Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams

Go ahead and share the bed with your dog-we've got it covered. Our lightest dog-proof bedding ever, designed to stay in place to protect your bedding from dirt, pet hair and moisture, but not weigh you down when it comes to washing. This reversible coverlet has a sturdy polyester corduroy weave on one side and a water-resistant coating in camel on the other side. Matching shams are all corduroy with envelope-style opening on back. Shams sold separately. Coverlet has camel on reverse. Polyester. Washable. Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
53 of 60(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Review 1 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Real Problem-Solver,
December 16, 2014
By: AzLabLady
"I love this bed cover. It catches most of the dog hair and keeps the linens clean. In short, it works as described!"
Review 2 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just OK,
December 16, 2014
By: FLBeagleMOM
"This cover was not really what I was expecting, but it will do the job. My only big complaint is trying to dry it after washing. It kept getting twisted into a giant knot, over and over again, and took way too long to completely dry."
Review 3 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second one and that's a good thing,
December 13, 2014
By: CieloDiBend
from Central Oregon
"This is the second set we have owned. We have an older set in a powder blue that has served us well. In fact it's been washed many times and looks no worse for the wear it has had.
We have 3 Standard Poodle who are allowed to sleep on the bed. We recently did a bit of remodeling and needed a different color.
This set is an improvement over the past .
1. The color is much more vibrant. The first set was a bit muted.
2. There fabric is reversible to a tan, although I seriously doubt we will ever reverse. It does make a nice contrasting color.
3. It seems like it will shed water. Nice, especially if the poodles get the zoomies and jump on the bed after a bath!
4. It fits nicely. It could have been a bit longer, but in reality it's just fine.
5. It is much lighter weight than our former cover. It is very comfortable and manageable for it's size.
About the shams. These are MUCH nicer than the old ones which we had 4 of. Three fit perfectly across a king size bed. We also have two pillows in a contrasting color used with the shams."
Review 4 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
December 7, 2014
By: Bthdoc
from Northbrook,IL
"Finally a product that was as specified. Protects my bed. Light. Goes on top of comforter. Washable. Thank you so much for knowing dogs and their owners needs"
Review 5 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Met Expectations,
November 21, 2014
By: CRHillmann
"the sheet is a tad hot for me to be sleep under ... BUT ... the border collie dog hairs (when the pups get to sneak up on the bed) on the sheet .. just shake off .. AWESOME"
Review 6 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coverlet,
November 3, 2014
By: DonnaMZ
from Fort Collins, Co.
"This coverlet has been the answer to our new puppy's habit of chewing holes in pillowcases and sheets. The puppy would get past the lacy bedcovering to get to the sheets and pillowcases. We took off the "pretty, white, lace bed covering and replaced it will the bark colored coverlet. No more chewed pillowcases and sheets. For whatever reason, puppy leaves it alone. Thank you Orvis, once again!"
Review 7 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Protection,
October 22, 2014
By: LuvthePets
from Minnesota
"The coverlet is great protection for my precious handmade quilts. It is nice to have the quilt on the bed but still protected from 2 German Shepherds and a semi wild cat. The only advice I would give is be aware the coverlet is heavy and warm. In the summer it may be all you need over the sheets."
Review 8 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doggie Bedding,
October 21, 2014
By: MePoochie
from Jackson, MI
"Loving this coverlet. It keeps wet and dog hair off your comforter and sheets. Shake it out in the morning and back on bed it goes.....keeps remaining bedding nice and clean."
Review 9 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it!,
October 15, 2014
By: Frisco42
from Noblesville, IN
"This is exactly what I was looking for in a cover for my bed. Since I have 2 hounds that like to sleep with me, this cover does the job keeping hair, dirt and wet paws off my bedding. I also love how light it is too."
Review 10 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
October 10, 2014
By: frankandstan
"Have 2 residences, now have 2 dog-proof covers. Durable product and comfortable. A win-win all the way."
Review 11 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
September 6, 2014
By: LynneL
from Littleton, MA
"I love this coverlet. I've had it for about a year now. Our dog gets on the bed daily and she tends to use it as a platform to initiate play, so she digs right in with the claws. The coverlet looks brand new, despite this and despite being washed at least five times. I tried drying it in the dryer once - never again, as it twists upon itself quite tightly. Now i just drape it for a day or two and it looks just perfect.
One thing that I hadn't expected but really like is that it isn't a comforter; there is no filling to move around or get flat. It's simply two pieces of rugged mini-corduroy neatly pieced, with perfect piping for lining up the edges of the bed. Another thing I like is that it is monochromatic, which allows me to put pattern elsewhere in the room without making it too busy."
Review 12 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dogproof the bed!,
September 3, 2014
By: KellyJ
"This cover is stylish enough to leave on the bed as a spread but best of all it won't let dog hair and dirt or wet paws ruin all the covers!
It can be spot cleaned unlike a traditional bedspread too!
"
Review 13 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed Protector,
August 24, 2014
By: MKJM14
from Orlando, FL
"As some other reviews suggest, this product is a little pricey and a thin material, not as heavy as a comforter (so you may still need a blanket over sheets), but this is the BEST dog cover I have found. We have 2 dogs who shed quite a bit and this cover contains the hair and washes remarkably well. By the time you take the cover out of the dryer, all the hair is gone. I am VERY satisfied with this purchase and would purchase again."
Review 14 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only thing to use if the dogs sleep on the bed!,
August 5, 2014
By: DanIelR
from Brighton MI
"Exactly as described. 2 labs and a St. Bernard fight for bed space. This is an outstanding product and works as described!"
Review 15 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not waterproof,
July 15, 2014
By: Anitai3939393939
from Colorado
"I'd put this at the top of my Christmas list last year, and received it as a gift.
I was very disappointed to discover that it is not at all waterproof, and it provided no protection when my dog leaked on the bed a couple weeks ago. The main reason I'd wanted this coverlet was to protect my bedding and the mattress in case of an accident, and it didn't do that."
Review 16 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Coverage & Material,
July 10, 2014
By: nickomash
from Indianapolis
"We purchased this for our King Size bed and the coverlet fits very well. It is a thin coverlet that at first seemed nothing more than a tarp, but upon laying it out flat it performs its duty well.
It breathes well
It protects great
Completely water proof
Its pricey and the color options are minimal if you're trying to get a good match for your bedroom suite, but it does its job well and provides unmatched protection for our more expensive linens. Whether you have large dogs or small the protectyion against heavy scratching"
Review 17 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice weight,
June 17, 2014
By: DeltaJohn
from Walnut Grove, Ca
"No longer use a blanket with sheet on top to protect from the dogs. Light enough that I use as my blanket, at least during the summer. Very nice product, but a little expensive."
Review 18 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
June 16, 2014
By: GrandmaSally
from Bend, OR
"It is "dog-resistant" and available in red that goes with decor, but found that the bedspread is stiff & slippery," falls off the bed during the night; makes a crackly sound which is annoying to us and the dogs."
Review 19 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 4, 2014
By: MrSwift
"Orvis got it right this time! I bought my first cover a few years ago. It weighed so much it was like sleeping under a bear skin, with the bear still in its skin. This model is light and just right for summer. I like these covers to collect that micro fine dust that comes off my dog while she is sleeping."
Review 20 for Reversible Dog-Proof Coverlet and Matching Shams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cat friendly too!,
June 3, 2014
By: Laura2914
from Pennsylvania
"A must for cat owners as well! We have 4 cats who love to nap on our bed. Their claws had caused noticeable pulls and small holes in a very expensive cotton duvet cover. I also found removing and replacing the cover for washing to be a hassle. This coverlet is perfect! No pulls or claw marks, even when they misjudge height and use claws to pull themselves up. Ours don't knead too frequently. Washes nicely in our front load. The vertical piping is a nice touch. The blue seems to hide light and dark fur very well between washings. Sized nicely and can be used over thick comforter in winter months. Great purchase!"