Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams

Go ahead and share the bed with your dog-we've got it covered. Our lightest dog-proof bedding ever, designed to stay in place to protect your bedding from dirt, pet hair and moisture, but not weigh you down when it comes to washing. This reversible coverlet has a sturdy polyester corduroy weave on one side and a water-resistant coating in camel on the other side. Matching shams are all corduroy with envelope-style opening on back. Shams sold separately. Coverlet has camel on reverse. Polyester. Washable. Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
60 of 68(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Review 1 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
February 16, 2015
By: DogMom76
"I bought this to protect the duvet on our bed so that we wouldn't have to wash it so often. It's a total pain getting the duvet back into the cover. We had just been using an old flat sheet, which worked for its intended purpose, but required a lot of adjusting as it would move and eventually, it just got holes in it so we needed something more durable. This coverlet has worked well protecting the bed from dog hair and moisture. We have 2 large dogs (70+ pounds). Ours don't have accidents in the bed, but they do drool or have the occasional runny nose. The color I ordered was the best option for our décor, but I wouldn't say I really like it. I wouldn't say this coverlet is reversible either. There is definitely one side that looks like it should be the top and it isn't the softest so I would never lay on it just reading or watching TV. Overall, it does what I wanted it to do and appears to be pretty durable, which is good since it's a bit pricey. The aesthetics are secondary to me."
Review 2 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog proof Bed..!!,
February 13, 2015
By: Heap
from Lynchburg, Va
"My yorkie has a medical problem that keeps her from being able to hold her urine quite often..!! Now Sammy is back in bed with me and we both love it..!! What a blessing to have found this cover....thank you Orvis..!!!"
Review 3 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No doubts,
February 8, 2015
By: Djahouli
from Herefordshire, England
"Great product. Has a quality feel. The waterproofing in it gives it a feel of leather, yet it's a soft micro cord on both sides. Considering it's thickness, it's really warm. It's not heavy but it's heavy enough to stay in position.
The dogs love it. Hair doesn't stick to it and my bed is clean.
Initially thought it may be overpriced but I wouldn't be without it now.
"
Review 4 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
life saver,
February 4, 2015
By: physicsprof
from Columbus, Ohio
"I'm online just now to order another of these. I had one dog decide to wet on the bed one day, and it never got to the bed. I found things with a good-sized puddle right in the middle. I just threw an old towel into the mess, rolled up the coverlet and went straight to the washing machine. It gets heavy when wet, and requires a bit of patience to dry as it rolls up in the dryer, and requires turning frequently and running through several cycles on delicate. Best buy in town."
Review 5 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bed Coverlet,
January 29, 2015
By: Thoytpt
"This coverlet has worked very well in protecting the underlying bed linens. It's not too heavy, but protects well."
Review 6 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
disaster in teh laundry,
January 21, 2015
By: AbbySchuylerMillie
from dwight, IL
"the coverlet itself is fine, but my Lab mix and 2 setters have clawed through every one and we're on our 3rd one...the laundering is a HUGE problem as the front and back are NOT stitched together and separate in the wash and especially in the dryer....Now the quilted version like the couch coverlets is FINE, but the other one I have cut the front and backing apart and just use the top portion and YES there are very warm, so you won't need an extra blanket underneath.....I just wish they were quilted together like the heavier one and I would order another.......very pricey to have to re-make them..........
ONLY thing WE have EVER been disappointed with from ORVIS......the quilted ones are GREAT and the quilted couch cover is great....mine pull it off, but that's not the fault of the cover, but then again it could have restraining straps to secure it around the furniture....just an idea......
"
Review 7 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PURCHASE!,
January 7, 2015
By: Ememe
from Rhinebeck, NY
"easy to wash and dry, lightweight, and covers entire bed!"
Review 8 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Real Problem-Solver,
December 16, 2014
By: AzLabLady
"I love this bed cover. It catches most of the dog hair and keeps the linens clean. In short, it works as described!"
Review 9 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just OK,
December 16, 2014
By: FLBeagleMOM
"This cover was not really what I was expecting, but it will do the job. My only big complaint is trying to dry it after washing. It kept getting twisted into a giant knot, over and over again, and took way too long to completely dry."
Review 10 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second one and that's a good thing,
December 13, 2014
By: CieloDiBend
from Central Oregon
"This is the second set we have owned. We have an older set in a powder blue that has served us well. In fact it's been washed many times and looks no worse for the wear it has had.
We have 3 Standard Poodle who are allowed to sleep on the bed. We recently did a bit of remodeling and needed a different color.
This set is an improvement over the past .
1. The color is much more vibrant. The first set was a bit muted.
2. There fabric is reversible to a tan, although I seriously doubt we will ever reverse. It does make a nice contrasting color.
3. It seems like it will shed water. Nice, especially if the poodles get the zoomies and jump on the bed after a bath!
4. It fits nicely. It could have been a bit longer, but in reality it's just fine.
5. It is much lighter weight than our former cover. It is very comfortable and manageable for it's size.
About the shams. These are MUCH nicer than the old ones which we had 4 of. Three fit perfectly across a king size bed. We also have two pillows in a contrasting color used with the shams."
Review 11 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
December 7, 2014
By: Bthdoc
from Northbrook,IL
"Finally a product that was as specified. Protects my bed. Light. Goes on top of comforter. Washable. Thank you so much for knowing dogs and their owners needs"
Review 12 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Met Expectations,
November 21, 2014
By: CRHillmann
"the sheet is a tad hot for me to be sleep under ... BUT ... the border collie dog hairs (when the pups get to sneak up on the bed) on the sheet .. just shake off .. AWESOME"
Review 13 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coverlet,
November 3, 2014
By: DonnaMZ
from Fort Collins, Co.
"This coverlet has been the answer to our new puppy's habit of chewing holes in pillowcases and sheets. The puppy would get past the lacy bedcovering to get to the sheets and pillowcases. We took off the "pretty, white, lace bed covering and replaced it will the bark colored coverlet. No more chewed pillowcases and sheets. For whatever reason, puppy leaves it alone. Thank you Orvis, once again!"
Review 14 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Protection,
October 22, 2014
By: LuvthePets
from Minnesota
"The coverlet is great protection for my precious handmade quilts. It is nice to have the quilt on the bed but still protected from 2 German Shepherds and a semi wild cat. The only advice I would give is be aware the coverlet is heavy and warm. In the summer it may be all you need over the sheets."
Review 15 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doggie Bedding,
October 21, 2014
By: MePoochie
from Jackson, MI
"Loving this coverlet. It keeps wet and dog hair off your comforter and sheets. Shake it out in the morning and back on bed it goes.....keeps remaining bedding nice and clean."
Review 16 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it!,
October 15, 2014
By: Frisco42
from Noblesville, IN
"This is exactly what I was looking for in a cover for my bed. Since I have 2 hounds that like to sleep with me, this cover does the job keeping hair, dirt and wet paws off my bedding. I also love how light it is too."
Review 17 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
October 10, 2014
By: frankandstan
"Have 2 residences, now have 2 dog-proof covers. Durable product and comfortable. A win-win all the way."
Review 18 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
September 6, 2014
By: LynneL
from Littleton, MA
"I love this coverlet. I've had it for about a year now. Our dog gets on the bed daily and she tends to use it as a platform to initiate play, so she digs right in with the claws. The coverlet looks brand new, despite this and despite being washed at least five times. I tried drying it in the dryer once - never again, as it twists upon itself quite tightly. Now i just drape it for a day or two and it looks just perfect.
One thing that I hadn't expected but really like is that it isn't a comforter; there is no filling to move around or get flat. It's simply two pieces of rugged mini-corduroy neatly pieced, with perfect piping for lining up the edges of the bed. Another thing I like is that it is monochromatic, which allows me to put pattern elsewhere in the room without making it too busy."
Review 19 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dogproof the bed!,
September 3, 2014
By: KellyJ
"This cover is stylish enough to leave on the bed as a spread but best of all it won't let dog hair and dirt or wet paws ruin all the covers!
It can be spot cleaned unlike a traditional bedspread too!
"
Review 20 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed Protector,
August 24, 2014
By: MKJM14
from Orlando, FL
"As some other reviews suggest, this product is a little pricey and a thin material, not as heavy as a comforter (so you may still need a blanket over sheets), but this is the BEST dog cover I have found. We have 2 dogs who shed quite a bit and this cover contains the hair and washes remarkably well. By the time you take the cover out of the dryer, all the hair is gone. I am VERY satisfied with this purchase and would purchase again."