Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket

The leather flight jacket was a vital piece of high-altitude survival gear. Cut for ease of movement in the tight confines of the cockpit, the flight jacket also needed functional details, such as easily accessible pockets and the ability to insulate without being bulky. Our genuine leather jacket pays tribute to aviation's pioneers, with a rugged, antiqued finish and a removable genuine shearling collar. The pure cotton twill body lining and polyester sleeve lining provide an easy fit over any outfit. Rib-knit cuffs and hem. Five exterior pockets, plus slots for pens; two interior pockets, one with button closure. In brown. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.352 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
76 of 88(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Review 1 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I hoped for,
December 8, 2014
By: Chapy
from Evansville, IN
"This leather coat is exactly what I was looking for. I conducted an extensive in-store and on-online search. Medium thickness of leather for lighter weight. Could be a bit thicker. I found the coat to be full size. Plenty of room for thick sweater. I am 6', 243#. I just received the coat recently but find no fault. Looks great. Very comfortable. Medium to cold warmth but light enough to wear in 40 plus temps."
Review 2 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It makes even me look good,
December 8, 2014
By: thepretender
from Abilene, TX
"I've wanted a classic flight jacket for years, and kept getting more and more enticed to order one with each new Orvis catalog. So I finally did. I love this jacket. It's just dang near perfect. Weathered but not overdone like some other ones are. Soft but sturdy leather and quality construction with a heavy duty zipper. I love the shearling collar. This jacket is warmer than you think it will be on cold days. After reading all the reviews I ordered a medium, although I typically wear a large. The medium fits perfectly....looks almost tailored to fit me (I'm a 44 regular). For those concerned about the Orvis logo on the sleeve, it's no longer there....so good move Orvis. I'd recommend this jacket to anyone who needs to go from office to field and back again while looking "professionally rugged" in both settings. It looks great with Orvis ultimate khakis (which is all I wear by the way)."
Review 3 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a cool flight jacket,
December 8, 2014
By: gcurtis
"This jacket is everything described in the catalog description. The leather is very soft. The jacket is very warm. A neat feature is the detachable fur collar. I feel like I should be flying an airplane."
Review 4 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spirit Leather Flight Jacket,
December 4, 2014
By: ssaaww98
from Jericho, New York
"This is a high quality, well made leather Flight Jacket. It is sufficiently warm, made of supple leather, 4 pockets for storage,authentically styled and affordable. I would highly recommend this purchase."
Review 5 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I waited,
December 4, 2014
By: DFS1234
from Western North Carolina
"Wanted a weathered flight jacket for a long time. Wanted to buy this jacket last season but they were sold out of my size (XL). Opted for the Spirit leather vest instead. Love the vest, so this season I ordered the jacket. Glad I waited because Orvis nixed the logo on the shoulder with the new version, which I did not want anyway. Runs true to size."
Review 6 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class,
December 2, 2014
By: johnc2333
from copperas cove, tx
"First leather jacket I ever owned, the style was unique and the color and fit were just perfect. Would highly recommend to anyone, very warm and great for traveling as well."
Review 7 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Classic Piece of American Outerwear,
December 2, 2014
By: LabstahMan
from Niantic, CT
"The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket is a well-made great looking leather jacket ,made of distressed, butter-soft leather and a detachable shearling collar. It is warm, roomy and I've gotten nothing but compliments when I wear it!!!"
Review 8 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
any setting,
November 4, 2014
By: njsailor
from Bay Head, New Jersey
"This jacket is perfect for anyone with a career/lifestyle that is constantly changing from being in a corporate conference room to an aircraft hangar to a construction site visit to meeting clients for cocktails. It can be dressed up or down as needed and looks cool in all those settings."
Review 9 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect when flying plane,
October 22, 2014
By: kenn1976
from Concord, CA
"My son just received his pilots license. He was overjoyed when he opened the Orvis gift box and tried on the flight jacket. He flies a small plane and says the comfort is ideal and that the pockets are easily accessible as stated in your description of the jacket. He says he feels like an Ace. Thank You Much"
Review 10 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 10, 2014
By: Itravelfar
from Las Vegas
"This jacket is another Orvis winner. It was perfect out of the box, and just keeps getting better. It is a beautiful jacket, and I can't wear it enough. Runs just a tiny large, but that is a plus if you want to wear a sweater. Can't say enough. Don't miss buying one."
Review 11 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 3, 2014
By: Detroit313
from Detroit MI.
"Received the jacket yesterday, wore it last night, just as advertised, quite
nice, fit and finish are excellent for its modest price. I'm 6ft 215lbs and the XL fits just right with room for a sweater or sweatshirt under for cold days. Have a bunch of leathers, all different price ranges, this is one of the better ones, good solid buy.
There were comments in other reviews about the 'ORVIS' logo on the left sleeve, good and bad, it's no longer there, not to worry.
"
Review 12 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most comfortable flight jacket i've ever owned,
August 29, 2014
By: atzmoses
from west stewartstown nh
"this leather flight jacket is warm the best quality money can buy and fits super on me but all orvis clothing is very high in quality and made with the best materials thank you again again orvis great job"
Review 13 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather Jacket lover!!,
August 27, 2014
By: Armie
from Boston, MA
"I ordered my jacket in the spring, wanted to make sure I got it when Orvis
Made a new run. This beautiful leather jacket came 2 weeks ago. Just wonderful and the most comfortable jacket I've ever purchased. The Orvis on the sleeve doesn't bother me at all. I did have to switch sizes down, they run
large. I have 5 leather jackets that I love to wear, this one is my favorite.
"
Review 14 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've got the jacket, now where's my plane?,
May 28, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"Are my reviews so good, or bad, that you can't believe what you're reading and want me to do it again? Okay, I'm game.
Thank you for not offering us a bomber jacket with an embroidered dragon in the lining or the number of a flight squadron on the back. The Orvis logo on the sleeve is just right; unobtrusive, yet lets people know I'm a guy who has good taste and probably spends time outdoors.
"
Review 15 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to wear it.,
May 27, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"It's summer here in Florida, so I haven't had a chance to wear my flight jacket. I am very pleased with the tough, yet soft texture of the jacket. It fits me perfectly. I'm glad it didn't have some bomber group insignia attached, or one of those oriental dragons stitched into the lining. The very "subtle Orvis embroidery" on the sleeve is perfect. It connotes class, good taste, and gives the idea that the wearer is probably an outdoorsman. Just the right amount of pockets. I was wondering if the attachable fur collar would stay on when I ride my motorcycle. There are so many attachment points on the collar that I have to say, this collar isn't going anywhere."
Review 16 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I had hoped it would be,
May 21, 2014
By: NorthoftheBorder
from Vancouver Island
"I buy a leather jacket about once every 20 years. Orvis offers lots of choices but I kept coming back to this one in the catalog, for the distressed leather, the classic lines and the absence of patches honoring squadrons that I was never part of.
I waited months hoping to find it on sale, but no such luck. And the regular price is reasonable compared to similar offerings on the market, so I took the plunge at full retail. It arrived the day I was due to leave on a trip so I wore it fresh from the box.
Wearing it puts a smile on my face. The pockets are just right, the detachable shearling collar is well-designed, and I feel like a million bucks wearing this coat.
When the temp is higher than about 60F / 15 C and the sun is shining it's too much jacket, but it's not so heavy that a guy can't just sling it over his shoulder and wander around looking cool.
Sizing? I wear a 16.5 / 35 dress shirt, and a 44R sport coat. The Large fits me just fine.
It looks well made...might be an heirloom for a grandson in twenty years.
The Orvis branding on the sleeve that some reviewers have objected to is actually fairly muted, but I still took a dark Sharpie to its stitching and muted it further. Hey, compared to squadron patches it's invisible.
Another fine article from Orvis, strongly recommended."
Review 17 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't take it off.,
March 26, 2014
By: Happytobealive
from California
"I've had this jacket for a year or two.
I look forward to the winter so I can wear it. It's the most comfortable thing I've ever worn. I liked it so much I just got my cousin one. It also must be good looking, because I've gotten several compliments about it. People ask me where they can get one.
"
Review 18 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket,
February 15, 2014
By: RichardThexton
"I had sort of coveted one of these for some time but could not justify spending £370 on it. When it was reduced to £250 I bought one. Originating in the good old US of A and being a regular buyer of Orvis stuff, I knew the size would be generous, So instead of going for a XXL - which I would have had to for any British made stuff - I selected the XL and it fits fine. Encompassing my barrel shaped upper torso without difficulty. The elasticated cuffs mean I don't have 4" of sleeve hanging beyond the end of my little short arms. Plenty of pocket room, warm and looks good. Only criticism is the rather vulgar large ORVIS logo on the sleeve. My attitude to manufacturers applying advertising logos to the outer surface of their products is 'why are they not paying me for advertising their stuff?' All in all though I am well pleased."
Review 19 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking jacket!,
January 29, 2014
By: edennis
"I actually had to return this order. I thought an order from an overseas vendor had been cancelled but, it showed up the day after I received this jacket. It was very hard to send this one back. The jacket has a coating that simulates wear in rapid time. I like the distressed look it started to show from wearing for just a couple hours. The only complaint was that it SEEMED a little big for only a size large. I don't know how it would compare to a size smaller. Great product!"
Review 20 for The Spirit Leather Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
January 24, 2014
By: Bradwillie
from Wichita KS
"It’s a great jacket. It’s about 1/2 the weight of most flight/bomber jackets, which is what I wanted. I can't stand lugging around a heavy jacket. It's plenty warm. The Jacket was true to size for me. If the logo on the sleeve is too showy for you can tone it down with a brown stain. My only small complaint is that it wasn’t as distressed as the picture, but I realize they are all a little different. I’m sure I will distress it over time without even trying."