Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams

Go ahead and share the bed with your dog-we've got it covered. Our lightest dog-proof bedding ever, designed to stay in place to protect your bedding from dirt, pet hair and moisture, but not weigh you down when it comes to washing. This reversible coverlet has a sturdy polyester corduroy weave on one side and a water-resistant coating in camel on the other side. Matching shams are all corduroy with envelope-style opening on back. Shams sold separately. Coverlet has camel on reverse. Polyester. Washable. Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
71 of 80(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Review 1 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These coverlets work so well to protect my bedding,
July 15, 2015
By: Dessa2
from France
"I have five dogs and a cat, most of whom love joining me on the bed. I have now purchased 4 of these. The first version worked well but was king sized, heavy and hard to get in the washing machine. The new version in queen and twin are lighter but just as effective in keeping moisture and grit out of my bed. They look pretty good (I bought navy and dark red)."
Review 2 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 14, 2015
By: agillab
from Ohio
"If you have a dog that likes to sleep on the bed or sneaks up on the bed this is a must have. Wet Labrador (came in from the rain and went straight for the bed to roll and shake)tested and approved."
Review 3 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dog-Proof Coverlet - Not Bad, Not Great,
June 29, 2015
By: Mom2Gracie
"WOW - this thing is EXPENSIVE! Other reviewers noted that the coverlet was noisy. I agree. It does rustle quite a bit. Also, it is not as thick as the other product they sell, which is meant to be a throw. I am not sure if the coverlet will provide adequate protection in the event of an "accident." It seems to be well made, though. It should be at that price!"
Review 4 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good purchase,
June 4, 2015
By: animalkingdom
from North Carolina
"I have 2 large dogs and many cats, all of whom love to get on the bed. This coverlet has been great - especially at keeping the sand and dirt they bring in out of the bed! One of my dogs likes the cover so much she has started sleeping on the bed again, not just the couch! I have not washed it yet, but am optimistic, based on other reviews I have read. I recommend this for others with many animals who would like to keep their beds and sheets clean and dry!"
Review 5 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really is dog-proof,
June 2, 2015
By: physicsprof
from Columbus, Ohio
"This is the second of these I've ordered. I have 2 Afghan Hounds, and it's like 8 mops running in with wet and/or muddy feet. This coverlet is a life saver. The only negative is that it is made in 2 layers, only stitched together around the edges. When it's laundered, it folds itself into itself in a ball that refuses to get dry. Lots of dryer time."
Review 6 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog cover,
April 21, 2015
By: EricW
from Wilton,CT
"We purchased this product 18 months ago and have been happy with it. Unfortunately the sewing construction came apart between the two layers. Orvis stood behind the product and allowed me to return the product.
The new version seems to be more sturdy and more water repellent.
We purchased a king and a queen cover in navy and are very pleased how nice the color is and how it has kept our expensive bed protected from our dog.
"
Review 7 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bed wetters,
April 16, 2015
By: Teryl
from Naples, Florida
"If you have dogs that can occasionally wet your bed, this bed spread is just what you need.
I have used them in every room ( we have 5 dogs ). My favorite color is the red. they wash beautifully and always look nice. You can always lay a smaller decorative spread atop of the waterproof one for a different look
Sincerely, Terry"
Review 8 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not exactly a bedspread feel,
April 13, 2015
By: skillians
from New Hamoshire
"I wanted to love this product - just the right color and fabric, perfect for a 4 cat/big dog household - but the waterproofing between the reversible sides would have given us the sound and feel of sleeping under a shower curtain. It was in the 'return to Orvis' box after just 10 minutes of contemplation."
Review 9 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks Fine, but Sounds Cheap,
April 7, 2015
By: DogLover23
"The worst thing about the coverlet and shams is that it sounds as though you're sleeping with a shower curtain. But it's this plastic insert which makes the coverlet and shams waterproof, so I can live with it. The plain hunter green color is not exciting, but it coordinated nicely with the bedroom decor. It is thin so I had to add an additional blanket to the bed. I expect Orvis products to be made with quality materials, and it appears this is the case. However I have not yet washed it. My previous comforter looked terrible after a few years of dogs sleeping on it. I'm hoping this holds up as advertised. If so, it's worth the high price."
Review 10 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this, but please bring back the light blue co,
March 27, 2015
By: MSUSpartan2005
from Arlington, VA
"This product is terrific. It has saved my expensive bedding from my labs. However, it looks like you've clearanced out the light blue. Please bring the light blue back or if that color fad is over, maybe a nice grey or a steel blue."
Review 11 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 10, 2015
By: kweim
from Austin, TX
"This bed cover repels dirt, stays in place and looks good at all times. It is not waterproof, however."
Review 12 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but needs one improvement,
March 8, 2015
By: Val50
from Jacksonville, NC
"This is great - durable - perfect size for the King bed with my Dane and Golden. BUT it should be STITCHED together - why didn't they do that - I'm thinking I'm going to do it - washes great but the drying process is a PAIN!"
Review 13 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
February 16, 2015
By: DogMom76
"I bought this to protect the duvet on our bed so that we wouldn't have to wash it so often. It's a total pain getting the duvet back into the cover. We had just been using an old flat sheet, which worked for its intended purpose, but required a lot of adjusting as it would move and eventually, it just got holes in it so we needed something more durable. This coverlet has worked well protecting the bed from dog hair and moisture. We have 2 large dogs (70+ pounds). Ours don't have accidents in the bed, but they do drool or have the occasional runny nose. The color I ordered was the best option for our décor, but I wouldn't say I really like it. I wouldn't say this coverlet is reversible either. There is definitely one side that looks like it should be the top and it isn't the softest so I would never lay on it just reading or watching TV. Overall, it does what I wanted it to do and appears to be pretty durable, which is good since it's a bit pricey. The aesthetics are secondary to me."
Review 14 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog proof Bed..!!,
February 13, 2015
By: Heap
from Lynchburg, Va
"My yorkie has a medical problem that keeps her from being able to hold her urine quite often..!! Now Sammy is back in bed with me and we both love it..!! What a blessing to have found this cover....thank you Orvis..!!!"
Review 15 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No doubts,
February 8, 2015
By: Djahouli
from Herefordshire, England
"Great product. Has a quality feel. The waterproofing in it gives it a feel of leather, yet it's a soft micro cord on both sides. Considering it's thickness, it's really warm. It's not heavy but it's heavy enough to stay in position.
The dogs love it. Hair doesn't stick to it and my bed is clean.
Initially thought it may be overpriced but I wouldn't be without it now.
"
Review 16 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
life saver,
February 4, 2015
By: physicsprof
from Columbus, Ohio
"I'm online just now to order another of these. I had one dog decide to wet on the bed one day, and it never got to the bed. I found things with a good-sized puddle right in the middle. I just threw an old towel into the mess, rolled up the coverlet and went straight to the washing machine. It gets heavy when wet, and requires a bit of patience to dry as it rolls up in the dryer, and requires turning frequently and running through several cycles on delicate. Best buy in town."
Review 17 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bed Coverlet,
January 29, 2015
By: Thoytpt
"This coverlet has worked very well in protecting the underlying bed linens. It's not too heavy, but protects well."
Review 18 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
disaster in teh laundry,
January 21, 2015
By: AbbySchuylerMillie
from dwight, IL
"the coverlet itself is fine, but my Lab mix and 2 setters have clawed through every one and we're on our 3rd one...the laundering is a HUGE problem as the front and back are NOT stitched together and separate in the wash and especially in the dryer....Now the quilted version like the couch coverlets is FINE, but the other one I have cut the front and backing apart and just use the top portion and YES there are very warm, so you won't need an extra blanket underneath.....I just wish they were quilted together like the heavier one and I would order another.......very pricey to have to re-make them..........
ONLY thing WE have EVER been disappointed with from ORVIS......the quilted ones are GREAT and the quilted couch cover is great....mine pull it off, but that's not the fault of the cover, but then again it could have restraining straps to secure it around the furniture....just an idea......
"
Review 19 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PURCHASE!,
January 7, 2015
By: Ememe
from Rhinebeck, NY
"easy to wash and dry, lightweight, and covers entire bed!"
Review 20 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Real Problem-Solver,
December 16, 2014
By: AzLabLady
"I love this bed cover. It catches most of the dog hair and keeps the linens clean. In short, it works as described!"