Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Gerstner American Red Oak Box

With all the time, energy, and money you've dedicated to the study and practice of fly tying, your tools and materials deserve more than just ordinary storage space. American red oak veneer over plywood tongue-and-groove joinery ensure a strength and durability to last for years. The construction design also provides protection from moisture. Interior lined with green felt for cushioning of tools. Polished chrome-plated hardware. The front lid stows under drawers in the open position, and covers the drawers in locked position for the most practical use of space. Includes a lock and two keys. 13½"H x 20"W x 10"D.The red oak base extends storage capacity for your special collections or favourite tools and perfectly complements the chest. Built with the same attention to detail, there are two half-width drawers to hold smaller items with two full-width drawers, mounted on friction-reducing, moulded plastic drawer slides. A single key locks the front lid of your base keeping valuables and tools safe and secure. During use, the front lid slides under the bottom drawer and out of the way to allow complete access to all drawers. 10"H x 21½"W x 11½"D. Base and chest sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
21 of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Review 1 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Construction,
January 3, 2014
By: Dwhead2
from West Chester, PA
"I already had the top tool box but needed more space for storage. This base unit fills my need. Hardwood oak construction means it will last a long long time."
Review 2 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Locked out!!!!,
March 1, 2013
By: agile1
from Houston, texas
"Rec'd product with both parts locked and no keys. Was able to get chest open but key doesn't work in the lock and is not applicable to the base. Awaiting replacement of keys before can open and evaluate product!!!!! Would not recommend at this time because cannot get in the chest or the base."
Review 3 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like it, with reservations,
February 21, 2013
By: Troutfly01
from Minneapolis, MN
"Bought both the top and bottom, knowing that it probably wouldn't hold all the fly-tying material I have, and that's true. It seems to be a couple cabinets that might have been made for something else. The drawers are sized in a way that cannot accommodate fly tying material in many of its forms. Feathers and hair have a lot of volume, and the two cabinets could use a drawer or two that are are a little deeper. I'm an average-use, fly tier and they didn't hold all the material I have. If you're a volume fly tier, they won't even get close. That said, I'm happy with the purchase, and they look great."
Review 4 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect piece of work!,
November 21, 2012
By: JvWK
from the Netherlands
"Beautifull!
However you can store your flytying stuff perfectly in plastic boxes, wich work fine, this really adds a lot off extra joy in your flytying.
Makes your rainy, winterevening flytying a real pleasure!
"
Review 5 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Addition to my Study,
May 17, 2012
By: hillbilly
from Texas
"This chest is very sturdy, and the craftsmanship is excellent. I keep all of my smaller fly fishing equipment and flies in this chest.
I think that I will order a base to store other larger items."
Review 6 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly material storage box,
December 28, 2011
By: Way18
from W. Mifflin, Pa
"I received the red oak box as a gift. I use it to store fly tying materials. The various drawers hold my fur and feathers without crushing them. It keeps each item handy and easy to locate. The red oak box is well made and closes up in to a neat well made piece of furnture."
Review 7 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it! Just what I needed!,
November 8, 2011
By: BohemianChef
from Corte Madera, California
"I've had the top box for a few years and was hoping for a match of something that would compliment the top box. When I saw the bottom companion I immediately bought it. It's just what I needed to store my watch collection. Thanks so much."
Review 8 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality not as expected,
September 15, 2011
By: Pikeflyfisherman
"I must have it a lemon.... I love Orvis product, but i'm afraid this one is not to orvis standard. For the price, fit and finish was poor, on a flat table the hole base rock back and forth like my recliner sofa... disapointed."
Review 9 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 6, 2011
By: SWAIUN
from Southampton, UK
"Lovely product, usefully sized and well made.
I was a little concerned that Gerstner International products are sourced in China but I need not have been. The materials and build quality seem to be of a very high standard.
My cabinet was sent from the USA to my home in the UK, it arrived in 4 days and as stated on the Orvis UK website, there was no additional import duty to pay.
This is a superb item that I can thoroughly reccomend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found....after a long search!,
December 15, 2010
By: Londonfisher
from London, England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had been looking for a fly tying cabinet for ages. This is a superb box, beautifully finished and big enough to hold all my day to day tying stuff and the top section will even hold my vice, when not in use. It's not cheap but the quality is fantastic."
Review 11 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful chest,
March 11, 2010
By: ettore
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"beautiful dresser solid and very well done. My expectations were exceeded. I am a military modeller, and finally all my tools, colors and brushes have found the place. I highly recommend the customization that gives a touch of elegance. I forgot.. I live in Italy and the chest arrived quickly and well packed."
Review 12 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredibly well made!,
August 15, 2009
By: Judi
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I actually bought this for a jewelry box.
It is perfect! I holds all my jewelry with room to
spare. The quality of the box is high...it is really well
made. If you want a jewelry box that is sporty, well organized, and high quality, then this box is for you.
"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
July 28, 2009
By: Sixweight
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've had this chest for a couple of years now and can't really imagine being without it. I've lived in a number of apartments since I got serious about my tying and this has done a top-notch job of keeping everything organized - and contained - despite several chaotic moves.
The finish is rather nice, the compartments are all logically sized, and the thing is built like a tank. Recommended, especially for those who, like myself, need to keep things orderly."
Review 14 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So good, I may need a second one!,
February 25, 2009
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've had this box for about a year now. It sits on my tying desk in my office so it's important to not only hold my stuff but also that it looks great. It scores high on both marks! The main compartment on top is where I store all manner of feathers and furs. The larger drawer in the middle will hold bobbins of thread stacked two high as well as my bottle of thinner and myriad other items. The four smaller drawers beside the middle drawer are great for storing hooks and beads. I've got one drawer each holding beads, nymph hooks, streamer hooks and dry fly hooks. The three lower drawers are for those materials that lay flat well like Flashabou, etc. I've reserved my bottom drawer as the "Bugger/Streamer" drawer which includes several packets of marabou, too many packets of chenille and then various streamer stuff."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gerstner International Red Oak,
February 24, 2009
By: Michael1
from Germany
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I always wanted to have such a Gerstner storage box for my desk to have the most important tying materials readily available and on the other hand nicely stored away. As I have a small room totally filled and packed fully with hundreds of fly tying materials, I did not expect to even store a fracture of what I own in such an organizer. When the box arrived well packed and wrapped (a litlle sign on the outer side of the cartonage said "Made in C...." nevertheless) I was very excited and my highest expectations of this item have been more than fullfilled. I would primarily recommend the box for storage of all the things for tying You need everyday. Mine holds 20 Whiting bags with hackle (dry fly, wet fly, coq de leon etc.), partridge skin, english wet fly syle hackle (snipe, starling etc.), hooks, synthetics, 15 different kinds of fur and skins, rubber legs etc.
This is -as my SUPERFINE TROUT BUM rods- one of the best items ORVIS sells at the moment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
March 30, 2008
By: flyfishingmack
from The Mountains, NC
"i recieved this box personalized for christmas this past year. it is truely heirloom quality and finished beautifully. Its amazing the amount of material it holds and the convnience of being able to pick up and go with it when you need to. I am really looking forward to passing this one down my son or grandson."
Review 17 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A gift for a lifetime,
January 24, 2008
By: KiwiFisherman
from Waikato New Zealand
"I received a "personalised" Gerstner fly tying box as a gift for my wife.
Apart from all the fantastic features that can be viewed on this site, I can pack it away in the car (it fits neatly behind the drivers seat) and tie flies when I'm not fishing or up the mountain at Ohakune (NZ).
What's more. It is of such quality and style that I would be proud for this to be handed down the line as a family heirloom.
"
Review 18 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built for a lifetime,
January 22, 2008
By: pescator7
from New York, NY
"I waited for years to buy a Gerstner box and was not disappointed. Beautiful enough to display like a piece of fine furniture, but designed and built for everyday use. The drawers are well built and are of sufficient number and size to hold and organize a variety of fly tying materials. The hardware, including the locking mechanism, is solid and looks great. The heavy duty handles allow for easy movement from one room to another or to take the box along as a traveling kit in the back of your truck or to a summer cabin. This was a great investment that will last a lifetime."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Item, now a family heirloom.,
November 2, 2007
By: pillbox
from Tring, Hertfordshire. England
"For the money this cabinet is a fine investment and the build quality is second to none. Oak is heavy by nature so this cabinet is just that, `heavy`. The drawers can hold all that you require in materials and moresome. The top box (under the lid) is very capacious and holds many tools etc and the largest of vises. The handles are `quality` and well spaced to carry the box with ease and I especially like the drop flap locking device-very secure. The drawer `pull knobs` are very comfortable to use too - all in all a quality product I`ve not seen matched elsewhere. If I was really picky I would have to say I personally would`ve liked the fittings to be solid brass on this `wood` style if only as an `optional extra`."
Review 20 for Gerstner American Red Oak Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent way to organize fly tying supplies,
October 4, 2007
By: Willy
from Morgan Hill, CA
"This is a very high quality wooden chest at a great price. I use it to organize all my fly tying materials and tools. It looks fantastic, allows easy access to what is needed and is easy to pack up and carry along for a getaway to a winter cabin."