Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

B-3 Bomber Jacket

Engineered for open-cockpit flying and high-altitude runs, the B-3 bomber-with its signature shearling lining and collar-first entered service in the mid-1930s, quickly becoming the preferred jacket for US bomber crews during World War II. Cut to original military specifications, but with handwarmer pockets for added convenience, the B-3 men's bomber jacket is constructed with leather-welted seams, a heavy-duty zipper over a wind flap, and features solid brass hardware throughout. Lined in American shearling for unparalleled warmth on the ground or in the sky. In brown. Shearling skin with nappa leather finish. Professionally clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-48; about 25½" long in size 40.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Review 1 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent quality,
April 27, 2015
By: 2185369lh
from Colorado
"Sizing was a concern from other reviews I read I am 5'8" 135lbs and normally wear a size 38 coat. There were no size 38 left only 40 up but the reviews seemed to indicate that the coat ran small ( most likely because of the shearling lining which is substanial. The 40 works perfect if I want a sweater and is not to loose without and can be adjusted with waist straps and sleeves rolled up with more shearling exposed. I am very pleased with the product. I would advise that lining will make the coat fit small from the size I purchased as compared to my normal size that was my experience but the fit seems understandable considering the heavy shearling lining."
Review 2 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket - Sizing Issues,
March 10, 2015
By: DMANS
from Chicago
"This is a great jacket. Beautiful, probably very warm, top notch materials, but it doesn't fit. Before ordering, I read many reviews about sizing. Some said too big, some said too small. I'm 5"11 and weigh about 176. I lift weights, but my arms are not big. Before lifting weights I wore a 40. Now I typically wear a 42. The body was about right, maybe a little loose. Noting a sweater or sweatshirt wouldn't fix. But the arms were way too tight and a little short. Again my arms are not bulky, I only weigh around 176. They are out of 44's so I'm outta luck. Order 1 size larger. If they get 44's in they promised to call me, but I doubt I'll get the double sale price (20% off the sale price) and I don't know if they will continue to stock these. If you can get one in your size, you will love it. Get it while they still have it, even if you don't get the double sale price."
Review 3 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IF YOU LIKE IT, BUY IT! TOP SHELF.,
February 27, 2015
By: Jeffntn
from Tn.
"You get what you pay for. I knew it would be warm. You won't keep it on indoors long. Guaranteed. First night here it was 11 F with a wind chill of minus one. 20 minutes I walked in it and a matching B3 leather hat also lined with shearling, UA 3.0 thermals and was not slightly cold or even cool. Everything about it is top shelf. If you want it, remember, you live once.... and I did wear the Orvis Bison Gloves."
Review 4 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket but flawed,
February 26, 2015
By: WRBJR
from Portsmouth NH
"The jacket is a great replica of the original made with beautiful leather and shearling. It is a seriously warm jacket. Sizing is spot on for me. Unfortunately, with in a few days one of the belt loops along the side of the jacket fell of so I sent it back and I am waiting on my replacement. So far the services has been excellent."
Review 5 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Jacket,
February 26, 2015
By: entologix
from Ohio
"Very nice jacket...warm..rugged and great looking...order one size up!"
Review 6 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Quality,
February 21, 2015
By: emwonk
from Missouri
"This is the most expensive jacket I have ever owned -- even though I bought it on sale - but I love it.
It is a great jacket but like all things beautiful there are warts if one looks. Basics first. The sizing chart did not work on me. I am 45.5 in the chest, so in the middle of the chart's 46 and 44. The 46 was the only one available at the time of ordering, and it was comically large. If I pulled the bottom of the zippered jacket forward from my stomach, it made about 8 inches of space. Plus, the arms were huge, with great spaces around the shoulder front to back. I sought a 44 via the Web form at 12 AM and the syntax-challenged response re-informed me it was out of stock and suggested I use the wait list. A phone-agent a week later during mainland U.S. work hours found me a 44 in one of the stores and had it shipped to me. A great fit. These jackets run tight in the wrist and they are bulky and heavy. There is a bit of extra space around the shoulders but it gets tight when driving.
Quality: This is a jacket that absolutely says "quality." It is rich soft leather, and the build quality actually reminded me of the rich, hand-worked leather interior of a Bentley I rode in once. It feels like it will last a LONG time if used in normal urban uses. BTW I found an identical style at an Orvis competitor but not the "Cockpit USA" Orvis brand, also leather-wool for half the Orvis price before Orvis finally found me a 44. When the Orvis "competitor's" customer service lady learned I wanted to try their 44 and send back that or the Orvis, she informed me their jacket would be nice but not quite as nice as the Orvis version. Kudos for candor, and a testament to the Orvis version of the B3.
Warmth: Even in 15-degree night air, there are not any signs of a chill inside the jacket. It is absolutely warm. And because it looks so warm, it has a bit of a placebo warmth to boot.
Ergonomics: Overall good, but the top of the jacket feels weird near the collarbone when it's unzipped Because of the wool flap, it hangs open weird compared to a jacket with "collar-area symmetry." I mean not even. you can see this in the photo. But it feels "different." Not bad. However, the pockets are the sole concerning downside. They are not standard pockets, which cannot be seen from inside the jacket. Inside the jacket you find a thin pouch hanging loose from the inside wall of the jacket, connected just above the waist by two strips of sturdy fabric, one on each corner of the pocket bottom. The pockets are so small and the space between jacket and stomach is so narrow (it's not me, I swear) that they are nearly useless for any except the lightest of gloves. This is part a jacket size issue: 46 is Huge on me; the 44 fits just barley OK. (Even an iPhone and a pair of reading glasses in the shirt pocket make a bit of a breast-area bulge. Even thin "driving" gloves bulk up the pocket area. The pocket story gets worse: The openings are so far back that it is noticeably and uncomfortably difficult to even reach the opening, and doing so takes a body twist and visual confirmation of the opening. This jacket stands out among all other garments in 51 years that have difficult-access pockets. They are the sole downfall of this jacket. But forgivable given the overall love it earns.
There is another "problem" to mention: It is VERY susceptible to marks from fingernails. Eventually there will be so many it will be OK when they are so numerous to constitute character, but meanwhile it looks scratched if one looks close.
Finally, as shipped the jacket absorbs water like a sponge. A drop will disappear into the leather nearly instantly. So I am investigating some sort of sealer, if there can be assurance it will not hurt the jacket."
Review 7 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made coat,
February 19, 2015
By: glm150
"a warm well made coat, that wold keep you warm during the cold winter days. I had to return the coat as i am one of those people in-between a medium and a large and neither size quite fit me."
Review 8 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
size be careful do your homework,
February 16, 2015
By: fredmytoy
"I am 6'2" 245 the 48 is not even close of a proper size. I had to purchase from a competitor and the 2X was too small. Sending back for 3X long. Wished the 48 would work this jacket is better all around vs
the competitor. Some reviews are completely misleading.
"
Review 9 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
B-3 Bomber Jacket,
February 11, 2015
By: BenK56
from Maryland
"This jackets been on my radar for quite some time. High Quality, Classic Look that NEVER Gets Old. I'm 6ft, 200 lbs, 44 Regular fit me Perfectly. Glad I Bought It."
Review 10 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
February 11, 2015
By: droopy1944
from Powder Springs, Georgia
"This is a jacket that I always wanted. When it went on sale I jumped at the chance to own it. Also being made in America was a plus for me. When it came I tried it on and it fit great.
. I looked it over and the craftmanship was the best that I have ever seen. Thank you Orvis for carrying a jacket of this quaility."
Review 11 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Wait!,
February 9, 2015
By: DougfromMaine
from Eliot, ME
"I looked at this jacket for over 3 years on-line and every time I just seemed to want it more and more. It is a beautifully made jacket, the shearling is incredibly warm and the leather is better looking than in the pictures. I waited and waited, contemplating the usefulness of such a big jacket. It arrived the day before i headed to NYC for a trade show in the middle of a major blizzard. This is undoubtedly the warmest jacket I own, far warmer than my super insulated snowmobiling jacket. The workmanship is exceptional and the YKK zipper is large and easy to use. I can not wear to do any thing too strenuous as it is simply too heavy and too warm and I will quickly overheat. If you are looking for an awesome looking, feeling and warm winter jacket ,look no further. It is ideal for a walk in the cold, windy winter weather. I purchased it at an amazing post-Christmas sale price which made it an even better deal after a 3 year wait!"
Review 12 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If only,
February 9, 2015
By: HLBB
from milwaukee wisc.
"If only properly sized it would be perfect, one size too small, but I loved it so much kept it anyway!!
High quality, very warm, have not seen anything close to this jacket!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best jackets,
February 9, 2015
By: Tonykaras
from Massachusetts
"This is the second jacket that I bought of his caliber and the price was unbelievable"
Review 14 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over the Top,
February 9, 2015
By: Grafty
from NYC
"Before purchasing, I read various reviews, waited & got a great price to boot. When I received the first one it was too snug...returned it....no problem.....went up to the next size....Perfecto..
Its sharp, distinctive, and stylish.
Warm, very warm.
"
Review 15 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent B-3,
February 4, 2015
By: warminmontana
"Wanted a B 3 for a long time and Orvis made the price right so pulled the trigger and purchased. Excellent jacket, the fit is perfect.
Thanks Orvis!"
Review 16 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So comfy and warm.,
February 3, 2015
By: Tony910
from Connecticut
"I'm 5'9" 175lb and the size 40 fits me perfectly. My sleeve length is 32" and I was afraid that the sleeves would be too long but they are a bit adjustable. The sleeves are tapered at the wrist so they fit around the wrist without going too far over your hand. If my arms were an inch of two longer it would still fit without being too short.
This is the warmest jacket I have ever owned. It's been below freezing here and the windy frigid temps are no match for this jacket.
Very happy with it."
Review 17 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Magnificent Bomber Jacket.,
January 30, 2015
By: Micklos
from Portsmouth, Virginia
"Being small framed, I feared the jacket would be too large for me. But it was made just for me. It's a perfect fit, and a perfect protector. It is handsomely made, most attractive, and above all, comfortably warm even in freezing weather. It is as warm and comfortable as a Mother's womb. Someone once wrote, "everybody needs a good winter coat". To that I say, Amen. You make me feel privileged, Thank you."
Review 18 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leather bomber jacket shortfalls,
January 26, 2015
By: Cobaltdriver206
from St. Paul
"I found the leather bomber jacket to be heavy duty but had to return it. It is very short in the body and sleeves. If you have greater than a 33 inch sleeve you will be disappointed. Definitely will not fit if you are over 6 feet tall."
Review 19 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The B-3 Bomber is Outstanding!,
January 22, 2015
By: Bronson66
from California
"This jacket is "The Bomb"! I am so glad to report that the look, feel and quality of the B-3 Bomber Jacket is far beyond anything I expected. I am a bit of an aficionado when it comes to leather coats so when I say the well-made construction of the coat is superb, I mean it. Every stitch and every detail is just right. The bomber looks amazing on and the feel is so comfortable.While the fit is somewhat snug in the arms due to the plush shearling lining, I am still able to wear a mid-weight sweater underneath. On another note, I had purchased two sizes, not knowing for sure which one would fit best. As it turns out, the jacket is true to size. Orvis made the return of the wrong sized coat so simple. I am very pleased with the bomber jacket and with Orvis...I would highly recommend both to anyone."
Review 20 for B-3 Bomber Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
January 22, 2015
By: Colorado2758
from Eagle, Co
"I am not a large person - but the jacket was "snug" - would be too restrictive if you wanted to wear a sweater with it
Have to say well made - truly disappointed that I had to return it
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.