Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 9' 5-weight Encounter rod outfit is easily the best value-priced outfit of its kind. This is the perfect backup for an experienced traveling angler or for a new angler who plans to spend most of their time on bigger trout waters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
58 of 61(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
May 19, 2015
By: NHMatt
from New Hampshire
"I was actually looking for a new fly line when I came across this outfit. There is no better value on the market. Orvis quality at a ridiculously low price. Well made, casts well - all good. I would highly recommend this product for anyone starting out that doesn't want to go all in yet."
Review 2 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dissapointed,
May 17, 2015
By: CREFLO
from Waynesville,NC
"I was thrilled when first using this setup. Action and sensitivity of the rod is fantastic,reel quality and feel is fantastic,line on this setup, fantastic. I bought this about 8 months ago. 2 kids,wife and working 2 jobs I rarely get a chance to fish anymore,so today, beautiful morning,beautiful spot full of trout,rod broke while casting,snapped off at the second to last eye. Have not used this even 10 times,heck the grips have not even darkened. Called Orvis - very friendly personnel - they want $50.00 and 4 weeks to repair. No warranty whatsoever. An obvious manufacturing defect,still going to cost $50.00. I am going to garbage this rod,keep the reel and never buy Orvis again. Disappointed!"
Review 3 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
papafinn,
May 7, 2015
By: papafinn
from colorado
"I am starting out in the fly fishing sport and this Rod is a good investment in me arsenal"
Review 4 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great starter combo,
May 3, 2015
By: JamesBuckey
from caldwell, oh
"New to fly fishing. I had no idea what I was doing, but this rod works great. Watched a few expert videos and can cast semi-reliably every time. I see no aspect of this setup that will not fit my needs."
Review 5 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's the Fuss?,
April 29, 2015
By: ALFlyer
from Alabama
"Bought this with absolutely no fly fishing experience. Youtubed my self silly on technique and common mistakes by beginners like me. Yes it was difficult at first but it wasn't the rod, it was the operator. If you sent this back the next day you really didn't give yourself time to learn how to use it. If you were an experienced fly fisher already, then you should have went with a Non entry level setup.
This is a great setup to begin with. Orvis is straight up in their description. This is an entry level setup. Plain and simple. But I see myself using it way beyond my learning time. No regrets."
Review 6 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best combo,
April 9, 2015
By: toby54
from utah
"Very comfortable and responsive rod. can't go wrong with an Orvis"
Review 7 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not a good choice for a novice.,
March 23, 2015
By: GlenInIdaho
from Twin Falls, ID
"Rod is entirely to stiff and does not load well. I ordered this outfit because I had ordered an Encounter Rod late last year but had not yet used it. Used it this month. When the new outfit arrived I returned it the same day."
Review 8 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginners luck!,
March 14, 2015
By: Cadetalbert
from Waco, TX
"Took this fantastic rod and reel out for a first timer. Not only was it our honeymoon on the beautiful Gunnison River, but this orvis was the best wedding gift I could have given her. Wether it was a dry fly or nymphing, this setup did the trick. Let's just say I started our marriage with the best purchase I have ever made. Great price, surprisingly great setup, and I'm buying one for myself now. Simply remarkable!"
Review 9 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Junk,
February 16, 2015
By: Neighbor8
"Bought this about 6 months ago, used it once and will never use it again. It is a piece of junk. The reel seat is poorly made and is hard to tighten and you can tell it is very cheap. If you want a decent beginner rod go with the Clearwater. It is a shame they don't have something between the clearwater and the more expensive rods."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First rod,
January 15, 2015
By: MartyMcFly
from Savannah, Ga
"Being new to the sport of fly fishing I was looking for an entry level rod and real combination. I could not be more pleased with this purchase and the quality that Orvis continues to deliver. I caught a largemouth the first trip and I've never had more fun fighting a fish."
Review 11 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice Outfit,
December 17, 2014
By: HikeYellowstone
"As a beginner I wasn't sure what to buy, what types of flies, etc.... But Orvis recommended this rod and I absolutely love it!"
Review 12 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice rod,
November 20, 2014
By: fisherofmen
from pennslyvania
"this is an amazing rod for the price. I own some nice redington rods that are more expensive then this combo, and this rod completly blows it out of the water. It can cast any thing that i try to throw from heavy streamers and strike indicator rigs, and small dry flies. I love this rod."
Review 13 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 1st fly rod,
November 15, 2014
By: racered09
from Albany, WI
"Have fished for many years and wanted to learn fly fishing. This rod is an excellent choice for a 1st timer. It is easy to set-up, lightweight, and easy to travel with. Took it with me to Wyoming in Sept 2014 and caught a dozen fish on my 1st outing."
Review 14 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
O-R-V-I-S,
November 14, 2014
By: alshep
from Edinburgh
"Outstanding Rod Very Impressive Service. ( O-R-V-I-S)"
Review 15 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value or what!!!!,
November 13, 2014
By: Durt
from Derby
"Retired this year,went on a fly fishing tuition day this year, took up fly fishing this year,bought the Encounter Fly Rod outfit this year,fantastic purchase,superb value for money,excellent quality.
Brilliant service,user friendly website,what more can you ask for.
"
Review 16 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great entry level rod,
October 15, 2014
By: TroutDominator73
from Horsham, PA
"I got this as a replacement to a much cheaper rod I had received as a gift. First weekend I put it to the test catching several smaller Smallies a few stocked trout and a handful of panfish. Handled all of them with ease. Would definitely recommend an extra spool for the beginner as this rod is diverse enough to handle quite a range of fish without the need for a lighter weight kit."
Review 17 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beginners thoughts on the 5wt.,
September 22, 2014
By: harryhh
"I purchased the Encounter 9ft, 5wt outfit to fish primarily for bass.
As a beginner, I've found that casting larger flies for bass too difficult with the 5wt.
As I gain experience with casting and matching leader size to the fly, I hope to be able to cast the larger flies. But, I probably should have started out with an 8wt to make things easier."
Review 18 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My encounter with the Orvis Encounter,
September 4, 2014
By: oscarperezcanales
from Pachuca, Hgo., México
"I live in Mexico and recently bought through internet equipment for fishing "Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit", to use it I took a pleasant surprise to confirm the high quality of the equipment, Reed is fast, flexible and highly sensitive, throwing line and retrieve a capture is a great pleasure, moreover reel fulfills all expectations, and together make an affordable equipment, high-quality and visually very beautiful. Orvis, thank you and congratulations for having created the "Encounter 5-weight 9 'Fly Rod Outfit". And I congratulate me for buying it."
Review 19 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thoroughly Pleased,
September 3, 2014
By: Bret58
from Oklahoma
"I am new to fly fishing and started researching fly rod and reel combos. After spending several weeks evaluating different rod and reel combos ( I even bought another one and returned it) the Orvis Encounter feels far superior than the others in every way. The cork grip has a great feel, the rod is light, and the reel is as smooth as an expensive bait cast reel. I have not had a chance to fish with it yet but I have complete confidence in this outfit."
Review 20 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
September 2, 2014
By: taylorinindy
from irwin, id
"I bought this on my third day of fishing with guides at The Lodge on the Palisades. I used it instead of the pricier rods I was loaned the two previous days. Couldn't tell a difference and landed huge trout. Can't wait to try it on bass and bluegill back home in Indianapolis."