Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 9'6" 6-weight Encounter rod outfit is a powerful big-water trout rod with that extra length that's perfect for reaching out on long mends or high-stick nymphing. Excellent option for light steelhead as well. Go with confidence and a wallet that's still intact.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything and more,
July 21, 2015
By: madrivermallard
from Stowe, Vt
"I ordered the 6 weight encounter and love it. For the money I was impressed with the quality and the feel of the rod I have caught trout and bass on this outfit and has handled everything that has been on the other end."
Review 2 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Rod,
June 2, 2015
By: wp123
"This rod setup is excellent. I took it out of the box and was ready to hit the water right away. The reel & line are top quality. The tapered leader was long and at the very end where it was ultra thin it snapped when subject to little force. But I just cut off the super thin part and was good to go. Highly recommended for a beginner/intermediate/expert - It'll get the job done."
Review 3 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Proof of pudding,
April 20, 2015
By: Stratters
from Stony Stratford
"First time out 4 fish landed...,,, must be a good rod because I never catch like that!
Seriously, a very nice looking rod, well equipped with reel, line and leader. Nicely packaged, promptly delivered, ready assembled.
Easy to cast and very competitively priced.
Very happy customer.
"
Review 4 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good,
February 19, 2015
By: MLandry
from Salem, South Carolina
"Combo is very well made and attractive. The backing and fly line are of good quality. As a once a year fly fisherman and a novice also, it really fits my need and pocketbook."
Review 5 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid performance,
October 29, 2014
By: MRP85
from USA
"I was skeptical at first due to the composite material of the reel, but after a full day of field testing, i came to the conclusion that i enjoyed the light weight durability of this product. Caught a 26 incher on my first day out with this Orvis Outfit."
Review 6 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Outfit,
August 24, 2014
By: PaulFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"Great outfit. Used it on my local trout fishery as soon as it arrived and although I didn't catch anything, I had a fantastic day. When I produced my rod to the owner he was full of compliments and said that I didn't cut any corners with this outfit. He even had a few casts himself and he was very impressed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product, Minor Problems.,
August 5, 2014
By: JonWiedow
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
"I will say that this fly outfit is very nice. I am an avid fisherman and just started delving into fly fishing a few years ago. I did a lot of research and landed on this particular one.
I was very excited to receive it and, when it finally came, I immediately opened it and put it together.
This is when I discovered the problem. The leader had completely wrapped around the shank of the reel. It was twisted and knotted, and the only way I could remedy this was to take apart the reel and untwist all of the line.
Now, I have had a lot of experience taking apart reels and drag systems before- so I knew to watch out for all of the little springs and tiny metal pieces that these reels are made of. I was able to successfully untangle the line and now the reel works perfectly.
I didn't appreciate having to take apart my reel 15 minutes after having it delivered, but everything turned out okay in the end.
I still highly recommend this outfit to anyone who is looking for a beginner system."
Review 8 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good outfit,
July 22, 2014
By: BluegillTasteGood
from Springcreek, TN
"It arrived on time in a sturdy box. The fly shop was extremely helpful with all of my questions."
Review 9 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good combo outfit,
July 4, 2014
By: BluegillTasteGood
from Springcreek, TN
"It arrived on time in sturdy shipping box. Great customer service. Just add a fly and a pond/lake. Their flies are much better than what is available locally."
Review 10 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase with the help of Orvis,
May 27, 2014
By: CKnight24
from Richmond, VA
"After a lot of looking around for a beginner fly rod, I finally decided on the Orvis Encounter. The rod came right on time with its fast shipping. The rod case was an excellent addition to the outfit, it has already saved my rod from damage many times. The super helpful Orvis employees helped perfect my cast and helped me pick out some great starting flieswhich had me on the water in no time. The rod its self is very durable and is a canon. This thing launches flies with power and precision. The cork grip provides comfort for all day fishing. I have dropped this real many times and its still brand new. 5/5 for a great overall experience with Orvis and its product! Highly recommended!"
Review 11 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More bang for your buck!,
April 24, 2014
By: par37
from Pennsylvania
"Great value! Very nice well balanced combo for beginners and avid anglers. Perfect as a backup outfit or for use in rugged back country. I also bought the Encounter 8 wt 9' for steelhead."
Review 12 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Above and Beyond Expectations,
February 18, 2014
By: FreshNSaltwaterFlyFisher
from Orange County, CA
"I purchased this outfit to fish for bass and bluegill in a local private lake. I was planning to go surf fishing the next morning and couldn't wait to try out the rod so slapped on my 8 weight sinking tip line and hit the local surf. The rod worked flawlessly with the heavier line. Caught some nice barred surf perch - what a nice feeling rod. Could not be happier. Although I expected the rod to work well, I did not expect it to handle as well as it did with the heaving line. The Orvis craftsmanship was superb."
Review 13 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dansr Cincinnati,
January 21, 2014
By: Dansr
from Cincinnati OH
"Have not had a chance to use this bought it for my grandson. Cast it on the lawn and seems like a good starter rod. For the money it seems well made."
Review 14 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great starter kit,
January 19, 2014
By: Gilberto2
from Santiago, Chile
"A gift for a young man in Chile he caught 3 5lb. rainbows from Lago Rupanco his first outing. Obviously he likes it."
Review 15 for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wrong Rod and Wrong Reel,
January 15, 2014
By: CoachG
from Los Angeles, CA
"The Encounter Rod was poorly balanced. Very heavy even for a 9.6 rod. The reel fell apart after a few practice casts. My first bad purchase from Orvis. The experienced few casters from my fly casting club were equally surprised by the poor quality of both rod and reel. Orvis took both back without question."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Encounter 6-weight 9'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1