Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater

Once a thick, homespun tweed woven by peasants in Donegal, Ireland, Donegal now refers to wool with colorful irregularities, or slubs, woven into the fabric. Our sweater, a classic V-neck crafted in pure lambswool blended with nylon for added durability, was intentionally left simple, allowing the rich texture and color to take center stage. Rib trim at the collar, cuffs, and hem. Lambswool/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
June 3, 2014
By: Kransk
from Minneapolis MN
"Beautiful sweater - good workmanship and design - perfect fit!"
Review 2 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donegal Wool Sweater,
April 4, 2014
By: Robertrmpls
from Minneapolis, MN
"Nice and heavy with a softness woven into the fabric. Good fit and handsome tweed design.
The olive base and flecks of color make this sweater go with many outfits. A fair price, even better on sale.
"
Review 3 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it!,
March 25, 2014
By: Swami
"Love this sweater, runs small, usually wear XL but XXL fit perfect"
Review 4 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Purchase!!,
March 1, 2014
By: 6420Bill2
from Towson, MD
"I had to buy XLARGE, but I made a shrink wash, and it fits GREAT!! 2XX WARM!!! I would buy another if I could get another COLOR!!"
Review 5 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice sweater,
February 28, 2014
By: Granpa
from Palm Springs, CA
"This is a very nice casual sweater. A review that I read before I bought it said that it would not be loose fitting and it isn't, but it is soft and still fits nicely over a shirt. Mine is tan and it has little flecks of color in it. I didn't see that in the picture, but I like it because it is easy to match most any shirt color with it."
Review 6 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old home week.,
February 11, 2014
By: Crappa
from Michigan
"Gorgeous sweater...understated and just like Grandma Mac would bring home from her holidays in Nova Scotia marketed by Dunn and Co. from Donegal. The blend gives a softer hand. I see they are on sale and in this case, two will no doubt prove better than the one."
Review 7 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater,
February 10, 2014
By: BPG2014
from Cleveland, OH
"This was a good purchase. The sweater is durable as well as very handsome. I wear size XL and the sweater fits over shirts just the way I prefer. The sleeves also are at the right length - I stand about 5 '11" arms 34-35L. The coloration from the stitching is a nice touch. Not loud yet subtly attractive."
Review 8 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
February 8, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"This is a gorgeous sweater. Great colors and great look."
Review 9 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Good Looking,
February 7, 2014
By: Lonnie1985
from Dayton, OH
"Okay, I never write reviews. Why bother? Well, this sweater looks so good, fits so well and is very WARM, I just had to say something. This winter is way too cold; I love my new sweater."
Review 10 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 7, 2014
By: BigSkyGuy
from Colorado
"Absolutely a winner...I ordered 2 more, in the other available colors."
Review 11 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love it but size problem,
January 27, 2014
By: MaryinChi
from Chicago IL
"love the sweater - feel, look, weight - but the medium size was too big so it had to go back. It is certainly generously sized. Unfortunately it doesn't come in small so my husband is out of luck."
Review 12 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy sweater,
January 25, 2014
By: Jtoo
from Memphis, TN
"Bought the olive color at the local Orvis store. A substantial sweater without it being too heavy. Fits very well, works with a lot of shirt colors. I have enjoyed it so much I was given the vanilla color by my wife as a birthday present. Get one!"
Review 13 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Gift,
January 5, 2014
By: PosseScout
from High Deserts in N.M.
"I got the grey with the flecks of grey, yellow, green, etc. Very nice weight, looks to be of solid construction.
I have used it under my waxed jacket for barn chores and riding horses in very cool weather.
Fit is perfect.
We'll see if the quality is as we have to come to expect from Orvis. As it's very comfortable, I expect to wear it out.
So far, it's perfect.
"
Review 14 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Successful Christmas Present,
January 1, 2014
By: GeniaXenia
"A very nice sweater. Not only did my husband really like it, but one of my sons tried it on and looked envious."
Review 15 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better in person,
December 31, 2013
By: DrBigthrust
from Charlottesville, VA
"I picked this sweater up in my local Orvis store. When I saw the olive color version of the sweater I had to have it. It is thick, soft and well made. The fit is spot on too. This sweater is much better in person."
Review 16 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Comfortable Sweater,
December 27, 2013
By: STLAngler
from St. Louis, MO
"I received this sweater for Christmas and couldn't be happier. The material is soft and surprisingly warm for the weight. The online picture doesn't do the sweater justice. The colors are deeper and more vibrant than they appear online. High quality product; very pleased. I will be ordering a second one in a different color."
Review 17 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater,
December 19, 2013
By: alh55
from Hagerstown, MD
"Very good quality, soft, great for in office, love it"
Review 18 for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Irish sweater,
December 11, 2013
By: det2528
from Cherry Log, GA
"So far I have only worn the sweater once but, I'm confused as this is suppose to be a sweater," home woven by peasants in Donegal, Ireland but the label says made in 'Mauritius'. What's with that?."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Donegal Wool Blend V-Neck Sweater
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3