Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Firehole Grid Fleece

Micro-grid pattern provides extra loft without the weight for increased warmth. This quarter-zip fleece pullover is made with a quick-drying, soft 7.2 oz. polyester fabric with a new and improved micro grid pattern on the outside and a brushed inside surface for easy on and off. Quarter-zip configuration allows for temperature regulation. Drop-in horizontal chest pocket with zip closure. 100% polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.644 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
97 of 101(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firehole Grid Fleece
Review 1 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Comfort,
April 12, 2014
By: Charleigh44
from Lafayette, IN
"Saw this Trout Bum quarter-zip fleece on sale; ordered one for my husband. He LOVED it. The fleece is lightweight -- not too hot or bulky, and the fit is perfect. He is especially picky about garment length: frustrated by pullovers that are too long and blouse over at the waist. Not only did he say he loved it -- every time I look up, he is wearing one (and looks darned good in it, too!) If you will make more colors, we'll buy more -- thanks, Orvis."
Review 2 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost but not quite,
April 6, 2014
By: OR73
from UK but for use on safari
"This lightweight fleece is almost exactly what I wanted as a mid layer for cold southern African mornings and evenings in the bush. It is light and it is warm but the material is so lacking in give that it is hard work putting it on and taking it off. I do have the right size. A mid layer should be easy to slip on and off to provide quick, flexible temperature control."
Review 3 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Medium is Small,
April 5, 2014
By: septimius
from Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
"I received a medium size Firehole Grid Fleece and, to my surprise, it is definitely too small. Up to now, all Orvis medium sweatshirts etc have fitted me well. I like the colour and styling but the size is a real downer. Therefore only 3 stars."
Review 4 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasant Surprise,
March 24, 2014
By: Taheadsr
from Davis, CA
"The 1/4 zip pull-over has a warm feel without added bulk and the size was just right. The grid pattern in the fabric allows it to breathe yet it still feels warm inside. Should adapt well to changing temperatures."
Review 5 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff,
March 24, 2014
By: STBCH
from West Marin, CA
"Every comment (and there have been many) is complimentary. How it fits, how it looks. I wasn't sure about the "waffle" squares until I saw it in person… I ordered two, and they are great."
Review 6 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just Not Right,
March 17, 2014
By: Obviousman
from Northville, Mi
"I purchased one of these last summer and it fairly well concidering my hieght so I decided to buy another because I really like the dark green color with the orangr trim. This one fit much shorter and looked like it had shrunk in the wash. I was very disappointed in the fit and returned the shirt to Orvis.
It would be really nice if Orvis had more than the 8 tall items in it's line clothes for men.
"
Review 7 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Fleece,
March 12, 2014
By: srhall
"Great feel and fit in this fleece. A little more fitted than most fleece products and I think they look better."
Review 8 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality products,
March 11, 2014
By: livinbigincolorado
from Northwest Colorado
"good solid merchandise at a reasonable price. Well made. Well tailored. Fits like a glove and looks like dynamite. Warm, comfortable, need to get another."
Review 9 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
March 11, 2014
By: Bobbydear
"I love the shirt. It is very comfortable, washes great and looks wonderful."
Review 10 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handsome sweatshirt,
March 10, 2014
By: PrezBob
from Lexington, VA
"I like the Firehold Grid Fleece sweatshirt very much -- it's handsome, the fit is true and the fabric is nice. My only disappointment, which is my fault for not having read the description carefully enough, is that it doesn't have banded cuffs and bottom."
Review 11 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Fleece,
March 6, 2014
By: Mulfer
"This is a well constructed fleece that is not too heavy. I should have bought a couple of them. Nice to wear on a cool morning."
Review 12 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like it,
March 1, 2014
By: schmads
from Park City Ut
"I am between a med & a large and the med fits fine.
Wife wants one but you don't have it!
"
Review 13 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this pullover,
February 28, 2014
By: melanieth
"my son LOVES this pullover. it is very warm and soft."
Review 14 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Early mornings,
February 24, 2014
By: nwsterling
from Pacific NW
"I was looking for a light weight pull over for warmth while fishing on cool mornings. This is a cool
sweater for those cool mornings. The grid fleece seems to prevent
pilling. So now I'm warm and my pull over doesn't have fur balls.
"
Review 15 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great polartec,
February 24, 2014
By: Stonie
from NW Ohio
"This is the go to pull over any time the weather turns a tad chilly... Soft as a pillow..."
Review 16 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these fleece,
February 24, 2014
By: madhockeydad
"I have 3 of these fleeces in different colors. They are warm and look great. It's a nice complement and this winter they have helped keep me warm. One of the reasons I continue to love Orvis clothing."
Review 17 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Grid Fleece,
February 22, 2014
By: keyroco
from Coastal CT
"Another quality product and would recommend to anyone."
Review 18 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warmth...to a point,
February 21, 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"Very soft and comfortable. Warm, to a point. Not so great in wind. Overall very good buy."
Review 19 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
February 21, 2014
By: Snuff
from Texas
"I ordered 2 of the Firehole fleece shirts. I stared wearing one the day I got them. Great shirts, looks good, very comfortable and will provide years of service. Don't know why I didn't buy these sooner."
Review 20 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
February 20, 2014
By: hunterandparkercreel
from Mt. Vernon, Illinois
"I ordered two of these for my husband and he is very satisfied with them. I am happy because they look like new when washed and dried. Overall a very good purchase."