Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Naval Wool Peacoat

Cold, damp weather is no match for the stout construction and timeless warmth of Schott's classic naval wool peacoat. Built in America, this coat's military-specification interlocked blend of melton wool and nylon ensures maximum protection against the elements-just as the peacoat has ever since it was adopted as standard issue by the US Navy in the early 20th century. Double-breasted button-front closure securely fastens from either side. Two leather-trimmed handwarmer pockets. Satin lined. In dark navy. Wool/nylon shell. Polyester satin lining. Dry clean. Made in USA.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 31" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Naval Wool Peacoat
Review 1 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new best friend,
August 21, 2014
By: Wintergoat
from Oregon Coast
"From the moment I put it on it became my "New Best Friend". But that was the second coat however, because the first one was too small, so I had to exchange it. Before I could send it back the replacement was already on it's way. First-rate material. First-rate construction. First-rate service.
Thank you, Orvis !!! Looking forward to the cold, wet winter.
"
Review 2 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality, bad fit,
January 20, 2014
By: OrvisReviews
from Atlanta, GA
"Liked everything about the coat, but couldn't get past the tightness in the arm holes and shoulders to justify keeping at that price."
Review 3 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product and American Made!,
January 17, 2014
By: Eagle90
from North East, US
"This Peacoat is spectacular. Incredibly well made and looks very sharp. One can dress it up or down. I love that is was made in US by a great, classic company. The sizes of these coats do not seem to be consistent with standard size spectrums (ie. I usually wear a large and I needed at least an XL in this coat). Besides that little thing, I love it!"
Review 4 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not quite,
January 10, 2014
By: Cojonu
from Dallas, TX
"I bought a navy peacoat from Orvis a couple of years ago and it was the real thing. The lining was neatly quilted and the medium size fit me perfectly. It even has a place to write your name in the tag. I bought one for my partner this year and it is not quite the same. The sizes run much smaller and the lining is not quilted so it feels lose. It is also fitted at the waist making it look more like a woman's garment. Maybe it is not described correctly here. Either way, I would not recommend it to any men."
Review 5 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Navy Peacoat,
January 6, 2014
By: Fredo
from NYC
"Original felt coat it's beautiful. Water repelled, no color fading or bleeding."
Review 6 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
inappropriate sizes,
January 1, 2014
By: coatless1
from hatboro, Pa
"Iordered the peacoat in size XL and I could not button it. I returned item and ordered size XXL and was still too small. I previously ordered a leather coat from Orvis and it fit perfectly. in size XL."
Review 7 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed in sizing.,
December 25, 2013
By: GrandPatty
from Chesapeake, Va
"Sizing way off. Workmanship appears superior. Rating based on sizing only."
Review 8 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
too small,
December 25, 2013
By: Canerat
from Boston
"Got this peacoat for my son, but a large is too small; and I don't know if an extra-large will fit either. Will try to find at a local Orvis store, or else return and look elsewhere."
Review 9 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat.,
December 10, 2013
By: Stonian
"This coat is very nice, the wool is thick and warm and I like it very much. It is a fitted coat. I have a 44 inch chest so I ordered a large, fits very snug, but not tight. My only problem is the sleeves are just a little short, but overall a great coat."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Naval Wool Peacoat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1