Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 9' 5-weight Encounter rod outfit is easily the best value-priced outfit of its kind. This is the perfect backup for an experienced traveling angler or for a new angler who plans to spend most of their time on bigger trout waters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
69 of 72(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
August 21, 2015
By: DocDJ
from Staunton, VA
"I own a mystic 8' 3 wt and it's great for smaller bookie water and it works wonderfully. On a whim I just purchased the encounter 9' 5 wt to get into some larger rivers. I am so surprised on how well this combo fishes for the price. It is amazing! Sensitive and the stiffness is just perfect for those small "sipping" hits on top. Would highly recommend."
Review 2 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Outfit,
August 20, 2015
By: Tfisher
from South
"Purchased this as a 4-piece back-up rod for an upcoming trip. Pleasantly surprised at this rod. Reel seat bracket did seem (a little) to tight for the reel, but this isn't an expensive rod, so it's not a big deal. Took it out first day and did a side by side comparison of an old sage rod I had. Casting was great. Good feel when I hooked the fish. Reel has smooth action. This "back-up" rod will end up getting plenty of use, since 1) it performs well and 2) the price -as clumbsy as I am, I don't have to "baby" this rod. Thanks to Orvis for making a quality rod and reel outfit for anyone to afford."
Review 3 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!!!!,
August 10, 2015
By: Rope66
from KS.
"I can't get over, how nice this outfit is. Just as stated in the catalog. Picked it up,and went fishing. Super good deal!!!"
Review 4 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grat value,
August 4, 2015
By: Newtoflyfishing11
from Omaha, NE
"I am new at fly fishing but I'm hooked. After trying out this new sport I wanted to get more involved. The Encounter was the perfect fit, great price for such a great setup and the quality is exceptional."
Review 5 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Price-Value Balance,
July 29, 2015
By: Christian4u
from Switzerland
"Just received this fly rod today and used it the same day. Great product, excellent price to value balance ! Thank you ORVIS !"
Review 6 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best Purchase Ever,
July 27, 2015
By: flyfishing4u
from calgary ab
"i loved it for this big of a pole it is very light weight and its great to get the rod the reel and the line. it is very easy to cast
every who is intrested is buying this fly rod should get it!
"
Review 7 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for a great fly rod,
July 15, 2015
By: BradT88
from Michigan
"Recently purchased the 9-foot 5 weight encounter outfit and was extremely impressed with its performance as well as the case and reel which also came with a orvis carrying case... Very good value especially if you intend on becoming more immersed in the sport of fly fishing!"
Review 8 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best rod for value,
June 25, 2015
By: Tadikas
from ireland
"Good Fly Rod Outfit for best price not only for beginners!!"
Review 9 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
9' fly rod outfit great value,
June 25, 2015
By: ob001
from UK
"really pleased with the quality and product, great value for the money"
Review 10 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
An Encounter with flexibility,
June 3, 2015
By: TMIdaho
from Wood River Valley, Idaho
"A lovely few days were had on the rivers and streams surrounding Hailey, Idaho. The Big Wood was big and barely fishable but the rod worked its way. The North Fork and Stanley Basin's smaller reaches were clear and a great way to feel out this rod's flexibility with handling small, medium and larger waters!"
Review 11 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
May 19, 2015
By: NHMatt
from New Hampshire
"I was actually looking for a new fly line when I came across this outfit. There is no better value on the market. Orvis quality at a ridiculously low price. Well made, casts well - all good. I would highly recommend this product for anyone starting out that doesn't want to go all in yet."
Review 12 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dissapointed,
May 17, 2015
By: CREFLO
from Waynesville,NC
"I was thrilled when first using this setup. Action and sensitivity of the rod is fantastic,reel quality and feel is fantastic,line on this setup, fantastic. I bought this about 8 months ago. 2 kids,wife and working 2 jobs I rarely get a chance to fish anymore,so today, beautiful morning,beautiful spot full of trout,rod broke while casting,snapped off at the second to last eye. Have not used this even 10 times,heck the grips have not even darkened. Called Orvis - very friendly personnel - they want $50.00 and 4 weeks to repair. No warranty whatsoever. An obvious manufacturing defect,still going to cost $50.00. I am going to garbage this rod,keep the reel and never buy Orvis again. Disappointed!"
Review 13 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
papafinn,
May 7, 2015
By: papafinn
from colorado
"I am starting out in the fly fishing sport and this Rod is a good investment in me arsenal"
Review 14 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great starter combo,
May 3, 2015
By: JamesBuckey
from caldwell, oh
"New to fly fishing. I had no idea what I was doing, but this rod works great. Watched a few expert videos and can cast semi-reliably every time. I see no aspect of this setup that will not fit my needs."
Review 15 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's the Fuss?,
April 29, 2015
By: ALFlyer
from Alabama
"Bought this with absolutely no fly fishing experience. Youtubed my self silly on technique and common mistakes by beginners like me. Yes it was difficult at first but it wasn't the rod, it was the operator. If you sent this back the next day you really didn't give yourself time to learn how to use it. If you were an experienced fly fisher already, then you should have went with a Non entry level setup.
This is a great setup to begin with. Orvis is straight up in their description. This is an entry level setup. Plain and simple. But I see myself using it way beyond my learning time. No regrets."
Review 16 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best combo,
April 9, 2015
By: toby54
from utah
"Very comfortable and responsive rod. can't go wrong with an Orvis"
Review 17 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not a good choice for a novice.,
March 23, 2015
By: GlenInIdaho
from Twin Falls, ID
"Rod is entirely to stiff and does not load well. I ordered this outfit because I had ordered an Encounter Rod late last year but had not yet used it. Used it this month. When the new outfit arrived I returned it the same day."
Review 18 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginners luck!,
March 14, 2015
By: Cadetalbert
from Waco, TX
"Took this fantastic rod and reel out for a first timer. Not only was it our honeymoon on the beautiful Gunnison River, but this orvis was the best wedding gift I could have given her. Wether it was a dry fly or nymphing, this setup did the trick. Let's just say I started our marriage with the best purchase I have ever made. Great price, surprisingly great setup, and I'm buying one for myself now. Simply remarkable!"
Review 19 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Junk,
February 16, 2015
By: Neighbor8
"Bought this about 6 months ago, used it once and will never use it again. It is a piece of junk. The reel seat is poorly made and is hard to tighten and you can tell it is very cheap. If you want a decent beginner rod go with the Clearwater. It is a shame they don't have something between the clearwater and the more expensive rods."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First rod,
January 15, 2015
By: MartyMcFly
from Savannah, Ga
"Being new to the sport of fly fishing I was looking for an entry level rod and real combination. I could not be more pleased with this purchase and the quality that Orvis continues to deliver. I caught a largemouth the first trip and I've never had more fun fighting a fish."