Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket

Named after our historic shooting grounds in upstate New York, our wax cloth jacket embodies the sporting lifestyle in a handsome, functional piece of outerwear engineered for damp, chilly conditions. Crafted from our water-resistant wax cloth, it's trimmed with a corduroy collar and tailored with underarm gussets (not traditional side seams), which offer increased range of motion when reaching or shooting. A center front placket snaps securely over the full zip to keep wind and rain out. Other features include a removable hood, two upper handwarmer pockets, and two lower cargo pockets. Inside, there's one zip-close pocket, one snap-close pocket, and a larger pocket that easily accommodates a hat, gloves, or an electronic tablet. Lined with soft brushed twill, our jacket also features a zip system, which accepts our Sandanona Quilted Vest(shown zipped in above, item #8T8H is sold separately). Taffeta-lined sleeves provide easy on-and-off. Water-resistant waxed cotton/nylon shell. Polyester/rayon/spandex upper body lining. Nylon lower body lining, sleeve lining. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Review 1 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
October 15, 2014
By: AndyMcI
from Murfreesboro, TN
"I purchased this product given its light weight and water resistant properties and it's stood up to it's description. Great product, would recommend making the purchase."
Review 2 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 13, 2014
By: Hockman
from Norther NJ
"I tried a few others but none match up to this one for value, looks and comfort. Lighter than many others, keeps me comfortable and dry. I like the color too, different than most.
My size is usually Med, but in this I needed a large as that gave me enough room in the shoulders. If your shoulders are broad, go a size up. Very satisfied with this product and the price.
"
Review 3 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice jacket,
October 8, 2014
By: drbobo
from NY, NY
"Nice jacket. The fit is true to size and the rust color is nice. No problems."
Review 4 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional Jacket,
September 26, 2014
By: Louie08
from Greensboro NC
"Great cool weather jacket with room for layering when it gets colder. The waxed cloth is light and water repellent without being too stiff."
Review 5 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You will be Happy Jacket,
September 25, 2014
By: fruitedplain
from charleston, SC
"This is a terrific jacket currently at a terrific sale price. The photos don’t do the color justice; it’s a richer rust than I’d expected and you won’t be mistaken for a deer in the woods with this on. Workmanship and functionality are excellent… every pocket you can want is there: the inside breast pocket may have been intended for a glass case, but my smart phone goes there. And it’s cozy-comfortable too.
Have to mention Orvis Customer Service: flawless. I did a size exchange, found a small defect (broken snap) on the replacement, and a phone call had a no-questions replacement on its way to me immediately.
"
Review 6 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and dry,
September 25, 2014
By: MrSteven
from Lincoln, NE
"I wore this fly fishing this Fall and was kept warm in the early mornings. Although I didn't see any rain, it was resistant to any water that was splashed around and it seems like it would do well in at least a light rain. I like the style, color, and fit. I usually wear Medium in most things and the Medium here is perfect."
Review 7 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't normally write reviews,
September 25, 2014
By: Nallytwo
"I read the details, bought the jacket. The day after it arrived, it rained. It more than lived up to my expectations. Definitely worth the money I paid."
Review 8 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket,
September 24, 2014
By: BumperT
from Kingston, ON
"Just received this jacket and wore it only once. Seems well made and is good looking. There was no tall sizes and so I find the arms a slight bit short (am 6"2")."
Review 9 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice jacket.,
September 24, 2014
By: EMOHM
from Houston, Tx.
"Very well made, (as most ORVIS products). Large was a perfect fit for me, I am 6 ft. tall and 170 lbs.). Brick color, (dull, not shiny)."
Review 10 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
September 24, 2014
By: BRSCOLASC
from Columbia, SC
"Fits perfectly and is very comfortable. I appreciate the fact that you get a hood whereas with other brands you have to purchase the hood separately."
Review 11 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
September 23, 2014
By: eastmann
from Seoul, Korea
"Versatile and Superior Design.
Thanks Orvis.
From Seoul, Korea.
"
Review 12 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
couldn't be happier,
September 2, 2014
By: riverharry
from northern new jersey
"this is the first time i've ever written a review, but this jacket deserves one. it's a great coat and the rust color is beautiful. i always buy my jackets a size larger because i like to layer and i like the room, and this fits perfectly. there will always be fans of the barbour jacket, but it's always felt too heavy for me. this coat with it's plaid lining is the perfect weight, and is going to work for me in fall and winter. just a great looking jacket."
Review 13 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional - great looking,
August 28, 2014
By: SMAP
from Traveler
"Looking forward to cold weather just to wear this coat."
Review 14 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wrong size,
June 17, 2014
By: robert60611
"I returned the jacket. The medium was too small and the large was too large."
Review 15 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another classic jacket,
June 5, 2014
By: olderguysrule
from Minnesota
"Got the jacket a few weeks back. It is perfect for spring and fall days and or the camping trip as it is lightly insulated. Quality is excellent and the size seems to as other Orvis jackets. That is if you got another jacket from Orvis, the size on this one should be similar. It may be a bit warm for the summer rain day, but I figured this to be the case when I purchased it so this is not a problem for me. Hey Orvis, where's the non insulated version?"
Review 16 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In fact does shed rain,
June 4, 2014
By: Elk246
from Philly, PA
"Contrary to well-intentioned previous review, wore in 45 minutes of moderate-to-heavy rain last week.Followed by light rain.
Dry as a bone inside.
Luxurious fabric. Great style. Awesome pocketing.True 5 star Orvis. Thanks.
"
Review 17 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite coat,
May 19, 2014
By: ChrisB4
from Worcester, MA
"This is a great looking and practical coat for travel and every day. It is long enough to cover a sport coat. It has nice pockets. Warm enough for to be useful for every season, with a warm sweater and sport coat in northern winters and open in the summer. It keeps you dry with a nice hood too."
Review 18 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Light Jacket,
May 15, 2014
By: KansasPete
from Lenexa, KS
"I've been coveting this jacket for a while after having seen it in a retail store, so when it went on sale I jumped on it.
First, the good:
It fits really well. I'm usually between XL & XXL and the XL is about the right fit.
The jacket is unlined, so it's lightweight. It's ideal for overcast, spring/fall days where it's windy, might rain and/or the high temperature is under 65. The hood is nice, as is the option to add some additional warmth with a zip-in vest.
The jacket provides decent protection from the elements, but when wearing it in a light, steady rain I did get wet, so don't plan on this serving as your rain jacket (as I had hoped to).
The materials and build quality seem to be top-notch. The cotton linings are soft and the wax cloth is sumptuous and gives a nice tactile experience.
So, overall this is a good looking jacket that is comfortable to wear & will serve you well in transitioning between more extreme temperatures."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice jacket,
December 24, 2013
By: MStreet
from Nashville, TN
"I typically wear a large but the cut of this jacket is too small so I'm exchanging it for an XL. Otherwise, this is a great product."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2