Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ian's Epoxy Minnow

The "minnow" we know is the largest family of fish in North American waters and represents a tremendous volume of the food source available to both warm and cold water species. From the vise of Ian Colin James, this small epoxy minnow fly pattern is perfect for smallmouth bass, crappie, bluegills, and trout as well. Epoxy minnows are very lifelike and durable and when fished properly with quick, darting movement can be deadly. It is probable that no matter where you step in the water, there are minnows. Don't be without a few minnow fly patterns in your box and this one in particular. Sizes: 8, 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Review 1 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effective and tuff,
August 6, 2014
By: CBHanlock
from Northern IL
"This is a great little fly, i bought a couple some time ago and they seem to last and last. Ive cought literaly hundreds of nice shad and blue gill on them and they dont fall apart! Worth every penny."
Review 2 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mini toy,
May 28, 2014
By: Jimiw
from Saint Cloud . Florida
"I have use this if you times and you have to play with it to make it work. Did not get any fish with it yet . going to try and faster water. Nice-looking Lure."
Review 3 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Fly,
May 14, 2014
By: GSGAR
from Lima, OH
"I purchased this epoxy minnow, based on product description: "What's the one thing you see in any body of water? Schools of minnows! How true is that? I've purchased 20 of these so far, and I intend to put them to use for everything from panfish to bass."
Review 4 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Small,
March 16, 2013
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"Great looking fly, a little less broad (anterior-posterior diameter) than expected but realistic no doubt. Got the size 8, which is about right for panfish."
Review 5 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 9, 2013
By: tdude99
"I used this fly to catch bluegill and bass at a local lake. It might not catch you the trophy bass of your dreams but it is great for a fun day at a local lake"
Review 6 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ian's Minnow,
May 7, 2012
By: Kafir
from Kalkaska, MI
"Caught a 14" Brookie with Ian's creation yesterday. Throws well in small stream and action is very satisfactory. Easy to see in the stream."
Review 7 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crappie killer!,
April 29, 2012
By: Luke30124
from newnan, Ga
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Yesterday I used this at my friends lake when nothing else was working and was catching crappie faster than I ever have before. I even caught a new personal best crappie on it."
Review 8 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great multiple-species minnow,
July 11, 2011
By: Gregump44
from Troy, MI
"I bought a couple of these for use this spring. I have used them on small local trout streams and the St. Clair Flats area of Lake St. Clair. I have caught brown trout, smallies, and believe it or not, lake perch. My only complaint is that both of the hook eyes were clogged with epoxy and I had to really ream them out before using them. Otherwise, I would have rated them a five."
Review 9 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
good for a shadow box,
June 28, 2011
By: gfmd33
"While promising this fly has no movement and I was shocked that it did not tear the perch up, but it basically has no life to it and when striped is so rigid it looks like a twig moving through the water."
Review 10 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Psst...a little secret...,
February 3, 2011
By: Sibby
from Buffalo, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently used this fly (in the middle of winter) on a trout stream when nothing else was working. The trout (plural) slammed it. It should be illegal...but what fun!"
Review 11 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good for Bluegill,
October 10, 2010
By: JRP123
from Dallas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is an excellent fly for bluegill. It sinks very slowly, and has great action when twitched. It is very durable as well. Fish it around docks and other structure. Vary your retrieve until you find what is working best."
Review 12 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best all around fly,
July 9, 2009
By: chromesportbikes
from philly, PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i bought 6 of these flies on sale just to try it out. my first day out on the local stream i was hitting different species of sunnies. the next day i was out i was pulling everything out of the water largemouth, smallmouth, rockbass, and sunnies. i just ordered 12 more of these minnows."
Review 13 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over 100 Crappies 1 Epoxy Minnow,
May 4, 2009
By: Crappieman
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this barbless epoxy lure/fly in the Manhattan Orivs store. I used it with my new Hellios 3 wt fly rod and over a course of 2 weekends (all from shore), I caught over 100 crappies with this combo. All fish were lip caught and all were released in a private lake in Northern NJ. A fellow fisherman using a spin cast/jig combo next to me was stunned at the number of fish I was bringing in with ease using this combination. Sadly I had to stop when I back casted into a nearby tree and lost my fly, which was very damaged from so much action and had only one eye left."
Review 14 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very productive fly,
August 26, 2008
By: ryantr
from Dorchester, Ont.
"I picked up one of these epoxy flies in the red pattern # 8 size. I was out this past weekend puttering around a small lake in my float tube and decided to give the minnow a try. I have nothing but good things to say about this fly. The Bluegills couldn't leave this fly alone! My typical reaction was cast - strip - strip - hit... Caught a bunch of blugills and a couple of smaller largemouths on Saturday off this fly. Great pattern, very productive."
Review 15 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Killer bass pattern,
July 5, 2008
By: corkedrod
from Muskoka
"Out here I do lots O' Bassin, and this pattern is never left back at the dock. This fly and the smack em spey are my must have still water flies. I have also had success with them on rivers the few times I get out on them... Great pattern.. I'm a catalog addict and I cannot tell you how happy I am to have Ian James patters on the Orvis site."
Review 16 for Ian's Epoxy Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Minnow Pattern,
July 5, 2008
By: WildFly
from Toronto, Ontario
"This pattern is one of my all time favorites. I have used it for smallmouth, steelhead, carp, pike and pretty much anything that swims. It is a very durable fly and of course you know it will catch fish, Its an IAN COLIN JAMES fly.
Awesome pattern that is always in my box, on my hat or hooked through the ceiling of my car. I never leave home without it."