Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit

Instead of the term “entry level,” we prefer to describe our new Encounter rod outfits as “affordable awesomeness.” Built for the hardcore angler, yet priced with frugality in mind, the Encounter rod series combines state-of-the-art rod design with a smooth, crisp performance—packaged with a large arbor Encounter reel, weight-forward floating line, backing, and leader. The 8'6" 5-weight is the best all around freshwater rod for trout and light bass fishing it is considered to be the perfect first rod for any fly angler. Small streams, big rivers, or ponds and lakes, this new 8'6" 5-weight Encounter rod outfit is the perfect answer to the question, "What's the first rod I should buy?".
Average Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
60 of 62(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Review 1 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great beginner rod.,
July 2, 2015
By: Mountaineer1234
from North Carolina
"I heard that this rod was an ideal choice for those who are beginning fly fishing, and it has proven to be just that."
Review 2 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value and Quality,
June 18, 2015
By: Purko
from Trabuco Canyon ? CA
"I bought this outfit for my son and it is the best quality and value for an entry level rod and reel on the market today . Smooth , responsive yet powerful to land even the biggest trout ."
Review 3 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
June 2, 2015
By: MacTavish
from Stokesdale, NC
"I am a beginner fly fisherman. I went to the Orvis fly fishing classes 101 and 201. Both classes were great. This rod outfit is perfect for someone starting out in fly fishing. I highly recommend it."
Review 4 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter fly rod outfit,
June 2, 2015
By: saltylady2
from Germanton, North Carolina
"I just tried out my now Encounter outfit at a local trout stream. It performed beautifully. I caught a trout within ten minutes! The 8'6' rod made it easy to cast under trees and brush. I have taken the two beginner Orvis fly fishing classes and I'm on my way to another great hobby!
Thanks Orvis.
"
Review 5 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Starter Rod,
May 28, 2015
By: JMarteeny
from Somerset PA
"My son received it for his 12th birthday an has used it and loves it. I love the 25 year warranty on the rod as 25 years will fly by and the amount of use this rod will get from a 12 yr old boy will be heavy as he loves to fish. He will use it for trout and bass in the mountains of Pa. Thanks...I am going to buy one for myself as I need to learn to fly fish with him..."
Review 6 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 27, 2015
By: Bobby58
from Staatsburg N.Y,
"I'm new to fly fishing so when bought this rod reel combo i wasn't sure what i was doing but with the help of the live chat operator it all worked out. Great price really felt good.IK loss a fish the first time out but i'm sure it was me not the rod."
Review 7 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic starting rod,
April 29, 2015
By: DanKat
from Denver
"I am so pleased with my Encounter fly rod. The rod itself is beautiful, and it comes with the reel completely assembled. It makes it very easy for any beginner to get right out there and start fishing. The price is extremely reasonable considering the quality of the rod."
Review 8 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod,
April 24, 2015
By: BoxerMD731
from Baltimore, MD
"Bought this rod because I am a beginner fly fisher. Took his thing right out of the box and riggged it up and caught five browns about six inches long within a half hour of hitting the river. Before I knew it... I was out there for five hours! This is a great casting rod and I couldn't be more pleased! If you have thoughts about getting this combo... Don't hesitate! Do it!"
Review 9 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First Fly rod,
April 7, 2015
By: Tom47
from GA
"I have already caught my first trout. I had a good day fishing with no problems from my first fly rod."
Review 10 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought for my husband's birthday!,
March 25, 2015
By: flyfishvaldez
from Valdez, AK
"My husband is very excited to try this out! I purchased a fly rod for myself in the past and he really liked it, so I bought him his own for his birthday! :)"
Review 11 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to start using it,
March 2, 2015
By: shoegal
from Fort Collins, CO
"We live really close to a wonderful river for fishing and I am eager for summer to start my fly fishing lessons and using my new rod. My husband thinks that it is the perfect rod for me since I am a beginner but he even thought that it would be a good rod for someone with more experience as well. I will keep you posted on how it goes!"
Review 12 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Orvis Fly combo,
February 26, 2015
By: PeterGee393
from Floral Park , NY
"This Encounter outfit seems to be well worth the price. This is my first Orvis tackle , and I cannot wait to start practice casting. I haven't fished for almost 40 years, but, being a Vietnam vet with PTSD, I feel it would be beneficial"
Review 13 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
February 16, 2015
By: Tonythebrit
from Griffin Georgia.
"I received my rod from the delivery truck on Thursday, I went to try it out and stretch the line on Sunday. Weather and conditions not good to fish, fished one hour and caught two bass about one pound each. Great casting and very happy with my new possession."
Review 14 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Combo,
February 13, 2015
By: Debbie757
from Virginia
"New to fly fishing and found the Orvis site extremely informative! Ordered the Encounter combo kit and could not be happier! Took this kit to fly fishing lessons and was praised for my choice! Superior product!"
Review 15 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Set,
January 5, 2015
By: Morgan1970
from Oneonta/ Al
"Good set to start with . Great quality for a great price"
Review 16 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Beginners,
January 5, 2015
By: GeorgiaBob
from Georgia
"Bought the rod for my pops for Christmas and it has become a great learning rod. Just like anything else you should buy an inexpensive rod like this first to learn what you do and don't like before you go out and drop a boat load on a finer quality combination."
Review 17 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
beginner,
November 29, 2014
By: tribal
from north umpqua,oregon
"Just got the 5wt 8'6" encounter, , I've been learning to cast and the feel of the rod is very comfortable in my hand and a very nice smooth cast, , soon I'll take it to the north umpqua river and see it in action, ,,,,, updates to come, ,,,,,"
Review 18 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection,
November 18, 2014
By: Riverdoc
from WI
"Perfection and well design is difficult to find at times! The rod n case was excellent, reel so smooth and ready to use!!"
Review 19 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok first rig!,
November 13, 2014
By: wufwuf
from Norfolk
"Rod ok but would have been better if there had been alignment dots. The set lost points because of the reel which has been a real disappointment. Drag is getting stuck even when it is completely off. Reel is making a clicking noise as if something is broken in there. No reel lube helps."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Encounter 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great package to get in the water,
November 7, 2014
By: Ithacatrout
from Ithaca, NY
"New to fly fishing and always forced to borrow gear from friends. I finally scraped some cash and purchased this package. I couldn't be happier for a simple, inexpensive rig to give me the freedom to be in the water. The rod casts nicely and is fun to land even the smaller fish. I was surprised by a plastic reel but don't mind at all now that it's had some action! When I eventually make an upgrade this will be an excellent rod and reel for my son to get started."