Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest

Offering all the benefits of our popular Highland Tweed Sport Coat, our Casual Vest-cut to the same specifications-is the perfect way to add substantial warmth with minimal weight. Constructed with a pure English moleskin back, allowing you to wear it alone as an outerwear piece or under a sport coat when layering for the cold. Tailored in lapel vest style with two lower pockets. Six-button front, one interior pocket. Fully lined. Pure Scottish wool tweed shell. Pure cotton moleskin back. Acetate lining. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 24" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Review 1 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not a lightweight, in either sense,
March 5, 2014
By: MichaelInVermont
"This beautiful vest is not as light weight as its name had led me to believe, but I'm quite satisfied with it. The somewhat coarse wave lends a sporty note, so it's ideal for dressing up or down. Compliments are quick in coming, and one feels like an understated million wearing this vest."
Review 2 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
attractive and warm,
February 28, 2014
By: rbfara
from New York State
"This was an impulse buy for me two years ago and I still love it. It's great as a top layer when there is a chill in the air, and always looks sharp-especially under a jacket or even a utilitarian layer. Because it's beautifully cut (with a great armseye that let's you move unrestricted without it sagging out in the armpit) and it's lined so it doesn't bunch. It moves with you. Plus there is a simple belt on the back to snug it up if you like. I'll wear it when I'm active outside like walking in the woods, working outside or shooting skeet or clays. Keeps you warm and classy looking without the bulk. Plus the outside pockets are discreet so you don't look like a bulky goof while the inside pocket can fit a phone or wallet without ruining the line. I'm 6' 1" and a 44 and picked up the large. The "tailored fit" is perfect."
Review 3 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp Looking,
February 17, 2014
By: VanillaThunder
"The vest was absolutely wicked sharp. It felt terrific, nice fit, nicest fabric.
Try it, you'll love one.
And, the sizing is true. I'm 6'2" and the large fits perfectly.
"
Review 4 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great find,
February 11, 2014
By: JeNarek
"We bought this for my hubsand to wear at our wedding. We were looking for a tweed vest for a while and came across this, Looks perfect and matches what we were picturing in our minds. I was a little concerned about the back not being wool also (thinking it may not look good in photos) but the mullskin looks good and keeps the clean look of the vest. Very satisfied!"
Review 5 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent addition to the wardrobe,
February 11, 2014
By: FredEBaer
from Washington, DC
"It's not easy to find quality vests these days for a reasonable price. This can be worn casual or to the office, and it keeps your warm."
Review 6 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Snug but attractive,
February 7, 2014
By: mayday
from Reno
"My husband must like it--he has worn it frequently since receiving it.
It tends to be on the snug end of the fit spectrum, but he decided to keep it and not go to an extra large.
"
Review 7 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tweed?,
February 4, 2014
By: slider11
from Northwest
"I took a chance on these vests and was disappointed. Its another good example of how Orvis fails its customers because they refuse to allow a magnified view of their products, or multiple views of the product. The fabric on the brown and white/tan version of this vest is an extremely open weave pattern that looks nothing like a Highland tweed, or any other kind of tweed I have ever seen. The photos simply are not adequate to really evaluate what you are getting. The tan and blue gray versions of the same vest ARE a nice herringbone tweed. Its strange that 2 of 4 colors within a single item would have a completely different fabric. Its not good to be completely surprised when you open a package."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great style...But,
January 17, 2014
By: SamH
from South Alabama
"I loved the look , color and styling of this vest....BUT..It just didn't fit like a previous Orvis vest I had purchased and it seemed a little stiff!?....I did like the "silk like" material for the backing, for a dressier look though...I gave it a 3star for the fit....probably 4star for the styling , material and uniqueness...If it had just fit a little better!!...I would have kept it..."
Review 9 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great men's best,
January 15, 2014
By: Harlan
from Bedford, MA
"Great vest. Can be dressy or casual. Just warm enough, but very welcome under tweed jacket during severe cold snap. Many admiring comments."
Review 10 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
December 27, 2013
By: JWinPhila
from Philadelphia
"This is the second vest I purchased from Orvis this year. I like the look and it fits great. It is a nice change from a sports coat when going out for dinner."
Review 11 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Casual Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and comfortable,
November 5, 2013
By: pluffmudder
"Very nice vest very warm -- coordinates with a lot of clothing. Wish it had a full backing of the tweed rather than just a blue."