Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shotshell Collar and Lead

A distinctive dog collar with an actual brass shotgun hull and plain leather lead both crafted in genuine, finely tanned leather. Leather dog collar available in even sizes 16" through 26". Collar is ¾" wide. Personalize with engraving on brass plate, up to 2 lines, 13 characters per line for free, on collar only. 6' lead sold separately. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (139 reviews)
5 stars
114
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
130 of 139(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Review 1 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shotshell Collar,
April 1, 2014
By: HoundDogs
"Love this collar, quality product, thick and nicely tanned leather. Very durable and looks great. Any dog and their owner would be proud!
We purchased one for our older Basset a few years ago and it is holding up great. We purchased the current one for our younger dog now that he is approaching 1 year.
We did not purchase the lead."
Review 2 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pleased and disappointed !,
April 1, 2014
By: SusannaT
from Lincolnshire
"The ad was misleading and ended up buying just a collar, managed to cancel that but frustrated to see the offer in the brochure of a collar and lead together was not reflected on the website. so ordered 2 collars and 1 lead and could have saved £10! This was made worse by visiting an Orvis Shop in Bath with a friend to purchase the same for his dog, to be told that they would honour the combined package deal. How can there be a lack of commercial consistency ? On the upside, the collars and lead are exceptional quality and suit my cocker spaniels brilliantly...hence my referral. However i wont be ordering again online , people say Yes, computers say No !"
Review 3 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always the best,
March 28, 2014
By: Savannahstang65
from Atlanta, GA
"I've owned 4 or 5 of these for previous best friends and have a 14 week old Weimaraner named Brody, see Brody "by the fire" caption in Cover contest on the Orvis site.
He has some room to grow into it but will always have a Shotshell collar.
"
Review 4 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collar and Lead,
March 6, 2014
By: thomjohnson
from Rhuddlan - North Wales
"I recently purchased The Orvis Shot Shell Collar and Lead, The workmanship is truly excellent and is premium quality, I orginally expected to pay more for this quality of manufacture. Although the lead and collar may initially seem more expensive than alternative purchases, I implore any potential buyer to pay the extra. its not that much more expensive than a supermarket pet store item, but will last a life time. In Summary, a fantastic product, excellently made with the best materials, and with longevity built in.Thank you Orvis."
Review 5 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
February 15, 2014
By: SnoopyWolf
from Atlanta, GA
"Got the first one for my older dog when she was full grown, and now have the opportunity to get a second for my next newly grown pup. Only collar I will ever need or want."
Review 6 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp Collar,
February 14, 2014
By: BK15
"The collar is good quality and the name engraving looks great! It's not too heavy either so it's not uncomfortable for my dog. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 7 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
February 6, 2014
By: EkkolanderGlenfiddich
from Staffordshire
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought this collar for my 7 month old large munsterlander and I'm so very pleased!! This is the second one I have purchased, the first being a present for my sister. fits very well with plenty of growing room, this was the best looking collar I could fine. Highly recommended."
Review 8 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 3, 2014
By: snoinks
"the dog loves the new collar and is a good price for quality. will be buying another when he grows out of this one"
Review 9 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional quality,
January 28, 2014
By: Granchhunting
from Orlando, Florida.
"I purchased the shot shell collar and leash for Otis my yellow lab. He looks handsome in his collar and loves the compliments he receives. The leash is a generous length for his size not to mention great quality leather and craftsmanship. Thank you Orvis for delivering a superior product. We have 3 family dogs and 5 hunting dogs and will definitely make future purchases."
Review 10 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Collar & Lead I've found,
January 28, 2014
By: Bascon
from Tulsa, OK
"I ordered the collar initially and then ordered the lead to go with it the next day. The lead came first, possibly due to the engraving. Both the lead and collar are made of high quality leather and hardware. I believe the two will last many years and look very good in the process. Fit finish and quality are top notch and my GSP Sam, loves both!"
Review 11 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic collar,
January 28, 2014
By: Rocky6060
from NYC
"This is the perfect collar for my yellow lab...I had been looking for something similar to this for the past few years!"
Review 12 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
January 23, 2014
By: azdogs
from Gold Canyon, AZ
"The collar not only looks good but from our Boxers reaction it is comfortable to wear. The personalisation is also a very attractive feature."
Review 13 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality,
January 22, 2014
By: JUNEB
"It is the best quality and beautiful leather. Had my dogs name engraved on a gold tag attached to the collar. It fits well and looks great . I would recommend it."
Review 14 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The ad is Misleading.,
January 21, 2014
By: Gauge15
"*Sigh*
I was quite disappointed to receive just the collar in the mail after the title of the ad reads "Collar and Lead"
The options to purchase are "Dog Collar" and "6' Lead, only" making it seem like a great package deal for the lead & collar for the price. It's not until the very end of the description it reads "Collar only" -- the purchase options should read, "Collar, only", "6' Lead, only" and "Collar and 6' Lead".
Nice collar, but buyer beware of the wording."
Review 15 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good solid but,,,
January 15, 2014
By: hunterzx
from charleston, sc
"good leather, very stylish on my pup, great price but the nameplate is too small, only holds 2 lines needs more space for dog name, phone number and address"
Review 16 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorthairnut,
December 31, 2013
By: Shorthairnut
"My dogs look great in these collars. We dont hunt but these are beautiful and well made."
Review 17 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth it several times over,
December 21, 2013
By: sadieblue2
from Savannah, Ga.
"Pointers/Beagles are all dressed up in this shotshell collar and lead. Nice weight; the brass name plate is worth the extra effort. The fittings on the lead are effortless to operate.
It's some of our favorite gear from Orvis. Highly recommend."
Review 18 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SAM MY BOXER LOVES HIS NEW COLLAR,
December 20, 2013
By: SAM2010
"SAM IS MY GOOD FRIEND. THE COLLAR AND LEAD WERE A CHRISTMAS GIFT. NOW I HAVE TO WALK HIM SO HE CAN SHOW HIS FRIENDS HIS NEW GIFT. NEEDLESS TO SAY HE WOULD GIVE IT FIVE STARS"
Review 19 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice collar,
December 19, 2013
By: pffdave
from SF Bay Area
"Well made dog collar that looks great on my Springer."
Review 20 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Collar,
December 19, 2013
By: happyretrieverowner
"The workmanship on the collar was excellent - very durable. The engraving on the collar was easy to read & accurate. The online purchasing process went smoothly & the package arrived promptly. Would purchase again"