Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket

The leather flight jacket was a vital piece of high-altitude survival gear. Cut for ease of movement in the tight confines of the cockpit, the flight jacket also needed functional details, such as easily accessible pockets and the ability to insulate without being bulky. Our genuine leather jacket pays tribute to aviation's pioneers, with a rugged, antiqued finish and a removable genuine shearling collar. The pure cotton twill body lining and polyester sleeve lining provide an easy fit over any outfit. Subtle Orvis embroidery on sleeve. Rib-knit cuffs and hem. Five exterior pockets, plus slots for pens; two interior pockets, one with button closure. In brown. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
67 of 79(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Review 1 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect when flying plane,
October 22, 2014
By: kenn1976
from Concord, CA
"My son just received his pilots license. He was overjoyed when he opened the Orvis gift box and tried on the flight jacket. He flies a small plane and says the comfort is ideal and that the pockets are easily accessible as stated in your description of the jacket. He says he feels like an Ace. Thank You Much"
Review 2 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 10, 2014
By: Itravelfar
from Las Vegas
"This jacket is another Orvis winner. It was perfect out of the box, and just keeps getting better. It is a beautiful jacket, and I can't wear it enough. Runs just a tiny large, but that is a plus if you want to wear a sweater. Can't say enough. Don't miss buying one."
Review 3 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 3, 2014
By: Detroit313
from Detroit MI.
"Received the jacket yesterday, wore it last night, just as advertised, quite
nice, fit and finish are excellent for its modest price. I'm 6ft 215lbs and the XL fits just right with room for a sweater or sweatshirt under for cold days. Have a bunch of leathers, all different price ranges, this is one of the better ones, good solid buy.
There were comments in other reviews about the 'ORVIS' logo on the left sleeve, good and bad, it's no longer there, not to worry.
"
Review 4 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most comfortable flight jacket i've ever owned,
August 29, 2014
By: atzmoses
from west stewartstown nh
"this leather flight jacket is warm the best quality money can buy and fits super on me but all orvis clothing is very high in quality and made with the best materials thank you again again orvis great job"
Review 5 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather Jacket lover!!,
August 27, 2014
By: Armie
from Boston, MA
"I ordered my jacket in the spring, wanted to make sure I got it when Orvis
Made a new run. This beautiful leather jacket came 2 weeks ago. Just wonderful and the most comfortable jacket I've ever purchased. The Orvis on the sleeve doesn't bother me at all. I did have to switch sizes down, they run
large. I have 5 leather jackets that I love to wear, this one is my favorite.
"
Review 6 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've got the jacket, now where's my plane?,
May 28, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"Are my reviews so good, or bad, that you can't believe what you're reading and want me to do it again? Okay, I'm game.
Thank you for not offering us a bomber jacket with an embroidered dragon in the lining or the number of a flight squadron on the back. The Orvis logo on the sleeve is just right; unobtrusive, yet lets people know I'm a guy who has good taste and probably spends time outdoors.
"
Review 7 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to wear it.,
May 27, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"It's summer here in Florida, so I haven't had a chance to wear my flight jacket. I am very pleased with the tough, yet soft texture of the jacket. It fits me perfectly. I'm glad it didn't have some bomber group insignia attached, or one of those oriental dragons stitched into the lining. The very "subtle Orvis embroidery" on the sleeve is perfect. It connotes class, good taste, and gives the idea that the wearer is probably an outdoorsman. Just the right amount of pockets. I was wondering if the attachable fur collar would stay on when I ride my motorcycle. There are so many attachment points on the collar that I have to say, this collar isn't going anywhere."
Review 8 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I had hoped it would be,
May 21, 2014
By: NorthoftheBorder
from Vancouver Island
"I buy a leather jacket about once every 20 years. Orvis offers lots of choices but I kept coming back to this one in the catalog, for the distressed leather, the classic lines and the absence of patches honoring squadrons that I was never part of.
I waited months hoping to find it on sale, but no such luck. And the regular price is reasonable compared to similar offerings on the market, so I took the plunge at full retail. It arrived the day I was due to leave on a trip so I wore it fresh from the box.
Wearing it puts a smile on my face. The pockets are just right, the detachable shearling collar is well-designed, and I feel like a million bucks wearing this coat.
When the temp is higher than about 60F / 15 C and the sun is shining it's too much jacket, but it's not so heavy that a guy can't just sling it over his shoulder and wander around looking cool.
Sizing? I wear a 16.5 / 35 dress shirt, and a 44R sport coat. The Large fits me just fine.
It looks well made...might be an heirloom for a grandson in twenty years.
The Orvis branding on the sleeve that some reviewers have objected to is actually fairly muted, but I still took a dark Sharpie to its stitching and muted it further. Hey, compared to squadron patches it's invisible.
Another fine article from Orvis, strongly recommended."
Review 9 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't take it off.,
March 26, 2014
By: Happytobealive
from California
"I've had this jacket for a year or two.
I look forward to the winter so I can wear it. It's the most comfortable thing I've ever worn. I liked it so much I just got my cousin one. It also must be good looking, because I've gotten several compliments about it. People ask me where they can get one.
"
Review 10 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket,
February 15, 2014
By: RichardThexton
"I had sort of coveted one of these for some time but could not justify spending £370 on it. When it was reduced to £250 I bought one. Originating in the good old US of A and being a regular buyer of Orvis stuff, I knew the size would be generous, So instead of going for a XXL - which I would have had to for any British made stuff - I selected the XL and it fits fine. Encompassing my barrel shaped upper torso without difficulty. The elasticated cuffs mean I don't have 4" of sleeve hanging beyond the end of my little short arms. Plenty of pocket room, warm and looks good. Only criticism is the rather vulgar large ORVIS logo on the sleeve. My attitude to manufacturers applying advertising logos to the outer surface of their products is 'why are they not paying me for advertising their stuff?' All in all though I am well pleased."
Review 11 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking jacket!,
January 29, 2014
By: edennis
"I actually had to return this order. I thought an order from an overseas vendor had been cancelled but, it showed up the day after I received this jacket. It was very hard to send this one back. The jacket has a coating that simulates wear in rapid time. I like the distressed look it started to show from wearing for just a couple hours. The only complaint was that it SEEMED a little big for only a size large. I don't know how it would compare to a size smaller. Great product!"
Review 12 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
January 24, 2014
By: Bradwillie
from Wichita KS
"It’s a great jacket. It’s about 1/2 the weight of most flight/bomber jackets, which is what I wanted. I can't stand lugging around a heavy jacket. It's plenty warm. The Jacket was true to size for me. If the logo on the sleeve is too showy for you can tone it down with a brown stain. My only small complaint is that it wasn’t as distressed as the picture, but I realize they are all a little different. I’m sure I will distress it over time without even trying."
Review 13 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
HUGE sizes!,
January 21, 2014
By: DonWA
"Mediums as big as extra larges and no smalls? Good quality, but only if you're a large person. What about us regular sized men? I'd enjoy the quality if they fit me."
Review 14 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lusted after it for five years,
January 13, 2014
By: Raider11
from Lubbock, Texas
"For five years I have wanted the Orvis bomber jacket. I just couldn't justify a $400 jacket. My wife finally just went ahead and ordered it! My first reaction was not as euphoric as I had imagined. Wore it some, love the look of the leather, and the style was IT! It was to big. Went down a size and now it is perfect. Worn it 3 weeks and tons of comments!!"
Review 15 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
December 27, 2013
By: agessner1
from Rockwall, Texas
"I gave this to my Dad for Xmas and he loved it, so good looking on him."
Review 16 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size?,
December 8, 2013
By: everynameistaken
"My husband is a reliable "large" in Orvis. Bought a large first -- too small. Returned it for an XL -- way too big. Exchanged for a different bomber jacket in the store -- size large -- which is perfect."
Review 17 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best jacket purchased,
November 4, 2013
By: Grunon
from Denver, CO
"Great vintage looking jacket. It feels very comfortable. Not too light nor heavy. Just perfect."
Review 18 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Returned,
October 24, 2013
By: BPilot
from Idaho
"Very lightweight (for a bomber jacket) the leather was so thin I was afraid using the button/snaps might tear the jacket. Pocket flap was sewn with wrinkle that prevented it from laying flat. Orvis logo was not centered on the upper sleeve. Very disappointed, would have returned it regardless of price, not worth $100 much less the $400 this jacket goes for. It doesn't deserve 1 star but you have to give some rating and they don't offer any negative numbers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deadliest LeatherJacket Ever,
July 22, 2013
By: DoubleR
"I bought this leather jacket for my husband and I have to say it is one spunky jacket. And it is very warm, protects from the wind, without making you sweat. Perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Purchase for me,
March 19, 2013
By: Ante
from Sweden
"Very good quality. This jacket is timeless.Will survive all trends.Normally my size is XXL , but orderd XL witch was the right choice.Fits perfect. Thank´s Orvis for your exellent support concerning the choice of sisze."