Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Firehole Grid Fleece

Micro-grid pattern provides extra loft without the weight for increased warmth. This quarter-zip fleece pullover is made with a quick-drying, soft 7.2 oz. polyester fabric with a new and improved micro grid pattern on the outside and a brushed inside surface for easy on and off. Quarter-zip configuration allows for temperature regulation. Drop-in horizontal chest pocket with zip closure. 100% polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
119 of 124(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firehole Grid Fleece
Review 1 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm/Classy,
October 24, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"This is a very nice, well made pullover. This easily can be worn on the stream, then to dinner at a nice restaurant that evening. Unfortunately they don't have the navy/red combination any more. I love this fleece and would recommend it to any one."
Review 2 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jersey,
October 22, 2014
By: AHSAlbany
from Albany,NY
"I was looking for a comfortable fleece and this shirt doesn't
disappoint. It is lightweight yet warm and the weave makes it very soft. It's a great all around mid weight fleece that looks great. I liked the styling and comfort so much have purchased 3 of these this fall.
"
Review 3 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice Fleece,
October 13, 2014
By: bron48
from Cincinnati Ohio
"Purchased 2 of these in different colors. Quality seems to be excellent. First day I worn one I received several compliments. They also wash very nicely. Will buy from Orvis again."
Review 4 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Comfortable,
October 4, 2014
By: MaineScott
from Brunswick, ME
"I'm wearing this fleece as I write. It's a bleak, chilly fall day - perfect for a warm and comfortable sweater. Mine is the merlot color, which I love. So, along with being warm, light, comfortable, and typically well-made, it's also sharp liking."
Review 5 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic pullover,
September 29, 2014
By: MattieCinVA
from Washington, D.C.
"A great weight for a pullover. Great for use on planes and on the stream. Chest pocket with horizontal zip is perfect for those all important documents. Have washed several times and noticed no noticeable change in size. Great product by Orvis."
Review 6 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fleece,
September 27, 2014
By: jalder8779
"I like this fleece although I have not worn it for much time it is good quaity
and I like the pocket I stoped buying orvis polo shirts because the stoped putting pockets in them hope they start again.
I am bet this will be a winer.
"
Review 7 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOOK SHARP,
September 12, 2014
By: MIT1
from PHILADELPHIA
"PRACTICAL AND FASHIONABLE (SO I AM TOLD!)-- NOT ALWAYS AN EASY THING TO MAKE HAPPEN FOR THE 50-SOMETHING GUY! LOOKS GOOD ALONE BUT JUST WHAT I NEED FOR THE FALL LAYERING SEASON & GOOD QUALITY, OF COURSE!"
Review 8 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappaointed,
September 5, 2014
By: IDontGetFleece
"I saw someone on tv wearing this and ordered it right away. The color is true to the website image — a dull taupe. I thought the guy on tv had more of a white-grey. Anyway, the color seems like a missed opportunity.
Fit: Tight in chest, as noted by others.
Function: This thing is warm. Should be great for it's intended purpose.
Comfort: I have never understood why people like fleece. Unless you wear silk under it, it binds.
Suggestion: I need garments with full zippers, not 1/4 zip.
Conclusion: I returned the item."
Review 9 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Fleeece Shirt,
August 20, 2014
By: Steelhead55
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This is a great fleece shirt to wear under a light jacket for fishing on a cold morning that warms up in the afternoon."
Review 10 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extra layer,
July 15, 2014
By: Knotgood
"This product is extremely warm. Uses the pillow technology and traps air. Nice looking product also."
Review 11 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort with warmth,
July 11, 2014
By: AshAk
from Anchorage, Alaska
"The Firehole grid fleece is comfortable, packs light, and has a nice chest pocket for phone or other items like a fishing license. Best of all is it's fit and comfort while looking stylish!"
Review 12 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent,
July 2, 2014
By: Mrcolorado
"This fleece was wonderfully warm and soft. I would revommend it to anyone!"
Review 13 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very interesting...,
June 12, 2014
By: madz
from England
"The first firehole grid fleece I bought in medium was a snug fit compared to other Orvis products but actually it fitted superbly, it was just a bit tight getting it on. But when its on it looks fantastic, feels very comfortable and is not at all bulky...love it. So good I bought another one, but its the same product but a different colour but its slightly bigger, bit odd."
Review 14 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable and great quality!,
May 28, 2014
By: sussann
from new york
"This shirt is definitely a great gift. Can be worn all year round. Nice style and comfortable soft material. Get the next larger size to wear a shirt underneath if you don't want a fitted look."
Review 15 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this fleece!,
May 14, 2014
By: bighornrivermt
from Eagle Nest Lodge, Hardin, MT
"This fleece not only looks great, but feels great! It's not bulky and looks great on a man or women. I loved it so much we ordered these for our lodge. They've been flying out the window. I highly recommend!"
Review 16 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect weight fleece,
May 10, 2014
By: Apisko
from Columbus, OH
"Picked up this fleece at the Denver store and found it to be better than expected. Perfect weight for almost all conditions. Will get more in the other colors. Pretty typical Orvis."
Review 17 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tight Fit,
April 30, 2014
By: FreshNSaltwaterFlyFisher
from Orange County, CA
"Really like the sweatshirt once I get it on. Seems like the sweatshirt has a slim cut and difficult to get on and off. The sweatshirt fits great once its on, but there is a small struggle to get on and off. Due to the slim cut and difficulty getting on and off, I would only recommend this product with an awareness to its slim fit."
Review 18 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fishing Wear,
April 25, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"This is a very nice weight fleece.
Spring FlyFishing in the Southwest, it can be snowing one minute and sunny warm the next. I carry this fleece in my pack as a perfect layer up-layer down jacket. It is thin and warm and it cuts the wind on the river well. Besides, it doesn't hurt to look good for the Fish !
"
Review 19 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grid Fleece,
April 21, 2014
By: Peteyfish
from Iowa
"This is an incredibly comfortable, wearable and well made pullover! It lets you breathe but keeps you warm. What I noticed more than anything is that when I visit my kids in Colorado and have the 8 dogs around us that for whatever reason I can get down and play with them and not come up looking like the 9th dog! Seriously, dog hair doesn't hang on this fleece like other sweaters I wear around the dogs. Just a brilliant product, why in our family we own a total of 9 of them! Keep it up Orvis!"
Review 20 for Firehole Grid Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality,
April 21, 2014
By: dantend
"is the sweatshirt I was looking realmete to see me freeze over very good quality"