Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ian's Brass Ass

Dial into big steelies and browns with Ian's Brass Ass trout flies. Copper wire and translucent epoxy triggers nymphing trout and steelhead. In copper. Sizes 10, 12, 14, 16, 18.
Average Customer Rating:
4.921 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
62 of 63(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ian's Brass Ass
Review 1 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A top fly,
March 11, 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"This fly is well tied by Orvis and does wonders on the Elk River in West Virginia. At least it does for me."
Review 2 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice!,
February 9, 2014
By: Eltong2
from Wisconsin
"This works great as a trailer or as a solo fly! It has worked on everything from Bass to trout on lakes and rivers."
Review 3 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fly,
February 27, 2013
By: Dwhead2
from West Chester, PA
"Well built, quality fly. Can't wait to catch some trout!"
Review 4 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Green River Browns,
October 13, 2012
By: UtahFlyFlipper
from Southern Utah
"One of the best spawning and pre-spawn brown trout flies. If the trout are staging before entering a stream, early morning this is a great tail fly in a two fly setup in the drift as it enters the lake. Every Fall I make sure I have enough of these for early morning browns that are staging before running up a stream.. Browns love this little copper fly."
Review 5 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made this novice look good,
May 30, 2012
By: RadioFlyer
"I had a chance to try out this fly today. As other reviewers have said, the fish were really hitting it. Just wish I had been better at turning the hits into catches. Still managed to land a few nice rainbows, though. It's not flashy, but it sure worked for me. Sometimes less is more, I guess."
Review 6 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly,
April 17, 2012
By: birdie12
"This one is a real producer. Fish just keep hitting it. You can't miss. Think of it as an investment with a roughly 1000% return."
Review 7 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
evolution from pupa,
April 3, 2012
By: 29male
from ca
"the evolution from a cinnamon pup[a this little thin greases up hook will look like the real deal and somehow manages to catch those rainbows like crazy!"
Review 8 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
January 18, 2012
By: prefect
from Scranton, PA
"Great nymph! Sinks like a stone to get down to the fish, and they can't resist!"
Review 9 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
won't be disappointed,
December 30, 2011
By: johnnyxlh
from Ozarks, Missouri
"good quality, now if I can only replicate and make more. Good for winter time fishing."
Review 10 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to fly,
June 19, 2011
By: Fittobetied
"I fished this fly many times and have never been disappointed. Took six twenty inch rainbows in two hours until the trout sent out the word to pass on the brassy. Lent one to a fellow fly guy who took a nice trout. This fly should be in everyones box.
Tight lines"
Review 11 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome goto fly,
May 13, 2011
By: steeliefil
"I've used Ian's flies in the past on a fly rod but last week I only had my float gear with me and while guys were drifting roe and hitting nothing I decided to try drifthing this fly under my float. Well I just started hammering on what had been skittish steelies while everyone else watched in amazement! It turned a bad day into an awesome one!"
Review 12 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not worth the effort,
April 20, 2011
By: Tone
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"It is a great pattern, effective and durable, however the the eyes on every fly in my batch were completely closed with epoxy. The needle on my line clipper could not clear it. I had to use the clippers to scrape off the epoxy on both sides of the the eye and then work the needle repeatedly on each side to clear it. Not worth the effort."
Review 13 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally figured out the tie,
March 26, 2011
By: JonF
from Boise, Idaho
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I've tried 5 minute epoxy, 60 minute epoxy, Loon Hard Head, and nothing made the flies look as good as the ones you get from Orvis. This morning though, Pro Kote Rod Building Thread Finish! Finally got the nice clear coating! My tie still doesn't look as good as the Orvis tie, however I'm thinking the Steelhead next weekend won't really care all that much."
Review 14 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly from a Great Guy,
January 1, 2011
By: Rugby10
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I was fortunate enough to get some of these directly from Ian and they are as good as other reviewers have stated. They are extremely durable, much more so than a brassie or a Copper John, and just as effective. Great for Browns and Steelies here in the Northeast. Thanks again to Ian for the flies and to Tom R for hooking us up."
Review 15 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scary good fly,
October 28, 2010
By: dannyb
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This fly catches fish 100%, great for steelhead and browns. Not too surprising when you consider that it was designed by Ian James renowned fly fishing guide, speaker, fly tier and all around good guy."
Review 16 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is...WOW!!,
October 1, 2010
By: UncleTimo
from Toronto, Ontario
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Was out fishing some local stillwater last week. I can tell you that Ian's Brass A*s... IS THE BOMB!!! 15+ trout over a full day... the fish just could not keep away from this fly.... on a hot day with bright sunshine and very little cover for the fish... Absolutely Amazing!!! WOW!!!"
Review 17 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A BELIEVER!!!,
June 11, 2010
By: FloridaFlyFisher
from Woodstock Vermont
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ok I'll admit it... I bought this fly based 100% on the ratings it was given on this site. I then, obviously, had very high expectations of fly.
Those expectations have been met and exceeded. I fish this fly as a trailer, and so far, it hasn't mattered which fly I trail it from.... every fish goes after the brassA. I am a believer...
Perfect trailer fly.... looks to be virtually indestructible..... I'd recommend it in the largest pattern sizes... this morning I had a 4'' brook trout slam a size 10 BrasA."
Review 18 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Some excitement,
June 6, 2010
By: newtroutfisherman
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I today caught my very first trout at my new trout club using an Ians Brass. I may never use anything else!"
Review 19 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fly!!!,
October 21, 2009
By: NewFlyGuy
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ian has designed the perfect fly for attracting fish. I am a beginner and this fly produces fish no matter where I'm fishing.
This is my go-to fly and by far the best fly I have in my box.
"
Review 20 for Ian's Brass Ass
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Have In Your Flybox!,
October 16, 2009
By: MrsFishNut
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ian's Brass A-s is my #1 go-to, confidence building, fish-smacking, reel screaming pattern. I have used this to catch steelhead and brown trout -
lots of them - both here in Ontario and in Michigan. Every fly fisherman should have a bunch of these in their flybox, or better still, one on the
end of their leader. You simply can't miss the takes when a fish hits a Brass A-s, it's a good solid "THUNK!" The Brass A-s is a great prospecting fly when I have to fish new water for the first time. Over the past few years my husband and I have found a size #12 to be the most productive for
steelhead and the size #14 for brown trout. I still have a few of Ian's original Brass A-s flies, from about 12 years ago, tied with a strip of orange plastic garbage bag for the cheeks - not the orange tinsel - and they still work!!!!
"