Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender

Make your backseat safer and more comfortable for your dog with the firmness and security of our microfiber-covered foam backseat extender. Sized to easily fit in the footwells of the backseat of most cars and SUVs, the Microfiber Backseat Extender's high-density foam core gives your dog more room and prevents him from slipping down between the front and rear seats. In light tan, charcoal. 13"H x 25"W x 12"D. Capacity 150 lbs. Cover is washable. Two extenders are needed to cover the entire backseat area, as shown in photograph. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
91 of 99(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Review 1 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
backseat extender,
November 14, 2014
By: BeauNelly
from Washington, DC
"I have 2 small dogs and one is especially rowdy in our SUV. We have a screen between the front and back seats to keep him from jumping over the seats but the gap between the front and back seats created a serious hazard for both dogs for which I had to jerry rig solutions. Then I saw the seat extenders which answered this ongoing problem. I just tried them out and they work perfectly. I am so relieved to have them b/c I won't worry about one of them getting caught in the footwell and injuring himself while I am driving."
Review 2 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what a difference,
November 14, 2014
By: robson123
from East Midlands
"We are owned by three large lurcher dogs who hate travelling in the back of the hatchback. These back seat extenders have made such a difference and are of a good solid construction. Now our three dogs travel in style on the back seat in an Orvis hammock and seat extenders."
Review 3 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommend for the dog lover,
November 13, 2014
By: Keesies
from Minnesota
"My dogs love having these to spread out on. They have always liked to ride in the car, but now they can't get enough of it. The foam makes the backseat become like a comfy sofa. I was skeptical at first. Great purchase if you travel a lot with your canine friend."
Review 4 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked perfectly,
November 13, 2014
By: Eriemaid62
from Erie, PA
"We have one large dog and one medium sized dog. We needed more room in the backseat and these extenders did the job. There is a gap between the two that we filled with beach towels. The extenders enabled both dogs to have plenty of room for our 13 hour trip."
Review 5 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good,
November 13, 2014
By: CharleyBradbury
"My dog had a bad habit of hiding behind the seat and constricting herself with the car dog harness. The foam stopped that and she now likes to lay out across the back seat. Fits in the front passenger seat too! I drive a fiat 500 pop."
Review 6 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better than inflatable,
November 13, 2014
By: cfitzjs
"This is better than the inflatable filler because it is easily removable and not so unwieldy. you can take it out and put it in the back if you want to put passengers in the back seat which is nearly impossible with the inflatable seat extender."
Review 7 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog safety in the back of your car,
November 13, 2014
By: antbark
from Wincanton BA9
"A great safety idea and comfort ,especially for the larger dog. The Orvis back seat extender stops your dog falling down in the area between the back seat and the back of the front seat. Ideally one needs to buy a pair as the dog can easily fall down from the other rear seat. A discount for buying a pair would help the customer ! However, it is a great product if you do not have an estate car or need that area for carrying items ."
Review 8 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TAN SOLID FOAM PAD HAS BEEN WORTH EVERY PENNY,
November 13, 2014
By: dallastx4u
from Dallas
"THIS TAN SOLID FOAM PAD HAS BEEN WORTH EVERY PENNY !!! my dog absolutely loves it and has more room in the back of my four door 2008 Honda civic and is made of good quality stiff foam and suede type upholstery. OK now on to what I don't like about it. I wish that they offered a smaller version in size on the keep the height the same but slim down the width to fit better in a 2008 Honda civic. we had to shove the pad down in the gap of the back seats its a real snug fit and we can still recline our front seats but have to kind of give it a lil push to do so. but the height is ok a little higher would be better but its still ok also the width needs to be thinner to fit a Honda civic better but my pitbull gets very comfortable sprawls out and my pit bull can even lay between the seats to have his head up in the front seat with while driving and takes naps on the road."
Review 9 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog loves it,
November 13, 2014
By: VSRiley
"The extender works perfectly in the backseat of my crewcab pickup. The dog figured out that he could lay across it within a few minutes and now he loves it."
Review 10 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vehicle back-seat extenders,
November 13, 2014
By: Dusty5150
from San Diego, Ca
"These "cushions" worked very well filling in the space on the floor between the back seat and the front seat. Hard to explain but the dog had a lot more room and could stretch out and not fear rolling on to the floor between the front and back seats."
Review 11 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Practical Solutiion,
November 10, 2014
By: TXLabLover
from Gun Barrel City, TX
"Between our two labs we have well over 200 pounds of Labrador. Fitting both of them on the back seat was difficult and made road trips long. This cushion is so comfortable and solid that our bigger lab actually uses it as the primary resting place and puts his head on the seat. So I can verify that it will support over 120 pounds with no problem! Only issue might be fitting it in a smaller car. The front seat would have to be moved very far forward."
Review 12 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for our Toyotas,
November 9, 2014
By: Telebelly
from Bozeman, MT
"We have an '04 Highlander, and '07 4Runner, and these extenders fit both pretty well. There is a little shimming to do to get it perfectly level with the seats, but not a big deal.
I looked inside to see the construction which is a single foam trapezoid. Since these are not cheap, I looked for some equivalent foam to make my own for the other vehicle and found that by the time you buy the foam alone you might as well get these."
Review 13 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really great product,
November 6, 2014
By: buddygirl714
"i have a 120 lb lab and this is a great product to fill the gap between the backseat and the front drivers area. My dog had in the past slid into the foot well area, which prompted me to buy these extenders, and i love them. they are solid enough to support his weight and they fit snugly into the foot area without interfering with the front seat adjustment. he likes the larger seat area in the back and i know he will not be stuck in the well any more! the product is well made, sturdy and easy to install. i would highly recommend! i drive a four door sedan and the extenders fit just fine. i bought 2 to fill out the whole backseat area."
Review 14 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must-Have for Dogs in the Backseat,
September 16, 2014
By: 2RedLabs
from Boulder, CO
"Gone are the days of cramming whatever we could find (pillows, towels, blankets, etc.) to try to create a stable surface for the dogs! We purchased two of these cushions (in charcoal to better hide stains), and they made our latest road trip that much better. We then top the seats and cushions with a backseat dog hammock to protect the seats, put the crate liners on top of that for coziness, and voila! The dogs are happy little cross-country travelers. Thanks again, Orvis!"
Review 15 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works Great,
August 13, 2014
By: Tigertaz
from Jasper, FL
"I purchased one of these a year ago. Have two large labs. Need to buy a second one. Gives one of the dogs much more room. The other dog hogs the seat. Will purchase a second one when take dogs on extended trip."
Review 16 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the big dog,
August 9, 2014
By: KellyJ
"No more cramped up trying to stay on the bucket seat for my guys! Plus now the full back seat is even more roomy and comforable too."
Review 17 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST!,
July 23, 2014
By: Koko7375
from Fort Lupton, CO
"I purchased these 6 years ago. Very easy to install and remove, easy to wash, has proven to provide extra safety when having to stop fast, has helf up to the test of time and wear-and-tear. They still look like new. I have recommended them to many friends and family; they are all just as please as I am."
Review 18 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have!,
February 27, 2014
By: CityFarmhouseAntiques
from Las Cruces, NM
"I debated several times on purchasing this because of the comments posted describing the vehicles it did not fit in. Because I am one of those with a mid-size SUV, and my tape measure wasn't convincing me it would fit. One review stated that it is shaped like a trapezoid which convinced me to take a chance.Thank goodness I did! I love it and it fits like a glove in a Lexus RX 330! My German shepherd finally has room to lay down in the back seat and it is more comfortable for him to sit and look out the window. It is firm enough to support his weight at almost 100#'s."
Review 19 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product but......,
February 12, 2014
By: shewithnonickname
from Eastern Shore of MD
"Just received the microfiber backseat extender today. Ordered 2 of them to fit the entire back seat area. I have a 2010 Ford Flex. The cushions fit on either side of the back perfectly BUT, if you are familiar with this vehicle you know there is a "hump" in the middle of the second row. These are NOT long enough to go over that hump and if you try to balance the extenders to go over the hump the extenders will not sit flat in the back. I'm going to see if I can get some foam custom cut to fit that center area. It is a necessity for me because I have a dog that loves to straddle the console. Highly dangerous for sure. That's why I got these things and a mesh/canvas thingy to act as a barrier between the two front bucket seats. The dog isn't going to change. He likes to stand in between the driver and passenger seats. This seemed like a decent solution to prevent either having him fly out the front window if case of an accident or breaking his legs falling off the console into that empty backseat space. Yes, this really is a nice product but if you have a hump in the middle of the floor of your rear back seat area you are going to have to find something to fill in that gap. Will follow up with a picture after I get some additional foam so you can have a visual of what I'm talking about."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now there's plenty of room!,
January 10, 2014
By: mudhorse
"We have two beagles, and Josie (the big one!) always takes her 3/4 share of the back seat out of the middle. That means poor Lady is always smashed into the corner against the door. Now with the seat extender, there's plenty of room for both of them, and they're very comfortable on long drives when we go on vacation."