Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Mother Goose Play Set

Mother Goose toy holds six fabric books printed with classic nursery rhymes in her feathers, and all of the book characters are zipped inside! The top zip opens to reveal small stuffed fabric dolls and figures that relate to the rhymes: Little Bo Peep, Jack Be Nimble, Little Miss Muffet, Hickory Dickory Dock, Hey Diddle Diddle, and Jack and Jill. Goose is 12"H x 12"L. Cotton/polyester. Washable. These best-selling children's book toys are for all ages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mother Goose Play Set
Review 1 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So cute,
December 3, 2014
By: anniebee5
from Surrey
"Lovely item - cannot wait to give it to my Grand daughter for Christmas."
Review 2 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
M goose,
February 8, 2014
By: Kdf57
from Texas
"A little smaller than I thought it would be but will be fine for my new born granddaughter."
Review 3 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mother Goose Gift,
December 28, 2013
By: ellis5
from San Francisco
"Really liked this , We purchased 3 for family and the children just love !
We were looking for a unique gift , that could not be found at the mall!
And just think this is perfect !!
"
Review 4 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Success,
December 25, 2013
By: Emubird
"My great nieces love it. They sent a thank you video and it looks exactly as it did in the catalog. I only gave 4 stars because I couldn't see the mini books that come with the goose since the gift was sent to a different state...but I bet they're great too."
Review 5 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
December 21, 2013
By: MomTBP
"I thought the goose would be bigger but, it is still cute"
Review 6 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My G.Grandaughter love it.,
December 18, 2013
By: pattyChristensen
from Turlock Ca.
"She is just two and half but she plays with it all the time. What a cute idea. I always read nursery rhymes to my children and grandchildren."
Review 7 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would definitely recommend!,
December 10, 2013
By: Bunki
from Las Vegas, NV
"My son received this as a gift 12 years ago. He still has it and refuses to give it away because of all the great memories associated with it. We used to read the stories and act them out using the puppets…over and over again! When my niece had her first child, this was the first gift I thought of. Great quality, engaging,
stirs the imagination.
"
Review 8 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cute gift,
December 10, 2013
By: BarbaraL
from North Windham Vermont
"I purchased this for my great-niece and from the appearance it is adorable. I hope she enjoys it! Since I haven't given it to her yet, I can only rate this as a 3-star."
Review 9 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yum,
October 9, 2013
By: Barwa
"Books to eat. Yeah! Great for my 9 month old grandaughter"
Review 10 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
January 8, 2013
By: grannaof5
from Bassett, VA
"I ordered this item for my 4 month old granddaughter; her nursery is done in the Mother Goose theme, and items are hard to find. I was very pleased with the toy and her brother's and sister were equally pleased!"
Review 11 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mother Goose Makes Happy Expectant Mother!,
December 26, 2012
By: jeanerbeaner
from Central Pennsylvania
"Just the greatest gift for a baby shower: add a variety of Mother Goose books to the adorable stuffed Mother Goose!"
Review 12 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely toy,
November 14, 2012
By: Canaryfan
from Stoke-on-Trent
"I am really pleased with this unusual soft toy. The little books contain well known nursery rhymes, which can be played out by parent and baby using the little characters hidden inside Mother Goose. It is just delightful!"
Review 13 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Quality,
November 9, 2012
By: NewGranny
"I expected the item to be better made considering what Orvis charges. Next issue was perception only - the item was smaller than expected even though the dimensions were listed."
Review 14 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful present,
December 26, 2011
By: Honeybun
from Barry CF
"This and the bear house I bought for my new great grandaughter. Everybody that were in the house when the parcels were opened all wanted to know where I had bought them as they all said that they had not seen anything like these soft toys in years. My greatgrandaughter is only four months old but she hugged them and seemed to take to them immediately. Two very good presents for a young baby. Soft, cuddly and will last for years."
Review 15 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect baby gift,
November 19, 2011
By: Tarbert
"My great grand daughter just loved the Mother Goose and so enjoyed finding all the hidden books and figures.A lovely toy,"
Review 16 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adorable!!!,
May 20, 2010
By: Misty88
from AZ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this for my Grandbaby and it was the best birthday gift for her! Sturdy, soft, never to forget nursery rhymes, couldn't ask for more! Absolutely love this!"
Review 17 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun toy,
May 7, 2010
By: Meridoc
from Warrenton Oregon
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"According to prior reviews, the single issue with Mother Goose was the overstuffing. Having some sewing skills, I figured that I could do as other reviewers have and remove some stuffing. An easy solution and Mrs. Goose is better than ever. My grandchild will love this."
Review 18 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Unique,
March 29, 2010
By: NewGrandma
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Other reviewers have mentioned that the body has so much stuffing that the little, stuffed nursery rhyme characters wouldn't fit in the zippered pocket. That is true. I solved the problem by taking stitches out of the bottom of the pocket, removing a portion of the stuffing in the center, and stitching it back up. Now everything fits perfectly!"
Review 19 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
cute,
March 16, 2010
By: elliepablo
from Concord, NC
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"My daughter received this as a gift from my parents last Christmas. It is cute. Out of the package it looked kind of cheap, lots of loose strings, etc., like it was quickly made, but it cleaned up just fine. It would be nice if it had a base to "stand" up instead of leaning to a side all the time, but overall, a good interactive toy. There was a note that came with it that you can get replacements if you lose the parts, which is good to know since there are a lot of little parts with it. I also like that it's a "traditional" toy, with the traditional stories and items to go along. No electronics, just a nice interactive stuffed toy."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 22, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the play set is not fully satisfactory. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 20 for Mother Goose Play Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Can hardly wait!,
March 15, 2010
By: grammS
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Our intended recipient is not yet born, but I could not resist! It looks like a good value for the sale price.
I am a little worried about the stability of eye glasses.
"