Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. This solid 9' 8-weight Encounter outfit has all the power and performance anyone could ask at a price that will have you wondering, what's the catch? Backup or first big-game rod outfit, this is the finest you will ever buy at this price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.757 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 37(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 4, 2014
By: Bigmatt
"I bought this rod to fish large flies for stripers and smallmouth bass. The rod performed flawlessly. Although the real feels cheap it performs very well."
Review 2 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
July 4, 2014
By: ParkeJ
"As usual with Orvis, the quality is there, along with beauty, balance & workmanship."
Review 3 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value!!,
July 2, 2014
By: DantheMusicMan
from Massachusetts
"I purchased the Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit with an eye to using it both on a pond for large bass and also for Atlantic Salmon in a river I fish. The package came the very next day - much quicker than I had expected. This was really appreciated as I had injured my back and its arrival picked up my spirits. I rigged it up and took a few casts on the lawn and was greatly impressed. It cast superbly. I will be getting out on the water in a few days to try it out on some big bass. I will most likely pick up a spare reel and sinking tip line also to go with this combo's floating line. Great product Orvis. This combo happily joins my other Orvis rods."
Review 4 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy purchase,
June 12, 2014
By: fishstalker01
"Did some practice casts with rod . It is nice to handle good flow and to cast"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter bonefish,
June 5, 2014
By: Ajones10
from Texas
"This rod and reel outfit is a great price along with great performance especially for entry level saltwater fishing. It's casts great and very comparable to the Clearwater on touch
I recommend for those who need a backup rod or a heavier weight for occasional big game fishing
"
Review 6 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod and Reel Combo,
May 31, 2014
By: GMAthur
from North East Ohio
"I fished the 8wt combo for the first time yesterday and it worked flawlessly. The rod casts extremely well. Great feel. I didn't have anything on the line that tested the reel but it looks well made and functions just fine. The fit and finish on the rod and reel was as good as any rod I own some which cost many times the price of this outfit.
I only gave the product four stars instead of five for a couple reasons. No alignment dots on the rod. Sure it's easy to add your own with a bottle of nail polish, but all rods in this day and age should come with them. And I have not owned the rod long enough to give a durability rating. Otherwise this is a great setup for any price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real nice combo,
May 11, 2014
By: Jimiw
from Saint Cloud . Florida
"I got this combo and this is great.
The reel and rod are very well balanced and the line flows out great. Going fishing for reds. Handles bass great.
You will not be sorry for buying this combo. Ovris has a new customer.
"
Review 8 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for pike,
May 9, 2014
By: vello
from Sweden
"Great rod for pike, casts very nice with a nice feeling.
Reel is also great, brake works smothly.
Line is slick but does get a bit stiff i cold weather with some memory /curls.
Overall, a great outfit.
"
Review 9 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awsome,
May 7, 2014
By: supersayianken
from milwaukee, wi
"Awsome rod awsome shipping just all around awsome...fly rod is even awsomer. Love it after receiving the fly rod I took it out and hooked up on a nice steelhead. Nice handling of the rod and very well balanced"
Review 10 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
new outfit,
April 29, 2014
By: saratogasprings
"I have no complaints after my first outing except my arm is tired. if you are interested in fly fishing but don't want to make a huge investment this is a great place to start. As my fly fishing son told me," if you like this you're going to buy another rod." I got this to throw some bigger streamers and it will do that."
Review 11 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Beat It,
April 24, 2014
By: HottyToddy
from Georgia
"I have been fly-fishing in rivers and lakes for longer than I would like to state, and have always used Orvis rods.
Well I strayed while researching for my first Bone-fishing trip this year. I started looking elsewhere as I was unsure if I wanted to spend the money and quickly realized the error of my ways. While demoing and researching the competition a couple of months ago, I received my Orvis catalog and quickly quit wasting time and purchased the Encounter 8-weight. Trust me, you truly will not find a better deal out there, especially with the reliable Orvis quality. Do not waste your time and jump on this deal.
Glad I did, as it was on back order for a month due to popular demand. Received the rod, reel, case without issue and headed South in 2 weeks!"
Review 12 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice starter package.,
April 11, 2014
By: troutnodoubt
from Minnesota lakes and streams.
"I ordered the rod/reel/carrier package in the Orvis store as the particular model I wanted was not in stock at the moment.
I received professional and friendly assistance in the Oak Brook, Il. store.
It shipped very quickly, and was very well packaged with the rod protector inside of a box contained within another box. Very securely done.
The reel has an appearance well above the price point and after promptly dropping it, I can report it is robust. It bounces nicely, too. The composite looks like anodized aluminum and is indistinguishable if you are concerned about a "plastic' appearance. Having the line pre-spooled and ready to go out of the box is a benefit for a new user like me.
The rod I choose was for larger species and the action seems well tuned for the application, but as a neophyte, I do not truly have the experience to rate it against others, but I find what I have to be flawless for the purpose. I can note the construction of the rod is very nice and the finish is comparable to others I examined in the store with much higher price tags.
The case is sturdy, the zipper is strong and the package includes a small drawstring bag for the reel. It's all there.
I'm quite pleased, and with the confidence of "Orvis" on the product, have no reservations in recommending this item to others"
Review 13 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product for the money,
March 26, 2014
By: joseph28
from Ohio
"I began using the Encounter rod reel combo about two weeks ago. I fish mostly for steel head on the lake erie tributaries. I absolutely love it. Casts awesome and is very responsive."
Review 14 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 8-weight 9' fly rod outfit,
March 13, 2014
By: JefffromKokomo
from Kokomo, IN
"really good value for the money, rod has the responsive feel of a more expensive outfit, The reel is also good for the money with a drag that should handle lightweight saltwater and salmon I intend to use it for."
Review 15 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 8 weight outfit,
March 10, 2014
By: Robin1159
from NW Pennsylvania
"This is definitely the best value for the money out there. Once the snow melts I am going to use it for lake Erie steelhead. If I ever get the chance to do some Bone Fishing It will be great for that also, and the polymer reel will not be affected by the salt water."
Review 16 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ease of use,
March 7, 2014
By: Rick1949
from se mass
"seems to fit my hand better than others ,casting has improved . I love it"
Review 17 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 6, 2014
By: safetymarkh
from Proctor, VT
"This is my 3rd Orvis rod, I have been impressed with each one...I expecially like the 4 piece design and the overall feel of the rod...this rod is slated to be used in the fall fishing for salmon and steelhead in Pulaski, NY..my only complaint is that the reel is not reversable...great buy for a beginner or for anold man like myself who appreciates quality products."
Review 18 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 4, 2014
By: jaw719
from Charleston, SC
"I will be ordering from Orvis very soon. My package arrived quickly and securely. Nothing was scratched, bent, cracked, etc. I am new to fly fishing so I wanted to get something entry level to learn with, but I can already tell this fly combo will do a lot of fishing in and around Charleston."
Review 19 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Combo,
February 20, 2014
By: myoz2u
"Just received the 8 -weight 9'fly rod outfit and it looks and feels Great. Got it real fast and can hardly wait to use it to drag in the big ones. The price was right when your on a budget, and the quality seems outstanding...Thanks Orvis"
Review 20 for Encounter 8-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Encounter,
February 15, 2014
By: cyangler
from Northeastern Massachusetts
"Having already purchased an Encounter II reel, the IV came as no surprise to me as far as looks, weight, powerful disc drag mechanism, and general quality. Contemporary design, a graphite reel that doesn't look like it is graphite, and a strong drag that is well protected from particulate damage.
My initial impressions of the rod before getting it home, lining it up and spending time with it were equally high. But, I was taken aback by just how much rod there is in this offering from Orvis at the established price point. Before even lining it up, I turned it over in my hands and was astonished by what a beautiful rod this is. The color and finish of the blank, the choice of color and quality of the wraps, the hardware - this rod has the look and feel of a much more expensive rod. Well appointed I was literally in awe. The kicker, however, really came when I lined it up and began casting with it. I own several high end graphite rods in the $800 range in line weights from 7 - 12, and was not expecting the Encounter to have the backbone and reserve that it demonstrated. I expected it to perform better than average for certain, but not to perform equally well as the far more expensive rods in my collection. Without going into detail, Orvis states that the Encounter uses the latest technology - this is obviously the case. I've finally picked my jaw up off the floor, though, I am still in a state of total amazement. Absolutely, the best value out there."