Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines

Our most versatile taper for all-around trout fishing applications. Plus, the slickness makes pickup off the water easier and quieter. Floats high for mending. Front welded loop for fast, easy leader attachment. In olive dun, yellow, olive head/yellow running line. 1-7 wt. 90', 8 wt. 105'. Braided mutifilament core. Made in USA.Specify yellow line weights 1-8..Olive dun line weights 3-8.Yellow/olive line weights 3-6.
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (164 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
42
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
3
149 of 164(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Review 1 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good price,
May 22, 2013
By: hub99664
from seward alaska
"couldnt pass this up at the sale price i got it at!"
Review 2 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 2, 2013
By: FlyfishinGramps
"I liked the price and I like the line even better. The line casts very well and performs better than I expected. Another Orvis product that more than lives up to expectations. Tight lines."
Review 3 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Line For Price,
April 11, 2013
By: Dreezy
from North Texas
"Really, you can't find a cheaper line for the quality. I bought this line on sale and haven't been disappointed at all. I bought the DT 8 to use for bass fishing and have thoroughly enjoyed the action I get from this line. It casts smooth and performs well with bass poppers and other top water flies."
Review 4 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as described unfortunately,
April 9, 2013
By: helix
from knoxville tn
"I purchased the line on clearance and it does seem to cast ok. My biggest issue with the line is it was described and pictured as having a welded loop. When it arrived it did not have the welded loop but instead had a thick piece of unknown clear line attached with what appears to be a nail knot to the end of the fly line with a loop tied at the other end end. I purchased this line to replace the line I had that had been set up the same way. In my opinion this is an unnecessary weak spot and additional place to snag when fishing large game fish. Unfortunately due to this I will have to replace the line again very soon. While I am a big fan of the Orvis items I have purchased in the past, recommend the company highly, and will undoubtedly continue to purchase Orvis items in the future ,it is unlikely I will purchase Orvis line again to replace this one. my time on the water is precious to me and I am not ok with taking unnecessary chances with my gear when fighting big carp, striper or musky ."
Review 5 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great casting line,
April 8, 2013
By: Plowman
"I have used this same line in different applications and have always been very happy with its strength and the ease it casts."
Review 6 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slick,
April 6, 2013
By: searchn4steelies
from Grand Rapids, Michigan
"I have wonder line weight forward and just bought this DT from the clearance tent sale. I am using it on my Clearwater rod and it is smooth/slick casting. ORVIS equipment is worth it at sale or full price!"
Review 7 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fly line,
April 4, 2013
By: BLans17
from Syracuse, NY
"Super slick line. Shoots well and lays down well. Smooth tight loops. Straightens out easy. Just a really good product"
Review 8 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DT Trout Wonderline Gen3,
April 1, 2013
By: BryanM
from Towson, MD
"I consider this an excellent product and so do the other folks I fish with . . ."
Review 9 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Line,
March 27, 2013
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"I have at least six lines from Orvis and they are all great. I had no second thoughts about ordering this line knowing how well the company performs."
Review 10 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 18, 2013
By: Mike11813
from Lebanon, IN
"This is one of the best fly lines I have ever used!!! I put the 7wt dt floating line on my 6wt rod and it loads beautifully. It casts farther, floats higher, and without any memory problem at all. Orivis fly lines are unbeatable when it comes to price and quality."
Review 11 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its a floater!,
October 19, 2012
By: PenguinPaul
from South of England UK
"As with all Orvis lines, and this one is no exeption, it casts well and floats well. It all adds up to a pleasant days fishing."
Review 12 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderline Float line,
October 16, 2012
By: StuReviewer
"have been using Wonderline WF float lines for years...always satisfied."
Review 13 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Necessary product for fly fishing,
September 22, 2012
By: TexasinWA
from Woodinville. WA
"The FW line is excellent for casting. I use a fast rod and loading up and unloading the line requires a little more percision in one's casting style.
A great purchase when on sale."
Review 14 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
high quality great price,
August 14, 2012
By: pjfriver
"line moves cleanly through the eyes, good quality for the price."
Review 15 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderline,
August 7, 2012
By: Valdi
from Iceland
"I have used Wonderline for years
and i feel it is the line forever
"
Review 16 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid DT trout line,
July 25, 2012
By: tightlines845
from Catskills ny
"Got out on the water for the first time this past weekend with my new Gen 3 Wonderline. It cast like a dream, and was certainly an upgrade from my previous line."
Review 17 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gen 8 Olive 8Wt. wonderline.,
July 19, 2012
By: MILLCREEKCARPSLAYER
from Brown City,MI
"Great line, i just wish there was a loop at the other end so i can flip my line when my line gets old. Good stuff though"
Review 18 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good deal,
July 16, 2012
By: Luiz
from Kings Mountain, NC
"I have used orvis products for years and I am sure that this product will be as effective as all the rest. Actually I have not put it on the reel as yet."
Review 19 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderline Trout,
July 3, 2012
By: OzarkFisher
from Springfield, Mo
"Slick line that shoots thru your rod for those long cast. Line floats high on the water and is easy to mend so that you can drift those dry flies longer. Highly recommend for any fly fisherman;"
Review 20 for Weight Forward Wonderline Trout Lines
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly line!,
June 18, 2012
By: Rybo
from Sheffield, S Yorks
"Having used Wonderlines before, I know and trust their excellent characteristics in use and their durability. A truly high quality line that performs well cast after cast, maintaining its smoothness and floatability throughout a season and more. Getting it in one of Orvis' 20% off sales just added to my satisfaction!"