Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line

Up to a 19% longer belly than standard lines and 15' extended rear taper make roll casting and line mending easier. Increased mass enhances casting distance. Braided multifilament core for increased suppleness to address various steelhead or salmon situations. In light olive. 105'. Made in USA.Fly line weights: 11, 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Review 1 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
he will probably outcast me now,
December 11, 2013
By: steelieseeker
from indiana pa
"great service--great price---great gifi for my fishing partner as his other line finally after who knows how many years is brittle and cracked"
Review 2 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Wonderline,
March 28, 2013
By: Taylr110
from York, PA
"Excellent line, smooth casting and shooting. Good weight and strength for Great Lakes Steelhead and Salmon. Looking forward to trying it out on the West Coast steelies. Easily retrieves smoothly through rod eyes. The velcro band is great to keep you line together on the reel when packing it away. No complaints, it even held up nicely in sub-freezing temps."
Review 3 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline,
May 26, 2012
By: Caddis
from North Coast
"After finding that I was drastically underlined on my 12'6" Spey rod, and following a friends suggestion and purchased a 12 wt. SS Wonderline.
I am pleased with the additional length of cast and overall feel of my new line.
"
Review 4 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice line,
August 11, 2011
By: Derek58
from Houston, TX
"Good floating WF line. Floats high and casts well but not as smooth as some other I have used."
Review 5 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome line,
November 22, 2010
By: Oregonguide
from Joseph, OR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This line exceeds my expectations. Match it up with a Helios 10' rod and you may find your best casts ever. This line matches perfectly with my Helios and WANTS to cast tight loops once the belly is out. The longer belly mends satisfactorily, it is a great line for swinging and casts versileader sinking leaders well."
Review 6 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Atlantic Salmon Line,
July 13, 2010
By: SalarMan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I finally got around to buying and trying this taper for Atlantic Salmon and it was without a doubt the best thing I've added to my equipment for Atlantics since my 10' -8wt- Clearwater II. Casts a mile, mends like a dream and will roll cast like no other weight forward I've used. Great line!!!!!"
Review 7 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Generation 3 Fly Line,
July 7, 2010
By: AvidAngler
from Ohio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Generation 3 Fly Line I recently purchased for trout fishing is excellent. I am very pleased with the way it casts and handles while fishing. Great product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
April 9, 2010
By: steeleboy
from Cleveland, OH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Perfect line for the shallow steelhead rivers in OH. Mends perfectly and can cast a mile if needed."
Review 9 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIVE STARS,
September 17, 2008
By: Bilbo
"All around perfect line for the steelhead / Salmon. Floats great Mends Like a dream. Roll casting made easy. You can put a fly on a dime with this line"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great freshwater line!!,
December 7, 2007
By: Robert
from Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I don't live near Salmon or Steelhead country but I saw this Salmon/Steelhead 6 wt. Wonderline on sale and decidied to try it on my Battenkill Mid Arbor IV reel for lake fishing. It's a great line and I just caught this 8 lb. bass with it about an hour ago!! It was fat too! (my wife took the picture for me). I was using my TLS Power Matrix 905-4 Mid flex 8.0. and the mid arbor with 6 wt. line. This line shoots really well and easily turns over poppers and Puglisi Micro Minnows right where I want them. There are no real cold conditions here so I can't tell you about it's agility in frigid water, but it casts really nicely in Fla. I also notice it has alot less memory than the 6 wt. Bonefish Wonderline that I use for light salt water. I think this is a top notch line that will make anyone's purchase of it a rewarding one."
Review 11 for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line!,
October 4, 2007
By: NEtracker
from MA
"9wt Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Coupled with my Battenkill LA V Big Game reel performed with outstanding results! Nice casting, distance, and accuracy. Mending was easy, turned over flies easily. Held up well when fighting the 22 lb King!(Pulaski NY, Sept. 2007)
Recommended!
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Salmon/Steelhead Wonderline Generation 3 Fly Line
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3