Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender

Make your backseat safer and more comfortable for your dog with the firmness and security of our microfiber-covered foam backseat extender. Sized to easily fit in the footwells of the backseat of most cars and SUVs, the Microfiber Backseat Extender's high-density foam core gives your dog more room and prevents him from slipping down between the front and rear seats. In light tan, charcoal. 13"H x 25"W x 12"D. Capacity 150 lbs. Cover is washable. Two extenders are needed to cover the entire backseat area, as shown in photograph. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.373 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
75 of 83(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Review 1 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST!,
July 23, 2014
By: Koko7375
from Fort Lupton, CO
"I purchased these 6 years ago. Very easy to install and remove, easy to wash, has proven to provide extra safety when having to stop fast, has helf up to the test of time and wear-and-tear. They still look like new. I have recommended them to many friends and family; they are all just as please as I am."
Review 2 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have!,
February 27, 2014
By: CityFarmhouseAntiques
from Las Cruces, NM
"I debated several times on purchasing this because of the comments posted describing the vehicles it did not fit in. Because I am one of those with a mid-size SUV, and my tape measure wasn't convincing me it would fit. One review stated that it is shaped like a trapezoid which convinced me to take a chance.Thank goodness I did! I love it and it fits like a glove in a Lexus RX 330! My German shepherd finally has room to lay down in the back seat and it is more comfortable for him to sit and look out the window. It is firm enough to support his weight at almost 100#'s."
Review 3 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product but......,
February 12, 2014
By: shewithnonickname
from Eastern Shore of MD
"Just received the microfiber backseat extender today. Ordered 2 of them to fit the entire back seat area. I have a 2010 Ford Flex. The cushions fit on either side of the back perfectly BUT, if you are familiar with this vehicle you know there is a "hump" in the middle of the second row. These are NOT long enough to go over that hump and if you try to balance the extenders to go over the hump the extenders will not sit flat in the back. I'm going to see if I can get some foam custom cut to fit that center area. It is a necessity for me because I have a dog that loves to straddle the console. Highly dangerous for sure. That's why I got these things and a mesh/canvas thingy to act as a barrier between the two front bucket seats. The dog isn't going to change. He likes to stand in between the driver and passenger seats. This seemed like a decent solution to prevent either having him fly out the front window if case of an accident or breaking his legs falling off the console into that empty backseat space. Yes, this really is a nice product but if you have a hump in the middle of the floor of your rear back seat area you are going to have to find something to fill in that gap. Will follow up with a picture after I get some additional foam so you can have a visual of what I'm talking about."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now there's plenty of room!,
January 10, 2014
By: mudhorse
"We have two beagles, and Josie (the big one!) always takes her 3/4 share of the back seat out of the middle. That means poor Lady is always smashed into the corner against the door. Now with the seat extender, there's plenty of room for both of them, and they're very comfortable on long drives when we go on vacation."
Review 5 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
December 18, 2013
By: hockeybelle31
from Atlanta, GA
"I drive a Honda Civic so I was worried these wouldn't fit but I was happy to find out they do! They are shaped more like a trapezoid than a square if that helps you. Now my golden retriever has the whole backseat to lounge around while we drive around town."
Review 6 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ingenious,
November 17, 2013
By: BernerMomx2
from Arkansas
"I purchased two of these so my Bernese Mountain Dogs could go with me in my truck. They fit like a glove in a 2013 Nissan Frontier. I was aware, from other reviews, that you needed two and that there would be a space in between them due to the console. That is not problem for me, I filled the space and the dogs' water bowl goes there. Usual trips for the dogs are in my SUV, but these seat extenders allow them to go on short trips in the truck, so they never get 'left behind'. I'm short, 5'1", so my seats are pretty forward, but they are a perfect solution for me. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 7 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
August 22, 2013
By: becature
from SF Area, CA
"Exactly what I was looking for. The foam blocks are solid enough that my Corgi, who does not like standing on unstable surfaces, is comfortable putting all his weight on them.
They are also pliable enough to compress and expand appropriately when I adjust the front seats (I'm 5'3" so the block behind my seat is barely compressed, though I keep my passenger seat further back because most of my passengers need a lot more leg room). I drive a 2011 Saab wagon - not a large car, but the back seat accommodates adult passengers comfortably, so I was curious about whether the blocks would fit.
They are exactly the right height to extend the seats. There is a small gap between the two blocks where the center console extends a little into the rear - filled this with a towel and I don't consider it a problem.
Also, the color matches the interior of my car well - not necessary, as I plan to cover the entire setup with the Backseat Protector to save the leather, but nice."
Review 8 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WORTH THE INVESTMENT!,
June 26, 2013
By: spotmom
from Hammonton NJ
"I purchased two of these along with a seat cover. The backseat of my Armada is COMPLETELY protected, and my two dalmatians have enough room to sprawl out on those long road trips, that no paws are touching each other.
this is important, because our younger dog freaks out when she is touched by her "sister" during sleep! No more grumblies!"
Review 9 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BRILLIANT IDEA!!!,
June 7, 2013
By: cvdv
from Beach Town, CA
"I actually use 2 of these under my "Deluxe Microfiber Car Hammock Seat Protector" (also sold at Orvis). My Standard Poodle kept stretching out in such a way, that his rear end was hanging into the foot well. This completely solved the problem. Once again... BRILLIANT IDEA!!!"
Review 10 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Update on previous review,
June 7, 2013
By: Dieselfriend
from Clinton, NJ
"THEY ARE SO EASY TO CLEAN!We have had 2 extenders in our Toyota mini van for several months now. I put one between the two right-hand passenger seats and one between the two second-row seats, leaving space in front of the one second-row seat for our Lab to hop into the van. Diesel LOVES them! He oftenlounges like a prince back there, paws hanging down in the empty spot. A couple of weeks ago, I had worked several days in a row at my part-time job, so one night when I came home and took my husband and Diesel for a ride, the dog got so excited, he threw up in the car! All over the extenders and down on to the floor. We grabbed some napkins, cleaned up most of it, and continued our ride. When we got home, I pulled out the extenders and brought them inside. It was a day or so before I had time to remove the covers and wash them. Good thing I read the one tag -- air dry only! So a day or two later, I had time to put them back on the wedges and put them in the car. (I had brushed the dried stuff off the van carpeting.) I am extremely pleased that they are so easy to care for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More space in the back seat,
March 4, 2013
By: Bluesmum
from London, UK
"A second dog put a premium on back seat space, but with two extenders each dog has a nice secure place to lie down."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solves the problem perfect...,
January 22, 2013
By: SonderhausGSD
from Houston, TX
"These fit perfectly in our new Tahoe so that our pets can ride in the back seat area. The new Tahoe design left the area really inaccessible for dogs to ride in comfortable. Someone figured it out right."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Product!,
January 10, 2013
By: Touche
from Boston, MA
"My 12-1/2-year-old lab was afraid of sitting on the backseat in my new Nissan Cube because the seat is not as wide as the one she was used to, and if I had to stop suddenly, she would end up on the floor, terrified.
I spent a long time searching for a good solution—something less expensive than trading in the car. I ordered two backseat extenders, and they fill up the space perfectly. They are also firm enough so she can step on them and not have them collapse—important for arthritic legs. I throw a washable fleece cover over the whole, and she has a safe platform all to herself. If my son needs to sit in the backseat with her, he pops out one of the extenders to make room for his legs, and our old gal still feels safe. Also, there is just enough "give" to the extenders, so the car's front seats can be pushed back as needed when a front passenger needs more leg room. Simply a terrific product!
"
Review 14 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Best Buy!,
October 23, 2012
By: DoggieDad
from Irvine, CA
"WOW – What a fantastic product. My Airedale loves it and I love it. It fits perfectly in the back seat of my Mazda Tribute. After it's first try my dog was thrilled to be able to look out the window and have a solid surface to stand on. It works just as described. The microfiber covers are well made and seem to me that they will last. One great effect is that the seat cover that I have tucks easily in between the seat and the extender holding it in place. Again a terrific find and a great buy – Thanks Orvis!"
Review 15 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog heaven!,
October 13, 2012
By: RiverWalker
from Colorado
"My 12-year-old German Shepherd Jack isn't as agile as he used to be and was beginning to have trouble turning around on the seat of my SUV. I bought 2 of these BackSeat extenders and your BackSeat Protector to create a wider and more comfortable place for him to ride. The extenders fit the footwells of my full-size SUV perfectly and still leave room to adjust the front seat. The XL Seat Protector covers the entire seat and stays in place better than anything else I've tried. The first time Jack climbed into his new nest he heaved a huge sigh of contentment, stretched out, and looked at me as if to say, "Let's get going!" I'd give these products 6 stars if I could."
Review 16 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have,
September 30, 2012
By: TRIDENT1
from DFW Texas
"If you have a dog and it rides in the back seat this product is a must. Two GSDs and they love them as an extended seat and a great way to keep them off the floor in an emergency stop. If you don't have them you need them, they are a must have. Durable and easy to clean."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
September 27, 2012
By: leiathedane
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We have a 2 year old female great dane who after i got my Ford f-250 didnt fit real well in the back with out falling forward. this extender fits great in the back with no problem or extra exertion. it also holds her wieght of about 130 pounds or so just fine even standing on it. the only problem for me is im going to need two for the truck and would possibly need three to fill the entire back seat. luckkily the baby takes up the other third of the seat."
Review 18 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
September 7, 2012
By: Ladybug81
"I have a 13 year old, chocolate lab and he rides everywhere with me. He weighs 95 lbs., so he is a pretty big boy, and needed something to within stand his weight. I have a small SUV/crossover and he was always riding with his back legs on the seat and his front paws in the floor board. He was always uncomfortable. When I found these, it was the answer I was looking for! It was a great investment. I bought two, one to go behind each seat. The only down side is they are not long enough to cover the entire floor board. There is a small opening where he slips, so I have put a couple of thick towels in the open space to take up some of the room. But overall, a great buy for my lab."
Review 19 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for comfort and stabiity!,
August 26, 2012
By: Dieselfriend
from Clinton, NJ
"We have a 2005 Toyota Sienna mini-van, which has 2 bucket seats in the second row. They're great for humans because both seats are near the sliding door on each side, which makes it much easier to get into -- as opposed to the offset 2/3 bench seat of our old Ford van.. My various Labs loved the bench seat, but not these bucket seats. . Now, however, not only is there an "abyss" between the front seats and the second row, there is another abyss between the two seats. The backseat extender allows Diesel to curl up and not hang off the bucket seat, and is firm enough for him to put his front feet on when poking his nose out the window. The cardboard box I put between the two seats couldn't stand up to his 75 lbs, so the other day I moved the extender to between the two seats and inverted plastic baskets between the two rows of seats. He loves having a "bench seat", so now I'm ordering a second extender to replace the plastic baskets. Diesel will be SO HAPPY!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing,
April 18, 2012
By: Kadie3
from Manitoba, Canada
"I purchased 2 of these a couple of months ago, we have 2 Bouviers, one is 5 the other is 10 months old & they love to go in our Jeep Grand Cherokee, they both have room to lay down or stand. This is such an amazing product even if they don't meet in the middle, fold a cushion in half, that works. Well worht the money."