Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Naval Wool Peacoat

Cold, damp weather is no match for the stout construction and timeless warmth of Schott's classic naval wool peacoat. Built in America, this coat's military-specification interlocked blend of melton wool and nylon ensures maximum protection against the elements-just as the peacoat has ever since it was adopted as standard issue by the US Navy in the early 20th century. Double-breasted button-front closure securely fastens from either side. Two leather-trimmed handwarmer pockets. Satin lined. In dark navy. Wool/nylon shell. Polyester satin lining. Dry clean. Made in USA.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 31" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Naval Wool Peacoat
Review 1 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product size and cut are not true to size,
November 3, 2014
By: Jroo
"Ordered a large and it fit like a medium. Reordered an extra large and it fit like a large except the cut was not true to size, Sleeves were cut high (tight to the armpit) and narrow if you wore a sweater (I have an average build but buy large for winter coats to accommodate layers). Wouldn't recommend ordering your trues size, go up a size and fit may still not be true to size."
Review 2 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, U.S. made peacoat,
October 19, 2014
By: Bayoudrew
from London, UK
"I saw this coat and really liked the design. I read the rest of the reviews on the website, and was a bit apprehensive about "sizing up." I usually wear a Medium, but I listened to everybody's advice and ordered a Large. I can attest to what the rest of the reviewers have noted: the coat runs a bit small. This is a fantastic coat, and definitely make sure to "size up.""
Review 3 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice coat, but be aware of the size!,
October 15, 2014
By: Postheimer
"Very nice coat, but the size is way off. I'm ordering one in the next size up."
Review 4 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicely made, looks good but small,
October 15, 2014
By: tquigs
from Ohio
"I normally wear medium in Orvis clothing. I read the reviews about this running small so I ordered a large and it was too small. The extra large fit."
Review 5 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Coat,
September 16, 2014
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"The quality of this coat is evident your first wearing. Excellent "hand" to the exterior fabric with a comfortable lining. I suspect the exterior will be weather proof as described. The versatility of the closure is unique. As others have noted, I had to go up one size to XL due to tight shoulder treatment. The sale price justified the return cost & inconvenience. Sizing is the reason of four stars vs. five."
Review 6 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new best friend,
August 21, 2014
By: Wintergoat
from Oregon Coast
"From the moment I put it on it became my "New Best Friend". But that was the second coat however, because the first one was too small, so I had to exchange it. Before I could send it back the replacement was already on it's way. First-rate material. First-rate construction. First-rate service.
Thank you, Orvis !!! Looking forward to the cold, wet winter.
"
Review 7 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality, bad fit,
January 20, 2014
By: OrvisReviews
from Atlanta, GA
"Liked everything about the coat, but couldn't get past the tightness in the arm holes and shoulders to justify keeping at that price."
Review 8 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product and American Made!,
January 17, 2014
By: Eagle90
from North East, US
"This Peacoat is spectacular. Incredibly well made and looks very sharp. One can dress it up or down. I love that is was made in US by a great, classic company. The sizes of these coats do not seem to be consistent with standard size spectrums (ie. I usually wear a large and I needed at least an XL in this coat). Besides that little thing, I love it!"
Review 9 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not quite,
January 10, 2014
By: Cojonu
from Dallas, TX
"I bought a navy peacoat from Orvis a couple of years ago and it was the real thing. The lining was neatly quilted and the medium size fit me perfectly. It even has a place to write your name in the tag. I bought one for my partner this year and it is not quite the same. The sizes run much smaller and the lining is not quilted so it feels lose. It is also fitted at the waist making it look more like a woman's garment. Maybe it is not described correctly here. Either way, I would not recommend it to any men."
Review 10 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Navy Peacoat,
January 6, 2014
By: Fredo
from NYC
"Original felt coat it's beautiful. Water repelled, no color fading or bleeding."
Review 11 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
inappropriate sizes,
January 1, 2014
By: coatless1
from hatboro, Pa
"Iordered the peacoat in size XL and I could not button it. I returned item and ordered size XXL and was still too small. I previously ordered a leather coat from Orvis and it fit perfectly. in size XL."
Review 12 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed in sizing.,
December 25, 2013
By: GrandPatty
from Chesapeake, Va
"Sizing way off. Workmanship appears superior. Rating based on sizing only."
Review 13 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
too small,
December 25, 2013
By: Canerat
from Boston
"Got this peacoat for my son, but a large is too small; and I don't know if an extra-large will fit either. Will try to find at a local Orvis store, or else return and look elsewhere."
Review 14 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat.,
December 10, 2013
By: Stonian
"This coat is very nice, the wool is thick and warm and I like it very much. It is a fitted coat. I have a 44 inch chest so I ordered a large, fits very snug, but not tight. My only problem is the sleeves are just a little short, but overall a great coat."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Naval Wool Peacoat
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2