Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. This solid 9' 8-weight Encounter outfit has all the power and performance anyone could ask at a price that will have you wondering, what's the catch? Backup or first big-game rod outfit, this is the finest you will ever buy at this price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
65 of 65(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod and reel,
August 28, 2015
By: ke4onf
from Tennessee
"This is a great starter rood and reed for the beginner because the reel is set and ready to attach to you rod and hit the streams, The rod comes in a heavy duty rod case and the reel rest in a a reel shock for protection Just place then in you truck box and head to the stream or river and start fishing."
Review 2 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Encounter Combo,
August 20, 2015
By: ChasBo
from Woodstock, VA.
"Had a chance to go down to the Shenandoah last Saturday and try out the combo. It handles quite well whether using light dry flies or those larger wet flies. I put on a popper to irritate a few bluegills and found them quite attracted and willing to take it to the house. Since it was mid afternoon and rafters were playing up river I wasn't able to stay very long and seriously go after Mr Bass. Looking forward to my next outing."
Review 3 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bargain,
August 12, 2015
By: brookie48
from UP of MIchigan
"Having broke the only 8wt i owned i decided to purchase the Encounter. i had already purchased the 5 wt for my daughter as a starter rod, i was impressed by the action and the look of the rod.
I took the new 8wt out for a test drive and was impressed by the power the rod has. It feels good in the hand and casting is effortless. I would recommend to anyone who uses an 8wt for early and late season big fish. Very nice product. Cant beat the price.
"
Review 4 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price and great value,
July 14, 2015
By: Johnp12
"Took to British Columbia and caught several 8 to 10 lb Samon rod performed great"
Review 5 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing service and great buy,
June 27, 2015
By: Casinomac
from Bradenton, FL
"The fly fishing rod and reel was better than advertised. Not to mention the customer service I received clearing up a mistake in the order was above and beyond. I couldn't be more satisfied as a customer. Extremely impressed overall."
Review 6 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the right rod perfect,
June 3, 2015
By: rickz
from downingtown,pa.
"i bought this rod for bass and carp and it works well and i highly recommend it."
Review 7 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
May 16, 2015
By: CostalClay
from Spring branch
"Nice rod, easy to load and cast. The reel itself ifs tough and well piece together. Drags is very nice. Line and leader are awesome and casts very well. Already have landed a few bass and carp, and planing a trip out to the flats to nail some reds.
Bottom line- perfect backup/ salt water rod."
Review 8 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Value,
May 5, 2015
By: VFTG
from Tampa Bay, FL
"Feels and casts like a much more expensive setup. I would not hesitate to buy another. Great back up or first Flyrod."
Review 9 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Purchase,
April 20, 2015
By: Mavis5
from Hollywood, Florida
"The rod and reel are well made for the price. The rod loads and cast well. Should work well for bonefish and seatrout."
Review 10 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice fly setup for the money,
February 2, 2015
By: BenW86
"Haven't had a chance to try it yet but it looks and feels very good."
Review 11 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Affordable Awesomness,
January 30, 2015
By: AlexDoubleU
"Bought this for my birthday and have only had the opportunity to whip it around in the backyard since it is below freezing here most of the time. It is great that Orvis provides a product for the general outdoorsman to buy and not break the bank. I have already planned a trip with Orvis in the spring, CANT WAIT!"
Review 12 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice outfit,
January 10, 2015
By: Kensington
from Northeast US.
"Plan on using this for freshwater North American gamefish, specifically small mouth bass and exceptional specimens of chain pickerel and largemouth bass. Can tell it's made well and the reel seat stuff is nice looking and easy to use. I'll be using it to cast streamers and bulky flies that my 6 weight can't handle."
Review 13 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great deal,
December 29, 2014
By: mikefromsantacruz
from Santa Cruz, Ca
"My first 8 weight. Different to throw vrs a 5 weight but super easy to get the hang of it. Great deal as well. They should include dots to allow easier rod assembly."
Review 14 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value,
November 19, 2014
By: Fishfriendlyman007
from Canada
"Purchased this rod for travel. Now it's all I use! Great feel and reel. Now leave the cane rod at home.
Ans you don't have to freak out if you drop it :)
"
Review 15 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
November 14, 2014
By: Pomfretian
from UK
"I purchased this outfit to go bonefishing but found it also to get an excellent small river salmon outfit"
Review 16 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUST GET IT!,
November 14, 2014
By: HuffDaddy
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"The price on this thing can't be beat by any other company. It's a high quality set up for a more than reasonable, if not generous price. If you're on the fence about quality, it has Orvis' name on it! I love mine and I'm glad I got it!"
Review 17 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
October 27, 2014
By: Dougie87
from Pittsburgh Area
"I just recently used the Encounter 8-weight 9' Rod outfit on my trip to lake Erie. It's a great rod for Steelhead. The greatest part is that it came with a case, leader, and tippet. Exceptional quality as usual with Orvis!"
Review 18 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice affordable setup,
October 21, 2014
By: dank70
"based on my limited fly fishing knowledge and comparing it to other fly rods i own, the quality of this set up seems great for the price, can't wait to hook a steelhead on it!"
Review 19 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal on a great combo!,
October 7, 2014
By: Hydedrift71
from Va
"I was in the market for a eight weight rod with enough backbone to throw large articulated streamers at big pre spawn brown trout. This rod absolutely performs that duty flawlessly. It easily shoots 350 gr sinking lines tipped with heavy streamers for those long and precise bank-hugging casts that are required when streamer fishing. Alone, the rod itself is worth the price paid for the combo. The fact that a very capable reel with a nice line is included is a real bonus! Highly recommended!"
Review 20 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 25, 2014
By: Roach45
from Santa Clarita, Ca.
"Very nice outfit! My second Orvis combo (Clearwater 6W/9FT) I'm new to fly fishing, so my knowledge is very limited. I think this combo is perfect for beginners such as myself. All I can say is that I really like going after the bass in my local lakes with this rod!!!!!"