Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 9' 5-weight Encounter rod outfit is easily the best value-priced outfit of its kind. This is the perfect backup for an experienced traveling angler or for a new angler who plans to spend most of their time on bigger trout waters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Worth it,
April 16, 2014
By: stroming
from Vass, NC
"I like the rod, what a value for a beginner trying fly fishing for the first time. It was recommended to me and my wife by several friends that fly fish a lot"
Review 2 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for a new fly fisher,
April 16, 2014
By: Oldguy1953
"As always with Orvis equipment, I was pelased with the quality of the rod and reel. I purchased the outfit for a young man I introduced to the sport last summer. He is extremely interested in continuing the sport and I wanted to get him some quality equipment without spending a lot of cash. This outfit fit the bill."
Review 3 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
100% satisfaction...,
April 8, 2014
By: douglasgutierrez
from montéal,canada
"i recommend this rod outfit if you want to have fun and put your money in the right product.it is all 100% satisfaction."
Review 4 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newbie to Fly Fishing,
April 7, 2014
By: txoutdoorsman
from Plano, TX
"For the price, I believe this is a remarkable piece of equipment."
Review 5 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent price quality relationship,
March 29, 2014
By: dloria
from Comodoro Rivadavia
"I was really happy with the balance that the product has. I really enjoyed the sensation I got at the moment of the catch. I was deligthed by the little weight of it"
Review 6 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality @ bargain $$$,
March 5, 2014
By: flyfishorgolf
"I have other Orvis and TFO outfits that cost way more. I wanted a back up 4-piece, but after only a few casts I felt this rod would become the one to always be in the truck and ready for use. It casts smoothly with enough backbone and delicacy to be used in many situations."
Review 7 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly rod & precision fly reel,
March 4, 2014
By: Daliffi
from Southeast Georgia
"Could not be more pleased with this purchase. Great rod & reel for the price point. Will buy another.
Thanks Orvis
"
Review 8 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice,
February 18, 2014
By: SREVIS
from St. Louis, MO
"Very happy with the total package, flyrod, reel, line, and case. First class all the way. For this price this package cannot be beat and it is an Orvis brand which stands up to anything out there."
Review 9 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for beginners,
February 17, 2014
By: azduane
from Phoenix, AZ
"I'm restarting my love with fly fishing and felt I needed a first rate rod and reel combo to help me. I know the product doesn't make me a good fly fisher but it helps with my confidence as I work at getting better."
Review 10 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit,
February 12, 2014
By: SpokaneBill
from Spokane, WA
"I purchased online and received the outfit 3 days later. An excellent value and can't wait for the snoew to clear to use"
Review 11 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uncomparable Value,
January 25, 2014
By: Natfuel
from Central, PA
"I received this outfit for christmas and i can honestly say, Wow. I have several other orvis and brand X rods and this one is fantastic for the price. It is'nt a helios but if your on a budget or just starting out buy this over any other choice and start with the best. It has a great feel, not a finesse rod but just an all around good value. I would reccomend to anyone."
Review 12 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
value and quality,
January 23, 2014
By: deannoab
from Montgomery, AL
"Got this 5 weight for the ponds in Alabama. Has a great action and was easy to swap to right hand retrieve. Great smooth casts. Cant wait for spring."
Review 13 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First purchase,
January 21, 2014
By: MasterD
from LaCenter,Ky.
"I am brand new to fly fishing and needed the equipment to get started.The encounter outfit was just what I needed.I am well on my way to hours of outdoor enjoyment ."
Review 14 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seems good but haven't fished with is yet.,
January 14, 2014
By: FlyFishRod
from Raleigh, NC
"I also own a 5wt Clearwater 8.5 feet. This one seems comparable at a lower price point. Came with a nice hard case for the rod and a felt bag for the reel - just like the Clearwater model. I've yet to fish with it but expect it to be a good backup.
I ordered the unit in the store and it took a little longer than I would have liked to arrive at my home."
Review 15 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
December 26, 2013
By: Hansson
from Finland
"Pure class in this price range. Entry level price but enough gear also for advanced anglers."
Review 16 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
December 21, 2013
By: Huero
from La Verne Ca
"Dad love this pole, delivery was unbelievable took just 3 days to get.
Can't wait to get to Mammoth
"
Review 17 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value!,
December 17, 2013
By: Guys
from SW Montana
"An excellent mid-level fly fishing package that is value priced. I have many rods that are higher end but for the $$$ this is an excellent outfit for any aspiring fly fisherman."
Review 18 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great intro rod and reel,
December 16, 2013
By: Troyc
from utah
"this is a great set up for beginner fly fishers or just to have as a back up. Anxious to use it this spring."
Review 19 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Affordable awesomeness is right,
November 28, 2013
By: Steelhead13
from Akron, OH
"I recently won an Encounter Outfit in one of the Orvis contests. It is a very sturdy rod. Although it is not your typical finesse trout rod it works well on everything from stripping streamers to drifting dry flies. The reel is also very sturdy and meant to last. Overall, I love this rod and will use for along time. Thanks Orvis for another great product"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1