Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket

Named after our historic shooting grounds in upstate New York, our wax cloth jacket embodies the sporting lifestyle in a handsome, functional piece of outerwear engineered for damp, chilly conditions. Crafted from our water-resistant wax cloth, it's trimmed with a corduroy collar and tailored with underarm gussets (not traditional side seams), which offer increased range of motion when reaching or shooting. A center front placket snaps securely over the full zip to keep wind and rain out. Other features include a removable hood, two upper handwarmer pockets, and two lower cargo pockets. Inside, there's one zip-close pocket, one snap-close pocket, and a larger pocket that easily accommodates a hat, gloves, or an electronic tablet. Lined with soft brushed twill, our jacket also features a zip system. Taffeta-lined sleeves provide easy on-and-off. Water-resistant waxed cotton/nylon shell. Polyester/rayon/spandex upper body lining. Nylon lower body lining, sleeve lining. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
28 of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Review 1 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket,
November 27, 2014
By: RidgeRunner3
from SW PA.
"If you are expecting a waxed cotton coat similar to Barbour, Partridge, or Lewis you will be very disappointed.
Not at all comparable. Guess you get what you pay for. Might be an ok coat, if you like GI green and noisy
"
Review 2 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat at Great Price!,
November 27, 2014
By: hjmck
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I was looking for a less expensive alternative to a Barbour coat. I love Barbours and own two, but they are expensive. The Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket fit the bill perfectly. It is the perfect weight for all but the coldest days, and can be outfitted with the zip in vest to add warmth if desired. Orvis does it again!"
Review 3 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DISAPPOINTED,
November 26, 2014
By: BENNO
"Coat looks great, but sleeves run short (and I am not "lanky")---also, I have had trouble getting the zipper to "engage"---often takes several tries to get it to work---doesn't seem like typical Orvis quality"
Review 4 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 24, 2014
By: SCEDC
from Upstate, SC
"I purchased this jacket on sale and it's a great purchase. I also ordered the Heritage Field Coat which is great! This jacket feels a little lighter weight, which is what I wanted...it will be nice when the weather is not cold enough to warrant the heavier Heritage. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because, to me, the material has more of a "microfiber" feel instead of a "waxed" feel...that may just be me (?) It is an awesome jacket though! I'm average build...5'11" and 175 lb, and a size M fits just right."
Review 5 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good not great,
November 14, 2014
By: Deerhunter243
from Shropshire England gods country
"Good coat for every day use but not for shooting I purchased coat for shooting but not up to that but kept it because in is great for every day winter use"
Review 6 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets a need,
November 11, 2014
By: GrizG
"This jacket filled a hole in my wardrobe in that it provides protection and warmth for those chilly, breezy, damp fall days that I encounter here in the Catskills and Hudson Valley. I expect it will serve the role well in the spring and into the future as it appears to be well made."
Review 7 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Water Resistant?,
October 28, 2014
By: Spinndrift
from Seattle, WA
"Calling this jacket water resistant is a bit of a stretch, even a light rain here in the Pacific Northwest quickly soaks through. Do not buy this handsome jacket thinking it will keep you dry because it surely won't."
Review 8 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat for Outdoors,
October 23, 2014
By: Sandil
from Oklahoma
"Coat was wonderful except arms were too short in the 2XL size."
Review 9 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Excellent if you are not too tall,
October 21, 2014
By: LordKeegan
from Wisconsin
"I love the quality and the features of the coat. Unfortunately, I am 6" 2" tall and the sleeve length was way too short. The jacket does not come in a tall size, so, I could not keep the jacket."
Review 10 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shoulda kept it,
October 21, 2014
By: midq41
from upper midwest
"Fine fit, color, Orvis quality. Returned it cause headed to England and thought might find something there. Did not so will reconsider purchasing again!"
Review 11 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
October 15, 2014
By: AndyMcI
from Murfreesboro, TN
"I purchased this product given its light weight and water resistant properties and it's stood up to it's description. Great product, would recommend making the purchase."
Review 12 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 13, 2014
By: Hockman
from Norther NJ
"I tried a few others but none match up to this one for value, looks and comfort. Lighter than many others, keeps me comfortable and dry. I like the color too, different than most.
My size is usually Med, but in this I needed a large as that gave me enough room in the shoulders. If your shoulders are broad, go a size up. Very satisfied with this product and the price.
"
Review 13 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice jacket,
October 8, 2014
By: drbobo
from NY, NY
"Nice jacket. The fit is true to size and the rust color is nice. No problems."
Review 14 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional Jacket,
September 26, 2014
By: Louie08
from Greensboro NC
"Great cool weather jacket with room for layering when it gets colder. The waxed cloth is light and water repellent without being too stiff."
Review 15 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You will be Happy Jacket,
September 25, 2014
By: fruitedplain
from charleston, SC
"This is a terrific jacket currently at a terrific sale price. The photos don’t do the color justice; it’s a richer rust than I’d expected and you won’t be mistaken for a deer in the woods with this on. Workmanship and functionality are excellent… every pocket you can want is there: the inside breast pocket may have been intended for a glass case, but my smart phone goes there. And it’s cozy-comfortable too.
Have to mention Orvis Customer Service: flawless. I did a size exchange, found a small defect (broken snap) on the replacement, and a phone call had a no-questions replacement on its way to me immediately.
"
Review 16 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and dry,
September 25, 2014
By: MrSteven
from Lincoln, NE
"I wore this fly fishing this Fall and was kept warm in the early mornings. Although I didn't see any rain, it was resistant to any water that was splashed around and it seems like it would do well in at least a light rain. I like the style, color, and fit. I usually wear Medium in most things and the Medium here is perfect."
Review 17 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't normally write reviews,
September 25, 2014
By: Nallytwo
"I read the details, bought the jacket. The day after it arrived, it rained. It more than lived up to my expectations. Definitely worth the money I paid."
Review 18 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket,
September 24, 2014
By: BumperT
from Kingston, ON
"Just received this jacket and wore it only once. Seems well made and is good looking. There was no tall sizes and so I find the arms a slight bit short (am 6"2")."
Review 19 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice jacket.,
September 24, 2014
By: EMOHM
from Houston, Tx.
"Very well made, (as most ORVIS products). Large was a perfect fit for me, I am 6 ft. tall and 170 lbs.). Brick color, (dull, not shiny)."
Review 20 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
September 24, 2014
By: BRSCOLASC
from Columbia, SC
"Fits perfectly and is very comfortable. I appreciate the fact that you get a hood whereas with other brands you have to purchase the hood separately."