Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

B-3 Bomber Jacket

Engineered for open-cockpit flying and high-altitude runs, the B-3 bomber-with its signature shearling lining and collar-first entered service in the mid-1930s, quickly becoming the preferred jacket for US bomber crews during World War II. Cut to original military specifications, but with handwarmer pockets for added convenience, the B-3 men's bomber jacket is constructed with leather-welted seams, a heavy-duty zipper over a wind flap, and features solid brass hardware throughout. Lined in American shearling for unparalleled warmth on the ground or in the sky. In brown. Shearling skin with nappa leather finish. Professionally clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-48; about 25½" long in size 40.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Review 1 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The B-3 Bomber is Outstanding!,
January 22, 2015
By: Bronson66
from California
"This jacket is "The Bomb"! I am so glad to report that the look, feel and quality of the B-3 Bomber Jacket is far beyond anything I expected. I am a bit of an aficionado when it comes to leather coats so when I say the well-made construction of the coat is superb, I mean it. Every stitch and every detail is just right. The bomber looks amazing on and the feel is so comfortable.While the fit is somewhat snug in the arms due to the plush shearling lining, I am still able to wear a mid-weight sweater underneath. On another note, I had purchased two sizes, not knowing for sure which one would fit best. As it turns out, the jacket is true to size. Orvis made the return of the wrong sized coat so simple. I am very pleased with the bomber jacket and with Orvis...I would highly recommend both to anyone."
Review 2 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
January 22, 2015
By: Colorado2758
from Eagle, Co
"I am not a large person - but the jacket was "snug" - would be too restrictive if you wanted to wear a sweater with it
Have to say well made - truly disappointed that I had to return it
"
Review 3 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
B3 Bomber Jacket,
January 20, 2015
By: HarrySG
from Wisconsin
"A gift for my son;absolutely loves it,warm as only sheepskin can be,good for a lifetime of wear."
Review 4 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 20, 2015
By: Ron45
from Texas
"Looks great, feels great, very warm and protective. Positive remarks and compliments from others. A quality product."
Review 5 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another thing to mention...,
January 7, 2015
By: ROBM
from Glen Ridge, NJ
"Well, the best reviews are the reviews written not when the box is unwrapped and the coat tried on in house. It's when you wear it outside in the real world. We in NJ/NY are experiencing a real deal freeze - temps in single digits to 20's. With just a light weight shirt on and this jacket I was warm as toast. The leather blocks the wind and that thick shearling is incredibly warm and comfortable, even against a bare neck. And with that collar turned up, my face is completely protected from the elements. I've gotten so many positive comments as an added plus. I can not recommend this jacket highly enough. Yes, it is pricey - even with the sale price, but is worth every penny and only will look better as it ages."
Review 6 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Jacket,
December 30, 2014
By: ROBM
from Glen Ridge, NJ
"I will ditto the 3 prior reviews. I was on the fence with this jacket for some time, so when this jacket popped up as a sale item, I took the plunge - and could not be more pleased - well, maybe a touch - with some very minor adjustments - and I mean minor, because I'm being very picky and these things may not matter to most others. One is the handwarmer pocket material - it is canvas lined, would have been nicer if flannel or wool and second is that the sleeves are somewhat tight. I am 5' 6", 185lbs with broad shoulders for my height and take a 44 in suits and coats. This jacket fits well, but again I don't think a sweater would fit well underneath, especially in the arms - but this jacket is incredibly warm due to the shearling lining.
The quality of the leather as well as the shearling are high and the inside pockets - with zippers for security are a nice touch. With the collar fully up, your face and ears are protected from the elements.
This is a jacket that is a part of history and is very similar to the one my father wore in WW II. It's also a huge plus (for me) that it is made in the USA. Highly, highly recommended for those who want a well crafted, Made in the USA, stylish, warm jacket that also happens to be a part of our history.
"
Review 7 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sentimental Generational Link,
December 30, 2014
By: LittleSug2
from Alexandria, VA
"Orvis' B-3 Bomber Jacket is identical to the jacket worn by my husband's father during his service in the US Army Air Corps in WWII. We have a picture of his dad wearing the jacket. The gift brought back memories of one kind and dedicated father to another."
Review 8 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful B-3 Jacket!,
December 3, 2014
By: Brad65
from Chevy Chase, MD
"I have been looking for an authentic looking B-3 style jacket for several years. Having had family fly in B-17s and B-24s in WWII I had high standards for my purchase. This beautiful jacket exceeds my expectations in style and quality.
Love it!
"
Review 9 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super item!!!!,
December 1, 2014
By: Gerarrd
from California!
"To have a peace of history (brought back)...... life just gets better! Its a product which is reflective of great work/well made, a reflection of do well in the USA... makes me feel great. Great job, to those who make it and Orvis for promoting it!"
Review 10 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bomber Jacket,
October 13, 2014
By: wolfeborite
from Wolfeboro New Hampshire
"The jacket has great style with authentic detail and will keep you warm in the coldest weather."