Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket

The leather flight jacket was a vital piece of high-altitude survival gear. Cut for ease of movement in the tight confines of the cockpit, the flight jacket also needed functional details, such as easily accessible pockets and the ability to insulate without being bulky. Our genuine leather jacket pays tribute to aviation's pioneers, with a rugged, antiqued finish and a removable genuine shearling collar. The pure cotton twill body lining and polyester sleeve lining provide an easy fit over any outfit. Subtle Orvis embroidery on sleeve. Rib-knit cuffs and hem. Five exterior pockets, plus slots for pens; two interior pockets, one with button closure. In brown. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
64 of 76(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Review 1 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most comfortable flight jacket i've ever owned,
August 29, 2014
By: atzmoses
from west stewartstown nh
"this leather flight jacket is warm the best quality money can buy and fits super on me but all orvis clothing is very high in quality and made with the best materials thank you again again orvis great job"
Review 2 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather Jacket lover!!,
August 27, 2014
By: Armie
from Boston, MA
"I ordered my jacket in the spring, wanted to make sure I got it when Orvis
Made a new run. This beautiful leather jacket came 2 weeks ago. Just wonderful and the most comfortable jacket I've ever purchased. The Orvis on the sleeve doesn't bother me at all. I did have to switch sizes down, they run
large. I have 5 leather jackets that I love to wear, this one is my favorite.
"
Review 3 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've got the jacket, now where's my plane?,
May 28, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"Are my reviews so good, or bad, that you can't believe what you're reading and want me to do it again? Okay, I'm game.
Thank you for not offering us a bomber jacket with an embroidered dragon in the lining or the number of a flight squadron on the back. The Orvis logo on the sleeve is just right; unobtrusive, yet lets people know I'm a guy who has good taste and probably spends time outdoors.
"
Review 4 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to wear it.,
May 27, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"It's summer here in Florida, so I haven't had a chance to wear my flight jacket. I am very pleased with the tough, yet soft texture of the jacket. It fits me perfectly. I'm glad it didn't have some bomber group insignia attached, or one of those oriental dragons stitched into the lining. The very "subtle Orvis embroidery" on the sleeve is perfect. It connotes class, good taste, and gives the idea that the wearer is probably an outdoorsman. Just the right amount of pockets. I was wondering if the attachable fur collar would stay on when I ride my motorcycle. There are so many attachment points on the collar that I have to say, this collar isn't going anywhere."
Review 5 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I had hoped it would be,
May 21, 2014
By: NorthoftheBorder
from Vancouver Island
"I buy a leather jacket about once every 20 years. Orvis offers lots of choices but I kept coming back to this one in the catalog, for the distressed leather, the classic lines and the absence of patches honoring squadrons that I was never part of.
I waited months hoping to find it on sale, but no such luck. And the regular price is reasonable compared to similar offerings on the market, so I took the plunge at full retail. It arrived the day I was due to leave on a trip so I wore it fresh from the box.
Wearing it puts a smile on my face. The pockets are just right, the detachable shearling collar is well-designed, and I feel like a million bucks wearing this coat.
When the temp is higher than about 60F / 15 C and the sun is shining it's too much jacket, but it's not so heavy that a guy can't just sling it over his shoulder and wander around looking cool.
Sizing? I wear a 16.5 / 35 dress shirt, and a 44R sport coat. The Large fits me just fine.
It looks well made...might be an heirloom for a grandson in twenty years.
The Orvis branding on the sleeve that some reviewers have objected to is actually fairly muted, but I still took a dark Sharpie to its stitching and muted it further. Hey, compared to squadron patches it's invisible.
Another fine article from Orvis, strongly recommended."
Review 6 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't take it off.,
March 26, 2014
By: Happytobealive
from California
"I've had this jacket for a year or two.
I look forward to the winter so I can wear it. It's the most comfortable thing I've ever worn. I liked it so much I just got my cousin one. It also must be good looking, because I've gotten several compliments about it. People ask me where they can get one.
"
Review 7 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket,
February 15, 2014
By: RichardThexton
"I had sort of coveted one of these for some time but could not justify spending £370 on it. When it was reduced to £250 I bought one. Originating in the good old US of A and being a regular buyer of Orvis stuff, I knew the size would be generous, So instead of going for a XXL - which I would have had to for any British made stuff - I selected the XL and it fits fine. Encompassing my barrel shaped upper torso without difficulty. The elasticated cuffs mean I don't have 4" of sleeve hanging beyond the end of my little short arms. Plenty of pocket room, warm and looks good. Only criticism is the rather vulgar large ORVIS logo on the sleeve. My attitude to manufacturers applying advertising logos to the outer surface of their products is 'why are they not paying me for advertising their stuff?' All in all though I am well pleased."
Review 8 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking jacket!,
January 29, 2014
By: edennis
"I actually had to return this order. I thought an order from an overseas vendor had been cancelled but, it showed up the day after I received this jacket. It was very hard to send this one back. The jacket has a coating that simulates wear in rapid time. I like the distressed look it started to show from wearing for just a couple hours. The only complaint was that it SEEMED a little big for only a size large. I don't know how it would compare to a size smaller. Great product!"
Review 9 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
January 24, 2014
By: Bradwillie
from Wichita KS
"It’s a great jacket. It’s about 1/2 the weight of most flight/bomber jackets, which is what I wanted. I can't stand lugging around a heavy jacket. It's plenty warm. The Jacket was true to size for me. If the logo on the sleeve is too showy for you can tone it down with a brown stain. My only small complaint is that it wasn’t as distressed as the picture, but I realize they are all a little different. I’m sure I will distress it over time without even trying."
Review 10 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
HUGE sizes!,
January 21, 2014
By: DonWA
"Mediums as big as extra larges and no smalls? Good quality, but only if you're a large person. What about us regular sized men? I'd enjoy the quality if they fit me."
Review 11 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lusted after it for five years,
January 13, 2014
By: Raider11
from Lubbock, Texas
"For five years I have wanted the Orvis bomber jacket. I just couldn't justify a $400 jacket. My wife finally just went ahead and ordered it! My first reaction was not as euphoric as I had imagined. Wore it some, love the look of the leather, and the style was IT! It was to big. Went down a size and now it is perfect. Worn it 3 weeks and tons of comments!!"
Review 12 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
December 27, 2013
By: agessner1
from Rockwall, Texas
"I gave this to my Dad for Xmas and he loved it, so good looking on him."
Review 13 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size?,
December 8, 2013
By: everynameistaken
"My husband is a reliable "large" in Orvis. Bought a large first -- too small. Returned it for an XL -- way too big. Exchanged for a different bomber jacket in the store -- size large -- which is perfect."
Review 14 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best jacket purchased,
November 4, 2013
By: Grunon
from Denver, CO
"Great vintage looking jacket. It feels very comfortable. Not too light nor heavy. Just perfect."
Review 15 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Returned,
October 24, 2013
By: BPilot
from Idaho
"Very lightweight (for a bomber jacket) the leather was so thin I was afraid using the button/snaps might tear the jacket. Pocket flap was sewn with wrinkle that prevented it from laying flat. Orvis logo was not centered on the upper sleeve. Very disappointed, would have returned it regardless of price, not worth $100 much less the $400 this jacket goes for. It doesn't deserve 1 star but you have to give some rating and they don't offer any negative numbers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deadliest LeatherJacket Ever,
July 22, 2013
By: DoubleR
"I bought this leather jacket for my husband and I have to say it is one spunky jacket. And it is very warm, protects from the wind, without making you sweat. Perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Purchase for me,
March 19, 2013
By: Ante
from Sweden
"Very good quality. This jacket is timeless.Will survive all trends.Normally my size is XXL , but orderd XL witch was the right choice.Fits perfect. Thank´s Orvis for your exellent support concerning the choice of sisze."
Review 18 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Very Special Jacket !!,
March 12, 2013
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"From the minute the box arrives by courier, to opening the special Orvis dust cover and to seeing the Orvis wooden coat hanger, you know this jacket is special. And it doesn't disappoint !!
It is quite simply the best leather jacket I have ever worn - or am likely to wear in the future.
The leather feels very soft. It's very warm and comfortable.The cut is excellent - there's enough room to wear a sweater to cater for the coldest of days yet the jacket does not feel bulky.
I don't mind the (not so subtle) Orvis logo on the sleeve but, if nit-picking, would prefer it to be dark brown like the jacket.
I was a little worried about sizing but found my usual size L in Orvis clothes was fine. I'm a UK size 44/46 and a touch off 6 feet and the size L in this jacket fits me well in both the body and sleeves.
Potential purchasers should also bear in mind that this jacket is a very dark brown, so much so that the black rib-knit at the cuffs and sleeves as well as the grey shearling match well.
Undoubtedly my best purchase from Orvis and I'm delighted with it !!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good,
March 8, 2013
By: Mannn
from Isle of Man
"Nice jacket and difficult to fault. Was not to sure if I should order larger size as I was in between sizes. Went for smaller one which is a good fit."
Review 20 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather Flying Jacket,
March 6, 2013
By: Sossidge
from Somerset UK
"I wanted a jacket for every day wear as well as out on the Harley - rather than keeping two jackets. Delivery was quick and sizing was as described. Very well made and in its own case with hanger, it looked good when unwrapped and fitted well and looks good on. Comfortable and stylish out on foot, down the pub or out on two wheels. Recommended."