Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Naval Wool Peacoat

Cold, damp weather is no match for the stout construction and timeless warmth of Schott's classic naval wool peacoat. Built in America, this coat's military-specification interlocked blend of melton wool and nylon ensures maximum protection against the elements-just as the peacoat has ever since it was adopted as standard issue by the US Navy in the early 20th century. Double-breasted button-front closure securely fastens from either side. Two leather-trimmed handwarmer pockets. Satin lined. In dark navy. Wool/nylon shell. Polyester satin lining. Dry clean. Made in USA.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 31" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
18 of 23(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Naval Wool Peacoat
Review 1 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 18, 2014
By: JSpaf
from Washington State
"Really like this jacket. It is darker grey (almost black) than the picture shows. It is very fitted (not at all baggy) and the goat leather pocket rim is a nice touch. I usually wear medium; bought a large at the recommendation of other reviewers. Definitely glad that I did. The large fits perfectly. The sleeves are a tad restrictive, but not uncomfortable. There would probably be an issue with layering, but this thing is so warm I can't see wearing a sweater underneath. Really happy with the coat!!!"
Review 2 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great winter coat,
December 18, 2014
By: Crabbster
from NY
"Well constructed coat that fits to size. Very warm and protects you from the elements."
Review 3 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Awful Sizing,
December 17, 2014
By: R123
"Sizing is off at least 2x. L=S! Orvis should have noted in product description to order 2 sizes larger."
Review 4 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Naval Wool Peacoat,
December 17, 2014
By: MPBitgood
from Richmond, TX
"It's warm; it fits; it's double breasted; it's made of wool; it has leather lined pockets; and it has held together so far. I dock a star because of the inaccurate sizing chart and even now the coat fits a little snugly, but nothing to make a fuss about. Need to order a coat about two sizes larger than what the chart says if you want to wear it with say, a blazer. It's as advertized. Couldn't ask for more."
Review 5 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Navy Peacoat,
December 16, 2014
By: CATLIN
from New Hampshire
"top quality - original navy OEM. Very nice detail. A present for my son."
Review 6 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost perfect,
December 16, 2014
By: LongTimeOrvisFan2
from Walnut Creek, CA
"Read the reviews saying the Pea Coat was sized small. Believed them and ordered Large. Then had serious doubts and spoke with Orvis rep who recommended Medium. Played with idea of ordering Med to compare but ultimately just waited. And ... no problem; reviews were right. It DOES size small. The large fits closely on my decidedly Medium frame. Sleeves are a TINY bit longer than I'd like (hence the "almost perfect"). But that's a tiny nit. Looks great, is warm, and the sale price was unbeatable. Very satisfied."
Review 7 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice coat,
November 26, 2014
By: coug
from Washington state
"Great coat, got it on sale which makes it even better. If you're looking for a timeless classic this is it. usually I'm a large this I got xl fit great."
Review 8 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product size and cut are not true to size,
November 3, 2014
By: Jroo
"Ordered a large and it fit like a medium. Reordered an extra large and it fit like a large except the cut was not true to size, Sleeves were cut high (tight to the armpit) and narrow if you wore a sweater (I have an average build but buy large for winter coats to accommodate layers). Wouldn't recommend ordering your trues size, go up a size and fit may still not be true to size."
Review 9 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, U.S. made peacoat,
October 19, 2014
By: Bayoudrew
from London, UK
"I saw this coat and really liked the design. I read the rest of the reviews on the website, and was a bit apprehensive about "sizing up." I usually wear a Medium, but I listened to everybody's advice and ordered a Large. I can attest to what the rest of the reviewers have noted: the coat runs a bit small. This is a fantastic coat, and definitely make sure to "size up.""
Review 10 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice coat, but be aware of the size!,
October 15, 2014
By: Postheimer
"Very nice coat, but the size is way off. I'm ordering one in the next size up."
Review 11 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicely made, looks good but small,
October 15, 2014
By: tquigs
from Ohio
"I normally wear medium in Orvis clothing. I read the reviews about this running small so I ordered a large and it was too small. The extra large fit."
Review 12 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Coat,
September 16, 2014
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"The quality of this coat is evident your first wearing. Excellent "hand" to the exterior fabric with a comfortable lining. I suspect the exterior will be weather proof as described. The versatility of the closure is unique. As others have noted, I had to go up one size to XL due to tight shoulder treatment. The sale price justified the return cost & inconvenience. Sizing is the reason of four stars vs. five."
Review 13 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new best friend,
August 21, 2014
By: Wintergoat
from Oregon Coast
"From the moment I put it on it became my "New Best Friend". But that was the second coat however, because the first one was too small, so I had to exchange it. Before I could send it back the replacement was already on it's way. First-rate material. First-rate construction. First-rate service.
Thank you, Orvis !!! Looking forward to the cold, wet winter.
"
Review 14 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality, bad fit,
January 20, 2014
By: OrvisReviews
from Atlanta, GA
"Liked everything about the coat, but couldn't get past the tightness in the arm holes and shoulders to justify keeping at that price."
Review 15 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product and American Made!,
January 17, 2014
By: Eagle90
from North East, US
"This Peacoat is spectacular. Incredibly well made and looks very sharp. One can dress it up or down. I love that is was made in US by a great, classic company. The sizes of these coats do not seem to be consistent with standard size spectrums (ie. I usually wear a large and I needed at least an XL in this coat). Besides that little thing, I love it!"
Review 16 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not quite,
January 10, 2014
By: Cojonu
from Dallas, TX
"I bought a navy peacoat from Orvis a couple of years ago and it was the real thing. The lining was neatly quilted and the medium size fit me perfectly. It even has a place to write your name in the tag. I bought one for my partner this year and it is not quite the same. The sizes run much smaller and the lining is not quilted so it feels lose. It is also fitted at the waist making it look more like a woman's garment. Maybe it is not described correctly here. Either way, I would not recommend it to any men."
Review 17 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Navy Peacoat,
January 6, 2014
By: Fredo
from NYC
"Original felt coat it's beautiful. Water repelled, no color fading or bleeding."
Review 18 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
inappropriate sizes,
January 1, 2014
By: coatless1
from hatboro, Pa
"Iordered the peacoat in size XL and I could not button it. I returned item and ordered size XXL and was still too small. I previously ordered a leather coat from Orvis and it fit perfectly. in size XL."
Review 19 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed in sizing.,
December 25, 2013
By: GrandPatty
from Chesapeake, Va
"Sizing way off. Workmanship appears superior. Rating based on sizing only."
Review 20 for Naval Wool Peacoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
too small,
December 25, 2013
By: Canerat
from Boston
"Got this peacoat for my son, but a large is too small; and I don't know if an extra-large will fit either. Will try to find at a local Orvis store, or else return and look elsewhere."