Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender

Make your backseat safer and more comfortable for your dog with the firmness and security of our microfiber-covered foam backseat extender. Sized to easily fit in the footwells of the backseat of most cars and SUVs, the Microfiber Backseat Extender's high-density foam core gives your dog more room and prevents him from slipping down between the front and rear seats. In light tan, charcoal. 13"H x 25"W x 12"D. Capacity 150 lbs. Cover is washable. Two extenders are needed to cover the entire backseat area, as shown in photograph. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (123 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
5
114 of 123(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Review 1 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great!,
January 21, 2015
By: puppymomoftwo
"Product does exactly what it was advertised to do. I use 2 in the back of my Honda crv and gmc pickup. Dogs (35 lbs & 45 lbs) have room but are close to us. I don't worry about them falling out of the seat and hurting themselves now."
Review 2 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Improves Car Safety for Dogs,
January 20, 2015
By: RockyRaccoon
"I purchased two back seat extenders for my sedan and they really did prevent my dog from being thrown to the floor when stopping the car. I am very happy with the purchase. My only critique is that the product was on backorder for the first one I purchased and when I ordered another the back order period was so prolonged I cancelled the purchase until I saw it was in stock. Given that, I recommend the extenders but order well in advance."
Review 3 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 20, 2015
By: Tila
"I have a smaller car with a larger dog and this is the perfect addition to make the seats larger for her. She loves them and they don't sink under her 100 lb weight."
Review 4 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works GREAT!,
January 7, 2015
By: MX2000
"I really appreciate the extra room the backseat extenders provide for my new puppy! I only rated 4 stars as they did not have the item in tan, which would have matched my microfiber backseat hammock. They could not provide me with a back order date for the color desired."
Review 5 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Waste of Money,
January 6, 2015
By: Badproduct
"After the long wait to receive the item I received the foam extension that only fit in one side. Do they honestly think this will fit in a standard car. Not worth the money at all. Very disappointing."
Review 6 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome blockers,
January 5, 2015
By: Halonminks
from Grand Blanc, MI
"My dog is a large lab and collie mix. He kept falling off the back seats of my new Dodge truck. Now, he is nice and stable. 2 blockers work for the back of the truck and leave one space for a person to ride in back or for my dog to jump up. I love these blockers."
Review 7 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bringing our lab closer!,
January 2, 2015
By: Nahunter
from Winnetka, CA
"We purchased this backseat extender for our 100-pound lab, and it is perfect! We have a Ford F-350 with a crew cab so there's a lot of room between the front and back seats. Now when we take long trips, our lab is able to be closer to us in the front with the extender! He loves it!"
Review 8 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing solution,
December 31, 2014
By: KumasMom
from Richmond, VA
"My dog loves to ride in the car but always stands up on the back seat for the whole ride. That means that she often slips to the floor when I stop or make a sharp turn.
I bought one of the extenders as a trial. It worked great!!!! She has not slipped off the seat once since I put the extender in the car! We are both so excited!"
Review 9 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent seat extenders,
December 31, 2014
By: LabApproved
from Boston, MA
"Have tried inflatable and several foam seat extended over the years. The Orvis solid foam seat extenders work perfectly for my Labrador to spread out in the back seat and use this extra space for his paws or to turn around comfortably."
Review 10 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
December 24, 2014
By: GaryV01
from E. Washington
"It fits, but there is a bit of wiggle room between the back of the front seat and the extender. It remains to be seen if that becomes a problem. It looks good, seems well made, and the dogs like it. I have a an F150 SuperCrew"
Review 11 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
klkummer,
December 24, 2014
By: klkummer
"I liked the product. Excellent quality, however I feel this item was a little over priced."
Review 12 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safety and Comfort for Dog,
December 21, 2014
By: LabDog1821
from Tucson AZ
"Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extenders make riding in the back seat more comfortable and safer for my big Labrador Retriever."
Review 13 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A GREAT INVENTION!!!!!,
December 14, 2014
By: BEA3399
from NAUGATUCK, CT
"THIS PRODUCT IS GREAT..MY ALMOST 16 YEAR OLD DOG IS VERY UNSTEADY..SO THIS IS PERFECT FOR HER..THEY FIT NICELY IN MY GRAND MARQUIS AND WILL EVEN FIT MY FOCUS WAGON. YOU JUST SQUEEZE THEM IN...I AM SO HAPPY THAT I DON'T HAVE TO STRUGGLE WITH HER FALLING ANYMORE BETWEEN THE FRONT AND BACK SEAT ON OUR WAY TO THE VET."
Review 14 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Dogs Thank Me,
December 14, 2014
By: Debbie51
from Atlanta, GA
"Doubling the room with the Solid Foam Microfiber Back Seat Extenders is the best thing my dogs think I've done for them for travel I have an Outback, and by using a pair of these, 2 large Goldens have plenty of room to stretch and I still have a cargo area, because I can leave the seats upright"
Review 15 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Godsend,
December 11, 2014
By: Zirka
from Toronto, ON
"Finally my klutzy goldendoodle 10 month old puppy can stabilize himself in the back seat. These extenders are just what the Dr. ordered. Gives him a lot more room to balance himself (without the fear of falling into the foot wells) and enjoy the ride.
Thank You Orvis!"
Review 16 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I was hoping,
December 9, 2014
By: tlwill
from Carmel Valley, CA
"I was looking for a back seat extender for a Ford F350 and these fit as I was hoping. They are soft enough to squeeze a couple of small things around them but also sturdy enough the dog doesn't sink into them. Note: you must purchase two to fit all the way across the back seat. Only have been briefly tested with the dog but seems like they will hold up as has all the products I have purchased from Orvis."
Review 17 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome Find!,
December 8, 2014
By: KickIceQueen
"I really love the extender. It fits well and it gives me peace of mind with my dog in the backseat. It's solid foam and it way better than other seat extenders that are more for little dogs. My dog is 60 lbs and it works for her. My only negative is the price and the fact two extenders are required to fit the entire backseat."
Review 18 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Room for the Pooches.,
December 6, 2014
By: junior1954
from Chicago
"We have a weekend home about 150 miles from our full-time home that we go to almost every weekend. Our mini-van holds everything well and gets 25mpg, but I just bought a Passat diesel sedan that gets over 40mpg. Seat extenders allow me to take both my dogs (one 50-lb, 2nd 65-lb) in the car and saves me $."
Review 19 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional seat extenders,
December 3, 2014
By: Therapydogluvr
from Wausau,WI
"I recently got a Yukon with bucket seats in the 2nd row,making it hard to place my 2 dog booster seats to transport my Yorkies & Cockers for therapy dog visits without them falling between the bucket seats. I purchased 2 backseat extenders. One to put behind the front row seat and one to put between the bucket seats...this has made a big difference so none of the dogs fall to the floor. I purchased two of these because one is not enough.
I do wish they came 2 sizes in length because the one is a little to short.
"
Review 20 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Security and Comfy!,
December 2, 2014
By: Bumper16
from Alexandria VA
"My dog loves this insert-it gives her more room to spread out and the fear of falling between the seats is gone!"