Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 8'6" 5-weight is the best all around freshwater rod for trout and light bass fishing it is considered to be the perfect first rod for any fly angler. Small streams, big rivers, or ponds and lakes, this new 8'6" 5-weight Encounter rod outfit is the perfect answer to the question, "What's the first rod I should buy?".
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fall season.,
October 20, 2014
By: johnyfish
from Sea Bright, N.J.
"I just received this product, can't wait to use it for the fall season. I heard great things about this product. I went with my son this weekend, and it worked flawessly."
Review 2 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bung for your buck,
October 19, 2014
By: Takemetotheriver
from Woodbridge,VA
"Orvis is a great company and make great stuff. This rod is great for beginners and at a decent price. Plan on keeping it for a few years!"
Review 3 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 5-Weight,
August 28, 2014
By: DennisNJ
from Northern New Jersey
"I am brand new to fly fishing, and so far this is the perfect starter gear.
Well prepared and packaged. I did not have to worrying about working up a new line on a reel, since I am new at this.
I took the rod and reel out to my local river, tied on a fly and had some fun!"
Review 4 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice rod & reel,
July 26, 2014
By: JLHfly
from NY
"I am a beginner so I don't know a whole lot about fly fishing equipment. But this outfit works well for me. The only complaint I have is that the case doesn't have a spot for the reel so you have to disassemble every time. Although there is a nice little bag to keep the reel in and rod case seems very sturdy. All in all, I'm happy with my purchase."
Review 5 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Starter Rod,
July 21, 2014
By: WyoGal
from Green River, WY
"Love that the encounter provides full outfit for the beginner fisherman/woman! I've used three times since purchasing and have had no concerns. Will keep this rod and reel in my collection for a long time."
Review 6 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod & Reel Combo,
July 15, 2014
By: Inishmotor
from Oregon
"For a starting combo this can't be beat. For the money its well made. If my son continues to fly fish he should get a lot of use out of this combo and then can move on as he gets better."
Review 7 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great package for an entry level price.,
July 12, 2014
By: Dominic123456654321
from El Paso, TX
"I bought this setup for my wife who I I knew would love fishing if given an opportunity. Took her to try out the rod in a small stream in Taos. The rod handled very well as compared to my Clearwater 7 piece. She's now takes pride in her gift and we look forward to many new adventures together."
Review 8 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great first Fly outfit,
June 11, 2014
By: Brett2t
from austin, tx
"Bought this as my first fly outfit. I didn't want to break the bank not knowing if i'd like it or not. The rod is a really great value and the reel will work perfectly for what i want to use it for. This is the best rod/reel combo for the money that i found, easy."
Review 9 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great combo,
June 1, 2014
By: 4morainbows
from Stl. Mo.
"Being new to the sport I researched and thought this would be the best for me. I think that it's easy to cast and feels good with a fish on. It will awhile before I replace it. Plan on wearing it out."
Review 10 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod and reel,
May 28, 2014
By: RNewman
from Colorado Rocky Mountains
"I bought this combo for my nephew as a high school graduation present. He has fly fished some, but is still in the learning curve. This is an excellent rod and reel for him to hone his skills. It will last him a long time and provide many great memories."
Review 11 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for Beginners,
May 3, 2014
By: DLWright
from Dahlonega, GA
"This fly rod outfit is perfect for the beginner! It's great even if you just want to fish small streams!"
Review 12 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
April 29, 2014
By: Flyguy23
"I am probably considered a beginner at fly fishing although I have been doing it for a year or so now. This rod is great for any level fly fisherman and the combined lightness and ease of the rod makes it a prefect rod for most settings. The casting is incredibly smooth and it helped me cast a lot better. Overall, an outstanding outfit and the rod case makes traveling with the rod a lot easier."
Review 13 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 29, 2014
By: seadogsr
from So. river ,N.J.
"Good starter outfit,fact that it is complete is important.
Suggest that more options in size be available.
"
Review 14 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great outfit for first timer!,
April 29, 2014
By: SpartyFish
from Michigan
"I bought this outfit for my girlfriend. I started to teach her how to fly fish and she was instantly hooked. She loves this outfit and does not want to leave the river. Thanks for offering an affordable outfit for those who are just getting started."
Review 15 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New for the wife,
April 23, 2014
By: FlyinNtyin
"Encounter is a great rod and reel right out of the case. She has taken to it very quickly and just the smaller downsize seems to lend itself to her casting.
Very pleased with this purchase.
Recommended.
"
Review 16 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Fly Rod,
April 23, 2014
By: DCDC
from Murphy, NC
"First fly rod ever. Went with Encounter after reading positive reviews and talking to an Orvis rep about where I'd be using the rod and went with the 865 Encounter. Very happy with the rod. I was worried about the reel as it looked a little cheap in the picture, but it is a strong composite, not cheap plastic. Lines were all set up, all I had to do was (learn to cast!) tie on a fly and hit the lake."
Review 17 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality without burning a whole in your wallet,
April 18, 2014
By: Rick635
"Great rod for a very reasonable cost.
Casts very well with good control and backed by an Orvis warranty.
Would recommend for a beginner to intermediate fly fisherman."
Review 18 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
April 9, 2014
By: TimChen
from Baton Rouge, La
"I bought this setup for my son in law and myself. We attended the FlyFishing 101 and 201 classes and have used these rods twice now to catch bream. Great setup and customer service by the Baton Rouge crew! Looking forward to our up coming Smoky Mountain fishing trip. Thanks, Tim"
Review 19 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm hooked,
April 7, 2014
By: buckafrica
from Avalon California
"Orvis encounter 8'6" 5 wt. fly rod outfit was better than I expected.
Good workmanship and beautiful.
Looking foreward to many years of good fishing.
Thank You
"
Review 20 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality you can't beat,
March 26, 2014
By: Dahyer
from Baton Rouge, LA
"Beginning products in the realm of fly fishing really have the potential to frustrate the novice fisherman. Whether mushy rods or bad drag systems poor equipment is no fun to use. Before moving over seas I sold my outfits to fund the trip. In hindsight this was probably the best thing to happen to me, because it lead me to my first Orvis. The rod that comes in this package is a jewel and really the prize of the package. In this weight a reel is more of a line holder but I am pleasantly surprised by how much I actually like the plastic reel. Between a fast action and pleasant casting a rod that even comes with a case this really is a package to get in or in my case back into the sport. A pleasure for any skill level. Going back to get it in 8 wt too."