Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ian's Crunchy Caddis

This fly is an Ian Colin James pattern that has built a reputation over the years as one of the best emerging caddis patterns around. If you don't believe us, read the reviews below. This is one of the most highly reviewed and well-liked fly patterns in our collection of flies. These flies seem to work on just about anything short of saltwater flyfishing. Color, Natural. Sizes: 10, 12, 14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.854 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 of 41(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Review 1 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
August 27, 2015
By: BonBonRus
from Pagosa Springs, CO
"Seems like this time of year here in the San Juan River, also the Rio Grande and tributaries this fly can't miss. I use it a lot, and glad I found it last year. Had to buy more because the trout mess them up after a few catches."
Review 2 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crunchy Caddis,
May 28, 2015
By: TrueNorthinGA
from Alpharetta. GA
"This is one of my favorite fly for fishing a dropper. I have caught steelhead, browns, rainbows and even bass with this fly. I once took a fly tying course from Ian and have a number of his dynamite flies."
Review 3 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The right choice for selective trout,
April 4, 2015
By: ChrisPlumber
from Asheville NC
"This is a great design that seems to do very well with selective trout or trout that see a lot of pressure. I played a nice brown on the Davidson in North Carolina, that wouldn't touch anything until I presented Ian's Crunchy Caddis. The fly was taken on the first cast. Unfortunately my knot did not hold and the 20 plus incher took the fly and left me shamed. I look forward to the next time out to test the fly again. So far I love it.."
Review 4 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doesn't really look like a snail,
December 31, 2014
By: Byers
from Colorado
"maybe the fish will know better.
haven't tried it yet.
"
Review 5 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my Go-To flies,
December 5, 2014
By: Fishndoc
from Marietta, GA
"If fish are splashing and I see no bugs on the water, it usually means Caddis hatching. This fly is what I usually tie on first, and most of the time it is what the fish want."
Review 6 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Bluegill,
September 9, 2014
By: Cjsf2f
from Saint Louis, Mo
"Pulls Bluegill out of creeks, rivers, and ponds every time. Great fly for practicing fly fishing and still catching fish while doing it."
Review 7 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluegills Magnet,
June 30, 2014
By: HDLam
from Sugar Land, TX
"I ordered a few Ian's Crunchy Caddis, in various sizes on line, just to try it out for panfish. I could not keep the bluegills off of them. Had to go to my local Orvis store to get more for resupply."
Review 8 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Quality,
April 18, 2013
By: WarmSunshine
from Liberty Lake, WA
"I am very happy with this purchase, the quality is fantastic and I can't wait to throw this fly!"
Review 9 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Works,
April 3, 2012
By: tookie
from Downingtown Pa
"This fly in a #14 has really produced
in my local river which has good hatches of caddis. I have been using this fly on the bottom with or without split shot. Have some of these in your box you will use it often.
"
Review 10 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
shipping,
May 16, 2011
By: hunterwhantstofish
from Oak Harbor. Wa
"i ordered this item 0n Feb. 1 and now I is on its 3rd shipping delay. Over 4.5 months to ship. I called orvis on may 5 when it was to ship for the 2nd time and they said its on its way. Next day I get one more delay notice. Same thing last year but different item. I would think twice if you want this fly for fishing this year."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great nymph,
March 24, 2011
By: sniperfreak
from Ransom, PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I tie these in unweighted, weighted and with a tungsten beadhead. These are one of the best cased caddis larva imitations I've ever fished. Excellent for all the Grannoms on my local streams."
Review 12 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best for pan fish too,
October 19, 2010
By: STBflyer
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I decided to test it in the local lake. Suddenly I caught more than 10 panfishes in a hour!! Unbelieve it!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one brilliant fly!,
June 13, 2009
By: CCCricket
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have some of Ian's original Crunchy Caddis flies from the 1980's, they still catch fish. For over 20 years the Crunchy Caddis has been my go-to fly for steelhead, brown trout, smallmouth bass, and carp. It has worked for me all across Canada and much of the US. It works for me, it'll work for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatility rules!,
February 3, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These can be fished like nymphs, or like muddlers, or even on the surface at times. And while I primarily fish them for trout, many of my friends have caught bass and carp with them as well! Oh yeah, the picture looks funny 'cause the ones Colin gave me have the hooks pinched down."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my top 10 go to flies.,
September 23, 2008
By: matokuwapi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This pattern is always in my fly box. I especially like it for early season Browns, but it works anywhere at almost any time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have Fly,
June 16, 2008
By: McGoo
from Vancouver, B.C.
"I picked up a dozen of these in all three sizes based on the other reviews I had seen on the website. On the annual May fishing derby just north of Kamloops, B.C. the ice had only been off for about a week and the weather was a little iffy. Nothing seemed to be working so I decided to try a size 10 Crunchy Caddis on the edge of a drop off in the lake we were on.
As promised, the fishing improved in a matter of about 10 minutes and I managed to land three 2lb rainbows in the next hour. My buddy was begging "to borrow" one which I (painfully slowly) agreed to and he had almost the same result. Over a thee hour period we landed 11 similar sized rainbows and one 3lb Dolly.
The other two boats in our group only managed four fish that morning combined - this fly really works and I'd recommend you try it for yourself.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HEY ITS GOOD,
June 1, 2008
By: UncleJohn
from London On
"Knowing I am an essentially frugal (read cheap) person, Ian gave me this fly to try on my favorite pond. After about 25 or so trout I took it off because I didnt want to lose it. I still have it tucked away in a corner to be brought out for emergency use. All hype aside, if you get a chance to pick up any of Ians patterns, grab them!"
Review 18 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best caddis EVER!!,
May 20, 2008
By: WildFly
from Toronto, Ontario
"This Caddis fly has been one of the most productive patterns I have ever used. I am surprised at the price as I would have thought an Ian James fly to be more expensive... One of the best trout flies I have ever come across.."
Review 19 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good choice,
May 12, 2008
By: cougar
"I read all the reviews before purchasing Ian's Crunchy Caddis, and they perform as advertised."
Review 20 for Ian's Crunchy Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use this fly,
March 10, 2008
By: NBflyer
"It works in rivers and in lakes. I've been fishing this pattern for 17 years and it's caught 100s of fish for me. Smallies, browns, brookies, steelhead and carp with this fly. Ian's Crunchy Caddis is always the first fly out of my box when I get to the river. Even when the fish are taking mayflies from the surface, this bad-boy will still produce some rod busting hits. It's the perfect fly for sight-fishing for spooky carp. My biggest smallie, over 23-inches from the Thames River in Ontario, was caught on this pattern. I was not happy because I was targeting some fine looking carp at the time."