Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Faux Shearling Hammock Protector

Our top-of-the-line car seat protection. A breathable, water-resistant membrane in the fabric keeps moisture away from car seat. Create a plush, irresistible nest for your dog while keeping your backseat looking like new. The backseat protector fits like a slipcover over the entire length of your seat area. The faux shearling cover material works to trap dirt off your dog after an outing or a day of play. Tough nylon webbing straps attach to the posts of backseat headrests. Backseat protector is available in two sizes; measure rear seat width for correct size for your vehicle. Adjustable headrests are required for use. Backseat car cover in sage, gray. Large measures 66"L x 51"W; XL is 66"L x 62"W. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Review 1 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pet Hammock/Barrier,
July 25, 2014
By: withoutmeblues
from St. Paul, MN
"Fits our Audi A4 perfect. The rubberized backing keeps it in place and keeps the german shorthairs from jumping into the front seat. Overall construction is great and should last a long time."
Review 2 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works Great, But...,
June 4, 2014
By: CBTucson
from Tucson, AZ
"I have been using this product in my Infiniti EX35 for about 5 months now. It is holding up great and the Large size fits good. Very well made product. The problem I have though is I have a black interior. I ordered the dark grey color to match my interior. The dark grey is fine but the backing is a light cream color. This is very visible from the front seat and I think looks weird. I'm not sure why that wasn't thought of when designing this otherwise good product."
Review 3 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality - Perfect Fit,
March 25, 2014
By: ljab
from Mineral Bluff, GA
"Needed a seat protector to cover the entire seat of our new truck. This works beautifully - looks smart - shear comfort for our dog. We leave it on all the time - handy to place just about anything on it and protect the seat at the same time. Great Product!!"
Review 4 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
March 4, 2014
By: tjhallum
"Product was just as expected. Excellent quality!!!"
Review 5 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for me and my dog!,
February 19, 2014
By: ConnieV
from Atlanta, GA
"This seat protector fit perfectly in my mid-size SUV. It is very easy to snap onto the headrests. My dog seemed quite comfortable as well on a long trip. My car remained quite clean and I have a very furry pup!"
Review 6 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality, One Flaw,
January 30, 2014
By: cschell36
from NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Being from Orvis, this is obviously an excellent quality item. The hammock fits my Jeep Grand Cherokee perfectly in size Large, and the gray color looks sharp against my black leather interior. The shearling is very soft which my dog loves, and the hammock keeps her safe while traveling. For all of these reasons, I would give this item 5 stars. However, the one flaw that I was immediately not pleased with is the cream colored backing of the hammock, which was not apparent when I ordered the item. This completely clashes with my black interior, and I see this side the most from the front seat. Other than this, the product is great; however I would suggest Orvis to either change the backing to the same gray color or at least include this in the description of the item."
Review 7 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happiness is a soft bed,
January 30, 2014
By: WSUcowboy
from Reno, Nevada
"We purchased the Faux Shearling Hammock Protector for a new 2014 Sierra GMC Crew Cab truck. Our two full grown boxers (bonnie and Clyde) really love their new hammock. We like it very much too becuase it fits well and covers the whole seat . It does not move around when the dogs hop into the truck. Previously we had another brand and it did not stay in place and it was too small. This was the only one we could find that actually fits GMC and Chevy trucks. This hammock is very well made with sturdy straps and buckles. I would highly recommend it."
Review 8 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it...have some suggestions however.,
January 17, 2014
By: Loreo
from Atlanta
"I bought this to replace a less expensive cover that I purchased from a pet store. The things I love about it: the warm fuzzy material on the seat; the well made construction; the hidden slots for the seat belts to come through. (this isn't important for humans because it's a hammock and not an L shape seat cover) ...but I do have to use a clip to tether one of my dogs in the back seat because he tries to drive in my lap and he is 47 pounds, so not a good idea. The tether (purchased elsewhere) attaches to his harness from the seat belt so the female part of the clip has to have a place to come through the cover and it does. I should mention this has sort of a non slip backing that I imagine would work on fabric, but it still slides on leather seats. Not bad though and it's a nice feature if I had the seats that work with it.
The body of the cover is really nicely made. The only issue I have with these are the nylon straps that hold it in place around the headrests. They have plastic clips that can break with any reasonably sized dog putting stress on them (exactly like my old cheaper version did) and the nylon tends to stretch (or the buckles slide) and the thing gets saggy and loose.
I think the designers need to look into better clips that still adjust easily and stay where you put them...maybe a rope instead of flat fabric, the flat nylon tends to crunch and wrinkle making the buckles harder to use over time, and perhaps take some cues from horse equipment...tougher nylon and metal clips than what they are using here.
Overall I am pleased but if this ever fails, the straps and buckles will be the source of it."
Review 9 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A perfect Fit!,
December 4, 2013
By: Val01
from Bucks county Pa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When you expect the best sometime you do get it! I am quite impressed with the quality of this product. Functionally it is a perfect fit with my Fx35 Infiniti car. The locks and straps enabled me to customize the hammock to fit for my car. The fabric is visually appealing with it's faux shearling. CHIN, my dog took to it immediately, as he gingerly jumped into the car. CHIN feels secure in this generously sized hammock -- I feel like rolling into it myself! The hammock has a heavy duty fabric to prevent nail markings and it is water resistant! Additionally I appreciate the secondary backing to the cover that enables the leather on the seats to breath/aerate. This is a well conceived and executed product .Such a delight for customers such as myself who care about aesthetic and functionality."
Review 10 for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Hammock,
October 29, 2013
By: Weimstar
from Niles, Mi.
"Another high quality hammock from Orvis! This is the third hammock we have purchased for our pups and this one is the nicest one yet. Heavy material that is stitched together very well. We expect to have this hammock at least as long as we keep this vehicle. This is the third one only because the other two we have are for cars and we just bought a truck. Otherwise, the other ones we have are still in great shape. This is definitely worth the cost!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Faux Shearling Hammock Protector
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1