nymphs without much weight and the loops just peeled apart like a banana."
Review 3 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great LIne,
May 8, 2012
By: FourStringAxe
from White River VT
"Great line, caught fish first time out, loop on the end to attach the leader saves time! Slides through eyes well!"
Review 4 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Line,
May 4, 2012
By: RKP444
from Lovells, Michigan
"Needed a replacement line and ordered an Easy Mend wonderline.
Very pleased with the line - it loads up short and casts long. Works well on the water and roll casts easy.
"
Review 5 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy-Mend Wonderline,
March 27, 2012
By: troutmstr
from Brentwood, TN
"This is an excellent line for the price. Like most fly fishermen, I have more reels than I need. With this line, I can have a fill them all with a great quality, fine casting line without breaking the bank. I highly recommend this line."
Review 6 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slicker than a wet trout,
March 26, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"This line works great! I have it in a 4wt and I love it. Makes life a whole lot easier. It does what it says- mending is a breeze with this line."
Review 7 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Line on sale,
March 14, 2012
By: Roosenburg
"Fantastic bargain for this quality line. Very pleased"
Review 8 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Stuff!!,
March 5, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"I am liking this more and more. turns over like silk and it really casts smoothly!!"
Review 9 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
February 27, 2012
By: KingsSilversReds
"I bought the 8 wt for a fishing trip to Alaska for silver salmon and Rainbows. Loaded it on the Battenkill reel and tried it out at a local pond. It casts smooth and accurate and seems to cast further than the previous line I had. I highly recommend this line."
Review 10 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good line,
February 27, 2012
By: CathyG
from PA
"I didn't think a line at this price could be very good but I was pleasantly surprised.
I bought it to rig up a spare rod for use by a friend who never fly fished before. I took it to the stream for a "test drive" and was surprised at how slick it was through the guides. The 5 weight line threw small nymph rigs easily. It cast well close in and out to about 30'.
Possibly a little on the stiff side but that is probably due to air and water temps in the 30s."
Review 11 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cracking of line,
September 25, 2011
By: MKbras
"I've used this line about a dozen times and it's not cracking in a 5 foot section about 30 to 40 feet in. Anyone else having this problem?"
Review 12 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Broken tip,
August 31, 2011
By: Kreggor
from Salem, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Is this normal? Had the line for three months. The tip is falling apart. Bought a 5 weight hydros rod and reel with it. Would this be defective?"
Review 13 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casting and Mending Line,
August 15, 2011
By: MStenderfoot
"I go drift boat fishing about once a year. Took 5 & 6 weight Easy Mend lines to Montana. Used them on the Mo, the Blackfoot and a spring creek. Throws great. Loads quick for short casts and shoots like it was greased for long casts. We spent three days drifting. You could just flip your wrist and throw a great mend. On the spring creek it loaded quick for short casts over tuffs of grass and brush. Stayed slick for the whole 4 days of fishing. I really like this line."
Review 14 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 15, 2011
By: Rowland
"This is a very solidly performing fly line. It is very easy to cast and mends nicely."
Review 15 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent line for HELIOS 6 wt Mid,
August 1, 2011
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I purchased this line for my new HELIOS 6wt 9ft Mid Flex rod, because I have made the experience, that the 5wt version of this line is a perfect match for my HELIOS 5wt 8,6ft Mid Flex rod.
The same is with this line. It allows for a wide casting range and is a true 6wt line for this true 6wt rated rod. The Wonderline WF Easy Mend allows for a very precise casting without any bumps in the line from the rod tip etc.
Also this line -as its name says- mends nicely and works well from dry fly to nymph fishing.
The line coiling of some ORVIS Wonderlines I avoid by spooling the strectched line on the reel and straightening it out 3 times (after that I have no trouble with the special anti-dirt coating that slightly stiffens some lines).
"
Review 16 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Line - loop needs work,
May 31, 2011
By: Griggs
from Vermont
"I purchased this line last year and fished it 10 - 15 times. I just fished it last weekend and it looked great after I spooled it but after a few casts I noticed that the welded loop fraying at the beginning. It looked like it would soon come undone. I like the line and I have a ton of Orvis products so hesitate to write a bad review. But I suspect that this is the best way to let the developers know that they need to change the way they develop their lines and loops. It was suggested to me from Orvis support that I put a nail knot over the loop end to prevent breakage but I think that if it was needed then it should come that way out of the box. Likewise, I think my loop is too far gone to salvage and I do not want to risk losing the fish of the summer because of a frayed loop or a band aid nail knot.
If there is any good from my review is that this line casts great and mends even better. I use it on a 10’ rod and I could not have been happier about the performance until I noticed the loop. Thanks."
Review 17 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent line,
May 31, 2011
By: Keith01
"i bought an orvis wonderline trout easy mend and find it superb ."
Review 18 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Loop opened up on 2nd try,
August 3, 2010
By: finshingforteaching
from CO
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I received it two weeks ago, went up the Rocky Mountain the next day and caught 8 grayling in 4 hours! I was very happy with my 1st try.
I went to the same place last Sunday to give the 2nd try. I caught a beautiful cutthroat in 30 minutes. So far so good. However, when I tried to land the 2nd cutthroat the front welded loop suddenly opened up and the fish escaped with my favorite fly which was also bought from Orvis.
This might be a minor defect but I think it should not happen, at least such soon, as an Orvis product.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 19 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nymphers Paradise,
June 3, 2009
By: flyfishingmack
from The Mountains, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you love to fly fish you will love this line. Nymph fishing is by far the most productive style of fly fishing so why not make it easier on yourself by using a line that works for you. This line roll cast easily, mends like no other, and even cast long distances rather well. The front taper is steep enough to aid in rolling over heavy nymph rigs with big air resistant indicators. The long belly even helps load alot of the faster action rods like the helios 10' 5wt tip flex i have. This is definately my go to line for TROUT."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Trout Easy Mend Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Flyline I've Been Waiting For,
January 30, 2008
By: okbrown
from Tulsa, OK
"This is the slickest flyline I've ever used, yet it still remains flexible even in the coldest tailwaters. "Easy Mend" is right: it comes off the surface of the water more easily, making it a snap to cast or mend. The longer belly loads my flyrod quicker, giving me more distance. I really like what you've done."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.