Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. This solid 9' 8-weight Encounter outfit has all the power and performance anyone could ask at a price that will have you wondering, what's the catch? Backup or first big-game rod outfit, this is the finest you will ever buy at this price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice starter package.,
April 11, 2014
By: troutnodoubt
from Minnesota lakes and streams.
"I ordered the rod/reel/carrier package in the Orvis store as the particular model I wanted was not in stock at the moment.
I received professional and friendly assistance in the Oak Brook, Il. store.
It shipped very quickly, and was very well packaged with the rod protector inside of a box contained within another box. Very securely done.
The reel has an appearance well above the price point and after promptly dropping it, I can report it is robust. It bounces nicely, too. The composite looks like anodized aluminum and is indistinguishable if you are concerned about a "plastic' appearance. Having the line pre-spooled and ready to go out of the box is a benefit for a new user like me.
The rod I choose was for larger species and the action seems well tuned for the application, but as a neophyte, I do not truly have the experience to rate it against others, but I find what I have to be flawless for the purpose. I can note the construction of the rod is very nice and the finish is comparable to others I examined in the store with much higher price tags.
The case is sturdy, the zipper is strong and the package includes a small drawstring bag for the reel. It's all there.
I'm quite pleased, and with the confidence of "Orvis" on the product, have no reservations in recommending this item to others"
Review 2 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product for the money,
March 26, 2014
By: joseph28
from Ohio
"I began using the Encounter rod reel combo about two weeks ago. I fish mostly for steel head on the lake erie tributaries. I absolutely love it. Casts awesome and is very responsive."
Review 3 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 8-weight 9' fly rod outfit,
March 13, 2014
By: JefffromKokomo
from Kokomo, IN
"really good value for the money, rod has the responsive feel of a more expensive outfit, The reel is also good for the money with a drag that should handle lightweight saltwater and salmon I intend to use it for."
Review 4 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 8 weight outfit,
March 10, 2014
By: Robin1159
from NW Pennsylvania
"This is definitely the best value for the money out there. Once the snow melts I am going to use it for lake Erie steelhead. If I ever get the chance to do some Bone Fishing It will be great for that also, and the polymer reel will not be affected by the salt water."
Review 5 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ease of use,
March 7, 2014
By: Rick1949
from se mass
"seems to fit my hand better than others ,casting has improved . I love it"
Review 6 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 6, 2014
By: safetymarkh
from Proctor, VT
"This is my 3rd Orvis rod, I have been impressed with each one...I expecially like the 4 piece design and the overall feel of the rod...this rod is slated to be used in the fall fishing for salmon and steelhead in Pulaski, NY..my only complaint is that the reel is not reversable...great buy for a beginner or for anold man like myself who appreciates quality products."
Review 7 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 4, 2014
By: jaw719
from Charleston, SC
"I will be ordering from Orvis very soon. My package arrived quickly and securely. Nothing was scratched, bent, cracked, etc. I am new to fly fishing so I wanted to get something entry level to learn with, but I can already tell this fly combo will do a lot of fishing in and around Charleston."
Review 8 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
February 20, 2014
By: myoz2u
"Just received the 8 -weight 9'fly rod outfit and it looks and feels Great. Got it real fast and can hardly wait to use it to drag in the big ones. The price was right when your on a budget, and the quality seems outstanding...Thanks Orvis"
Review 9 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Encounter,
February 15, 2014
By: cyangler
from Northeastern Massachusetts
"Having already purchased an Encounter II reel, the IV came as no surprise to me as far as looks, weight, powerful disc drag mechanism, and general quality. Contemporary design, a graphite reel that doesn't look like it is graphite, and a strong drag that is well protected from particulate damage.
My initial impressions of the rod before getting it home, lining it up and spending time with it were equally high. But, I was taken aback by just how much rod there is in this offering from Orvis at the established price point. Before even lining it up, I turned it over in my hands and was astonished by what a beautiful rod this is. The color and finish of the blank, the choice of color and quality of the wraps, the hardware - this rod has the look and feel of a much more expensive rod. Well appointed I was literally in awe. The kicker, however, really came when I lined it up and began casting with it. I own several high end graphite rods in the $800 range in line weights from 7 - 12, and was not expecting the Encounter to have the backbone and reserve that it demonstrated. I expected it to perform better than average for certain, but not to perform equally well as the far more expensive rods in my collection. Without going into detail, Orvis states that the Encounter uses the latest technology - this is obviously the case. I've finally picked my jaw up off the floor, though, I am still in a state of total amazement. Absolutely, the best value out there."
Review 10 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first saltwater fly rod,
February 14, 2014
By: Vancleas
from Ft Myers, FL
"I love this rod. I have been freshwater fly fishing for years and am new to saltwater. This is a rod even experianced fly fishman can appreciate."
Review 11 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great affordable set-up!,
February 3, 2014
By: cdwg
"Great rig for the price. Although the reel is composite plastic, it's still tough and you quickly get used to it. I needed an extra 8wt for a trip and this rod has become my go to for salmon and steelhead as well."
Review 12 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks Great Now Lets Fish,
January 29, 2014
By: 1dragonfly
"My husband was extremely excited to get his new fly rod as a Christmas gift. He can't wait for this cold weather to move on so he can get to fishing.
Nice qualityf rod for the price and arrived promptly. Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 13 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitting the Big Time (for me),
January 23, 2014
By: Corvette06
from Taos, NM
"Began fly fishing three years ago, late in my life, but having a great time. Read an article recently about Northern Pike habituating the Rio Grande near my home. Talked to a Steelhead-fishing friend, and he suggested I get a 6 or 8 wt rod, because in his words, "Those suckers can really fight!" As usual, I looked to Orvis. I purchased the Encounter 8-wt 9-ft rod and reel combo and hit the Rio a day after it arrived. "Fun" doesn't describe it. The Encounter combo was "right out of the box" great. The local guide shop sold me some steel "bite leaders" and a couple of enormous, colorful flies. From the beginning, the rod loaded well and cast that lunker of a fly out into the far seam of the main current and I nailed a four pounder in about ten seconds. That, of course, just got things started, but the rod gave me the control I needed and, with some judicious palm work on the reel, I had him in the net in a few minutes, none the worse for wear, and ready for his closeup. The Encounter is my third combo purchase from Orvis since I took up the sport three years ago, and I have been absolutely thrilled and satisfied with the quality of these sets, especially when you factor in the great prices. I'll be back for some backup equipment form Orvis in the future."
Review 14 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first but right into the target purchase.,
January 23, 2014
By: ENHEEKE
from São Paulo, Brasil
"I was about to have my flyfishing course then my instructor just told me to buy an 9 ft rod for 8 wt line.
I choose between a lot of then and when I get there he told me that I had the perfect outfit for me.
I'm not experienced but he is and he have more than 45 years of flyfishing experience.
I even have a video where spokes about the equipment but I'm not quite shut if it's legal to post here.
"
Review 15 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best steelhead rod to date,
January 16, 2014
By: Sawclearwater
from Clearwater river
"This rod cast and mends better then some high end equipment I've use in the past. Would recommend buying it. I will be buying another one for sure."
Review 16 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great customer service,
January 16, 2014
By: chukie
from johnstown, pa
"I placed an order with orvis on line it was easy with a great price for the quality of the rod and rill I received,
chuck"
Review 17 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality for value,
January 7, 2014
By: Wannawade
from Haliax Nova Scotia
"The combo arrived quickly, even considering the Christmas season. The rod and reel are a great entry combo or a back up. Wish the rod had dots to line up for easier assembly. All in all, very pleased with purchase."
Review 18 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fly rod,
December 31, 2013
By: Carpathian
from Oakville Ontario Canada
"Bought for a son. He loved it! I was so very impressed with your phone staff when I called and spoke to a Rose. She was polite and helpful and I received the order before Christmas. Thanks for great service!"
Review 19 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best on-line experience to date,
December 28, 2013
By: flyflinger4evr
from Black River Falls, WI
"Exceptional package, was much more than I expected. The rod was perfect, reel is well made and was complete with backing, line and leader. The Pkg included a covered case and a bag for the reel. I was not expecting this Pkg to be shipped,due to back order, until 19 Dec. Orvis found one at an in-state store and it arrived the next day. Great service and easy to see their reputation is well deserved. I could not be more pleased to become a new customer. Have not fished it yet due to winter but it casts like a dream and gives me a larger tool to hunt steelhead and pike. Thanks again Orvis !"
Review 20 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best set-up for your dollar,
December 11, 2013
By: TaBox
"I use 9-10wt rods for AK salmon and big bows. I bought this 8wt combo as a back-up travel rod but after trying it out it became my go to rod...I love the feel and weight. I have to admit I was taken back by the fact the reel is composite plastic and I didn't think it would hold up but it performed well. Heck they make Glock pistols out of plastic. The drag is good but I would prefer a stronger drag. I rated this a 4 because I would improve the drag."