Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Reversible Dog-Proof Throw

An easy-care, yet supremely soft and cuddly reversible throw blanket: fine corduroy on one side and bonded Berber® fleece on the other. Place it on a couch, over a chair, at the end of your bed, or anywhere your dog likes to snuggle that warrants a little protection from pet hair, dirt, and moisture. A special water-resistant material helps protect your furniture and bedding. Matches our lightweight coverlet. Available in two sizes. Polyester corduroy and fleece. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.58 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 of 50(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Review 1 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Dog Blanket,
September 9, 2014
By: MHanbury
"The blanket is a great material for managing dog mess. I have a yellow lab that loves to eat bones on our navy couch. Between the hair and the slobber, our couch was getting pretty gross. This blanket is much easier to wash than the slipcovers. It's substantial enough to stay in place and the material is great for keeping dog hair in check without the hair overly sticking to the blanket. I only wish it were available in a larger size to completely cover the couch!"
Review 2 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reversible dog-proof throw,
September 7, 2014
By: Mike1965
from Mystic, CT.
"My dogs loved it immediately. Product is exceptionally well made.
I would recommend this product without hesitation.
"
Review 3 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Throw,
September 4, 2014
By: Terrier2
from North Carolina
"I love this throw. We just adopted a dog that is larger than any we have had before and we were not prepared for him to jump on the furniture. This blanket is nice looking and is going from sofa to sofa to the bed on a lazy Sunday. The texture and weight is very nice and it washes well. I could see purchasing another one in the future if we can't train our new addition to stay off the furniture!"
Review 4 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
September 2, 2014
By: ButchC
from Raleigh, NC
"Dog throw is an excellent product, very heavy and durable and easily cleaned. I only wish they made one in a full king size, but the large works well for me too."
Review 5 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great multiuse purchase,
August 31, 2014
By: Audie49
from Suffield, CT
"Needed a smaller lighter weight therefore more practical and portable water resistance dog throw. Have the bedspreads that are fantastic at protecting bed from any moisture that may accompany our 75lb Buford to bed with us! For camping and protecting a much smaller bed, especially after swimming thought of trying the reversible throw. This is perfect. Great size and repels water beautifully to protect sleeping area. After a recent camping trip and after a swim, our dog Buford had saturated bed despite being covered with a cotton quilt ! This will never happen again! Use it at home as well for Buford's spot on the sofa. Clean dry furniture, happy dog, even happier humans! Easy care wash & dry. Love the reversible choices."
Review 6 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Serviceable dog blanket,
August 4, 2014
By: Shalako
"Have used the dog blanket in the back of my car for about 1 week. The blanket is not heavy so my dog can easily move it around and claw it into a bundle"
Review 7 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth the money!,
July 8, 2014
By: eskiegirl
from denver
"Pricey but does the job. wish I had this when my 2 15 month old pups were 4 months old! They like to sleep on the bed and during the day I throw it on to protect. All their white hair clings to it and any mud from outside. I just throw it on cold wash and cool dryer. We will be taking this to a fishing cabin soon as well. Worth the money."
Review 8 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Extra Protection,
July 7, 2014
By: DenverDogz
"This slides around too much for solo use in my car, but provides added protection from wetness and dog hair. I use it in conjunction with the car hammock. Well-made, nice fleece underlining. I expect it to wash well and last a long time with a variety of uses."
Review 9 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like It,
July 6, 2014
By: alex9
"Beige color does not detract from overall bedspread. Nearly covers a king size bed. Dog loves it."
Review 10 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good,
June 18, 2014
By: FrenchieMama
from New York, NY
"luckily, we haven't had any testing of the waterproof level by "organic" material BUT for what it's worth, I did pour a small glass of water (maybe 2-3 oz worth of liquid) to see if the blanket leaked and it didn't. I didn't give drench the blanket and I didn't leave the liquid there for very long, but the bedspread underneath stayed dry. Super easy to clean in the washer/dryer."
Review 11 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
problem solver,
June 13, 2014
By: NLB63
from Belmont NC
"I purchased this product for our pet to lay on as a protector of our furniture. The material is perfect for absorbing moisture and not allowing it to reach the furniture. I would definitely recommend this product."
Review 12 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Accident Protection,
June 12, 2014
By: masdoggies49
from Northwest
"We are a doggie household.
And anyone that has dogs
knows that there are accidents.
This product helps keep our bed
protected. Instead of having to
change the whole bed, we just
throw this in the wash.
It washes and drys well.
I especially like the new color.
"
Review 13 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the new puppy,
June 11, 2014
By: DonnaMZ
from Fort Collins, Co.
"We recently adopted a new puppy who loved getting on our bed. Unfortunately, sometimes she would have an accident and piddle on our white comforter. We would lay down piddle pads until we discovered the dog proof throw. The dog proof throw was the perfect solution. No more expensive trips to the cleaners and the throw is "piddle resistant". Love it, love it, love it."
Review 14 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blanket,
June 2, 2014
By: MARoutdoors
"This is perect if you own a Lab who loves the water and sheds !"
Review 15 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not moisture proof,
May 19, 2014
By: slaughtp
"The descriptions calls it a 'waterproof membrane'. It did not stop any moisture from leaking through onto my bed. The top of the coverlet only showed a medium sized wet spot because the majority of the water had soaked the blankets underneath and the mattress. I am so disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely product and color,
May 13, 2014
By: jmdk
"This dog-proof throw definately contains the dog hair."
Review 17 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's Spring -- Shedding Season,
April 23, 2014
By: Retro215
from Richmond, Virginia
"The livestock (1 dog,1 cat), are happily putting out their annual avalanche of hair. But this spring, the Orvis Reversible Dog-Proof Throw (large) has come to the rescue. They love it - I love it - you'll love it. Stays in place with either side up; shakes out easily, and washes well."
Review 18 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What you see is what you get!,
April 11, 2014
By: password12
"This furniture cover lives up to Orvis standards! In fact, I wouldn't mind having my den furniture covered in the same fabric. I haven't laundered it yet, but I'm sure there will be no problem! My big " blonde" dog loves being able to share the furniture. This may in part be due to the fact that that the color suits her and everyone says "awwww, aren't YOU looking pretty today!" Typical girl!"
Review 19 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
$ well spent on dog,
March 31, 2014
By: Mary59dee
"Though have tried many variations, bed sheet to cover bed & blankets to cover couch, save yourself aggravation, cleaning, the 'ole time & $ and buy Orvis!"
Review 20 for Reversible Dog-Proof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than Expected,
March 31, 2014
By: Griffin99
from Jacksonville, FL
"My new puppy chews everything, but for some reason he leaves this throw alone. He's content to lie on it and chew his toys or curl up and sleep at the foot of the bed. My bedding stays dry and no dog smell. I just vacuum off the throw or toss in the washer as needed. This product is as advertised."