Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Smack ’Em Spey

A Spey minnow pattern from Ian Colin James that again gains rave reviews from those who've used it. One of the most heralded and reviewed fly patterns we have. Scroll down and see how this spey fly pattern has performed for a number of anglers in a number of different fisheries. In white, yellow. In sizes: 8, 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smack ’Em Spey
Review 1 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
August 18, 2014
By: TossingBugs
"The fly held up great and caught fish. This thing killed bass. I would strongly recommend buying one"
Review 2 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Company and a Great Fly,
June 12, 2013
By: FlyGuy44
from Blue River, OK
"This fly might be able to catch anything that swims in fresh water! I've caught rainbows and browns, largemouth smallmouth and Kentucky bass, white bass and hybrids, many species of bream, channel cat and crappie. The marabou gives this streamer lots of natural movement that the fish can't seem to resist. And the epoxy head helps this fly hold up...you'll lose it before it becomes unfishable!"
Review 3 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"hot fly',
July 11, 2012
By: lightnin
from Southern Applachians
"This fly has worked best for me with a 6 or 7 wt rod, sink-tip line and 3-4 ft. Mirage Flurocarbon, 3-4 X, a mono non-slip loop knot and stripped erratically but with an occasional pause. Recently caught 3 large mouth out of the same "hole" in 5 casts in a large resevoir. (Incidentially was using a Hydros 7 wt. 9 ft. "10 tip flex") Please do run out of or change this fly!"
Review 4 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
get it deep,
April 3, 2012
By: 29male
from ca
"a little hard to get really deep but if in the right spot a good spring run!"
Review 5 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant fly,
October 28, 2010
By: dannyb
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased a few of these in white and yellow and had amazing results, steelhead and browns seem to enjoy just crushing this fly - not for the fainthearted."
Review 6 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just add water!,
June 13, 2009
By: CCCricket
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fish love this fly.
1. Tie Smack'em to leader.
2. Cast across the current,
3. Mend upstream.
4. Strip line and hang on.
(Simple and effective.)
"
Review 7 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a winner,
November 12, 2008
By: Bellshillboy
"occasionally you come across a pattern maker who's work is consistently successful, Ian Colin James's work is positively dangerous to fish."
Review 8 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
August 19, 2008
By: JLMTX83
from Dallas, TX
"One of the best lake flies i've ever used. Fished like a wolly bugger this fly is deadly!"
Review 9 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wholly smokes bassman,
July 2, 2008
By: corkedrod
from Muskoka
"This weekend in Muskoka, Canada there were about 20 smallmouth caught... I got about 16 of them all on the fly... the spin boys were having a really tough time... All were about half a pound and the fly of the day was the white Smack em Spey..."
Review 10 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BETTER THEN GOOD,
May 20, 2008
By: WildFly
from Toronto, Ontario
"The overall look of this fly while suspended in the water is unreal. The life that the body gives this fly is like magic. I have had success with this fly for speckled and brook trout in Algonquin park in Northern Ontario, I have had huge success with smallmouth bass on this pattern aswell on many different rivers. The greatest thing about getting an Ian Collin James fly is that you can be confident that it will get fish, many fish. I have fished his flies for as long as I can remember and they have proven to be the most versatile and productive and durable."
Review 11 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Ian James Masterpiece,
March 10, 2008
By: CDavid
from Toronto Ontario
"I don't know what Ian puts in his flies, but fish just cannot leave them alone. Might have to call the Authorities to investigate....whatever the "edge" is, it works! I've been fishing Ian James patterns for over ten years and they are easily the most productive, and this Smack 'Em is no exception. Heading out into the snow with one right now......."
Review 12 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smashing,
March 3, 2008
By: Rusty588
from Newmarket, ON
"Another great one from Ian James! This pattern proved itself very quickly. Minnow pattern, in the middle of winter; it just has to look so real to attract lethargic steelhead. Well, this one does; my first time out with this fly, I was thrilled with the 8 lb steelhead that took this fly under the ice swimming almost still & suspended against current.
This fly will attract any fish not just steelhead. Always carry them in your fly box.
"
Review 13 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too Smack or not to Smack?,
February 21, 2008
By: Braveheart
from Scotland
"Not a question, so much as the answer! Ridiculously mobile fly that will attract a plethora of species from their lies. Use for pike, bass, salmonids and saltwater predators. Casts easy and draws those thumping hits. The presence of the eyes seperates this from some other streamer patterns."
Review 14 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This fly is Big Trout Killer,
February 14, 2008
By: OzarkTroutfitter
"I'm a guide on the White and Norfork Rivers in Northern Arkansas and fish this regularly. I use several of Ian Colon James' flies and they produce a lot of fish.
Ian deserves the credit for knowing how to develop flies that work. The action that this fly is unbelievable and I can honestly say that is one of the most deadly flies that I've seen for going after the big browns that the White River is so well known for. The amazing thing is that I've also caught quite a few rainbows in excess of 5 pounds on this bad boy.
Many folks use woolly buggers as their basic streamer. I say use the Smack Em Spey. It really works and has been my goto streamer for a while now.
"
Review 15 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All Ian's Fly's Catch Fish!,
February 5, 2008
By: caspersphilly
"I have used the white Smack Em Spey with lots of luck for browns on the Grand. I am cofident with any fly Ian James hands me from his box. Ian is a great guide and often passes a few tips and flys out to people on the river. Can't wait till spring to fish with Ian again."
Review 16 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Faster the better,
February 5, 2008
By: Anonymous
"I can remember a fews years back when I was fishing with a couple of buddies who certainly know their way around one of the many SouthWestern Ontario rivers for browns. We were swinging this fly through some not so deep pools with little success. I switched my method by casting close to the bank and stripping the fly towards me as fast as i could and whammo"! i landed at least 8 decent sized browns while the other 2 "anglers" struggled to keep up with me as they were too stubborn to change their method. While they still managed to catch a few by swinging, i prefer to strip, strip strip as fast as i can."
Review 17 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smack em spey!,
February 1, 2008
By: JohnT1
"Yet another fly that I would not be without in my fly box. While on the river, this fly consistently gets me vicious strikes and follow-ups by some large browns. Ian's pattern is absolutely without a doubt one of the best streamer patterns I have used. Make sure you stock some of these in the fly-box as well!"
Review 18 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Flies! All Fish Love Em!,
January 20, 2008
By: Noah
"I had the opportunity to fish a few "Smack Em's" in a small local river... Needless to say, the Bass went pretty zonkers for them...
Although it's officially deemed a Steelhead fly, other fish will hit these all day long..
Stock up!
"
Review 19 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smallie Fly of First Resort,
January 20, 2008
By: NorthOfTheLake
from Toronto, Ontario
"I couldn't recall the name of this fly that Ian gave me one day on a southern Ontario river while fishing for smallmouth bass, until I saw it here on the Orvis website. I've used it as one of those general baitfish patterns for other kinds of fish, too, and I guess because of the action it's fantastic for working the crossover water in and around boulders and other structure. Don't be tempted to add any weight to this fly; just be mindful of your mending and the movement should be enough to entice a strike. Good luck and tightlines."
Review 20 for Smack ’Em Spey
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spey,
January 18, 2008
By: imtt
"I have been fishing this pattern since about 1988, almost three years after it was created by Ian Colin James. Although it's become my go- to fly for smallmouth bass and walleye, the Smack em Spey will thump steelhead, gar pike, brown trout, pike, white bass and Coho salmon. I find I get more hits if I fish it slowly, rather than with short fast
twitches. It's a very productive fly.
"