Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TH Eggi Juan Kenobi

Take a San Juan worm, add an egg and a tunghead bead to get it down and you have an irresistible combination for trout and steelhead, particularly in the Great Lakes region, but this pattern will work anywhere. Orvis customers gave the original pattern without the bead five stars over thirteen reviews. Quite the testimonial.In size: 14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Review 1 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Embarrasing but effective,
May 25, 2014
By: DannoT52
from Colorado Springs, CO
"When fishing with the guys, I hide this bug cause it looks like powerbait. However when it catches the fish, I will show it. I have used this in many rivers in Colorado over the past 4 years, effective bug. Works when I float tube fish at Spinney and other lakes. Put this in your box and try when nothing else works; you will be impressed."
Review 2 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALL TROUT LOVE THIS FLY,
December 29, 2012
By: STRONGBOW
from WEST MIDDLESEX , Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"A QUALITY FLY AS USUAL FROM ORVIS / GREAT FOR ALL TROUT BIG AND SMALL / MAKE SURE TO TRY THIS FOR GREAT LAKE STEELHEAD ALSO !"
Review 3 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I concur - great pattern,
September 24, 2011
By: LyNcH
from Upstate, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'll back Rugby on the immediate effectiveness of this pattern when the coho hit the river earlier this week. It was slow, and once the eggi hit the water, we all had fish on. That's for spotting us the flies Rugby, make sure you tie enough for the group come November!!"
Review 4 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suprisingly Versatile,
September 24, 2011
By: Rugby10
from Upstate NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Used this on a whim while Salmon fishing on the Salmon River in NY this past week. We had landed some Kings and Cohos earlier in the day, but then it got slow. Almost immediately I started getting takes and hook ups. Landed this Coho, then had to pass out the eggi Juan to my compatriots...same results! Looks like I'll be tying up alot more getting ready for the November Steel head run"
Review 5 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great idea,
August 12, 2011
By: flyfishadk
from Saranac Lake, NY
"I like the look and it is well made. Great idea to put the 2 together. I have caught many a fish on the San Juan worm and egg patterns so why not together. I have used this on 2 outings so far unfortunately without any takers. I will keep trying though."
Review 6 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
expected big things,
May 23, 2011
By: bunk
from Pittsburgh, Pa.
"Bought these because they were best rated. Expected to at least get a hit on them. I used them all day in waters stocked heavy with rainbows. Never got a bite !"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly,
May 16, 2011
By: Johnny83
"For some reason i always try this when all my other patterns fail to land me a trout. The trout love hitting this fly. Put this fly on during a slow day and it will do the work for you. Thanks orvis for making this pattern available.
Wild brookies love hitting this when you are fishing small brooks.
**I practice C & R** This fly could easily clean out a small brook"
Review 8 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly,
March 22, 2010
By: southernboy
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"fished this fly on the elk river in Wv. I don't get to fish as much a I like and I'm a little slow on the hook set. This in not a problem with the eggi juan. They just keep coming after this fly. I hooked a nice bow and played it for a while before it got off. I could see the fish laying in the shallows resting. I cast back to him and he took the eggi juan again."
Review 9 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
its a mystery!,
August 17, 2009
By: Speakerfrog
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I"m not sure why this fly works so well, but results don't lie! On a recent high country Colorado trip, I dropped a pink Eggi Juan Kenobi off of a parachute Adams and embarrassed my buddies with my staggering fish count!"
Review 10 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Killer Fly,
March 7, 2009
By: Toad11
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've fished this fly on tons of streams though out North Carolina and Virginia, and there isn't any better. Any time you have this fly, either as a leading fly, or the trailer, be ready for a monster to grab on."
Review 11 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 7, 2009
By: beaver
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Eggi Juan is another genius creation by Mr. Hise. This is another one of my personal favorites, and I've seen this fly work on both coasts of the U.S. Most importantly I have had days were I couldn't buy a fish, throw out an eggi juan and go home smiling."
Review 12 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like peanut butter and jam,
November 19, 2008
By: carpfather
"The Eggi Juan Kenobi is a great fly and it has caught a lot of fish for me. It's one of those patterns which makes you say, "Hey, that's brilliant. I wish I would have thought of that before Hise did." Mind you the fish don't know who developed the fly, all they see is something yummy drifting past them. While most steelhead and brown trout fishermen will use this pattern in a river, I have found that it works well along the edges of the Great Lakes. In stillwater, you must watch for very, very soft takes."
Review 13 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wardens worry!!!,
September 25, 2008
By: Stinky
from Hickory, NC
"When I was handed Dave's E.J.K., I smiled and asked "What more do you need?" I have fished (and tie) this pattern when targeting large trout with phenomenal results. It is the latest go to fly in my arsenal!"
Review 14 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eggi Juan is the ONE,
June 17, 2008
By: cougar
"When I saw all the five star ratings I just had to try this fly for myself. I was not disappointed!"
Review 15 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
meat on a hook,
March 24, 2008
By: steelheader
"To the purist, this might cross the “line”. To big browns here in Michigan… this fly is all they want and all they’ll need."
Review 16 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What will the purists say...,
February 25, 2008
By: 2tancaddis
"There are many anglers out there who believe that fishing an egg or a worm imitation is beneath them. While they are trying to figure out there own existence and why they never got invited to any parties in college...I say...move forward and bring on the pigs!!! I have taken fish with this fly in Colorado, Michigan, Virginia, North Carolina, and Ontario."
Review 17 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible!!!!,
February 21, 2008
By: N604DE
from Western NC
"Fishing the other day, I tried everything and no hits, untill i tied on an Eggie Juan! I'm here to tell ya, it was like flipping a switch! The trout were fighting for this little morsel!!! It turned a grim looking day of failure into an exciting day of fun! The next day, I bought a handfull of them. Bottom line - you want to catch fish, tie on this pattern!"
Review 18 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Effective,
February 21, 2008
By: Chico1962
from Western North Carolina
"So simple, yet unbelievable how the trout tear this up. Combining two of the most common and effective flies to create this little piece of magic was simply genius. Great fly Dave. If you want to catch fish, and who doesn't, give this a try and you won't be disappointed."
Review 19 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May The Eggi Be With You,
February 18, 2008
By: Todd78
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I spent all day Saturday fly fishing. I noticed small #18 - #20 stoneflies crawling around. I rigged up a small stonefly and an Eggi Juan. In 10 years of fly fishing I have never hooked up so many fish in a single day. I literally stopped count at about 25. I figure I finished at about 90 - 100 fish. Maybe two or three of the fish took the stonefly, the rest inhaled the Eggi Juan. I took the stonefly off and added another Kenobi and began recieving double hits. One fish on and another would shark after the other Kenobi. After fishing much of the water, I started in the same spot from where I began, with the double Kenobi rig. First cast...fish on. I fished the entire day with the double Kenobi set-up. Needless to say, I didn't have the opportunity to practice my cast, via double, triple casts to find where the fish were holding. I spent most of the day practicing my netting technique. Thanks Eggi Juan."
Review 20 for TH Eggi Juan Kenobi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
too good to be true,
January 22, 2008
By: flyfishingmack
from Fairview, NC
"You almost want to pinch yourself when you start catching fish on this fly. I have had many move two or three feet out of there feeding lanes to gulp down this tasty treat. How did it ever take this long for someone to combine these super productive flies. Kudos to Hise!"