Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shotshell Collar and Lead

A distinctive dog collar with an actual brass shotgun hull and plain leather lead both crafted in genuine, finely tanned leather. Leather dog collar available in even sizes 16" through 26". Collar is ¾" wide. Personalize with engraving on brass plate, up to 2 lines, 13 characters per line for free, on collar only. 6' lead sold separately. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (158 reviews)
5 stars
133
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
149 of 158(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Review 1 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar for price,
November 21, 2014
By: StellaTheVizsla
from Northern Virginia
"I bought three of these for my vizsla. I have to have extras because she frequently rolls in deer poo and I like to allow time to rinse collar with shampoo (to eliminate smell) and allow to completely dry. Dog is extremely active and spends a great deal of time outdoors. We go bird hunting, fishing on the boat, strolling around the country, swimming in ponds/river, etc. Two of the three collars are still in excellent condition after 3 years use. The one that didn't fare so well went swimming in salt water. Use the collar everyday, leave at home when you go to the beach. This is a very good product."
Review 2 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog collar ever,
November 19, 2014
By: bazzbk
from NE England
"Had this before & ordered a 2nd one for the second dog. Long lasting, strong & classy."
Review 3 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Collar and Lead,
November 15, 2014
By: lindsey0123
"Love the collar and lead for my chocolate labrador. The name plate is perfect so I don't have to worry about my dog Bear's tags getting caught on things. The lead is long and sturdy and the collar is perfect!"
Review 4 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful quality,
November 15, 2014
By: K9Loopy
from Kent
"I highly recommend this collar, I have searched everywhere for a good quality leather collar. So many people have said how lovely it is. I have told them all check out Orvis."
Review 5 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
November 14, 2014
By: Grublett
from Taunton
"I was very pleased with the quality of this product. It looks on my two working gundogs. Would not hesitate to recommend this to a friend."
Review 6 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant,
November 13, 2014
By: Arch12
from Deal
"Very happy with my purchase looks good on my staff the lead is long which is great"
Review 7 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
October 6, 2014
By: ZMcBillion
from Oberlin, OH
"I've never been a fan of leather dog collars in the past, but this one is very soft, very durable and I really enjoy the shotgun hull on it (mostly because my dog's name is Orvis so it's rather fitting!) All around a high quality collar!"
Review 8 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Dog Collar,
September 19, 2014
By: TBurt
from Dallas, TX
"This is the third collar I've ordered from Orvis. They are rugged and give a very high end appearance to the dog. I had his name etched on the tag and it looks great."
Review 9 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
September 12, 2014
By: blake8305
"Absolutely awesome collar! Love it! You wont' be disappointed"
Review 10 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
July 9, 2014
By: GWH1
from VA
"Collar is beautiful an well made. Did have to put another hole in the smallest collar to keep English Setter from slipping out."
Review 11 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful leather dog accessory,
June 4, 2014
By: EttasMum
from Etna, NY
"These are very nicely made of quality leather that will get better with time. These are her "fancy" collar and leash- not to be worn while feeding the cows or going dog swamping but very nice for a walk through the civilized world."
Review 12 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 3, 2014
By: Brodyboy
"We received the "Shotshell" Dog Collar very quickly considering that it had to be engraved. It looks great on our dog Brody and fits well. He is a handsome Welsh Corgi and the new collar embellishes his masculinity."
Review 13 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great collar,
June 3, 2014
By: rascal22
"This is my 2nd collar from orvis great collar great looking on my boxer"
Review 14 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
May 29, 2014
By: sunmtngirl
from Phoenix, AZ
"I bought this collar for our lab mix rescue. It looks so nice on her and well worth the money. It is quite hardy, we have a new puppy who has endless energy and is constantly grabbing on it with his teeth while playing with her. You would never know all the wear and tear it has received, looks good as new. I will be buying one for the puppy as soon as his growing slows. :)"
Review 15 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar,
May 27, 2014
By: beauxr
from Austin, Texas
"This collar is wonderful. My labrador looks so distinguised!"
Review 16 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar!,
May 23, 2014
By: Ed2012
"Collar looks very smart on my English pointer. Very well made and have received a number of compliments on it.
Unfortunately my dog found it while he wasn't wearing it and was able to chew it up some. Will likely by a replacement and the lead while I am at it!"
Review 17 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collar and Lead,
May 20, 2014
By: HoundDogs
"Love the Shotshell products. They are very stylish, looking quite good on our Basset Hounds.
Our older dog has had his collar for at least 4 years, still holding up well, touch occasionally with leather conditioner.
This is the second collar for our puppy, he got ahold of his first Shotshell collar, and well being a puppy, it made a great chew toy. Needless to say, he doesn't get to wear the new collar until he is older or well supervised.
The lead is new to us, but a great accessory when taking them out."
Review 18 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best collar for mans best friend,
May 10, 2014
By: Nik74Rocky
from Bathgate
"This is the 3rd collar I have purchased for my springer Rocky...it is beautifully crafted of excellent quality and a very high standard of crafanship. If you love your dog as much as our family then this is the collar for your best friend. Let them wear it with pride ;) thanks orbits for a great collar and excellent service. Nik"
Review 19 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shotshell Collar,
April 1, 2014
By: HoundDogs
"Love this collar, quality product, thick and nicely tanned leather. Very durable and looks great. Any dog and their owner would be proud!
We purchased one for our older Basset a few years ago and it is holding up great. We purchased the current one for our younger dog now that he is approaching 1 year.
We did not purchase the lead."
Review 20 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pleased and disappointed !,
April 1, 2014
By: SusannaT
from Lincolnshire
"The ad was misleading and ended up buying just a collar, managed to cancel that but frustrated to see the offer in the brochure of a collar and lead together was not reflected on the website. so ordered 2 collars and 1 lead and could have saved £10! This was made worse by visiting an Orvis Shop in Bath with a friend to purchase the same for his dog, to be told that they would honour the combined package deal. How can there be a lack of commercial consistency ? On the upside, the collars and lead are exceptional quality and suit my cocker spaniels brilliantly...hence my referral. However i wont be ordering again online , people say Yes, computers say No !"