Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket

Don't wear more layers to keep warm this winter; simply wear a more efficient one. Insulated by 800-fill down, the Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket retains warmth without the additional bulk. Lightweight and easy wearing, it packs into its own interior pocket for quick storage. Jacket features one chest pocket, two tricot-lined handwarmer pockets, and grosgrain trim to prevent zipper catching. Internal stretch mesh pocket stores hats and gloves. Shell: 100% polyester ripstop weave with 800-fill down. Washable. Imported. Sizes: L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
34 of 37(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Review 1 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice light weight or base layer,
January 23, 2015
By: trouthound1
from Northern California
"Nice light weight jacket for everyday ware or as a base layer for winter steelhead fishing. The XL jacket was a little small for me across my back when casting so it was a lithe tight and the sleeves pulled up my arms. Also the sleeve openings are not snug fitting or adjustable so water/rain will very easily run up your sleeves after releasing a fish or while casting."
Review 2 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another example of Orvis quality,
January 23, 2015
By: leftoval
from Concord, MA
"Exactly what I was looking for. As is always the case, the display on the website matched the product. The jacket is very well made, is a perfect fit, nicely designed and competitively priced. All one could ask for."
Review 3 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 21, 2015
By: rhv1
from Boston
"Purchased the Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket a few weeks back and have used it quite often. It is light, warm and the fit is very good. I am 6 feet and weight 190lbs and the Large was perfect. Overtaking my Orvis Heritage Coat as my go-to coat. Great for everything outdoors in New England."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Coat,
January 21, 2015
By: TheoSr
from Winchester Va
"Well made and fits very well...
more pockets than usual, and is very light, warm, and comfortabloe.
I am very satisifed wit this coat from ORVIS
"
Review 5 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Jacket,
January 20, 2015
By: Jack379
from Michigan
"Good all around jacket.. Lightweight and warm as advertised. Only issue is sizing. I usually wear XL comfortably. XL was too small so I exchanged for 2xl. It's a bit too large."
Review 6 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light weight for travel,
January 16, 2015
By: Jetzg26
from Texas
"Ordered this jacket for travel, where something warmer might be needed but avoiding extra bulk and weight in the suitcase. It certainly fits the bill re the weight and bulk. And the recent cold snap suggested it will likely be warm enough. It also fits nicely under a rain jacket so it should be a good addition to the travel wear."
Review 7 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Warm Coat!,
January 15, 2015
By: DLevenson
from Brackney, PA
"The jacket arrived last week and the day after is so far our coldest day of the year. 10 below with 20 MPH winds. I wore the jacket and stayed really warm. Plus, it is incredibly light, with the box and packing it came to only 2.5 lbs. my wife thinks it looks great, I got the black one. Thanks!"
Review 8 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
January 14, 2015
By: McGuyver1
from Wisconsin
"Warm. Stylish. Lightweight. I feel like McGuyver when I wear this jacket."
Review 9 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0 for 2,
January 8, 2015
By: Hawken
from Cleveland, Oh
"Bought one of these last year and returned it a week later because the down was leaking everywhere out of the coat. I was assured by a person at the store that this had been addressed, so I thought I'd give it one more shot. Pulled it out of the shipping back tonight, feather sticking out of the coat everywhere....and back I go to the store. Done with down."
Review 10 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
December 31, 2014
By: SOCan
from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
"This jacket is the perfect blend of warmth and sleek. It is heavy enough to provide the needed insulation without too much bulk. It also has more pocket options than comparable brands, which was a selling feature for me. An excellent winter jacket for everyday in a winter climate."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Down Jacket,
December 30, 2014
By: gman4302
from Clarkston, MI
"Could not ask for more. Good fit, light weight and blocks out the wind. Keeps me warm in mild weather or when the weather sub-freezing."
Review 12 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
December 26, 2014
By: LHTob
"This coat has a great fit, light weight. It looks sporty and classic!"
Review 13 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timely response and High-Quality product,
December 26, 2014
By: Elbon
from Beaumont, TX
"Last year, I purchased 8 separate items from Orvis - 5 in-the-store (Austin, TX) ...and 3 online for Christmas. The best experience was: a) receiving a "confirming order" immediately and b) a "shipping notification" when the items shipped.
Very pleased!
"
Review 14 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time purchase from Orvis,
December 17, 2014
By: Spygirl8
from Kennedale,TX
"After receiving an Orvis catalog in the mail, my husband and I decided to order new coats. They arrived quickly and we are very pleased with the fit, comfort, and exceptional quality of the coats. First time we wore them, several friends asked where we purchased them. They are warm, but light-weight and we are quite pleased with this purchase!"
Review 15 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not warm,
December 6, 2014
By: Williejo
"I like the style, color combination, light weight and comfort. What I don't like is that this jacket is just not warm not ever=n at 30 degrees."
Review 16 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 6, 2014
By: Mike590
from Amherst, NY
"Super lightweight and warm jacket. I wear it all the time and couldn't be more happy with it."
Review 17 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
December 4, 2014
By: PJ46
from Chicago, IL
"Nice material. I got it in Gray. Not too shinny or metallic looking. Light weight and very warm. Fit is spot on. Perfect for Chicago winters."
Review 18 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazed by Orvis,
November 30, 2014
By: Murph1
from Lancashire England
"Ordered Targhee jacket last Sunday
23 Nov - recieved it on Friday all the way from the U.S. to the UK !
Fantastic fit,not too heavy and not too bulky - the last thing I need is extra bulk !
Very pleased with the jacket and the service - well done Uncle Sam !
"
Review 19 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value for the Price,
October 13, 2014
By: Delphiteam
"Very Seldom do we receive exactly what we thought we saw on-line. Orvis did it and did it well."
Review 20 for Targhee Lightweight Down Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket but liked the old lighter model,
September 22, 2014
By: fphp
from Memphis Tn
"This is a great jacket, but for me I liked the older model better because is the lightness of the older. I think Orvis must have added a different fabric because the old model had down floating most of the time! No complaints, just a personal preference. Made a swap with the local store, where the helpful staff is great! Would purchase this one!"