Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Gokey Waxhide Briefcase

Your everyday business essentials will be well protected when housed in this rugged Gokey leather briefcase, designed in authentic messenger-bag style. Handstitched from genuine cowhide leather (with a distinctive waxy finish), it offers a generous amount of internal storage options including pen holders, canvas slash pockets, a leather-framed ID window, and a wide slash pocket for documents or files. Flap-over closure secures with solid brass military-style turn-locks and roller-bar buckles. Removable shoulder strap. In tan. Gokey leather briefcase measures 10"H x 16"W x 3½"D. Personalize with embossing on leather, up to 3 letters. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Review 1 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic bag,
September 16, 2014
By: X0311
from Monkton MD
"I have been looking at these since I belive Orvis first started carrying the Gokey line. so glad I finally got one. quality and craftmenship is first rate."
Review 2 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waou...!,
July 14, 2014
By: RamonAntonio
from Puerto Rico
"It arrived on the day of my birthday so it all began very well. Then I opened it and it is all I wanted and more. The perfect size both the case and the hanger, look and feel.
Will be using it for work and travel.
My wife liked it a lot and that's an extra confy.
Very much recommended.
Indeed...Less is MORE...!
"
Review 3 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waxhide Briefcase,
February 17, 2014
By: JohnX
"The only issue with the briefcase is the size. I was expecting it to be a bit bigger and the strap to be a bit longer, however, the quality and the look is terrific. For the price and quality I would recommend the product to anyone looing for a briefcase. I take it everywhere."
Review 4 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laptop Bag,
February 17, 2014
By: Mississippi30
from Flowood, MS
"This bag is high quality. Everything about it was what I wanted . . . until I realized the strap was too short. At 6'4", it looks like a man purse on me. Also, it would be helpful if the strap had some grippers in the shoulder pad. It slides off way to easy. Overall, once I get use to the rediculing by co-workers, I think I will like this purse . . . I mean, bag."
Review 5 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice bag but . . .,
February 1, 2014
By: AlanScott
"A nice bag, good quality, and you can always count on Orvis. But I don't find this bag very useful for business travel: No outside pockets. No inside pockets. Streamlined at the expense of efficiency."
Review 6 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great briefcase,
January 9, 2014
By: ntheg
from Surrey, England
"On the whole I am very pleased with this product. It looks great and I am sure it will age well. It is disappointing that it is not available to buy in store in the UK. I do like to see what I am purchasing, but really liked the look of this so ordered from the USA. Delivery and service from ORVIS cannot be faulted. The quality of the leather feels good and is quite rigid. Unfortunately, the case that I received has an area near the handle where the leather feels thinner/softer than the rest of the case, causing the case to crease inwards on one side when using the carry strap. Not sure if this sort of thing is to be expected when buying a natural material or whether the surface area of the leather has not been fully treated. Had I viewed this in store I would have rejected this case and asked for another. I might be being a little fussy but for the price I would have expected better QC. It is still a great looking and functional case and I love it!"
Review 7 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Briefcase worth going to work for!,
January 2, 2014
By: Bettymm
from Lakeland, fl
"This bag was a hit with our rising young professional. Incredibly rugged, but without the hard-to-tote extra weight that comes with leather. Neat buckle system expands the bag and keeps the easy-close. This is a lifetime bag."
Review 8 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10+ years and really happy with it,
December 13, 2013
By: bfan
from Boston MA
"A friend at work had this bag and I was determined to get one for myself. Unfortunately I think they stopped selling this online or in the retail stores around 2002. In every city I happened to visit that had an Orvis store, I would stop and see if they happen to of had one. No Success! But I finally found it in Bath, England. I have used it continuously for over 10 years as I travel worldwide and am proud of it's look and amazed at it's durability. Unfortunately the strap broke about a year ago and I was unable to get a replacement. Finally in a recent catalog I saw the briefcase for sale again and called Customer Service to try to buy a new strap. They sent a new one the next day, free of charge, even after 10 years of heavy use. I don't normally write reviews but in this case Orvis exceeded expectations and I expect to use the bag for another 10+ years. This is a really special briefcase which you will be proud to show off - I am."
Review 9 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
over 15 years of enjoyment,
September 24, 2013
By: Buckeyemike
from Columbus, Ohio
"I initially bought this bag for my wife. She actually picked it out. She ended up no liking it and i didnt have the heart to send it back. I have had so many comments on the rugged style of the bag.it has served me well traveling from coast to coast. It gets better looking each year. It became the best traveling companion."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beautiful but not rugged… at all.,
September 21, 2013
By: dugon
from UK
"Bought this bag two weeks ago thinking that it would be perfect for my day to day use and travel. Its description says rugged and your everyday business essentials will be well protected. I even chatted online with Orvis to see if a laptop fits in the bag. However things went wrong the moment I carried a laptop in it (Dell) and lifted it using the handle instead of the shoulder strap. The "military-style" turn-locks popped out. Nowadays nothing is more business essential than a laptop. Its a real shame. Such a beautiful bag. Looks and feel 10/10. Rugged 0/10. Waiting to see if Customer Service call me back Monday. My trust in product descriptions and reviews has suffered a serious blow as a result of this."
Review 11 for Gokey Waxhide Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lifelong bag,
June 6, 2013
By: TravelJoe
from Canada
"I've owned this bag for almost 20 years. It's been around the world with me to Europe, SE Asia, Asia, and beyond. For for all 20 years, it's had a steady stream of complements. All love it. It's battle scarred now and definitely vintage, but everything still works beautifully--all the hardware is intact; not a single seam ripped or coming apart. I still use it everyday."