Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shotshell Collar and Lead

A distinctive dog collar with an actual brass shotgun hull and plain leather lead both crafted in genuine, finely tanned leather. Leather dog collar available in even sizes 16" through 26". Collar is ¾" wide. Personalize with engraving on brass plate, up to 2 lines, 13 characters per line for free, on collar only. 6' lead sold separately. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.725 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (182 reviews)
5 stars
155
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
172 of 182(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Review 1 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shotshell Collar and Lead,
July 24, 2015
By: Rebel62
from Hertfordshire, UK
"Absolutely delighted, the quality and craftsmanship is superb. Our dog Holly is over the moon and looks magnificent. She is certainly turning heads as we walk. Thank you so much for all your care and attention and speedy delivery of my order."
Review 2 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome collar,
July 23, 2015
By: BandBofWAAP
from Liberty Hill, Texas
"A great looking collar that is durable. My GSPs but then to the test daily and look great doing it. I get lots of compliments on them."
Review 3 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
k9 collar,
July 20, 2015
By: Tw1ggy
from Scotland
"An attractive collar made of wonderful leather
Much admired by others
"
Review 4 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog collar,
June 27, 2015
By: LucyMattheis
from Raleigh, NC
"This is the 2nd dog collar we've purchased from Orvis - the leather and the engraved nameplate is top notch and will last the life of the dog. Would highly recommend!"
Review 5 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Product!,
June 26, 2015
By: BPS14
from Lexington, KY
"We are very satisfied with our purchase. We took Brutus' existing collar and measured it - exactly 22 inches. We order a size 22 and it fit like a glove. We highly recommend personalizing it. We've gotten a ton of compliments on this stunning collar!"
Review 6 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful collar ! Sizing question answer,
June 10, 2015
By: MKBF
"We purchased this for our dog as his "graduation" present for completing two months of versatile hunting dog training (we're kinda dorks like that). It is an extremely beautiful lead and collar! The only issue we had was with the sizing, and here is the remedy: measure your dogs neck snugly , and round up 2 sizes.
Our pup has a 15" neck measurement snug. round to nearest higher even number (16)
And add 2" and final size is 18"
it sits comfortably on the middle collar hole, and he has plenty of room to grow
"
Review 7 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Collar ever,
June 8, 2015
By: Susan1957
from Grove City, OH
"I ordered 2 collars and they are beautiful and very well made and made in the USA too. My dogs look so nice in their new collars. I could not find the quality that they are in any pet store. I will definitely tell everyone about your products."
Review 8 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top product!,
May 20, 2015
By: Weimaraners
from Charleston SC
"Both, collar and lead are far superior to any other leather collar and lead I have used in the last 20 years outfitting my Weimaraners. Quality of leather is fantastic, very soft, deep brown color and perfect craftsmanship. Brass hardware is super nice as well. Great value!
Very good customer service as well.
"
Review 9 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality and class!,
May 16, 2015
By: shelley211
from fife,scotland
"Recently purchased the shotshell 16" collar and also lead for my cavalier kc spaniel , I have to say it was a purchase not made lightly due to the price but I'm so glad we bought it, the quality and workmanship are first class ,you can just see and feel its a high end quality item,the brasswear is also good quality with a nice weight to it.to my surprise the lead also has the shotgun shell detail on it right below the hand loop! Makes its look even more expensive!"
Review 10 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy,
May 14, 2015
By: NannyElephant
from Jaywick
"A very strong well made collar - has received lots of praise from other dog walkers who like the idea of no tag being needed."
Review 11 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Collar lovely no engraving on leash,
April 30, 2015
By: MarthaMoo
from Devon
"We received the collar 3 weeks ago and it's lovely, really worth the money. We were advised that the lead would come separately. 3 weeks later we have the lead but it isn't personalised which is a shame. Orvis, please change your website to represent that lead cannot be personalised. Given 4 stars only for that disappointment, the quality would be an easy 5"
Review 12 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Collars,
April 22, 2015
By: best53
from West Virginia
"This is the third collar I've purchased as my dogs grown in size. I've never been disappointed."
Review 13 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality purchase,
March 30, 2015
By: yellowlab3
"I purchased a shot shell collar for each of my 3 labs. They are fantastic, really good quality and look really smart!"
Review 14 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
absolutely fantastic product,
February 26, 2015
By: Lena1988
from Milton Keynes
"An amazing product brought it for all my pet dogs and so many people comment on what a lovely collar it is :) good quality, lasts for ages. No problems at all"
Review 15 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever,
February 16, 2015
By: Claudiaestabrook
"Love it , perfect fit and will last forever(I hope)"
Review 16 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog collars,
February 14, 2015
By: bazzbk
from NE England
"We've now bought our 3rd dog a shotshell collar. Now all 3 are happy"
Review 17 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Collar,
January 30, 2015
By: Airedaler
"This collar gets a lot of compliments when worn by my Airedales. Exceptional quality leather and brass."
Review 18 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar,
December 27, 2014
By: Emily88
"I got these collars for my dogs and they are super nice. They are a little stiff but will be broken in in no time."
Review 19 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buyer beware - misleading advertising,
December 11, 2014
By: vixxielala
from London
"Please note that when buying the lead although it gives you the option to personalize, Orvis do not offer this option.....I found to my dismay when mine arrived today! I already have the collar and decided to take the plunge and purchase the lead which when selected offered me the option to personalise for free, which of course I did. However when it arrived there was no personalization at all, when I queried this I was told that they don't actually offer this service on the lead only on the collar. Very misleading advertising. That aside, the quality of these products are second to none and I am looking forward for years of wear out of my collar and lead."
Review 20 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best on Market,
December 9, 2014
By: dog2
"This is a high end dog collar. It's beautiful and seems better made than most dog collars you see in a pet store."