Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Teddy Panama Straw Hat

These handwoven, hand-shaped classic Panama hats have delivered cool, comfortable sun protection since before the days of the Canal. Ours, made in the traditional way, will serve him for decades to come. Woven-in ventilation and a unique European interior sweatband keep him comfortable all day long. Brown hat band with brass Orvis logo pin. 3¼" brim. Panama hat for men in natural. Panama straw. Wipe clean. Woven in Ecuador. Shaped in USA.Sizes: S(6¾-6⅞), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Review 1 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just like shopping in Equador,
July 10, 2013
By: Ayhozer
from California
"Great hat ..Great style...Great price.
I could not have done better if I were in Equador. As always, Orvis is at it's prime with superior service and products. My wife thinks this is the best had I own. I agree !
"
Review 2 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
May 21, 2013
By: MOFlyFisher
from Neosho, MO
"I ordered this hat based on the description on the website. When it arrived I tried it on and it was a perfect fit. The quality of the material and the weave was more then I expected. Great Hat!!"
Review 3 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teddy Roosevelt Would Be Proud,
April 23, 2013
By: sgoregon
from Portland, OR
"During a trip to visit the ongoing construction of the Panama Canal in 1904, President Theodore (Teddy) Roosevelt was photographed wearing a "Panama" straw hat, which did wonders in spreading the allure of the straw hat to American hat wearers. This "Teddy" straw hat from Orvis is a beautiful hat! I am particularly fond of wide brims (3"+) and this hat offers the great sun protection that comes with a wider brim. Very well constructed and handsome. I am 100% pleased with this, my second hat purchased from Orvis. FYI, my head measures appx. 22 9/16 in. and the Medium fit like a glove."
Review 4 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality vs Price - Very Good to Excellent,
April 3, 2013
By: BHGolf
"Perhaps the only reason I select
Orvis, when I go to my area retail store. Shopping on line is a great experience and my first with Orvis.
My Straw hat was a great pick up
online and the service was wonderful, The hat was a birthday gift , for an all around hat guy and straw lover. The wife likes it too.
"
Review 5 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not up to Orvis standards,
April 1, 2013
By: DoodlebugWeish
from Norfolk, VA
"I order this hat, and it arrived with the hatband badly wrinkled, so I arranged to return and ordered another. It arrived with the same problem. I should think that Orvis might have the equipment to steam press and correct this before shipping out. (?) The return situation was handled with your usual kind help and professionalism."
Review 6 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pamama hat at it's best,
March 4, 2013
By: rjung9
from Albuquerque, NM
"Just purchased this hat as a result of a health issue (skin cancer on ear). In New Mexico everyone should wear a hat! I have several hats and like many things I purchase do my research. This hat is very high quality and made with quality straw in Ecuador like all of the best Pamama hats. The straw is soft and flexible but still keeps it's shape nicely. You will love the feel of this hat! Many straw hats feel like plastic. The top is reinforced for better wear...a nice touch. The hat shape of the brim gives great coverage from the sun which is what I was looking for. However, the brim is 3 1/2 inches wide which some folks may think is wide for this style hat. This would be the perfect hat for golf, yard or travel."
Review 7 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Panama Hat,
October 20, 2012
By: Driftwood
from San Diego, Cal. and Honduras
"I was looking for a good looking Panama with a three inch brim, brown ribbon hatband. This very nice hat filled the bill perfectly and at a fair price. Unfortunately, it wasn't at all durable. It cracked along the crown crease within a couple of months despite good care. I never wore it in the field. The hat was made of poor quality, overly dry straw, I believe. Not up to Orvis standards. I bought mine in late 2010 or early 2011 as I recall. l hope Orvis is using better quality straw by now because I need another nice Panama.."
Review 8 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect summer hat,
October 1, 2012
By: stringman
from Riverside, CA
"Ever since I got a bad sunburn on my cranium nine years ago, I wear hats when going out. I found this gem– the Teddy Panama Straw hat– at an Orvis store in Scottsdale, AZ last year, and it's become my favorite for hot weather. Perfect fit. Perfect brim. Perfect style."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
June 12, 2012
By: Bajan
from Vancouver BC Canada
"I was about to email you to express my total satisfaction in doing business with you but then I received this request for a review. The hat is perfect - the nicest Panama I have seen and doing business with you was flawless. Great customer service as is the case with most American retailers. I will certainly recommend Orvis to my friends."
Review 10 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lookin' good,
June 1, 2012
By: CPOBill
from Indianapolis, IN
"I've have received numerous complements about this hat. I was even told I looked “dapper”. WOW!
As a hat man, this is the best straw hat I have ever owned!"
Review 11 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Hat,
July 13, 2011
By: dlg5778
from Southeastern Michigan
"This hat is wonderful, light weight, comfortable and doesn't seem to get dirty or damaged with normal use. And it does it all with a nice refined style.
Thanks!"
Review 12 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Summer Hat,
June 30, 2011
By: Dobson
"Great hat for both dress and casual attire. I get complements from both men and women. Excellent price and value from Orvis as always."
Review 13 for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks good and keep you cool,
April 1, 2011
By: WilburrTheHardheaded
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my second summer hat from Orvis and it is wonderful for shade. Fits my head great, very comfortable. Material makeup doesn't quite breath as well as I thought it might. Headband is nice touch, and the sweatband very comfortable and keeps forehead dry. I am sure I"ll get many hot summer days from this hat."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Teddy Panama Straw Hat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1