Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket

As flattering as it is toasty, this shapely boiled wool jacket will be a mainstay of cool-weather layering for years to come without missing a style beat. V-neck. Four-button placket. Slightly curved hem. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Review 1 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sweater alternative,
July 4, 2014
By: Cheney
from Deep South
"This unlined jacket is an interesting option if you're tired of sweaters. Its casual, very warm. Sleeve is long enough to fold up. I chose the graham cracker/oak leaf color which will look good with mustard, brown, brown-green, rich blue, even turquoise shades which happen to be my favorites. Like the option of having a stand collar jacket in my wardrobe."
Review 2 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Sizing,
May 14, 2014
By: Scootiegarden
"A beautiful jacket, but buy a size smaller than you would normally wear!"
Review 3 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Fit is Fabulous,
April 8, 2014
By: TxRuby
from Fort Worth, TX
"The garment's fit is regal and earned it five stars; the craftmanship is a bit crude compared with typical Orvis standards, a fault costing it one star. The bronze color, however, is perplexing. I vascillate between loving its olive-drab tone which duplicates the color of my father's WWII dress Army uniform and disliking its unflattering greenish cast against the skin. I'm still on the fence regarding its disposition."
Review 4 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poorly Made,
March 3, 2014
By: JC2710
from Montana
"The seam on the front of the jacket was crooked and gave the jacket an odd shape. Additionally the buttons had been reset and no one took the time to remove the thread from the prior setting and left on the chalk marks. It never should have been allowed to be sent out."
Review 5 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Jacket,
January 17, 2014
By: Marji
"The jacket was everything I expected. I order things from Orvis because I know the quality will be exceptional. In fact I am still wearing a navy blue full-length boiled wool coat which I ordered from you folks probably 20 years ago."
Review 6 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Boiled wool red jacket,
December 31, 2013
By: pratibha
from bay area, CA
"Color was great! Weight of the jacket was good too. Detailing was not there; it had an odd fit at the bottom front center, one panel longer than another. Length could have been a little longer, also.
Returned it.
"
Review 7 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not what I need,
December 14, 2013
By: Margiegirl
from Central VT
"Beautiful jacket, wonderful color but not something I would use that much so I sent it back"
Review 8 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice jacket,
December 10, 2013
By: cuteclothes
from Alexandria, VA
"After reading the only review of this jacket and it was negative I decided not to order. Orvis then offered me free shipping and I decided to go ahead and try it out. So glad I did! I ordered the jacket in the bronze color and love it. The fabric is thinner than expected so it is more like a sweater than a jacket, but that makes it more drape-able and more forgiving of my curves. I love the length. I am petite and usually wear a size 4 or 6 petite in a jacket so ordered the XS in regular since it did not come in petite size. I really am very delighted with this purchase. If it came in other colours I wore I would order another."
Review 9 for Boiled Wool V-Neck Shaped Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not quality,
November 26, 2013
By: CincyAunt
from Cincy, Oh
"The boiled wool V necked shaped jacket was thin. Not lined and fit poorly. I was disappointed as it looked so nice on line. I did return it"