Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Firehole Grid Fleece

Micro-grid pattern provides extra loft without the weight for increased warmth. This quarter-zip fleece pullover is made with a quick-drying, soft 7.2 oz. polyester fabric with a new and improved micro grid pattern on the outside and a brushed inside surface for easy on and off. Quarter-zip configuration allows for temperature regulation. Drop-in horizontal chest pocket with zip closure. 100% polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
109 of 114(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firehole Grid Fleece
Review 1 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extra layer,
July 15, 2014
By: Knotgood
"This product is extremely warm. Uses the pillow technology and traps air. Nice looking product also."
Review 2 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort with warmth,
July 11, 2014
By: AshAk
from Anchorage, Alaska
"The Firehole grid fleece is comfortable, packs light, and has a nice chest pocket for phone or other items like a fishing license. Best of all is it's fit and comfort while looking stylish!"
Review 3 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent,
July 2, 2014
By: Mrcolorado
"This fleece was wonderfully warm and soft. I would revommend it to anyone!"
Review 4 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very interesting...,
June 12, 2014
By: madz
from England
"The first firehole grid fleece I bought in medium was a snug fit compared to other Orvis products but actually it fitted superbly, it was just a bit tight getting it on. But when its on it looks fantastic, feels very comfortable and is not at all bulky...love it. So good I bought another one, but its the same product but a different colour but its slightly bigger, bit odd."
Review 5 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable and great quality!,
May 28, 2014
By: sussann
from new york
"This shirt is definitely a great gift. Can be worn all year round. Nice style and comfortable soft material. Get the next larger size to wear a shirt underneath if you don't want a fitted look."
Review 6 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this fleece!,
May 14, 2014
By: bighornrivermt
from Eagle Nest Lodge, Hardin, MT
"This fleece not only looks great, but feels great! It's not bulky and looks great on a man or women. I loved it so much we ordered these for our lodge. They've been flying out the window. I highly recommend!"
Review 7 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect weight fleece,
May 10, 2014
By: Apisko
from Columbus, OH
"Picked up this fleece at the Denver store and found it to be better than expected. Perfect weight for almost all conditions. Will get more in the other colors. Pretty typical Orvis."
Review 8 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tight Fit,
April 30, 2014
By: FreshNSaltwaterFlyFisher
from Orange County, CA
"Really like the sweatshirt once I get it on. Seems like the sweatshirt has a slim cut and difficult to get on and off. The sweatshirt fits great once its on, but there is a small struggle to get on and off. Due to the slim cut and difficulty getting on and off, I would only recommend this product with an awareness to its slim fit."
Review 9 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fishing Wear,
April 25, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"This is a very nice weight fleece.
Spring FlyFishing in the Southwest, it can be snowing one minute and sunny warm the next. I carry this fleece in my pack as a perfect layer up-layer down jacket. It is thin and warm and it cuts the wind on the river well. Besides, it doesn't hurt to look good for the Fish !
"
Review 10 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grid Fleece,
April 21, 2014
By: Peteyfish
from Iowa
"This is an incredibly comfortable, wearable and well made pullover! It lets you breathe but keeps you warm. What I noticed more than anything is that when I visit my kids in Colorado and have the 8 dogs around us that for whatever reason I can get down and play with them and not come up looking like the 9th dog! Seriously, dog hair doesn't hang on this fleece like other sweaters I wear around the dogs. Just a brilliant product, why in our family we own a total of 9 of them! Keep it up Orvis!"
Review 11 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality,
April 21, 2014
By: dantend
"is the sweatshirt I was looking realmete to see me freeze over very good quality"
Review 12 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love fleece,
April 17, 2014
By: Robear1
"It's been a cold winter and I have been wearing fleece in the house since early November. I saw these Firehole Fleece Pullover's while Christmas shopping. I wanted one for myself and dropped the hint but it did not hit the right ears. I watched patiently and finally got one a week ago. It's lighter than my others but just as warm. It looks great and I love the chest pocket. Buy one or gift it. It's great."
Review 13 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Comfort,
April 12, 2014
By: Charleigh44
from Lafayette, IN
"Saw this Trout Bum quarter-zip fleece on sale; ordered one for my husband. He LOVED it. The fleece is lightweight -- not too hot or bulky, and the fit is perfect. He is especially picky about garment length: frustrated by pullovers that are too long and blouse over at the waist. Not only did he say he loved it -- every time I look up, he is wearing one (and looks darned good in it, too!) If you will make more colors, we'll buy more -- thanks, Orvis."
Review 14 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost but not quite,
April 6, 2014
By: OR73
from UK but for use on safari
"This lightweight fleece is almost exactly what I wanted as a mid layer for cold southern African mornings and evenings in the bush. It is light and it is warm but the material is so lacking in give that it is hard work putting it on and taking it off. I do have the right size. A mid layer should be easy to slip on and off to provide quick, flexible temperature control."
Review 15 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Medium is Small,
April 5, 2014
By: septimius
from Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
"I received a medium size Firehole Grid Fleece and, to my surprise, it is definitely too small. Up to now, all Orvis medium sweatshirts etc have fitted me well. I like the colour and styling but the size is a real downer. Therefore only 3 stars."
Review 16 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasant Surprise,
March 24, 2014
By: Taheadsr
from Davis, CA
"The 1/4 zip pull-over has a warm feel without added bulk and the size was just right. The grid pattern in the fabric allows it to breathe yet it still feels warm inside. Should adapt well to changing temperatures."
Review 17 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff,
March 24, 2014
By: STBCH
from West Marin, CA
"Every comment (and there have been many) is complimentary. How it fits, how it looks. I wasn't sure about the "waffle" squares until I saw it in person… I ordered two, and they are great."
Review 18 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just Not Right,
March 17, 2014
By: Obviousman
from Northville, Mi
"I purchased one of these last summer and it fairly well concidering my hieght so I decided to buy another because I really like the dark green color with the orangr trim. This one fit much shorter and looked like it had shrunk in the wash. I was very disappointed in the fit and returned the shirt to Orvis.
It would be really nice if Orvis had more than the 8 tall items in it's line clothes for men.
"
Review 19 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Fleece,
March 12, 2014
By: srhall
"Great feel and fit in this fleece. A little more fitted than most fleece products and I think they look better."
Review 20 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality products,
March 11, 2014
By: livinbigincolorado
from Northwest Colorado
"good solid merchandise at a reasonable price. Well made. Well tailored. Fits like a glove and looks like dynamite. Warm, comfortable, need to get another."