Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sherpa Fleece Vest

We've improved the construction of our popular Sherpa Fleece Vest while maintaining the rugged outdoor character that's made it a longtime customer favorite. The fabric has been upgraded to 100% polyester fleece for increased warmth and durability. The zippers have been improved for better performance with reduced weight. Pockets are lined with tricot for added comfort. Trimmed with distressed faux leather at all wear-prone areas including the neckline and upper shoulders. Faux shearling lines the neck for optimum comfort and warmth, while a drawcord at the bottom hem helps shut out wind and cold. Polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 26¾" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Review 1 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality for LESS!,
February 28, 2014
By: Crackers
from Valparaiso, Indiana
"If you are contemplating buying this vest, hesitate no longer, because for this sale price of $27.20 it's an absolute steal of a bargain!... Just received mine yesterday and I was so impressed on the quality, thickness and softness of the material and and the functionality of this vest... It is good looking to boot... I purchased the jacket a year or so ago and have been very pleased but this vest and jacket have been upgraded and they are even nicer... The material seems to be more dense... It has the two lined handwarmer pockets, a chest pocket for an ipod or anything else you may want to put there, a nice collar made from faux fleece and the faux leather trim, which looks very much like real leather.. Let me say, I purchased a large and it is a full cut, so layering over a heavy sweatshirt etc. is no problem but if you prefer it to fit trim, say just over a shirt, you might want to drop down a size.. I'm stocky at 5'8' and 175lbs and like I said, the large is full cut but I myself would rather have it that way than too trim or tight... It also has an adjustable waist you can cinch up to take in the slack... All in all, this is a terrific vest for the money and I highly recommend it and its warm too... For the money you can't go wrong, even if you wear it for working around the house or the garage, you won't find a nicer one for the money...Believe it, this is a bargain and I wonder why Orvis is selling it at such a low price..? Maybe just overstocked but it's your gain.. I like it a lot!"
Review 2 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Value,
February 21, 2014
By: DaveR49
from Des Moines IA
"I purchased my first Sherpa Fleece Vest last year and liked it so much that when they went on sale, I purchased another one.
They are warm, comfortable and well made. I enjoy wearing them around the house and as a part of a layering system under my fishing jacket during cooler weather.
I would highly recommend this vest."
Review 3 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sherpa Fleece Vest,
January 28, 2014
By: Sturry61
from Canterbury
"I am writing my review whilst wearing this vest, or zipped waistcoat. It is very well made, and ideal for keeping both warm and active, and a bargain in the sale. If I have one criticism, it's the faux sheepskin collar, which to be honest, looks a bit naff, on a such a well made garment, hence four stars. Not naff enough though, to send it back."
Review 4 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A couple of inches short of excellence !!,
January 23, 2014
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"This is a pretty good gilet but comparing it to others I own from other manufacturers I find it a couple of inches shorter than the norm.
This means there is less coverage of and warmth for the lower back area which I find disappointing.
I can therefore only give it a qualified recommendation and hope that future versions will remedy this problem.
"
Review 5 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves it!,
January 16, 2014
By: Deeleeg
from Olympia, WA
"It is my husbands favorite vest and he has quite a few."
Review 6 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a problem solved,
December 21, 2013
By: dibley
from Dorset
"My husband is 84 and arthritic so has difficulty putting a fleece jacket on over clothes in the winter. This gilet will hopefully solve the problem of keeping him warm and being easy to put on."
Review 7 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves it!,
December 15, 2013
By: Savtah
from Bay Area, CA
"My best Chanukah present to my husband this year was his own Sherpa Fleece Vest. A friend of ours wore one and he loved it, so I ordered him one the very next day! What a great decision - my husband wore it for a cool night in San Francisco and it was perfect!"
Review 8 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
December 10, 2013
By: AEA61
from Spencerport, NY
"I ordered 5 of these vests for my brothers. They're rugged but also nice to wear out on the town!"
Review 9 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many compliments!,
December 7, 2013
By: CoachBeaz
from Youngstown, Ohio
"This vest is very comfortable and has drawn numerous positive comments. And when it's chilly and not too cold, it's a great top layer."
Review 10 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love the color,
December 6, 2013
By: huntbroad
from Beaver Creek, CO
"love the color and style. it should keep my men warm!"
Review 11 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy vest,
November 11, 2013
By: NordicHaus
"I tried to purchase one of these last holiday season, but they were sold out to the piece. I went back in the store after the holidays and someone had returned one so I snapped it up.
Very comfy and warm, when I saw it in another color this season it was a no brainer!"
Review 12 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd one bought,
November 8, 2013
By: lazurite
from Peterborough
"I like this fleece vest very much. This is the second I have bought. Very good value for money. Have had good comments when I have worn it."
Review 13 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good investment.,
October 30, 2013
By: chucks
from Indy
"I bought the vest for the Sherpa lining. I am very satisfied with the lining. It feels warm and the vest looks great - according to my wife."
Review 14 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They can't keep their hands off me,
October 22, 2013
By: TheDBA
from London, UK
"This is a lovely looking gillet and I have had so many favourable remarks that I am not sure I can continue to wear without serious
ego problems!
"
Review 15 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A poor choice,
October 16, 2013
By: Bob118
from Milford Haven, UK
"The garment has a poor cut and looks cheap. I don't like the zip operating from the wrong side. Unlikely that I will wear it other than in the garden"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 4, 2013
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the vest did not meet his expectations. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these quality concerns. In regard to the zipper, this garment is constructed in traditional American style, where the zipper slide is on the right, as opposed to European style, where the slide is on the left. Our goal is to make sure this vest is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 16 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice vest; looks neat & fits well.,
October 8, 2013
By: hgeebgee
from Western NY state
"This is a very nice warm vest.
Casual, yet neat enough for many uses. I like it.
HNB
"
Review 17 for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Vest,
October 3, 2013
By: wequedad
from Park City
"True to size. Love the collar. like the adjustments on the bottom hem."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sherpa Fleece Vest
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2