Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Reading Glasses

These distinctive reading glasses are handcrafted with top–grade optics and flexible hinges to stay comfortably in place all day. UV–protective lenses. Hard eyeglass case included. Available in 1.5, 2.0, and 2.5 magnifications. CEO (round, bifocal sunglass), economist (half-moon, bifocal sunglass), pundit (large rectangle, bifocal sunglass), classic (rounded square), author (oval), boardroom (round tortoise). Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reading Glasses
Review 1 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 22, 2011
By: MAlt
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the "boardroom" readers. They are worth the money spent. The frames are light weight, they look great and the hinges snap shut, so they don't flop around in your pocket. The slight hinge pressure insures the glasses stay put even though the sides don't wrap around the ears. The hard case is very nice, making them easy to find in my shoulder pack. I've purchased so many from the local drug store that if are light weight they fall apart quickly, or are too heavy. I definitely recommend them, even though they are a little more expensive, they are worth it."
Review 2 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Glasses,
November 15, 2010
By: philVT
from Vermont
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just received my pundits and this is a terrific product. Fits well and clearly well made. Worth the investment over drug store cheapies when you consider how much you use them. My guess is that all products from the source company are high quality so the actual style may not matter."
Review 3 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distinct but CEO style is for small face,
January 3, 2010
By: rreimann
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Pay attention to the tips given in the second image for these glasses so that you get a size appropriate for the face they will be worn on. The CEO style for example is quite small, didn't catch that from reading the general descriptions."
Review 4 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reading Glasses,
December 23, 2009
By: Bluegrassguitar
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased the "author" reading glasses about 4 months ago and today, the left hinge mechanism separated. I called customer service and a replacement pair was sent out along with a return mailer to send back the defective pair. Customer service at Orvis was OUTSTANDING! I was impressed with their rapid response and courteous service."
Review 5 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beware of the Economist Pair,
November 23, 2009
By: Orangeblood
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Lasted only 8 months. Left hinge failed even though I kept them in the protective box that came with them.
Sorry, not worth $70
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 29, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the glasses failed to last. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. You can always buy with confidence with Orvis with our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 6 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
distinctive quality,
April 14, 2009
By: DCshopper
from Washington DC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased the Boardroom and couldn't be more pleased with the quality and appearance. The lenses are clear and the frame is comfortable. The comfort stems from the flexible hinges, molded nose bridge, and extended sides. The slight hinge pressure insures the glasses stay put even though the sides don't wrap around the ears.
The style is distinctive and clearly sends the message "these are not drugstore glasses." A bonus is the high quality case.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Looks,
April 3, 2009
By: Frederick
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love these glasses ( Pundit) I get a lot of compliments and find them high quality overall, although I have problems with having them loosen all of time ( seems to be a screw problem or soemthing having to do with construction) I would order other styles, but will wait to see how these hold out."
Review 8 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Reading Glasses,
July 23, 2008
By: RobertDR
from Boise, Idaho
"I purchased the Economist, and am very pleased with its' sturdy construction and quality. Far and away the best reading glasses I've ever owned -- and I've had a lot of lesser quality, cheaper pairs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good product. Poor product description(s).,
July 17, 2008
By: Roadmoose
"Beware. Just took delivery of a pair of these sunglasses - CEO style. Although descriptions as written imply that certain sunglasses are bifocal and certain are not, the CEO's are bifocal. They appear to have added a boldface blurb to clear up confusion, but it was written in the same ambiguous way as the original description. Bottom line: the sunglasses are bifocal magnifiers, not straight magnifying sunglasses. If you are looking for bifocals, they seem to be a high quality pair."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 18, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for discription of the glasses being misleading. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customers concerns on to the manufacture so they can be aware of the problem.
Review 10 for Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased!,
November 26, 2007
By: MidwestShopper
"Just took delivery on these glasses, and was very pleased. High quality with definate flair!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.