Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3

This fly fishing line's taper is designed to maximise the effectiveness of traditional-flexing rods like our Superfine rod series or any other fly rods where delicacy is paramount, such as the system you would use when stalking wild trout. Fly line features a compound front taper that ensures positive turnover. Braided nylon core. Fly fishing line in blue dun. Length: 1-6 wt. 80'. USA.Fly line weights: 1-6.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Review 1 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Welded Loop?,
May 25, 2012
By: JRCIL
"I just got this line in the mail and it looks ok, except the "front welded loop" is not a front welded loop at all. I have several orvis lines that have the front welded loop and this one is nothing like it. The 1wt line has a second piece of fly line nail knotted to the end of the line and slid over the end of the second piece of line is a loop. I dont know yet how this will effect the casting of the line, but I am disappointed with the not really welded loop. I bought this online and return shipping is not worth the hassle."
Review 2 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good line,
March 27, 2012
By: mcambec
from Upstate NY
"I bought a 2 wt at a deep discounted price. I went fishing today and was pleased. The line was easy to cast with a good soft presentation. The only draw back is the tip started to sink a little after a few hours on the water. Good line for the money."
Review 3 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
new life for a 20 year old rod!,
February 14, 2012
By: doublehaul
from Rouge River Watershed, MI
"I never had the line shoot out the guides so fast ..the superfine line brought new life to an already excellent casting 7'9" Ultrafine 2wt..gentle presentation, distance, stealth..all rolled into one line..Orvis never fails to impress me!"
Review 4 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 3, 2012
By: EddieW
from Long Island
"Exactly what I wanted, will enjoy using April 15 - opening day"
Review 5 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Small Rod Line,
January 30, 2012
By: Breamfly50
from Central-Mississippi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I do alot of fishing in the Smoky Mountains with 1 and 2 weight rods. This line is by far the best fit for the Superfine and Trout Bum rods in the smaller weights. Awesome fly line! I highly recommend it!"
Review 6 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine Trout Fly Line.,
January 20, 2012
By: FireFly2
"Bought 2 of these lines last year for my old (20 year +) Far and Fine 5 wt. rods. Really helped on getting those flies to land perfectly on the water. With furled leaders, these lines are wonderful to fish with."
Review 7 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth,
September 13, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"I really like this line. Supposed to be for mid flex but I use it on my Helios Tip Flex and it's great for sensitive strikes"
Review 8 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
August 23, 2011
By: Bigbutlight
from Western Australia
"This line is easy to see, casts effortlessly, floats perfectly, has a built in loop for easy leader connection and tangles less as a result, I have had no problems with line coiling up even though it's not spooled on a large arbor reel. Compliments my set up beautifully."
Review 9 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderline Gen3 truly is wonderful!,
July 28, 2011
By: CFJerram
from Northern Maine
"Spooled a new 5 weight on my reel, made a couple of false casts and the line shot through the guides like never before! I could not believe how slick this line really is! This line makes distance problems a thing of the past.
Honestly, the only problem I've found is that it makes it a little more difficult when changing a fly because the line is so slick that it wants to come back rhrough the guides! Easily solved with a couple of turns of the rod....well worth the effort!"
Review 10 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line,
June 3, 2011
By: limesey
"This stuff flies out of the rod. Also great for making very delicate presentations. I thought the white would be hard too see since I am used to yellow but it's not a problem at all. The loop end is very smooth on this line."
Review 11 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best line on the market!,
March 2, 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have tried fly lines from several different companies over the years. The third generation Wonderline is the best line I have used so far. It shoots through the guides well delivering superb distance, and crisp accuracy and a delicate presentation. The floating lines sit high on the water providing a noticeable advantage in mending and drift control even after several hours of use! Highly recommended, especially for those using ultralight (1-3 weight lines)."
Review 12 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great overall line,
August 19, 2010
By: DJag
from New Hampshire
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used this on a 4-weight outfit this past year and have been very impressed with how cleanly the line lifts off the water and how elegantly it absorbs the energy from the rod tip. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it seems to be especially susceptible to wind and breeze effects, unlike a heavier line. Other than that... perfect!"
Review 13 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the lazy fisherman,
February 8, 2010
By: Scandinaviafish
from Sweden, Scandinavia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Am I too lazy? Does´nt matter, I love the loops at the end of the line. Even in the total dark I can easily attach the leader to my fly line. The Superfine i also delicate and smooth as silk."
Review 14 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blue Dun!,
May 5, 2009
By: TNtroutbum
from TN and WY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I own several spools of Wonderline. Any of the wonderline series are really good for what ever application you are fishing. I particularly liked this one because of the blue dun color paired up with my Superfine. I would like to see DT in this one for roll casting the tight spots."
Review 15 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice!,
October 31, 2008
By: ChrisB
from Derbyshire UK.
"I use these lines on my superfine 4wt. and my T3. Both are spot on with the line. Roll casts, overhead casts, presentation is beautiful.
Just remember to pull off the line and give it a stretch before fishing to get rid of any annoying coils.
"
Review 16 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delicate presentation,
August 1, 2008
By: pescator7
from New York, NY
"This line pairs perfectly with the Superfine series of rods. The line loads very easily and turns over well; especially when roll casting in tight quarters. Very delicate presentation for picky trout."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very surprised!,
June 25, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"Having used the standard wonderline gen 3's since they came out I decided to take a punt at the superfine line but not on my superfine and found that for my river work it is fantastic, loads quickly and gives excellent presentation. I will definatly use this line agian and again!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line!,
May 15, 2008
By: Chrmax
from Franklin, IN
"This line really shoots off the reel like a jet off an aircraft carrier. It is easy to control and does not pick up dirt like most other lines and is very tough. Worth the money for the shooting ability. Got for my superfine and battenkill, great trifecta!"
Review 19 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super dupper fine,
October 11, 2007
By: SuperFineSteven
from Mercer, PA.
"This fly line is great for close up casting on small streams. its a perfect match for superfine full flex rods. its tough too i tied in large trout tho it was only 3 weight line it held up for the fight. its great for nymphs and dries. super dupper fine!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Superfine Trout Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 9, 2007
By: TomB
"This is the line in use with my Superfine 7'6' 3wt.
I use the common WF with my fast action 4 wt rod. But for the Superfine I was looking for a soft presentation from my shorter full flex rod.
I works great for those little 15 to 25 foot casts, but if you need to punch it out past 40 feet not problem at all.
I guess my only gripe is that I wish it came a color that was a little more visable. They call it Blue Dun but it just looks like an off white to me and is a little hard to see when the sun gets below the horizon and you're in the shadows of the river. But even though I dont like the color I plan to buy it again since it performs so well with my Superfine 3wt."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.