Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Moleskin Field Pants

Though its origins are lost to history, moleskin first became popular among British steelworkers in the 1800s. Thanks to its dense weave and pile, the fabric protected workers from melted steel. Our Moleskin Field Pants build on this tradition, with a focus on comfort and wearability, and feature big-box pockets for ample storage. In loden. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes: 30-46. Finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moleskin Field Pants
Review 1 for Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Way too small,
July 29, 2015
By: Rick8989
"I wear a size 34 in jeans and a 36 in dress pants. I ordered a 34 and would need 6 more inches for these pants to fit and even button closed. Doesn't make sense to order a 40. They appear to be good quality and I am only disappointed in the sizing."
Review 2 for Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good pants,
June 16, 2015
By: Larry4444
"I have been a fan of moleskin fabric for years. these pants are solid and good looking. However, the size is wrong. I normally wear a 34 waist. I ordered a 36 and they are still a mite snug."
Review 3 for Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Totally Dissatisfied,
June 5, 2015
By: sidebyside
from Alexandria, LA
"I was really looking forward to using these trousers for pheasant hunting this year. What a disappointment they were. I wear a size 35" in the waist so, I ordered a size 36" for a little "extra room". There ain't no extra room. As a matter-of-fact there is no room. Even though these trousers were labeled size 36, they were at least FOUR ( 4 ) sizes too small. One would think Orvis could do better and provide proper sizing info. Other than that I could tell the trousers were of excellent quality. Totally disappointed with this purchase."
Review 4 for Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
February 5, 2015
By: CMCASE
from Hudson, WI
"These Moleskin pants are both functional and good looking."
Review 5 for Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reviews are correct- Way too small,
July 3, 2014
By: Jmacky
from Georgia
"I agree with everyone else here, these pants are great, the weight is good and the quality is good I would recommend them. But someone must be using the metric system when they measured these I would say they are 4 sizes too small for a 46" waist American and even then if you get the right waist plan on laying off the cheeseburgers for a while just to wear them. I wish that Orvis would settle on a generally more roomy cut for everything they make or buy were wearing this stuff outdoors not posing for a catalog."
Review 6 for Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tight as a Tick,
March 22, 2014
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"I ordered these pants in a size 36 based on the other reviews. Most of my jeans are 34 waist. I had to suck in my stomach to even get these pants on and felt like a bloated tick, about ready to explode when I got them buttoned and zipped. I also couldn't see the cargo pockets in the online photo."
Review 7 for Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too close for comfort,
January 14, 2014
By: Jeep56
from Portland, OR
"I really liked these pants until I tried them on. I think these were made in the UK, but wherever they were made they do not use the same measuring standards as United States. They were a full size too small and I had to return them. Very dissappointed. I then bought Orvis branded moleskins and they fit great."
Review 8 for Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs small in the waist,
August 29, 2013
By: CaptainmyCaptain
"I ordered a 36" waist, which always works, but these pants came in at ~34.5" waist, and that was before washing. It is a European size 50 that does not convert well I suppose. Sending them back."