Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 8'6" 5-weight is the best all around freshwater rod for trout and light bass fishing it is considered to be the perfect first rod for any fly angler. Small streams, big rivers, or ponds and lakes, this new 8'6" 5-weight Encounter rod outfit is the perfect answer to the question, "What's the first rod I should buy?".
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality without burning a whole in your wallet,
April 18, 2014
By: Rick635
"Great rod for a very reasonable cost.
Casts very well with good control and backed by an Orvis warranty.
Would recommend for a beginner to intermediate fly fisherman."
Review 2 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
April 9, 2014
By: TimChen
from Baton Rouge, La
"I bought this setup for my son in law and myself. We attended the FlyFishing 101 and 201 classes and have used these rods twice now to catch bream. Great setup and customer service by the Baton Rouge crew! Looking forward to our up coming Smoky Mountain fishing trip. Thanks, Tim"
Review 3 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm hooked,
April 7, 2014
By: buckafrica
from Avalon California
"Orvis encounter 8'6" 5 wt. fly rod outfit was better than I expected.
Good workmanship and beautiful.
Looking foreward to many years of good fishing.
Thank You
"
Review 4 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality you can't beat,
March 26, 2014
By: Dahyer
from Baton Rouge, LA
"Beginning products in the realm of fly fishing really have the potential to frustrate the novice fisherman. Whether mushy rods or bad drag systems poor equipment is no fun to use. Before moving over seas I sold my outfits to fund the trip. In hindsight this was probably the best thing to happen to me, because it lead me to my first Orvis. The rod that comes in this package is a jewel and really the prize of the package. In this weight a reel is more of a line holder but I am pleasantly surprised by how much I actually like the plastic reel. Between a fast action and pleasant casting a rod that even comes with a case this really is a package to get in or in my case back into the sport. A pleasure for any skill level. Going back to get it in 8 wt too."
Review 5 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product!,
March 18, 2014
By: HHall
from Arizona
"Product is awesome. Comes with Rod (4 pieces), reel with line, and travel case. Perfect to stow away in my suitcase when traveling. Very excited to use this product on my honeymoon!"
Review 6 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Set up,
March 15, 2014
By: Sailorfoot1
from Loveland, Co.
"Perfect timing! My wife and I just got home from a 6 hour guided fly fishing trip up in Estes Park and down in the Big Thompson Canyon. Being beginners, we need some instruction. Our guide said that we had good rods for the area we were fishing. We caught lots of fish and had so much fun we are wiped out now. The wind was blowing pretty hard and we didn't even let falling down in freezing water slow us down. We just dried off a bit and kept fishing.
What a blast. And very affordable as well.
"
Review 7 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Delight!,
March 5, 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"My experience with fly rods has always been with 8 wt. or heavier. I was delighted when I tried this little rod. I bought it to play with the assorted panfish that infest our local ponds, canals and bayous. I will definitely try squeeze out a trip to the Smoky Mountains for some trout now that I have a practical rod. By the way, I like the Encounter reel as well. Very nice All in all a superior value."
Review 8 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter 5-weight outfit,
March 4, 2014
By: action261
from Okc, Ok
"I purchased this outfit to learn and teach my son to enjoy fly fishing. This is a great rod/reel combo! It is very comfortable to hold and well balanced. The reel is very light weight and has performed flawlessly. The 8.5' rod is a great length when fishing spots with overhangs. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quality rod to learn with and as a back up for thier main Orvis trout snatching equiptment."
Review 9 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Encounter,
February 18, 2014
By: Mako24
"The rod is a great beginner for those starting out with fly fishing. I couldn't be happier with the gift and would tell other wife's or girlfriends to get them for their men."
Review 10 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprise,
February 4, 2014
By: Waldo62
"Very please with this outfit. Performed well and fits my needs as a novice fly fisherman. Quality without the big $$$."
Review 11 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looking Forward to Floating a Fly,
February 4, 2014
By: Bobca
from sarasota Fl.
"4 Piece fly rod looks great! Tried it in the front yard and it threw much better than i imagined it would. can't wait to try it on the trout stream!!!!"
Review 12 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended,
January 3, 2014
By: FlyTyingGuy
from Lexington, KY
"Got this outfit for Christmas, and I love it! Before this outfit I had an EagleClaw rod (both rods are Mid Flex) but the action is not comparable. The Encounter casts farther with more accuracy than my EC. I even had my dad pull on the line, simulating a fish on the end) and I couldn't even feel strain on the rod.
I would recommend this outfit to anyone!
"
Review 13 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice rod and reel,
January 1, 2014
By: Pigeonman
from Christmas, FL
"I purchased this entry level fly rod (Encounter) and reel with line and all set up as Christmas present for myself. For me this was an excelllent purchase. Orvis is a good brand and I know I'll have some fun with it. It came with very sturdy and protective carrying case. Already using it in the backyard and feel like a pro already."
Review 14 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful Gift,
December 31, 2013
By: Raydar
from Casper Wyoming
"The ease of assembly is great. The case is terrific, it gets the pole to my favorite hole. The entire size makes me reach for it on my way out ."
Review 15 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to purchase gift,
December 31, 2013
By: MrsSB
from Tampa, fl
"My son asked for this rod for Christmas. I just went to the link he sent me and ordered it. So easy! It came promptly. He loved the fact that it came with a reel and carrying case."
Review 16 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandsons first fly rod outfit,
December 23, 2013
By: epipeliner
from Franklin, TN
"Having been a life long Orvis customer it was just natural for me to purchase my grandsons first fly rod outfit from Orvis. I am looking forward to many fishing trips with him. I simply did not want him to see my old reliable Orvis rod and reel and be fishing beside me with brand x. Like me, he will be a life long Orvis customer. "Tight lines and screeming reels"."
Review 17 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
December 11, 2013
By: motor4
from Laurel Park, NC
"Great price. Very good quality. Can't wait to get into a stream!
Purchase was a breeze.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1