Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun

Because he's always wanted one. This special edition of the classic BB gun—similar to the model immortalized in A Christmas Story—includes a tin with 560-count BBs, eight clay targets, two target stands, and yes, eye protection. Federal, state, and local regulations apply. Ages 10 and up. Warning: This is not a toy—adult supervision required.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
31 of 36(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Review 1 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 5, 2015
By: Bryz
from California
"Purchased this for my father for his Birthday! The site brought tears to his eyes as he explained that opening this on his 60th Birthday took him back to his 13th Birthday when he had recieved a Red Ryder BB gun as well. His original has since dissappeared as the years past so recieving a new one was like being a child again. Fantastic product."
Review 2 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Something I always wanted!,
March 27, 2015
By: JHD5
from Charleston, WV
"I was never allowed to have a BB gun as a kid since my Dad lost an eye as a child from being shot with a BB gun. So in my senior years I finally got one--it's one more thing off my bucket list! Nice product--it is what it is! If you buy for a child-need adult supervision."
Review 3 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Plain Fun,
January 26, 2015
By: Breezestone
from Conroe, TX
"Enjoy sitting out on my backyard patio just plunking at a few homemade targets. Stress reliever. Great little gun, surprising powerful. Reminds my of my youth (70+ now)."
Review 4 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great gift for a movie fan,
January 6, 2015
By: MyhCar
from Lacey, WA
"My husband is a huge fan of the movie "A Christmas Story." He was happy to receive this gift and it meets most expectations. It does not, however, have a compass in the stock or a thing that tells time. The item arrived in good condition and I'm generally pleased with my purchase."
Review 5 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
January 1, 2015
By: Ladybug9
from Atlanta, GA.
"The BB Gun was a purchase for my husband. He loves the movie "The Christmas Story" and had a Red Rider as a boy. He shot the gun on Christmas Eve which is when he received it with our grandchildren. They "all" enjoyed being a child with their grandpa.
The only thing that would have made it better would have been a leaflet commemorating the history of the gun. Grandpa told his story as a boy, but it would have been great to know the manufacturing history as well. All in all it is a GREAT GUN and provided a Warm Memory for him and thankfully "he did not even shoot his eye out".
"
Review 6 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase!!,
December 30, 2014
By: GrandfatherTC
"These were a gift to my grandson and son for Christmas, and they have had such a great time with them. My grandson is learning all the safety techniques for the use of a real gun with the BB gun he received."
Review 7 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nostalgic Starter Set,
December 29, 2014
By: LauraCP
from The Hills, TX
"Purchased this to get my younger son (8) started with handling firearms. Great set that made us both smile. Respected brand and nicely packaged for a wonderful gift. Thanks, as usual, Orvis!"
Review 8 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BB un,
December 29, 2014
By: Conk
from Cumberland Md.
"The Red Rider arrived as promised before Christmas. I was pleased with my purchase. I gave it to my husband and he was extremely excited. He has other BB guns, but has always wanted a Red Rider. Great purchase."
Review 9 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overdue Surprise!,
December 28, 2014
By: 1olddustycowboy
from Tucson, Arizona
"Thank you Orvis for offering me the chance to really make my husbands Christmas extra special this year. You see as a child he was never permitted to own a BB gun. I have heard him speak in the past of wishing he had had the opportunity to own a "Red Ryder.". Needless to say, when I saw you offering this item,I jumped at the chance to please my 60 year old little boy! He was thrilled when he opened his new and shiny Red Ryder BB Gun. I simply adore Orvis products and am so excited when a new catalog arrives. Thank you again for a Merry Christmas!"
Review 10 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a Kid Again,
December 26, 2014
By: Moose65
"I had a Red Ryder when I was a kid and when I saw this item listed in the catalog, I had to have one. Oh, yes, I've seen the famous movie, but my motivation was simply to enjoy a moment from my past. Its aim is true and its handling comfortable. It is a rifle, not a toy, but it's fun."
Review 11 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
review on orvis,
December 24, 2014
By: 1stlastorvis
"in new catalog printed made in USA, 2 people called to speak with orvis and was also told "made in USA" one admitted to being a supervisor, product came with MADE IN CHINA, not happy after moving this order thru several states to get it to MI for xmas"
Review 12 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Real Deal,
December 23, 2014
By: CJDjr
from Florida
"The bb rifle is the real deal as shown on the Christmas Movie. Plus it shoots straight!!"
Review 13 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every man should have one,
December 19, 2014
By: Rosenbloom
from Fallbrook, CA
"My husband, who is now in his late 70's, had a Red Ryder when he was a boy, and had mentioned over the years that he would like to own another one! So, I complied. He is a very "happy camper""
Review 14 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift from me,
December 13, 2014
By: ebdic
from Sheltonct
"My husband never had A bb gun and was veryhappyto get this as a gift. He says this is a fine piece of workmanship"
Review 15 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 HAPPY BOYS-MEN!!,
December 8, 2014
By: Rindercella
from EAST, TEXAS
"My 2 sons are in their 50's now. As young boys they wanted a Red Ryder BB gun and their Father wouldn't let them have one. Your add was right-on, they have always wanted one. They will be very surprise when they open their present. I am so glad you had this in your catalog. Merry Christmas to you all."
Review 16 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Still the best after 60 plus years,
November 30, 2014
By: Lou2
from Nashville
"I have been looking for a Daisy BB gun for a few years and had assumed that they were no longer made. Then, low and behold, there they were in an Orvis catalog. When they arrived in the same exact design as the one I first received when I was 12; with a few design and engineering improvements needless to say. But, as beautiful as ever."
Review 17 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great! i love it, grand kids love it.,
November 26, 2014
By: hearanddo
from dallas, texas
"I tell everyone about this purchase for grandsons and they are jealous. They love the idea and want to make the same purchase. Orvis ss always is a great source for gifts."
Review 18 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Deceptive,
November 20, 2014
By: Honest
"Purchased 2 "Commemorative" Red Ryder BB Guns "assuming" Orvis meant "75th Anniversary" for grandson and son-in-law. Also, have found that Orvis is charging 20-30% more than retail sporting goods store for the "Anniversary" Model. I will be returning shortly."
Review 19 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the real Red Ryder,
November 19, 2014
By: Dobermanlover
"Bought this for a gag gift for my father who loves both guns and the Christmas story. I expected more than a plastic stock. It had no compass in it like the real Red Ryder. It did have the leather tie on the lever. The rest of the gun was well made but they went cheap on the stock. This gift for my father will go in a coat closet while I shop for something else."
Review 20 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long time coming...,
May 29, 2014
By: hockeyman
from florida
"I've been wanting one of these guns since I was a little guy(about 65 years ago)...."