Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Classic Barn Coat

We already made it feel like yours. All you have to do is make it yours. Like a perfectly worn-in pair of jeans or those vintage boots you just can't give up, a barn coat is one of those items of apparel that, once you have one, seems to stay with you forever. Our rugged 6.6-oz. cotton canvas barn coat is garment washed for a broken-in quality and a fit that feels like it's been with you for years. Pure cotton corduroy collar and cuff lining, single chest pocket, two lower patch pockets. Two internal security pockets. In tobacco. Pure cotton shell, body lining, and trim. Polyester sleeve lining. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 30½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Barn Coat
Review 1 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Warmth AND Style,
November 18, 2014
By: JAHolmes
from Georgia, USA
"The coat was to replace an older worn Barn Coat I had had for 10 years! It looks great and keeps me very warm."
Review 2 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Classic Barn Coat,
November 14, 2014
By: PRed
from near Richmond, VA.
"I do not like to buy coats unless they are warm and I thought this one might not be. I was wrong, the lining is thick and soft, almost like flannel and the sleeve lining material is thick. The exterior is a strong enough weave to block off most wind effects, along with the thick lining. The buttons are easily used and the zipper pulls up very easily. The corduroy on the collar is very comfortable and a nice extra touch on the cuffs. The jacket fits well, but easily layered underneath, and because of the bi-swing back is very easy to move in and take on and off. It is a very soft jacket. This was a great purchase and even more so becuse the jacket is warm and looks good and such a great price. I would have given it 5 stars, but I do not like the buttons on the pockets or the fact there are no handwarmer pockets, but this is just personal choice."
Review 3 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as good as I hoped,
November 11, 2014
By: Pickyorviscustomer
from Madison, NJ
"The concept is good but the execution lacks something. The fit is OK but the material is not as substantial as others I have.. The lower side pockets are flimsy and poorly designed. The collar should be made of heavier stuff so it protects you when put up. I expected better from Orvis."
Review 4 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally!!!,
November 8, 2014
By: Swede1523
from Princeton, NJ
"I have purchased several other field/barn coats, only to return them, because they did not fit right (especially arm length) and/or were too heavy and stiff for everyday use. I'm sure that's fine for walking through a briar patch on an upland hunt, but, I don't need the jacket for that. This barn coat fits like it was tailored for me, is very comfortable, relatively light weight, and looks great. Nice work, Orvis!"
Review 5 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great coat!,
November 6, 2014
By: shyannezart
from Middleburg, FL
"First of all, I chose another jacket/coat by mistake. I got on Orvis chat with a representative who was not only courteous but efficient. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! The exchange was fluid and easy. The barn coat (5 stars review) was exactly what my bf wanted and shipped in record time. PERFECT-great quality material!...well worth the money. It is better than described!"
Review 6 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful coat,
November 4, 2014
By: Alabamabuck
from The Woodlands, Tx
"I buy just about everything from Orvis. The quality of the goods they sell and customer service is excellent. This coat is no different. Great jacket!"
Review 7 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable coat I own!,
November 3, 2014
By: wildjames
"Lightweight, warm and stylish combined with practicality.
Very pleased with purchase.
James Wild"
Review 8 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
October 14, 2014
By: Frank957
from Spring Branch, TX
"just the right coat for those Chilly Texas Mornings November thru January"
Review 9 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Barn Coat,
October 14, 2014
By: Bg4748
from Texas
"Bought this coat based upon a chat that I had with a Customer Rep. The dimensions of the 2XL coat that she gave me were clearly 3XL so I bought. When I received the coat and tried it on it was a horrible fit. Returned it for credit."
Review 10 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best on The Farm,
October 12, 2014
By: NavySeal
from Harrodsburg,Kentucky
"This coat has been the Best I have used on the Farm, Keeps warmth in and Rain out. I also looks good for casual wear...Thanks Orivis"
Review 11 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for.,
October 7, 2014
By: SeamusinAyr
from Ayr Michigan
"After scouring the shops looking for a good quality coat for casual wear on less than beautiful days I'd grown quite frustrated. So, I turned to my new friend online shopping. I perused several brands, read the reviews and decided that the Orvis Barn Coat was what I wanted. When it arrived it did not disappoint.
The quality, look and feel of the Coat are all outstanding. The cut is roomy enough to allow for layering, but not look frumpy without layering.
I could not be happier with this my first online Orvis purchase."
Review 12 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fall jacket,
September 24, 2014
By: Barry51
from Rhinebeck, NY
"Very well made, nice fitting jacket. Runs a bit large so there's room for layering. Unfortunately, I was looking for a winter jacket and this really doesn't fit the bill for upstate New York."
Review 13 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect order,
September 24, 2014
By: Tmday
from Tx
"This was my first item to order from Orvis so I didn't know what to expect. I have to say the coat is exactly want I wanted and the service was perfect as well. I will certainly buy from Orvis again in the future."
Review 14 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
December 7, 2013
By: JohnB1
"This coat is much more than I expected for the price. True fit. Very comfortable."
Review 15 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My son-in-law loves me!,
December 5, 2013
By: 33XX99
from East TN
"I gave this to my s-in-law as a replacement for his 20 yr old friend, a well worn and mended barn coat. He is very pleased with the fit, weight and pockets. Would be even better if the collar were leather."
Review 16 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Re: Barn Coat,
November 25, 2013
By: Expatriate
from Hermiston, Oregon
"This color of this coat is a lot darker than depicted on the website. Very misleading. Otherwise, it might be a good coat. I'll be returning this coat."
Review 17 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
October 28, 2013
By: DadRocks
from Corryton, TN
"Awesome barn coat, very soft and broken in out of the box. Worth the money!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 28, 2013
By: Montrealer
"One of my best purchase Ever. Very well done, excellent quality, good looking."
Review 19 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight jacket,
October 22, 2013
By: Brik
from AZ
"The jacket is very light and soft. Doesn't even feel like I'm wearing a jacket. I don't know how it would hold up to a lot of hard outdoors work, but it feels and looks great. The jacket is a bit darker brown than what is shown in the pictures."
Review 20 for Classic Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WARM & COMFY,
October 10, 2013
By: QUACKSnRACKS
from Fallon, NV
"As advertised. Very substantial but soft and comfortable."