Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shotshell Collar and Lead

A distinctive dog collar with an actual brass shotgun hull and plain leather lead both crafted in genuine, finely tanned leather. Leather dog collar available in even sizes 16" through 26". Collar is ¾" wide. Personalize with engraving on brass plate, up to 2 lines, 13 characters per line for free, on collar only. 6' lead sold separately. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (162 reviews)
5 stars
136
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
152 of 162(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Review 1 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buyer beware - misleading advertising,
December 11, 2014
By: vixxielala
from London
"Please note that when buying the lead although it gives you the option to personalize, Orvis do not offer this option.....I found to my dismay when mine arrived today! I already have the collar and decided to take the plunge and purchase the lead which when selected offered me the option to personalise for free, which of course I did. However when it arrived there was no personalization at all, when I queried this I was told that they don't actually offer this service on the lead only on the collar. Very misleading advertising. That aside, the quality of these products are second to none and I am looking forward for years of wear out of my collar and lead."
Review 2 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best on Market,
December 9, 2014
By: dog2
"This is a high end dog collar. It's beautiful and seems better made than most dog collars you see in a pet store."
Review 3 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
November 28, 2014
By: ramcurchin
from West Yorkshire
"Beautiful soft, sturdy leather. Looks stunning on my little boy."
Review 4 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellence,
November 27, 2014
By: Dondon0970
from Uk
"Beautifully made, lovely looking and a great price. I use this collar as my dogs show collar.
ordering was easy and products arrived exactly when they said it would. So glad I found orvis.
"
Review 5 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar for price,
November 21, 2014
By: StellaTheVizsla
from Northern Virginia
"I bought three of these for my vizsla. I have to have extras because she frequently rolls in deer poo and I like to allow time to rinse collar with shampoo (to eliminate smell) and allow to completely dry. Dog is extremely active and spends a great deal of time outdoors. We go bird hunting, fishing on the boat, strolling around the country, swimming in ponds/river, etc. Two of the three collars are still in excellent condition after 3 years use. The one that didn't fare so well went swimming in salt water. Use the collar everyday, leave at home when you go to the beach. This is a very good product."
Review 6 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog collar ever,
November 19, 2014
By: bazzbk
from NE England
"Had this before & ordered a 2nd one for the second dog. Long lasting, strong & classy."
Review 7 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Collar and Lead,
November 15, 2014
By: lindsey0123
"Love the collar and lead for my chocolate labrador. The name plate is perfect so I don't have to worry about my dog Bear's tags getting caught on things. The lead is long and sturdy and the collar is perfect!"
Review 8 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful quality,
November 15, 2014
By: K9Loopy
from Kent
"I highly recommend this collar, I have searched everywhere for a good quality leather collar. So many people have said how lovely it is. I have told them all check out Orvis."
Review 9 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
November 14, 2014
By: Grublett
from Taunton
"I was very pleased with the quality of this product. It looks on my two working gundogs. Would not hesitate to recommend this to a friend."
Review 10 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant,
November 13, 2014
By: Arch12
from Deal
"Very happy with my purchase looks good on my staff the lead is long which is great"
Review 11 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
October 6, 2014
By: ZMcBillion
from Oberlin, OH
"I've never been a fan of leather dog collars in the past, but this one is very soft, very durable and I really enjoy the shotgun hull on it (mostly because my dog's name is Orvis so it's rather fitting!) All around a high quality collar!"
Review 12 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Dog Collar,
September 19, 2014
By: TBurt
from Dallas, TX
"This is the third collar I've ordered from Orvis. They are rugged and give a very high end appearance to the dog. I had his name etched on the tag and it looks great."
Review 13 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
September 12, 2014
By: blake8305
"Absolutely awesome collar! Love it! You wont' be disappointed"
Review 14 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
July 9, 2014
By: GWH1
from VA
"Collar is beautiful an well made. Did have to put another hole in the smallest collar to keep English Setter from slipping out."
Review 15 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful leather dog accessory,
June 4, 2014
By: EttasMum
from Etna, NY
"These are very nicely made of quality leather that will get better with time. These are her "fancy" collar and leash- not to be worn while feeding the cows or going dog swamping but very nice for a walk through the civilized world."
Review 16 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 3, 2014
By: Brodyboy
"We received the "Shotshell" Dog Collar very quickly considering that it had to be engraved. It looks great on our dog Brody and fits well. He is a handsome Welsh Corgi and the new collar embellishes his masculinity."
Review 17 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great collar,
June 3, 2014
By: rascal22
"This is my 2nd collar from orvis great collar great looking on my boxer"
Review 18 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
May 29, 2014
By: sunmtngirl
from Phoenix, AZ
"I bought this collar for our lab mix rescue. It looks so nice on her and well worth the money. It is quite hardy, we have a new puppy who has endless energy and is constantly grabbing on it with his teeth while playing with her. You would never know all the wear and tear it has received, looks good as new. I will be buying one for the puppy as soon as his growing slows. :)"
Review 19 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar,
May 27, 2014
By: beauxr
from Austin, Texas
"This collar is wonderful. My labrador looks so distinguised!"
Review 20 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar!,
May 23, 2014
By: Ed2012
"Collar looks very smart on my English pointer. Very well made and have received a number of compliments on it.
Unfortunately my dog found it while he wasn't wearing it and was able to chew it up some. Will likely by a replacement and the lead while I am at it!"