Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

New Zealand Strike Indicator

Presentation is perhaps the most important part of catching fish. When fishing nymphs beneath an indicator in front of spooky trout, having the perfect indicator could be the difference between landing a giant and going home disappointed. This is the best indicator we've found. Easy to attach and remove, this kit includes an applicator tool, a sampling of white and chartreuse wool, and 12 inches of size small replacement tubing. It's subtle as it lands on the water, sensitive when fish touch the fly, and won't get bogged down with water. Combo pack now includes four colors of yarn (black, white, orange, chartreuse.) Size large tubing is used to make larger indicators, size small is used to make smaller indicators. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Review 1 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Subtle,
July 21, 2014
By: Md3000
from Atlanta, GA
"These indicators are super easy to attach and adjust and hardly disturb the surface at all... Much quieter and subtle than the plastic type indicators but still very buoyant!"
Review 2 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best indicator system I have ever used,
June 27, 2014
By: flygt40
from valencia, California
"this indicator system is easy to use. easy to adjust depth. and very soft landing of great presentation."
Review 3 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 28, 2014
By: PJB157
from MA
"Easy to use and does what it is intended to do. Would recommend to all fly fishermen!"
Review 4 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blows away the competition!,
May 21, 2014
By: joaxe
from Willow Grove, PA
"The NZSI simply blows away other strike indicators! It is one of the best I've used in my short "career" of fly fishing.
I was dead-set on using the small Thingamabobbers in white (spooks less fish because it looks like a foam bubble on the water) and bought a slew of them.
However, I recently picked up the NZSI "kit" and extra wool and tubing. Now, the only time I'll ever go back to the "bobber" is when I run out of NZSI wool...the system is THAT good!"
Review 5 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
NOT for Big Water,
May 1, 2014
By: Alamocrazy
from Northern California
"I fish the Lower Sacramento, which requires AAA (0.8g) and/or SSG (1.6g) shot. The X-Large tube is not big enough to handle a wad of wool large enough to float that shot, much less the whole rig. In my tests, the wool saturated and sank despite heavy application of Loon Aquel. It would not float long enough for a decent drift. Because of this, I doubt that it would even support a AB shot
rig.
That said, the concept looks cool and I might try it on smaller streams using a LOT less weight, but in that case, it may have a limited advantage over a dry/dropper.
"
Review 6 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great idea!,
May 1, 2014
By: 2LabMan
from Branch, Arkansas
"Best indicator I have used. Easy to work with. A little floatant keeps it on top for a better view."
Review 7 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Zealand Strike Indicator,
April 28, 2014
By: drdough71
from Skulls County, CA...'murica
"Really simple to make on the "fly" (no pun intended)...what I like the most is that there are no visible kinks in the line after use. It is really easy to move to desired lengths while out there."
Review 8 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wool v Yarn v bobber,
April 10, 2014
By: wetwaders1942
from NC Mountains
"Tried wool, yarn, and bobber on recent guided float trip. Both the guide and I liked the floatation and ease of use of the NZSI. Much better than yarn. Liked the way it cast better than bobber, but bobber seemed to stay in place on the leader better."
Review 9 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kit has small amount of wool.,
April 5, 2014
By: JohnFW
from Billings, MT
"I believe the product has the potential to be a great strike-indicator system. However the kit I received had only two cotton-ball sized pieces of wool to utilize. This of course will be pulled apart and separated, making for a dozen or so strike-indicators in total. There is one foot of tubing, which will make for 50+ uses. Disproportionate allotment of tubing vs wool. So I'll wind up using some other kind of flyshop wool-imitator when this runs out."
Review 10 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A real improvement,
March 21, 2014
By: Bill3
from Williamsport, MD
"The is new gear every year. Sometimes they are a real improvement but sometimes its just different. This is an improvement on the standard strike indicator."
Review 11 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best indicators,
March 11, 2014
By: nb2001
"Best indicator I've seen very simple wish I would have thought something like that up"
Review 12 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
February 20, 2014
By: Roneal3
from Townsend, TN
"This product helps me tremendously in the great smoky mountains. Being able to change depths quickly in pocket water is essential. Great product and it doesn't slide on the leader while you cast. Fantastic."
Review 13 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works great,
February 11, 2014
By: freewill
from San Juan River, N.M.
"I'm very fortunate to have the San Juan river as my home waters. So that's where I test a lot of new product. And this New Zealand wool is amazing because it detects the softest strike from picky San Juan river trout. Awesome I love it and won't go back to anything else."
Review 14 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Indicator Bar None,
February 4, 2014
By: Sluggo
from Avid Flyfisherman, Sedona, Arizona
"I've used em all! Palsa, Thingabobbers, etc. The New Zealand Strike Indicator is the bomb. The yarn floats high and lands very delicately with out any disturbance to the water, which is so important for presentation to spooky fish. What I like the most, is if the yarn gets water logged, a quick blow on it and its good to go. You can add your favorite floatant to it if you so desire. I found you only need a little yarn to pull it up through the tubing, as to much will not allow you to pull it through with out damaging the tubing or stretching and weakening your leader. Adjustment is so fast, and no more having to un do those sticky indicators that leave residue on the leader. Very fast and effective."
Review 15 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
About time,
January 27, 2014
By: Dryfly69
from North Carolina
"It's about time they created an indicator that stays at the deepth you set."
Review 16 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks like a "keeper"!,
January 23, 2014
By: Canadianeagle
from Worcester, MA
"I bought this item and have tied up several indicators easily and they will definitely work well trout fishing:
easy to use; tool hangs well on my vest; my hopes are high! I'll add a 5trh star after fishing it!
"
Review 17 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique indicator,
January 16, 2014
By: Hise1
from Wash. State
"I love the ease of moving this indicator to adjust to the depth need. Especially with cold fingers. I think the design is awesome. So unique and unusual. Great tool for nymphing."
Review 18 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Kiwi's have it dailed!,
January 16, 2014
By: Jaybar
from PDX, OR
"This indicator setup is the raddest system I've fished. Thingamabobbers, Palsa tabs, foam, and even other wool and adjustable slip knots are no match for these."
Review 19 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New Zealand Strike Indicator,
December 26, 2013
By: Fishinphysician
from Northern California
"Another twist on yarn type indicators. Novel way of securing the yarn. will see if this works better/more convenient than the ortho rubber band trick."
Review 20 for New Zealand Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finesse Indicator,
December 14, 2013
By: Pills09
from Franklin, Tn.
"In Tennessee, as with everywhere, there are situations where using very small midges is a must to have a productive trip. Using wool as your indicator is a must for minimal disturbance of the water and maximum effectiveness in presenting your bait in the most natural manner possible."