Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket

Don't wear more layers to keep warm this winter; simply wear a more efficient one. Insulated by 800-fill down, the Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket retains warmth without the additional bulk. Lightweight and easy wearing, it packs into its own interior pocket for quick storage. Jacket features one chest pocket, two tricot-lined handwarmer pockets, and grosgrain trim to prevent zipper catching. Internal stretch mesh pocket stores hats and gloves. Shell: 100% polyester ripstop weave with 800-fill down. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
19 of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Review 1 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time purchase from Orvis,
December 17, 2014
By: Spygirl8
from Kennedale,TX
"After receiving an Orvis catalog in the mail, my husband and I decided to order new coats. They arrived quickly and we are very pleased with the fit, comfort, and exceptional quality of the coats. First time we wore them, several friends asked where we purchased them. They are warm, but light-weight and we are quite pleased with this purchase!"
Review 2 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not warm,
December 6, 2014
By: Williejo
"I like the style, color combination, light weight and comfort. What I don't like is that this jacket is just not warm not ever=n at 30 degrees."
Review 3 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 6, 2014
By: Mike590
from Amherst, NY
"Super lightweight and warm jacket. I wear it all the time and couldn't be more happy with it."
Review 4 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
December 4, 2014
By: PJ46
from Chicago, IL
"Nice material. I got it in Gray. Not too shinny or metallic looking. Light weight and very warm. Fit is spot on. Perfect for Chicago winters."
Review 5 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazed by Orvis,
November 30, 2014
By: Murph1
from Lancashire England
"Ordered Targhee jacket last Sunday
23 Nov - recieved it on Friday all the way from the U.S. to the UK !
Fantastic fit,not too heavy and not too bulky - the last thing I need is extra bulk !
Very pleased with the jacket and the service - well done Uncle Sam !
"
Review 6 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value for the Price,
October 13, 2014
By: Delphiteam
"Very Seldom do we receive exactly what we thought we saw on-line. Orvis did it and did it well."
Review 7 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket but liked the old lighter model,
September 22, 2014
By: fphp
from Memphis Tn
"This is a great jacket, but for me I liked the older model better because is the lightness of the older. I think Orvis must have added a different fabric because the old model had down floating most of the time! No complaints, just a personal preference. Made a swap with the local store, where the helpful staff is great! Would purchase this one!"
Review 8 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm in the Colorado winters!,
September 18, 2014
By: NoReply
from Longmont, CO
"Purchased this jacket in preparation for the Colorado winter coming soon.
On the day of its arrival, we had a cold front come thru with snow flurries and rain. I wore it all day during this time and the comfort validated my purchase. It performed as I had hoped. Water resistant, the snow and cold did not affect my duties of the day.
Would recommend this jacket without reservation.
"
Review 9 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift goes over great,
May 14, 2014
By: JimFromMinnesota
from St. Paul area
"Ordered this for my son as a gift. Had it shipped directly to him. He showed it to me last Saturday. Very light. Great looking. He says it is extremely warm for the weight. Appears to be very well made. He loves it. Fit was perfect as expected since we had followed the guidelines on the web."
Review 10 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect piece nippy fall and winter....,
May 12, 2014
By: BmoreShopper
"Super lightweight, sleek, and colorful, got it in orange as I hate being lost in a crowd and snow bank, but not that shiny finish seen on other similar jackets. You get all of the trendy styling of similar ultra lightweight down jackets, and Orvis's superior quality! Excellent purchase! BTW, glad I checked out the men's selections or this gal would have missed this."
Review 11 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
May 6, 2014
By: GreggP
from Milwaukee WI
"I purchased this as a replacement to a Patagonia 800 fill down sweater. I read the negative reviews regarding the down fill however, I've found this jacket to perform on par and my expectations given my ownership of a similar Patagonia product."
Review 12 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Targhee Down Jacket,
February 12, 2014
By: JC1969
from NC
"The jacket is very warm, light weight, and fits well. Only issues I have and don't care for is the down feathers are comign through the fabric. No big feathers but still enough that it has me concerned. Unless I have fowl in there molting, I will eventually loose insulating qualities!"
Review 13 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great disappointment,
January 27, 2014
By: 6406nb
from Milwaukee, WI
"When I first started using it the feathers got all over my clothes. I went to the store twice--the first time they told me to put it on fluff setting in the dryer. That made it worse. The second time the store told me to return it as they were pulling all of them off the rack as they are all defective and others had complained. I love the jacket but had to return it."
Review 14 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too short for a tall person,
January 27, 2014
By: Matthewj
from Boston, MA
"This jacket was a non-starter for me due to the sizing. I am 6'7" so the jacket was far too short for my torso. That being said, every other aspect of the coat (cut, color, warmth) all lived up to the description and my expectations. I imagine that this coat deserves a 5 star rating for individuals with a shorter torso."
Review 15 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
January 19, 2014
By: Hawken
from Cleveland, Oh
"This is a beautiful and warm jacket that looks very stylish, but it loses down more than the birds from which the feathers were taken. I feel like I'm molting myself. It's everywhere...all over my car seat, etc, etc.
Too bad, as better construction would have made this a first-rate coat. As is, it's a $200 disappointment sitting in my closet."
Review 16 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
January 18, 2014
By: LowcountryChicken
from Asheville, nc
"Great jacket. Christmas gift from a great mother in law. Light weight, very warm, and I really like the contrasting colored zippers. Given that it's down, it did shed some feathers at first, but that was only the first couple of wears. I highly recommend. Good cut, and doesn't make you look like the Michelin tire man."
Review 17 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommend,
January 17, 2014
By: trtlvr
from Bozeman, Montana
"I love this jacket! I wore it in high winds last weekend(January) on a river here in Montana. It was a wild and wooly day and I was very comfortable the entire time. Besides the warmth, I also love the fact that it is so light and allows for great flexibility. Highly recommend for winter anglers!"
Review 18 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Looked and fit great, but...,
January 16, 2014
By: dw1276
from Lake Anna, Va.
"Tried this jacket on in the store but they didn't have my size so I ordered it online. When it arrived I loved the grey color and the fit was perfect. But after wearing it a couple times, I discovered that whatever I wore under the jacket was covered in down when the jacket was removed. I turned the jacket inside out and carefully brushed off all the loose down, but still had the same problem with the down shedding from the jacket. I returned it to the local store."
Review 19 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
January 15, 2014
By: Jack14
from NC
"As advertised. Warmer than the weight would suggest. Packs up great quickly became my favorite jacket!"
Review 20 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous purchase,
January 9, 2014
By: oldschooltarheel
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"saw a friend with one of these. Perfect combination of warmth and function. I use it all the time. Packs into tiny space and keeps me toasty. Great for traveling as it makes a great pillow on planes and optimizes space in your luggage.. bought the orange and I love the color"