Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack

The longest bugger-type fly tying feather is the perfect length to give the most action to your buggers. Ideal taper. Super-fine barbs and webbing. Supple thin quill makes palmering easy. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Review 1 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and value!,
February 28, 2015
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"These "Bugger Packs" are loaded with LONG quality hackle in consistent color for "big beef stick" buggers down to palmer-wrapped hackles for Size 10 Stimi's. Start with a couple packs of brown and black; you will not be disappointed."
Review 2 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Hackle for Wooly Buggers,
February 26, 2015
By: MisplacedAlaskan
"I really like the shape of these hackles. They are perfect for Wooly Buggers."
Review 3 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
February 18, 2015
By: Jmedric3
from Tullahoma, Tn
"Superb quality. You will not be disappointed with this pack of hackle."
Review 4 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Grizzlies!,
February 3, 2015
By: MikeFromLaCrosse
from Chaseburg, WI
"purchased both olive and natural grizzly hackle. Feathers are high quality and great for buggers, leeches and even some of the wraps for griffin gnat midges.
Had grizzly hackle from other sources that wasn't near as good as this stuff and bought this on recommendation of fellow tyer and trout angler. GREAT STUFF."
Review 5 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long, consistant, easy to palmer-wrap.,
January 4, 2015
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"Get a few Whiting Bugger Packs from your local Orvis store. You will be amazed by the color uniformity and long, flexible hackles. Wooly Buggers are not the most technically sophisticated format, yet these "bugger packs" will inspire your creativity for building better buggers. The quality is superior to any you will find."
Review 6 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for Wooly Buggers,
November 14, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"High Quality feathers. Variety of sizes. Very consistent colors."
Review 7 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine for my use,
August 5, 2014
By: Evilgeologist
from Richmond, VA
"Nice package of hackle for the price. I even use the bugger pack to hackle hoppers and crickets."
Review 8 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for warmwater,
November 25, 2013
By: sniperfreak
from Ransom, PA
"although these are intended for buggers, they are absolutely perfect for tying big muskie/pike flies, half-and-halfs, and deceivers too. long, soft-ish feathers with great barring and tons of movement in the water. Whether you tie 3" buggers for trout or 12" Bufords and Hang Times for big toothies, these are an absolute must have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 17, 2013
By: jrr399s
"This is the best on the market. A must have for any wolly bugger tier."
Review 10 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent Size and Quality,
January 21, 2013
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
"I tie a lot of Wooly Buggers. I like this hackle because the size and quality are consistent. I have bought similar products whose individual hackles varied wildly. The hackles are stiff enough to provide good action and large enough to tie 2's and 4's. I use the olive and black for my lead free cone head Wooly Buggers,"
Review 11 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
March 12, 2010
By: JDTN
from Nashville, TN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you are looking for consistency in size and quality these are great. I use them for Wooly Buggers and any other streamer type."
Review 12 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Buy for Wooly Buggers,
February 23, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you like tying wooly buggers, then you have to get this pack. Lets you tie numerous wooly buggers and gives you the best hackles to tie them with. They have a nice buggy effect and they all fit perfectly to my length specifications. You can't beat the value here either! Haven't really experimented using these feathers in other flies, but I'm sure they'll do just nicely in other streamer patterns."
Review 13 for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ANOTHER WOOOW !!!!,
November 21, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"WHAT A STEAL THESE ARE. I TIE HUNDREDS OF BUGGERE IM TALKING HUNDREDS, EARINGS, PINS, FLIES AND IT IS A REAL PAIN IN THE BUTT TO GET HACKLE FOR TYING THEM BECAUSE STRUNG HACKLE IS ALWAYS DIFFERENT SIZES,CAPES ARE TO BUT THESE PATCHES ARE THE ANSWER TO A LOT OF GUYS PRAYERS THAT I AM SURE OF,THIS IS MY 2nd CHART. AND THE FIRST ONE TIED WELL OVER A 100 FLIES I THINK IT WAS EVEN CLOSER TO TWO,BUT THESE ARE JUST ABSOLUTELY AWESOME ALL HACKLE IS THE SAME WIDTH BUT SOME HACKLES ARE LONGER THAN OTHERS ( "NOTE THE PEN NEXT TO THE HACKLE AND YOU CAN EASILY SEE THESE ARENT ANY CHEAPY PATCHS ALL HIGH QUALITY FEATHERS AND LOOK AT THE LENGHT" ) AND I EVEN DESIGNED A DECEIVER PATTERN USING THE CHART/GRIZZ IT IS A FISH SLAYER FOR SURE.NOT TO MENTION NO WAY IN THE WORLD CAN YOU BEAT THE PRICE OF SUCH A WICKED GOOD PATCH OF FEATHERS SO MAKE SURE YOU GIVE THEM A SHOT ,( I KNOW YOULL BE GLAD YOU DID )"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Whiting Woolly Bugger Pack
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3