Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 9' 5-weight Encounter rod outfit is easily the best value-priced outfit of its kind. This is the perfect backup for an experienced traveling angler or for a new angler who plans to spend most of their time on bigger trout waters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 45(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beginners thoughts on the 5wt.,
September 22, 2014
By: harryhh
"I purchased the Encounter 9ft, 5wt outfit to fish primarily for bass.
As a beginner, I've found that casting larger flies for bass too difficult with the 5wt.
As I gain experience with casting and matching leader size to the fly, I hope to be able to cast the larger flies. But, I probably should have started out with an 8wt to make things easier."
Review 2 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My encounter with the Orvis Encounter,
September 4, 2014
By: oscarperezcanales
from Pachuca, Hgo., México
"I live in Mexico and recently bought through internet equipment for fishing "Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit", to use it I took a pleasant surprise to confirm the high quality of the equipment, Reed is fast, flexible and highly sensitive, throwing line and retrieve a capture is a great pleasure, moreover reel fulfills all expectations, and together make an affordable equipment, high-quality and visually very beautiful. Orvis, thank you and congratulations for having created the "Encounter 5-weight 9 'Fly Rod Outfit". And I congratulate me for buying it."
Review 3 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thoroughly Pleased,
September 3, 2014
By: Bret58
from Oklahoma
"I am new to fly fishing and started researching fly rod and reel combos. After spending several weeks evaluating different rod and reel combos ( I even bought another one and returned it) the Orvis Encounter feels far superior than the others in every way. The cork grip has a great feel, the rod is light, and the reel is as smooth as an expensive bait cast reel. I have not had a chance to fish with it yet but I have complete confidence in this outfit."
Review 4 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
September 2, 2014
By: taylorinindy
from irwin, id
"I bought this on my third day of fishing with guides at The Lodge on the Palisades. I used it instead of the pricier rods I was loaned the two previous days. Couldn't tell a difference and landed huge trout. Can't wait to try it on bass and bluegill back home in Indianapolis."
Review 5 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rod for Price,
September 2, 2014
By: Christof
from AZ
"The action on the rod is great, the rod and reel seem to be built very well, and it all comes in a nice case. Overall, a good deal for the price."
Review 6 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
backbone,
August 28, 2014
By: tunaslayer
from Colbert, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Strength, feel and smooth drag at a reasonable price.
I have caught large bass, rainbows in the 30 inch length and a few stripers in the 17 lb range
This drag can fight the fish with the rod action keeping the heat on as if it had cost much more.
Very pleased
jorge
"
Review 7 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Average,
August 24, 2014
By: LOP67
"I guess it is a decent rod, but not the rod for me. I used it once and don't think I will use it again. The reel was so bulky and the line was so crummy that it just did feel right."
Review 8 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recent Purchase,
August 20, 2014
By: NewFlyFisher201
from Plano, TX
"I recently purchased this rod/reel from my local Orvis store. Customer service was excellent. The equipment works great !"
Review 9 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rod review,
August 15, 2014
By: Newflyfisherman1
"Took my first lesson and then hit the local pond for more practice. Rod performs well."
Review 10 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginner Angler's Dream,
August 1, 2014
By: RV0921
"As someone who had no idea about the fly fishing world, Orvis gave me a great product to start my new fly fishing hobby. After watching some casting videos online from Orvis's instructors and getting a few pointers from my friends (who also use Orvis rods), the lightweight Encounter Series made it so easy for me to just pick up the combo and start casting without any problems. I hope to purchase a heavier rod in the near future to use for some largemouth and steelhead. I definately recommend any Orvis product to anyone looking to get into fly fishing as this rod made my new hobby enjoyable straight from the beginning."
Review 11 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod and reel kit.,
July 28, 2014
By: Casper30224
from Georgia
"This is a great rod and reel kit. At the price of this kit you can more than one . Then you can cover all the fishbuou need to. Good rod and reel kit."
Review 12 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent entry level,
July 28, 2014
By: Knotgood
from Northeast
"Comb is well put together.great first rod or backup. Problem with this is, next you'll be hooked in thuds sport and be wanting a Helos2. That's really not too bad though."
Review 13 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Starter Rod,
July 22, 2014
By: alt2459
"I bought this when I wanted to start fly fishing and it is an excellent rod to start with. It has the amazing feel all Orvis rods have and comes with everything you need to get started. I also like the fact that Orvis rods come with a case...it makes life easy. The best part to me is it's a reasonable price so I won't have a heart attack if I break it."
Review 14 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 5 wt 9' outfit,
July 16, 2014
By: civilplan
"Great weight for medium duty, casts longer than I've done before. Nice combo. Excellent value."
Review 15 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great beginner's rod,
June 18, 2014
By: Lindalee4102
from Bel Air, MD
"I am new to fly-fishing and this was the rod recommended by a friend who is an experienced fly-fisher. He was impressed by the way it cast and I found it easy to look like I had some skills when I cast. I would recommend this to any beginner who is testing the waters to see if they really are interested in the sport."
Review 16 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Outfit,
June 18, 2014
By: Angelamcc
from Downingtown, PA
"I am a beginner fly fisher "woman", and purchased the Encounter rod/reel setup and I am extremely happy with it. Priced just right too! Thanks to the GREAT Customer Service at Orvis in Downingtown, PA., and Instruction from the FREE Fly Fishing 101 class that they offer.
I actually bought 4 encounter's! Happy Fishing..."
Review 17 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Beginner Outfit,
June 16, 2014
By: flydawg71
from Thomasville, GA
"I am just getting started with fly fishing, therefore, I am only beginning to learn how to cast with a fly rod. This outfit is definitely making it easy for me to learn. I haven't had it on the water yet, so I don't know how it feels to actually catch a fish on it, but I'll be finding out this weekend. My father-in-law has been fly fishing for several years, and when he tried casting with this outfit, he was really impressed with how it felt and casted. You can't go wrong with this outfit if you're a beginner, especially for the price."
Review 18 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
June 12, 2014
By: Vabentley
"Was looking forward to getting back into the sport after a long absence. The encounter 5 weight 9 ft. Fly rod was the perfect choice. Ready to fish right out of the box . Smooth reel and great action in the rod. Could not be more satisfied."
Review 19 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
June 10, 2014
By: Alex703
from Manassas, VA
"This was my first rod, it was more then I thought it would be. The line does need to be stretched so you can cast it easily."
Review 20 for Encounter 5-weight 9' Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't enter Orvis with the intent to buy a fly,
June 4, 2014
By: Obal
from Helena, MT
"What a wonderful deal. I didn't need another fly rod, but I tested it out. Did some casting out in back of the store. What a great outfit. I bought it to give as a gift for my brother with one requirement. He has to come visit me in Montana for its inaugural use."