Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Lighted Retractable Dog Leash

During the low-daylight time of fall and winter, be safe and carry a leash that broadcasts light in front of and behind you when walking your dog. This easy, handheld unit has a 16-foot retractable leash, a bright flashlight to light the way in the dark, and a red light on the back to warn cars coming from behind. Suitable for dogs up to 110 lbs. 2 AA batteries required. Retractable lighted dog leash weighs 14 oz. In red. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Review 1 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lighted dog leash,
March 13, 2014
By: mammy1
from Boise, Id.
"This lighted leash seems much
improved over the 2 we ordered
last year for our son & ourselves:
the light is more diffused making it
more effective in the dark, and the
handle itself feels lighter, less bulky.
It's pricey, but effective.
"
Review 2 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Useful but poor quality,
January 15, 2014
By: labbyfan
from Danville, CA
"Have to frequently walk two labs in the dark, so the idea of having one less thing to carry (i.e. a flashlight) was palatable. The light on this is great. But the leash itself is poor quality -- the spring to make the leash retractable has already loosened, and the button frequently gets stuck. Bottomline, love the concept, but the least itself needs improvement."
Review 3 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
January 13, 2014
By: GMHLA
from Los Angeles
"Love the light - disappointed at the holding ability of the leas i.e. clicks off sometimes"
Review 4 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great dog leash,
December 28, 2013
By: Maguire
from Woodbridge, VA
"This is a great leash. Purchased for my parents and they love it. Easy to use. Nice bright light in front and back."
Review 5 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best dog leash,
December 23, 2013
By: Goldengirlx2
from WV
"This product is what I needed to feel safe from cars while walking the dogs at night. The only downside is that the light switch is easy to bump off when the dog pulls on the leash."
Review 6 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice color,
December 8, 2013
By: Orwell
"I purchased this as a gift for a pet owner with a new dog. It arrived promptly but was a poor design. The leash mechanism did not work and so it had to go back. Did like the red color, though."
Review 7 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Light, Not So Great Leash,
December 5, 2013
By: Zoester60
from Phoenix, AZ
"The light is great! We live in the desert where it is VERY dark. In theory this would be a great leash for our Lab, but the retractable leash is less than great. Plus, the leash is much shorter than it seems like it should be. Feels like there is more leash, but I'd be very cautious to pull hard, because the retractable mechanism is so weak."
Review 8 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
December 5, 2013
By: Millie54
from Northern Kentucky
"So nice to have a product that allows walking our dog at night, safely! Excellent visibility from the flash lights. We have purchased one for our dog walker as a Christmas present."
Review 9 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flashlight fantastic,
November 8, 2013
By: Heartbeat
from Newton, MA
"While I bought this because I needed a retractable leash, it is the flashlight I love. In fact the dog chewed the leash in half rendering it inoperable but I still take it with me. The two way illumination allows you to see where you are walking and where you are going without having to wave the flashlight around. The backlight lets passing cars know you are there. And the grip allows me to hold it minimal fingers allowing me the freedom to manage 3 dogs on leashes. For the flashlight alone! A 5!"
Review 10 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Idea,
November 3, 2013
By: Jackismyname
"The lights on this leash are the best. One light shines forward and the other lights the ground. Plus a blinking tail light if you want it. Works great! If your dog is small I wouldn't get it though, it is not a small device."
Review 11 for Lighted Retractable Dog Leash
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Night Walk Leach,
October 20, 2013
By: TravelerKML
from Saratoga Springs, NY
"With the days getting shorter walking my dog at night safely is a priority. This leash allows for that. The 3 settings are great and add an extra level of safety on the night walks. I wish the retractor was a little better but its still a great leash."