Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun

Because he's always wanted one. This special edition of the classic BB gun—similar to the model immortalized in A Christmas Story—includes a tin with 560-count BBs, eight clay targets, two target stands, and yes, eye protection. Federal, state, and local regulations apply. Ages 10 and up. Warning: This is not a toy—adult supervision required.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Review 1 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift from me,
December 13, 2014
By: ebdic
from Sheltonct
"My husband never had A bb gun and was veryhappyto get this as a gift. He says this is a fine piece of workmanship"
Review 2 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 HAPPY BOYS-MEN!!,
December 8, 2014
By: Rindercella
from EAST, TEXAS
"My 2 sons are in their 50's now. As young boys they wanted a Red Ryder BB gun and their Father wouldn't let them have one. Your add was right-on, they have always wanted one. They will be very surprise when they open their present. I am so glad you had this in your catalog. Merry Christmas to you all."
Review 3 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Still the best after 60 plus years,
November 30, 2014
By: Lou2
from Nashville
"I have been looking for a Daisy BB gun for a few years and had assumed that they were no longer made. Then, low and behold, there they were in an Orvis catalog. When they arrived in the same exact design as the one I first received when I was 12; with a few design and engineering improvements needless to say. But, as beautiful as ever."
Review 4 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great! i love it, grand kids love it.,
November 26, 2014
By: hearanddo
from dallas, texas
"I tell everyone about this purchase for grandsons and they are jealous. They love the idea and want to make the same purchase. Orvis ss always is a great source for gifts."
Review 5 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Deceptive,
November 20, 2014
By: Honest
"Purchased 2 "Commemorative" Red Ryder BB Guns "assuming" Orvis meant "75th Anniversary" for grandson and son-in-law. Also, have found that Orvis is charging 20-30% more than retail sporting goods store for the "Anniversary" Model. I will be returning shortly."
Review 6 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the real Red Ryder,
November 19, 2014
By: Dobermanlover
"Bought this for a gag gift for my father who loves both guns and the Christmas story. I expected more than a plastic stock. It had no compass in it like the real Red Ryder. It did have the leather tie on the lever. The rest of the gun was well made but they went cheap on the stock. This gift for my father will go in a coat closet while I shop for something else."
Review 7 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long time coming...,
May 29, 2014
By: hockeyman
from florida
"I've been wanting one of these guns since I was a little guy(about 65 years ago)...."
Review 8 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
March 4, 2014
By: SkiGirl1
from Colorado
"I bought this BB gun for my husband several years ago (after watching "Christmas Story." You'll shoot your eye out, kid. Last month we bought the same BB gun for our Grandson for his Birthday. He wanted a BB gun "just like Grandpop's!" Now I have two happy little campers--one with a touch of nostalgia and one with that first special gift!"
Review 9 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Played out Perfectly,
January 2, 2013
By: Debbie6
from Middleton, WI
"My son finished opening his gifts for Christmas and we were sitting on the couch and I asked if he had gotten everything he wanted. He said yes but sleepishly admitted he really wanted a Red Rider BB gun. I told him to go look behind the couch. It couldn't have played any better. He loved it!! Wonderful replica. Thanks Orvis!!"
Review 10 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fun gift,
December 31, 2012
By: KenK5
from Birmingham, AL
"Fun Christmas gift for my teen! Gun looks great and functions great."
Review 11 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift for Movie Fan,
December 30, 2012
By: Horselover2
from Georgia
"This replica of the Red Ryder BB Gun used in the movie "A Christmas Story" is a great gift for gun lovers that just happen to be fans of the movie. We added this gun to our son's gun collection as a joke but he got a kick out of it."
Review 12 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just like when I was a kid,
December 26, 2012
By: Newrector
"Reliving my childhood. I had one of these as a child and now I have the chance to share that experience with my grandchildren. Will be fun."
Review 13 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grandson gift,
October 27, 2011
By: Hamma
from Scaramento CA
"Bought this for my grandson who was thrilled. I would have given this 5 stars but for the fact that the zipper on the case was broken. I have to take it to be repaired/replaced.
Inconvenient.... to say the least."
Review 14 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great bang for thr buck!,
January 3, 2011
By: woody1357
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very accurate at close range, and loads of fun. Everyone should have one or two around."
Review 15 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the best ever,
January 27, 2010
By: littleguy
from Hampden, ME
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"As a boy, I used to own one of the BB guns discussed here. Wood stock with nice finish, adjustable sight, leather thong attached to ring. I loved that gun and used it for years in the Maine outdoors. From the catalog description that is what I expected to get.
Guess my expectations were too great in the mass-production era.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 28, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the item did not meet their expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure your purchase is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 16 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red Ryder rifle good gift,
December 26, 2008
By: Dennis
from Allen, TX
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We purchased the Red Ryder rifle for our son as a gag gift because he is a fan og Jean Sheppard"s "A
Christmas Story". Our son was born in Hammond, Indiana which is where the story takes place. Our grandson was dissapointed because his brother has one also. So, I am ordering another one for our granson's birthday in January. Now all three can shoot at targets together. Our grandson's can only shoot the guns when their father is with them
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NOT EXACTLY AS LISTED,
December 18, 2008
By: Tigerlily
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"The desciption states that this BB gun is "the very same model immortalized in A Christmas Story". I called customer service and asked if it did indeed have the "compass and that thing which tells time" Sadly it does not. So not the very same model at all. I did do more research and did find a site that sells the correct model and will even send a certificate, they had more photos of the gun and it does have compass and sundial. Trust me it was about 3x as much, but for a real fan of "A Christmas Story" the Christmas dream is a must have."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 30, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the BB gun was not how it was described as it did not have the compass and sundial as the one in the story did. Orvis also thanked the customer for providing such constructive and valuable feedback and offered an exchange or a full refund. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer’s concerns on to the manufacturer of this BB gun so that improvements to it can be implemented.
Review 18 for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Story,
November 7, 2007
By: MissTee
from Roanoke, VA
"I truely love this gun because it reminded me of the cute 80's Christmas Story. This repilca looks real and has fine craftmanship. All children or adult collectors would love this."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Red Ryder Commemorative BB Gun
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3