Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shotshell Collar and Lead

A distinctive dog collar with an actual brass shotgun hull and plain leather lead both crafted in genuine, finely tanned leather. Leather dog collar available in even sizes 16" through 26". Collar is ¾" wide. Personalize with engraving on brass plate, up to 2 lines, 13 characters per line for free, on collar only. 6' lead sold separately. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
142 of 151(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Review 1 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Dog Collar,
September 19, 2014
By: TBurt
from Dallas, TX
"This is the third collar I've ordered from Orvis. They are rugged and give a very high end appearance to the dog. I had his name etched on the tag and it looks great."
Review 2 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
September 12, 2014
By: blake8305
"Absolutely awesome collar! Love it! You wont' be disappointed"
Review 3 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
July 9, 2014
By: GWH1
from VA
"Collar is beautiful an well made. Did have to put another hole in the smallest collar to keep English Setter from slipping out."
Review 4 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful leather dog accessory,
June 4, 2014
By: EttasMum
from Etna, NY
"These are very nicely made of quality leather that will get better with time. These are her "fancy" collar and leash- not to be worn while feeding the cows or going dog swamping but very nice for a walk through the civilized world."
Review 5 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 3, 2014
By: Brodyboy
"We received the "Shotshell" Dog Collar very quickly considering that it had to be engraved. It looks great on our dog Brody and fits well. He is a handsome Welsh Corgi and the new collar embellishes his masculinity."
Review 6 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great collar,
June 3, 2014
By: rascal22
"This is my 2nd collar from orvis great collar great looking on my boxer"
Review 7 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
May 29, 2014
By: sunmtngirl
from Phoenix, AZ
"I bought this collar for our lab mix rescue. It looks so nice on her and well worth the money. It is quite hardy, we have a new puppy who has endless energy and is constantly grabbing on it with his teeth while playing with her. You would never know all the wear and tear it has received, looks good as new. I will be buying one for the puppy as soon as his growing slows. :)"
Review 8 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar,
May 27, 2014
By: beauxr
from Austin, Texas
"This collar is wonderful. My labrador looks so distinguised!"
Review 9 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar!,
May 23, 2014
By: Ed2012
"Collar looks very smart on my English pointer. Very well made and have received a number of compliments on it.
Unfortunately my dog found it while he wasn't wearing it and was able to chew it up some. Will likely by a replacement and the lead while I am at it!"
Review 10 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collar and Lead,
May 20, 2014
By: HoundDogs
"Love the Shotshell products. They are very stylish, looking quite good on our Basset Hounds.
Our older dog has had his collar for at least 4 years, still holding up well, touch occasionally with leather conditioner.
This is the second collar for our puppy, he got ahold of his first Shotshell collar, and well being a puppy, it made a great chew toy. Needless to say, he doesn't get to wear the new collar until he is older or well supervised.
The lead is new to us, but a great accessory when taking them out."
Review 11 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best collar for mans best friend,
May 10, 2014
By: Nik74Rocky
from Bathgate
"This is the 3rd collar I have purchased for my springer Rocky...it is beautifully crafted of excellent quality and a very high standard of crafanship. If you love your dog as much as our family then this is the collar for your best friend. Let them wear it with pride ;) thanks orbits for a great collar and excellent service. Nik"
Review 12 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shotshell Collar,
April 1, 2014
By: HoundDogs
"Love this collar, quality product, thick and nicely tanned leather. Very durable and looks great. Any dog and their owner would be proud!
We purchased one for our older Basset a few years ago and it is holding up great. We purchased the current one for our younger dog now that he is approaching 1 year.
We did not purchase the lead."
Review 13 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pleased and disappointed !,
April 1, 2014
By: SusannaT
from Lincolnshire
"The ad was misleading and ended up buying just a collar, managed to cancel that but frustrated to see the offer in the brochure of a collar and lead together was not reflected on the website. so ordered 2 collars and 1 lead and could have saved £10! This was made worse by visiting an Orvis Shop in Bath with a friend to purchase the same for his dog, to be told that they would honour the combined package deal. How can there be a lack of commercial consistency ? On the upside, the collars and lead are exceptional quality and suit my cocker spaniels brilliantly...hence my referral. However i wont be ordering again online , people say Yes, computers say No !"
Review 14 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always the best,
March 28, 2014
By: Savannahstang65
from Atlanta, GA
"I've owned 4 or 5 of these for previous best friends and have a 14 week old Weimaraner named Brody, see Brody "by the fire" caption in Cover contest on the Orvis site.
He has some room to grow into it but will always have a Shotshell collar.
"
Review 15 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collar and Lead,
March 6, 2014
By: thomjohnson
from Rhuddlan - North Wales
"I recently purchased The Orvis Shot Shell Collar and Lead, The workmanship is truly excellent and is premium quality, I orginally expected to pay more for this quality of manufacture. Although the lead and collar may initially seem more expensive than alternative purchases, I implore any potential buyer to pay the extra. its not that much more expensive than a supermarket pet store item, but will last a life time. In Summary, a fantastic product, excellently made with the best materials, and with longevity built in.Thank you Orvis."
Review 16 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
February 15, 2014
By: SnoopyWolf
from Atlanta, GA
"Got the first one for my older dog when she was full grown, and now have the opportunity to get a second for my next newly grown pup. Only collar I will ever need or want."
Review 17 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp Collar,
February 14, 2014
By: BK15
"The collar is good quality and the name engraving looks great! It's not too heavy either so it's not uncomfortable for my dog. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 18 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
February 6, 2014
By: EkkolanderGlenfiddich
from Staffordshire
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought this collar for my 7 month old large munsterlander and I'm so very pleased!! This is the second one I have purchased, the first being a present for my sister. fits very well with plenty of growing room, this was the best looking collar I could fine. Highly recommended."
Review 19 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 3, 2014
By: snoinks
"the dog loves the new collar and is a good price for quality. will be buying another when he grows out of this one"
Review 20 for Shotshell Collar and Lead
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional quality,
January 28, 2014
By: Granchhunting
from Orlando, Florida.
"I purchased the shot shell collar and leash for Otis my yellow lab. He looks handsome in his collar and loves the compliments he receives. The leash is a generous length for his size not to mention great quality leather and craftsmanship. Thank you Orvis for delivering a superior product. We have 3 family dogs and 5 hunting dogs and will definitely make future purchases."