Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 9'6" 6-weight Encounter rod outfit is a powerful big-water trout rod with that extra length that's perfect for reaching out on long mends or high-stick nymphing. Excellent option for light steelhead as well. Go with confidence and a wallet that's still intact.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good outfit,
July 22, 2014
By: BluegillTasteGood
from Springcreek, TN
"It arrived on time in a sturdy box. The fly shop was extremely helpful with all of my questions."
Review 2 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good combo outfit,
July 4, 2014
By: BluegillTasteGood
from Springcreek, TN
"It arrived on time in sturdy shipping box. Great customer service. Just add a fly and a pond/lake. Their flies are much better than what is available locally."
Review 3 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase with the help of Orvis,
May 27, 2014
By: CKnight24
from Richmond, VA
"After a lot of looking around for a beginner fly rod, I finally decided on the Orvis Encounter. The rod came right on time with its fast shipping. The rod case was an excellent addition to the outfit, it has already saved my rod from damage many times. The super helpful Orvis employees helped perfect my cast and helped me pick out some great starting flieswhich had me on the water in no time. The rod its self is very durable and is a canon. This thing launches flies with power and precision. The cork grip provides comfort for all day fishing. I have dropped this real many times and its still brand new. 5/5 for a great overall experience with Orvis and its product! Highly recommended!"
Review 4 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More bang for your buck!,
April 24, 2014
By: par37
from Pennsylvania
"Great value! Very nice well balanced combo for beginners and avid anglers. Perfect as a backup outfit or for use in rugged back country. I also bought the Encounter 8 wt 9' for steelhead."
Review 5 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Above and Beyond Expectations,
February 18, 2014
By: FreshNSaltwaterFlyFisher
from Orange County, CA
"I purchased this outfit to fish for bass and bluegill in a local private lake. I was planning to go surf fishing the next morning and couldn't wait to try out the rod so slapped on my 8 weight sinking tip line and hit the local surf. The rod worked flawlessly with the heavier line. Caught some nice barred surf perch - what a nice feeling rod. Could not be happier. Although I expected the rod to work well, I did not expect it to handle as well as it did with the heaving line. The Orvis craftsmanship was superb."
Review 6 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dansr Cincinnati,
January 21, 2014
By: Dansr
from Cincinnati OH
"Have not had a chance to use this bought it for my grandson. Cast it on the lawn and seems like a good starter rod. For the money it seems well made."
Review 7 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great starter kit,
January 19, 2014
By: Gilberto2
from Santiago, Chile
"A gift for a young man in Chile he caught 3 5lb. rainbows from Lago Rupanco his first outing. Obviously he likes it."
Review 8 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wrong Rod and Wrong Reel,
January 15, 2014
By: CoachG
from Los Angeles, CA
"The Encounter Rod was poorly balanced. Very heavy even for a 9.6 rod. The reel fell apart after a few practice casts. My first bad purchase from Orvis. The experienced few casters from my fly casting club were equally surprised by the poor quality of both rod and reel. Orvis took both back without question."