Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket

Named after our historic shooting grounds in upstate New York, our wax cloth jacket embodies the sporting lifestyle in a handsome, functional piece of outerwear engineered for damp, chilly conditions. Crafted from our water-resistant wax cloth, it's trimmed with a corduroy collar and tailored with underarm gussets (not traditional side seams), which offer increased range of motion when reaching or shooting. A center front placket snaps securely over the full zip to keep wind and rain out. Other features include a removable hood, two upper handwarmer pockets, and two lower cargo pockets. Inside, there's one zip-close pocket, one snap-close pocket, and a larger pocket that easily accommodates a hat, gloves, or an electronic tablet. Lined with soft brushed twill, our jacket also features a zip system, which accepts our Sandanona Quilted Vest(shown zipped in above, item #8T8H is sold separately). Taffeta-lined sleeves provide easy on-and-off. Water-resistant waxed cotton/nylon shell. Polyester/cotton upper body lining. Nylon lower body lining, sleeve lining. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Review 1 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barbour like in Features / Quality,
October 7, 2014
By: TahoeCaliGuy
from Tahoe Area - Northern CA
"It's an Orvis, not a Barbour branded coat, but it is still a great product, and the right weight for the climate I live in -- near north Tahoe. It's a lighter weight wax-cloth jacket, without all the bulk of built-in padding. This makes its climate range much wider than a basic winter coat. I also really like how it's built, and just the way it looks - not too angry, but not too passive either. Just the right attitude! Get it - you won't regret it - and if you do... it's Orvis... so just return it. Thanks guys/gals at Orvis. P.S. I'm usually an XL, and I got an L - and it's fine (5-11, 200#)."
Review 2 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket,
September 18, 2014
By: KGRaleigh
from Raleigh,NC
"Navy coat will be my go to outer jacket this winter. Lots of pockets inside and out, love the slash hand warmer pockets, good looking coat."
Review 3 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Need Tall Sizes!!!,
September 12, 2014
By: JonBerk
"Beautiful jacket! Absolute comfort and style. But I had to take it back because the sleeves were too short! Orvis, I'm sure you tabulate size data from catalog orders but if you're going to survive as a company longer than 50 years, you're going to have to go taller. Average male heights are increasing."
Review 4 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect long jacket,
July 27, 2014
By: JerryMander
from Panther City, Texas
"This is a very nice jacket, the fit and finish are top notch. I couldn't be happier with the quality of the material and the hardware, Zippers and snaps are substanial and appear ready for years of good service. The jacket is lightweight, not for the coldest weather but will be perfect for the Texas climate, wet and windy in the fall and spring. The XXL fit is just right for me; 6'4 225 lbs"
Review 5 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't leave home without an umbrella,
December 23, 2013
By: normanv
"Love the jacket but got caught in moderate rainfall and the jacket soaked through in several places in less than 10 minutes."
Review 6 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well done Orvis,
December 16, 2013
By: JM3RD
from Canberra, Australia
"Well done, Orvis. I recently bought a Sandanona wax cloth jacket only to discover that one of the press stud buttons on the rear flap fell apart on the first attempt to undo it. I wrote to Orvis asking for a replacement button. Just last week Orvis wrote back saying they were not satisfied with the quality of the press stud buttons on these jackets - and would replace mine free of charge. Today they wrote saying the replacement was on its way.
This is fantastic and generous customer service and a totally unexpected response to a minor issue.
Again, well done Orvis. Great work - and thank you, sincerely.
"
Review 7 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite coat!,
December 11, 2013
By: Larry2
from Wyncote, PA
"Great coat! I have used it continuously in all kinds of weather until the recent snow/cold snap - need to get the vest liner.
Quality product an it looks good as well.
L. Veit"
Review 8 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Coat,
October 14, 2013
By: Flydaddy
from Kentucky
"I ordered an extra large to make sure I had sufficient room to wear a sweater under the coat. The coat runs a little small, so that was a good call. I like the flexibility of the removable hood."
Review 9 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Questionable Purchase,
October 1, 2013
By: designmann
from Boston, MA
"This was not what I expected from the picture in Orvis catalogue. I was rather shocked that this coat appears to be so very light instead of a medium weight coat and an extremely highly wrinkled product. Very disappointing in that I have hung it up for four days, and it is still very wrinkled. It does not look like the quality of the product shown. If it it does not have some reasonable warmth, I will be asking for my money back."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 9, 2013
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review—these hard-working folks are always striving to improve our products and comments such as these help guide that process. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any purchase; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis items.
We also feature the Sandanona Quilted Vest #8T8H ;which may be layered for added warmth.
Review 10 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost a Five,
September 28, 2013
By: OrvisStuffAddict
from NY
"First ... I really love this jacket. I especially like the right-sided inside sunglass/clip-on pocket, along with the wealth and variety of other pockets, as well. The removability of the hood makes it even more comfortable than it is to begin with. But --- here's the minus-star --- I find the armholes a bit snug with a sweater underneath. Other Orvis items have larger armholes, and this is not designed as a super-warm garment, but as a shell or reasonably semi-warm jacket. And --- there is no waist drawstring, but that's a minor point on this beautiful piece. All in all, this is a hugely comfortable and flexible outer garment --- and I'll probably be wearing it more than anything else this Fall and Winter ... especially with the wax cloth shearling vest. (Let's see ... that's thirteen pockets in all!) Love it!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1