Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3

Improves line management, mending capabilities, and when roll casting is a priority. Front welded loop for easy, fast leader attachment. Braided mutifilament core. In yellow, olive dun. 3-7wt. 90', 8 wt. 105'. Made in USA.Specify yellow or olive dun, line weights 3-8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Review 1 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy,
July 11, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I opted for this line when deciding to over line my Superfine 3 wt. When casting short distances it can be tough to get a good flex and feel out of the rod. Additionally, in small streams roll casting can be the predominate method and this line is great for that purpose. I've been very pleased with the feel and ease of casting after opting for the double taper one weight heavier. It's a great all around line I'd recommend for any floating set-up. Great line!"
Review 2 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rides High,
May 25, 2011
By: acadian
from Pittsburgh,PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've used cortland for many years and when it was time to replace my line, I found that it is getting harder and harder to find a DT. This shoots very nicely, mends easily, and rides nice and high, even in fast water. I did not know if I would like the built in loop for the leader, but it seems to be OK. Since it is only on the one end, I would guess that Orvis wants you to replace the line when the one end wears out, and not turn it over to use the other, as most folks do with a double taper. A piece of amnesia attached with a nail knot should do the trick"
Review 3 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gen 3 Line,
January 4, 2011
By: Brook
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
""My Gen 3 DT for 5wt in Olive does have a nice appearance and does move thru the guides nicely. But, I dislike the loops which hit the water too hard and sink, so I removed them. My biggest problem, however, is that the line retains too high a memory and coils and kinks constantly. Because of that, on colder days I found it too be nearly unfishable.""
Review 4 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The front loop breaks after 2nd time fishing,
November 17, 2010
By: ChrisSJ
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I always trust Orvis fishing products and would recommend Orvis to my friend. BUT NOT THIS FLY LINE!!!! I own a 4 wt line. The front loop broke the 3rd time I brought it to water and I lost a decent fish, not to mention, my leaders and fly. The loop doesn't seem to be very reliable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silky smooth,
May 2, 2009
By: Gentleman
from NJ
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"While I was skeptical at first paying a bit more for this line after filling my reel and a few casts there is no comparison. Very pleased with the ease of casting and low resistance of the line. A great product innovation."
Review 6 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOME FLY LINE FOR ALL OCCASSIONS!,
November 13, 2008
By: ALLABOUTTROUT
from EVERETT, WASHINGTON
"I BOUGHT SOME WONDERLINE D.T. IN VARIOUS WEIGHTS AND IT IS OUTSTANDING. COATING IS VERY SLICK AND WILL SHOOT WELL. ALSO, IT IS EXTREMELY DURABLE, YET SUPPLE. I ALSO BOUGHT SOME W.F. FOR MY 5 WT ROD. ALSO, VERY GOOD LINE. THE ONLY THING I WOULD SAY COULD BE IMPROVED IS THE WELDED LOOP. ON ONE OF THE LINES I JUST GOT IT CAME APART JUST WHEN I WAS LAWN CASTING IT. I WAS TOLD BY ONE OF THE GUYS AT ORVIS TO JUST CUT IT OFF AND PUT A LEADER ON WITH A NAIL KNOT AND IT IS PERFECT. ALL IN ALL, I RECOMMEND THIS LINE HIGHLY."
Review 7 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line,
May 29, 2008
By: easternPA
from Eastern Pennsylvania
"I was told to step up from a beginner fly line, to a "good quality" one, and decided to go with this Generation 3 line by orvis. This stuff is amazing. This line has made simply casting a blast. Moves very smoothly through the guides."
Review 8 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous for rollcasting,
March 11, 2008
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"There's a guy who frequents one of the ponds I fish, and he rollcasts a mile; incredible to watch. His secret: double-taper line. I like Wonderline Gen 3 WF line so I thought I would try DT on my new outfit, and it is the perfect complement. Easy to mend, and it casts well too."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slick as Ice,
October 9, 2007
By: FLICASTER
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The first time I tried this line was for Small Mouth on the schuykill river. I had used my friend's Reel loaded with his line prior to this. We we casting the same patterns but the wind was blowing harder than it had in our previous trip here.
it was immediately evident that the GENERATION 3 was without a doubt the best line that I have ever used. The ease that I could shoot line and the way it punched itself into the wind was more than I could believe. This line is everything any fly fisher could want. The design of the taper allows for short line loading and ease of shooting the running line
It can't be beat. Once again ORVIS has hit a homerun.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The greatest fly line,
October 4, 2007
By: malkytheflyfisher
from Fremont, CA
"I purchased the Wonderline WF10F Tarpon Line, generation 3 to use for bass fishing. I over line my 7wt 4 piece rod to cast large deer hair bugs. This line is so slick I can shoot line on a windy day with no problem. Long distance casting is a breeze. This line was recomended to me by a friend and I can recomend it to everyone else. This line also casts great on a 10wt rod when casting poppers to rising stripers. One of these days I hope to have a chance to use this line on a tarpon."
Review 11 for Double Taper Wonderline Trout Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly a great fly line,
October 4, 2007
By: Pejota
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been a guide for years and this is truly the finest fly line made. Wonderline has been my favorite for a long while and this new Generation 3 is tops. The line casts with an effortless motion and releases from the reel easily time and time again. I work with both expert fly casters and beginners, as well and find the floating Wonderline the easiest to maintain, cast and mend. It fishes well in all circumstances whether you are making a tough cast for rising trout or making a difficult mend in a tight situation. I take great pride in using the finest equipment for myself and the people I take fishing and recommend Wondereline Generation 3 to both experienced and new fly fishermen."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.