Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Black Nickel Zinger

Sleek new look for our classic zinger retractor. Invented by Orvis years ago, this handsome new Black Nickel Zinger will hold any number of tools for easy and immediate access. Comes in pin on and clip on. Sturdy all-metal construction, with a coated wire cord.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Nickel Zinger
Review 1 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Zinger,
July 29, 2014
By: BobRich
from Whispering Pines, NC
"This is a nice zinger. It would be nice if they had a small ring on the back that would hook into the swivels already on the lanyard Orvis sells for fishing without a pack or vest. I bought the loaded lanyard and added these zingers. They work well and are a welcome addition."
Review 2 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great new look for a classic zinger,
June 10, 2014
By: cled
from chandler, AZ
"Orvis took a classic product and gave it a great new look. Its a perfect pairing with guide sling pack for my nippers."
Review 3 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be any better!,
May 28, 2014
By: Styxx40
from Toronto, Ontario Canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use the Orvis Black Nickel Zinger for my hemostats on my from strap of my bag on my chest. Amazing well finished product and just the right length to use to remove the hook with my hemostats and release my fish.
I actually spent hours on the internet reading and learning about other zingers, but none compare nor come close to this one made by Orvis. Money well spent!
"
Review 4 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical,
May 5, 2014
By: PaBear
from Pa.
"I found he product to be very well constructed and does its job well. The zinger helps to keep me organized and I appreciate that."
Review 5 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nickel Zinger,
January 16, 2014
By: QHLVR
from Wyoming
"I ended up using it as a badge holder for work because it retracts so that I can swipe my badge in and out of facility and departments. It is very well made. I will order 2 more for fishing as originally intended."
Review 6 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My second zinger.....in 10 years!,
January 13, 2014
By: twintbo
from Texas
"This thing is great. My original has been front and center for at least 10 years. It has not died but is starting to fray a bit on the cord so I thought I would cycle a fresh zinger in. Great product, has stood up to heavy use."
Review 7 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best zinger,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"I replaced my old zinger with the one when I also purchased a new nipper. My old zinger which was Orvis lasted almost fifteen years."
Review 8 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little Zinger,
August 27, 2013
By: Quimby
from South Dakota
"I bought one of each (clip on and pin on) I was impressed with the strength of their retraction. The pin on clasp seems trustworthy but I just ordered two more clip on type for my wife to be sure"
Review 9 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great zinger!,
August 11, 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Works great and has not gotten stuck yet. Hopefully it will continue. Nice look with big clamp."
Review 10 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the Essentials!!,
May 29, 2013
By: MichiganJeff
from Michigan
"While I am very pleased with all Orvis products in general, the Nickel Zinger is a "must have" for the tackle box and especially for fly fisherman. Not only is this product robust and reliable, but it is also very attractive with its nickel finished metal case."
Review 11 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great,
May 29, 2013
By: FlyingJ
from Catskills, NY
"I went with the pin-on version and it works great. I have one for my nippers and one for a hemostat. Seems to be well constructed and durable, though this is my first season using them."
Review 12 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
needs work!,
May 22, 2013
By: catskilllew
from Catskill's Neversink River
"I will not use my double style Orvis Zinger again. Twice it fell off the vest with only a forceps and thermometer attached. Was able to withstand cold water to retrieve from stream bottom."
Review 13 for Black Nickel Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
H2 zinger,
May 1, 2013
By: kellyfmtx
from Texas
"These are the best looking, best performing zingers, I've ever seen. The price won't break the budget either. This is an excellent product, highly functional, and great looking too. I highly recommend these zingers!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Black Nickel Zinger
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2