Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Nickel Zinger

Sleek new look for our classic zinger retractor. Invented by Orvis years ago, this handsome new Black Nickel Zinger will hold any number of tools for easy and immediate access. Comes in pin on and clip on. Sturdy all-metal construction, with a coated wire cord.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
25 of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Nickel Zinger
Review 1 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicer than expected,
June 22, 2015
By: jtf153
"I ordered this for my husband for Father's day & he was very impressed with the quality of the zinger. he liked the clip style over the pin style so that it could be easily and quickly removed from shirt to shirt. we will buy more for other gifts!"
Review 2 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dont losse my stuff,
June 2, 2015
By: MarkA12
from San Luis Obispo Ca
"I really depend on these they work well and nothing gets away from me. After getting this one I upraded to 2 gear keeper for the longer reach."
Review 3 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Styling,
June 2, 2015
By: kjcourtney14
from Central Pennsylvania
"I bought two clip-on style zingers because I don't like putting "holes" in my gear, the pin on style didn't seem to have the best reviews, and because I like to switch my gear back and forth between two different packs. I haven't used them extensively yet, but they seem to be well made and the clip seems to hold well. If they end up standing the test of time I'll gladly come back and give them a 5 star rating."
Review 4 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zinger,
May 28, 2015
By: Flyrodder123
from Rexburg, Idaho
"Works well. appears to be durable. Only time will tell for sure. They look nice too."
Review 5 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black Nickel Zinger,
April 6, 2015
By: Sissylong
from Vero Beach, FL
"Great Zinger! I use this one for my office ID & key card, because it has a strong cable and not a string. Plus, it looks great!"
Review 6 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality Control,
April 1, 2015
By: LHB1
"Pin on style. Opened package and looked at pin. Rotating closure on pin very loose, would not stay closed; let pin pop open. Tried to see if closure could be tightened and it broke. Trashed it. Orvis would replace it or refund money but I am not in a mood to go back. Bad product discourages customer loyalty."
Review 7 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zawesome Zinger!,
February 9, 2015
By: EsopusExpert
from New Windsor, NY
"Orvis's new black nickel model (replacing the silver brass model) is stylish and responsive. I went ahead and purchased the version with the safety pin attachment, even though that part snapped off the old zinger I had (but I had it for over a decade). This new black model actually compliments my new fishpond vest from Christmas better (how vain). I still wish that these zingers had a mechanism that permit the cord to lock into position, rather than having constant pressure to recoil, but it works well as is, of course. Strongly recommended!"
Review 8 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Must have accessory,
December 5, 2014
By: JohnVideo
"This plastic coated wire zinger is available with a clip-on option. This I find extremely convenient, given that I will often change my outer clothing according to the prevailing weather.
In fact, so good is it, that I keep a spare in my bag.
The last one functioned perfectly for some 2 years; then 'came apart' due to an unnoticed loosened screw on the back, (hence 4 stars).
This is, however, easily prevented with a spot of glue."
Review 9 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Zinger,
November 13, 2014
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"Does its job and looks great on my safe passage sling pack."
Review 10 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Zinger,
July 29, 2014
By: BobRich
from Whispering Pines, NC
"This is a nice zinger. It would be nice if they had a small ring on the back that would hook into the swivels already on the lanyard Orvis sells for fishing without a pack or vest. I bought the loaded lanyard and added these zingers. They work well and are a welcome addition."
Review 11 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great new look for a classic zinger,
June 10, 2014
By: cled
from chandler, AZ
"Orvis took a classic product and gave it a great new look. Its a perfect pairing with guide sling pack for my nippers."
Review 12 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be any better!,
May 28, 2014
By: Styxx40
from Toronto, Ontario Canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use the Orvis Black Nickel Zinger for my hemostats on my from strap of my bag on my chest. Amazing well finished product and just the right length to use to remove the hook with my hemostats and release my fish.
I actually spent hours on the internet reading and learning about other zingers, but none compare nor come close to this one made by Orvis. Money well spent!
"
Review 13 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical,
May 5, 2014
By: PaBear
from Pa.
"I found he product to be very well constructed and does its job well. The zinger helps to keep me organized and I appreciate that."
Review 14 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nickel Zinger,
January 16, 2014
By: QHLVR
from Wyoming
"I ended up using it as a badge holder for work because it retracts so that I can swipe my badge in and out of facility and departments. It is very well made. I will order 2 more for fishing as originally intended."
Review 15 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My second zinger.....in 10 years!,
January 13, 2014
By: twintbo
from Texas
"This thing is great. My original has been front and center for at least 10 years. It has not died but is starting to fray a bit on the cord so I thought I would cycle a fresh zinger in. Great product, has stood up to heavy use."
Review 16 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best zinger,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"I replaced my old zinger with the one when I also purchased a new nipper. My old zinger which was Orvis lasted almost fifteen years."
Review 17 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little Zinger,
August 27, 2013
By: Quimby
from South Dakota
"I bought one of each (clip on and pin on) I was impressed with the strength of their retraction. The pin on clasp seems trustworthy but I just ordered two more clip on type for my wife to be sure"
Review 18 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great zinger!,
August 11, 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Works great and has not gotten stuck yet. Hopefully it will continue. Nice look with big clamp."
Review 19 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the Essentials!!,
May 29, 2013
By: MichiganJeff
from Michigan
"While I am very pleased with all Orvis products in general, the Nickel Zinger is a "must have" for the tackle box and especially for fly fisherman. Not only is this product robust and reliable, but it is also very attractive with its nickel finished metal case."
Review 20 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great,
May 29, 2013
By: FlyingJ
from Catskills, NY
"I went with the pin-on version and it works great. I have one for my nippers and one for a hemostat. Seems to be well constructed and durable, though this is my first season using them."