Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket

Named after our historic shooting grounds in upstate New York, our wax cloth jacket embodies the sporting lifestyle in a handsome, functional piece of outerwear engineered for damp, chilly conditions. Crafted from our water-resistant wax cloth, it's trimmed with a corduroy collar and tailored with underarm gussets (not traditional side seams), which offer increased range of motion when reaching or shooting. A center front placket snaps securely over the full zip to keep wind and rain out. Other features include a removable hood, two upper handwarmer pockets, and two lower cargo pockets. Inside, there's one zip-close pocket, one snap-close pocket, and a larger pocket that easily accommodates a hat, gloves, or an electronic tablet. Lined with soft brushed twill, our jacket also features a zip system, which accepts our Sandanona Quilted Vest(shown zipped in above, item #8T8H is sold separately). Taffeta-lined sleeves provide easy on-and-off. Water-resistant waxed cotton/nylon shell. Polyester/cotton upper body lining. Nylon lower body lining, sleeve lining. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Review 1 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket,
February 28, 2015
By: DoktorTomek
from Warszawa, Poland
"Very good jacket. The materials as well as workmanship are outstanding. They look and perform really well. The only caveat is that the sleeves are a bit too short for people with a more slender body type."
Review 2 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Jacket,
February 26, 2015
By: mlk4
from Monterey, CA
"I have only worn the jacket a couple of times since I got it and really like it. Each time I have worn it, friends have asked where I got it. It has not rained since I received the jacket, so I do not know how waterproof it is. If that is a problem, it is easy to fix with a coat of wax dressing."
Review 3 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value,
February 21, 2015
By: buck2335
from mattapoisett, MA
"Well made with excellent fit for all activities. Rain repellant in bad weather. Pockets well placed and good storage."
Review 4 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
February 19, 2015
By: KCBrian
from Kansas City, MO
"The fit of this jacket is perfect for me. It might be a bit funny on some people, but on my 6'1", 200lb, short-armed frame, a large is great. I've received quite a few compliments both times I've worn it out. It's definitely not a winter jacket, but it's easy to add a layer or two. Quality of construction seems to be very high. I would highly recommend this jacket."
Review 5 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Looking Jacket I have Ever Owned,
January 31, 2015
By: Chambless
from Pelham, Ga.
"If you want a Awesome Looking Jacket you must have a Sandanona!!!"
Review 6 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
correct a problem,
January 15, 2015
By: Bobbirdman
"I am happy with this jacket except for the fact that the liner vest (#8T8H) does not attach to the neck of the jacket. The sales woman at the store was a little perplexed by this also. Having the vest is a good idea because it extends the season of the jacket. Better yet would be a liner coat with sleeves. The liner vest seems to be an afterthought and I would like it replaced with one that connects to the loop in the neck of the jacket."
Review 7 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket, Excellent Value,
January 5, 2015
By: DavyT1231
from Texas
"This jacket has been a quality purchase and is perfect for multiple weather conditions (i.e. Cold, Rain, Snow). The detachable hood is a great feature if you prefer wearing a jacket without a hood when the temperature doesn't quite require one. This has been such a great purchase that I am considering purchasing another one as a gift for another member of the family!"
Review 8 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not weather resistant at all,
December 31, 2014
By: JimCee
"Let me first state this coat is extremely well made. It has pockets galore inside and out. I love the look of it so it pains me to say that it is not weather resistant at all.
I took it on a trip to Normandy France. the weather was a mix of mist and some rain. I got thoroughly soaked even in the mist. When I went tot he beaches there was a lot of wind with rain. I was drenched.
I gave it 3 stars to the nature of its manufacturing. I love the coat but don't ever depend on it to keep you dry in even the lightest of rain."
Review 9 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barbour like in Features / Quality,
October 7, 2014
By: TahoeCaliGuy
from Tahoe Area - Northern CA
"It's an Orvis, not a Barbour branded coat, but it is still a great product, and the right weight for the climate I live in -- near north Tahoe. It's a lighter weight wax-cloth jacket, without all the bulk of built-in padding. This makes its climate range much wider than a basic winter coat. I also really like how it's built, and just the way it looks - not too angry, but not too passive either. Just the right attitude! Get it - you won't regret it - and if you do... it's Orvis... so just return it. Thanks guys/gals at Orvis. P.S. I'm usually an XL, and I got an L - and it's fine (5-11, 200#)."
Review 10 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket,
September 18, 2014
By: KGRaleigh
from Raleigh,NC
"Navy coat will be my go to outer jacket this winter. Lots of pockets inside and out, love the slash hand warmer pockets, good looking coat."
Review 11 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Need Tall Sizes!!!,
September 12, 2014
By: JonBerk
"Beautiful jacket! Absolute comfort and style. But I had to take it back because the sleeves were too short! Orvis, I'm sure you tabulate size data from catalog orders but if you're going to survive as a company longer than 50 years, you're going to have to go taller. Average male heights are increasing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect long jacket,
July 27, 2014
By: JerryMander
from Panther City, Texas
"This is a very nice jacket, the fit and finish are top notch. I couldn't be happier with the quality of the material and the hardware, Zippers and snaps are substanial and appear ready for years of good service. The jacket is lightweight, not for the coldest weather but will be perfect for the Texas climate, wet and windy in the fall and spring. The XXL fit is just right for me; 6'4 225 lbs"
Review 13 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't leave home without an umbrella,
December 23, 2013
By: normanv
"Love the jacket but got caught in moderate rainfall and the jacket soaked through in several places in less than 10 minutes."
Review 14 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well done Orvis,
December 16, 2013
By: JM3RD
from Canberra, Australia
"Well done, Orvis. I recently bought a Sandanona wax cloth jacket only to discover that one of the press stud buttons on the rear flap fell apart on the first attempt to undo it. I wrote to Orvis asking for a replacement button. Just last week Orvis wrote back saying they were not satisfied with the quality of the press stud buttons on these jackets - and would replace mine free of charge. Today they wrote saying the replacement was on its way.
This is fantastic and generous customer service and a totally unexpected response to a minor issue.
Again, well done Orvis. Great work - and thank you, sincerely.
"
Review 15 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite coat!,
December 11, 2013
By: Larry2
from Wyncote, PA
"Great coat! I have used it continuously in all kinds of weather until the recent snow/cold snap - need to get the vest liner.
Quality product an it looks good as well.
L. Veit"
Review 16 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Coat,
October 14, 2013
By: Flydaddy
from Kentucky
"I ordered an extra large to make sure I had sufficient room to wear a sweater under the coat. The coat runs a little small, so that was a good call. I like the flexibility of the removable hood."
Review 17 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Questionable Purchase,
October 1, 2013
By: designmann
from Boston, MA
"This was not what I expected from the picture in Orvis catalogue. I was rather shocked that this coat appears to be so very light instead of a medium weight coat and an extremely highly wrinkled product. Very disappointing in that I have hung it up for four days, and it is still very wrinkled. It does not look like the quality of the product shown. If it it does not have some reasonable warmth, I will be asking for my money back."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 9, 2013
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review—these hard-working folks are always striving to improve our products and comments such as these help guide that process. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any purchase; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis items.
We also feature the Sandanona Quilted Vest #8T8H ;which may be layered for added warmth.
Review 18 for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost a Five,
September 28, 2013
By: OrvisStuffAddict
from NY
"First ... I really love this jacket. I especially like the right-sided inside sunglass/clip-on pocket, along with the wealth and variety of other pockets, as well. The removability of the hood makes it even more comfortable than it is to begin with. But --- here's the minus-star --- I find the armholes a bit snug with a sweater underneath. Other Orvis items have larger armholes, and this is not designed as a super-warm garment, but as a shell or reasonably semi-warm jacket. And --- there is no waist drawstring, but that's a minor point on this beautiful piece. All in all, this is a hugely comfortable and flexible outer garment --- and I'll probably be wearing it more than anything else this Fall and Winter ... especially with the wax cloth shearling vest. (Let's see ... that's thirteen pockets in all!) Love it!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sandanona Wax Cloth Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1