Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 8'6" 5-weight is the best all around freshwater rod for trout and light bass fishing it is considered to be the perfect first rod for any fly angler. Small streams, big rivers, or ponds and lakes, this new 8'6" 5-weight Encounter rod outfit is the perfect answer to the question, "What's the first rod I should buy?".
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
42 of 44(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
beginner,
November 29, 2014
By: tribal
from north umpqua,oregon
"Just got the 5wt 8'6" encounter, , I've been learning to cast and the feel of the rod is very comfortable in my hand and a very nice smooth cast, , soon I'll take it to the north umpqua river and see it in action, ,,,,, updates to come, ,,,,,"
Review 2 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
November 18, 2014
By: Riverdoc
from WI
"Perfection and well design is difficult to find at times! The rod n case was excellent, reel so smooth and ready to use!!"
Review 3 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok first rig!,
November 13, 2014
By: wufwuf
from Norfolk
"Rod ok but would have been better if there had been alignment dots. The set lost points because of the reel which has been a real disappointment. Drag is getting stuck even when it is completely off. Reel is making a clicking noise as if something is broken in there. No reel lube helps."
Review 4 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great package to get in the water,
November 7, 2014
By: Ithacatrout
from Ithaca, NY
"New to fly fishing and always forced to borrow gear from friends. I finally scraped some cash and purchased this package. I couldn't be happier for a simple, inexpensive rig to give me the freedom to be in the water. The rod casts nicely and is fun to land even the smaller fish. I was surprised by a plastic reel but don't mind at all now that it's had some action! When I eventually make an upgrade this will be an excellent rod and reel for my son to get started."
Review 5 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just starting out,
October 27, 2014
By: JeffF
from Wisconsin
"Attempting to get my girlfriend into fly fishing I bought her this set up. I didnt want to spend a ton of money on a rod incase it did not work but i also did not want to buy a rod that wouldnt preform and set her up for failure. The Encounter rod that i got for her was perfect. Great pricce great quality. everything and more than i expected."
Review 6 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fall season.,
October 20, 2014
By: johnyfish
from Sea Bright, N.J.
"I just received this product, can't wait to use it for the fall season. I heard great things about this product. I went with my son this weekend, and it worked flawessly."
Review 7 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bung for your buck,
October 19, 2014
By: Takemetotheriver
from Woodbridge,VA
"Orvis is a great company and make great stuff. This rod is great for beginners and at a decent price. Plan on keeping it for a few years!"
Review 8 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 5-Weight,
August 28, 2014
By: DennisNJ
from Northern New Jersey
"I am brand new to fly fishing, and so far this is the perfect starter gear.
Well prepared and packaged. I did not have to worrying about working up a new line on a reel, since I am new at this.
I took the rod and reel out to my local river, tied on a fly and had some fun!"
Review 9 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice rod & reel,
July 26, 2014
By: JLHfly
from NY
"I am a beginner so I don't know a whole lot about fly fishing equipment. But this outfit works well for me. The only complaint I have is that the case doesn't have a spot for the reel so you have to disassemble every time. Although there is a nice little bag to keep the reel in and rod case seems very sturdy. All in all, I'm happy with my purchase."
Review 10 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Starter Rod,
July 21, 2014
By: WyoGal
from Green River, WY
"Love that the encounter provides full outfit for the beginner fisherman/woman! I've used three times since purchasing and have had no concerns. Will keep this rod and reel in my collection for a long time."
Review 11 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod & Reel Combo,
July 15, 2014
By: Inishmotor
from Oregon
"For a starting combo this can't be beat. For the money its well made. If my son continues to fly fish he should get a lot of use out of this combo and then can move on as he gets better."
Review 12 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great package for an entry level price.,
July 12, 2014
By: Dominic123456654321
from El Paso, TX
"I bought this setup for my wife who I I knew would love fishing if given an opportunity. Took her to try out the rod in a small stream in Taos. The rod handled very well as compared to my Clearwater 7 piece. She's now takes pride in her gift and we look forward to many new adventures together."
Review 13 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great first Fly outfit,
June 11, 2014
By: Brett2t
from austin, tx
"Bought this as my first fly outfit. I didn't want to break the bank not knowing if i'd like it or not. The rod is a really great value and the reel will work perfectly for what i want to use it for. This is the best rod/reel combo for the money that i found, easy."
Review 14 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great combo,
June 1, 2014
By: 4morainbows
from Stl. Mo.
"Being new to the sport I researched and thought this would be the best for me. I think that it's easy to cast and feels good with a fish on. It will awhile before I replace it. Plan on wearing it out."
Review 15 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod and reel,
May 28, 2014
By: RNewman
from Colorado Rocky Mountains
"I bought this combo for my nephew as a high school graduation present. He has fly fished some, but is still in the learning curve. This is an excellent rod and reel for him to hone his skills. It will last him a long time and provide many great memories."
Review 16 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for Beginners,
May 3, 2014
By: DLWright
from Dahlonega, GA
"This fly rod outfit is perfect for the beginner! It's great even if you just want to fish small streams!"
Review 17 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
April 29, 2014
By: Flyguy23
"I am probably considered a beginner at fly fishing although I have been doing it for a year or so now. This rod is great for any level fly fisherman and the combined lightness and ease of the rod makes it a prefect rod for most settings. The casting is incredibly smooth and it helped me cast a lot better. Overall, an outstanding outfit and the rod case makes traveling with the rod a lot easier."
Review 18 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 29, 2014
By: seadogsr
from So. river ,N.J.
"Good starter outfit,fact that it is complete is important.
Suggest that more options in size be available.
"
Review 19 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great outfit for first timer!,
April 29, 2014
By: SpartyFish
from Michigan
"I bought this outfit for my girlfriend. I started to teach her how to fly fish and she was instantly hooked. She loves this outfit and does not want to leave the river. Thanks for offering an affordable outfit for those who are just getting started."
Review 20 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New for the wife,
April 23, 2014
By: FlyinNtyin
"Encounter is a great rod and reel right out of the case. She has taken to it very quickly and just the smaller downsize seems to lend itself to her casting.
Very pleased with this purchase.
Recommended.
"