Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Redfish Wonderline Generation 3

Our Redfish Wonderline fly line is designed with distance and accuracy-enhancing attributes. This fly fishing line offers a stiffer, easier shooting, braided mono core and a longer head section that makes holding this line in the air easy during distance-adding false casts. Fly line has a short front taper that turns over large redfish flies at the end of a long fly cast. In sand. 105'. Redfish fly line in weights: 6-10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Review 1 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redfish Wonderline,
June 13, 2012
By: DaveTheFlyMan
from Decatur Illinois
"Great line great price. I have not used this on redfish yet but I couldn't wait to try it so I went after some bass hear in Illinois. It turned over some big flies with ease. Very smooth thru the guides."
Review 2 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Also a good line for bass,
March 19, 2012
By: Docmag
from Montgomery, Alabama
"This line in a 7wt has recently served me well for fishing my ponds For bass from a boat or float. It is Easy to cast and turns over the larger flies I use. This line is also capable of fairly fine presentation. I have used the line with a newly acquired Clearwater 7 wt 10 foot rod with pleasing results."
Review 3 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the nicest lines I have used,
February 22, 2012
By: TommyT
from Ft Pierce Florida
"The line is very soft and easiest to cast. It slips through the guides with little difficulty. If I could find an 8 wt I would buy it. I would recomend this line to anyone."
Review 4 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Product,
February 17, 2012
By: megalopsatlanticus
from CT
"I bought this line just prior to heading down south for bonefish since I figured I'd need something to punch through the wind. Surprisingly, it wasn't too much power for softer presentations in skinny water. Smooth, easy to shoot, and turned over weighted flies for bones and small tarpon easily. It also stood up to coral and mangrove abuse pretty well! No 5 here since sometimes it seemed to knot far too easily, but that might be due to the layers of salt. Overall, awesome line."
Review 5 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice feel,
February 4, 2012
By: Gresley
from Maine
"The Redfish wonderline has a very nice feel in a variety of water temperatures. We start early and the water can be cool, low memory - later in the day, enough backbone to carry a heavy fly. Shoots well."
Review 6 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reduces the variables,
October 3, 2011
By: OneLinerCaptain
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I deal with many variables when I fish the Louisiana Marsh or the Florida grassflats. Ovis Wonderline eliminates the line performance variable. It is consistantly slicker and edures the the salinity and abrasion of sawgrass and oystershells. It casts well in the wind. it is the only line I use."
Review 7 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line for the Pacific Inshore,
May 13, 2010
By: Steeliechick
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I use this line to fish for corbina, halibut, and croakers. We generally use long leaders on the water here (up to 22 feet!) and this line casts them with ease. The flies were use are heavily weighted, too, and again, I have no problems. It would be my preference, however, to have differently colored line. In order to see a corbina hit the fly, I have to watch the line straighten and the sand colored line can be a bit tricky. Otherwise, Orvis has made another terrific line!"
Review 8 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Line!,
October 10, 2008
By: SWANK
from Hammond, LA
"I have this line in 8 wt and 6 wt. Does WONDERS for my casting. Longer, tight loops, shoots very well. Higly recommend!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Line,
September 11, 2008
By: epchaz
"I have used the redfish line for 3 years on reds, big carp, black bass and pike. It is an excellent line, much better casting that a regular WF floating line for heavy flies of all kinds"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Redfish Wonderline Generation 3
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3